X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
5379 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

A nice, big hostel in Kyoto. It's decently close to the station, our as close as anything can be in this huge city. Proximity to the subway really helped a lot. Other than that it's a great hostel with a nice bar and breakfast buffet.


100%

Very clean facilities, with everyone pitching in. Staff super friendly and spoke Japanese and English. Location is only 10-15 min walk from Kyoto train station. Met a lot of like-minded travelers and swapped travel info/tips. Would stay again.


91%

Very good place to stay as a student. Good place even has a restaurant next to it with cheap price.

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hot water of bathroom was not stable, sometimes hot and sometimes cool.

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff was really nice. They speak a perfect english but let me speak in japanese and listened to me patiently even when it was difficult for me to find my words. Moreover every body was smiling all the time. Nice place to stay. Easy, clean, nice. 皆さんありがとうございました。

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Wish hostels in Japan were more social - travelers here avoid eye contact and the bar at Ks House rarely had more than a few people in it. Perfect hostel otherwise though, clean and good location. Would stay again :)


100%

I cannot recommend this hostel enough. This is not only the best hostel in Kyoto, but the best hostel in Japan! The common room is one whole floor, there is a great bar next door, and it is perfect for those travelers looking to easily meet others in the 18-35 age group. The rooms, bathrooms and toilets are extremely clean and have enough on every floor. Power points and light for each bunk bed. Staff speak English really well and are very knowledgable. This is the only place to stay in Kyoto!!!


80%

Shower rooms and toilets seem not enough in each floor


97%

Great place to stay but slightly far

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We enjoyed our stay at K's House Kyoto. The staff were friendly and spoke good English. Highly recommended.

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hi! I had another great stay at your hostel. The rooms were clean, staff was friendly and the rooms were nice.

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Huge hostel, with an on site pretty cool bar, huge common areas and kitchens etc. Not in the most picturesque part of the city, but easy to get to from the station, and had no problems finding my way to the sites of Kyoto. Was clean and clearly well run, almost more like a hotel than a regular hostel.


94%

Excellent place! very clean and quite well placed


91%

Good things: very helpful and warm staff who can speak English, harmonic atmosphere in the common space (it's like a study and leisure room in a University), complete facilities as well (including all kitchen necessities!), and it's easy to arrive from the Kyoto station. Suggestion: no shampoo or lotion provided.


77%

Actually we expected a new towel for everyday , if possible. But backpacker means most of things are on their own, right? Haha.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice and friendly staff.


100%

We loved it. Will recommend it to our friends. The bar next door is a great place to relax and enjoy good drinks and food. Thank you.

  • 10th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

far from kyoto station but near shichijo station bedroom ,shower and toilet are clean nice staff


77%

This hostel is quiet hard to find from Kyoto Station. They can accommodate plenty of guests so it gets crowded sometimes. The front desk people were so helpful they thought me where and which tourists spots to visit. The beds are huge and i consider it a plus :) . Over all this one is a good choice for any backpacker in Kyoto!


100%

I found that K's House Kyoto had excellent instructions for finding the place, and the staff were very friendly and provided excellent information. The connecting bar/restaurant was excellent and convenient as well. Overall, I had a great stay.


(205 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback