X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
6715 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I really love this hostel and will come back again on this May 2015.


97%

Nice, clean, presentable hostel. Pretty much impeccable, although maybe lacking some atmosphere. Hard to fault and a solid choice.


100%

this is the best hostel ive ever been to. It is huge! it has a great easy to find location near kyoto station and its close to kyoto tower, making it easy to find your way back. it has a big reception desk with friendly people, the rooms and facilities were very modern and clean. i cant think of anything bad about this hostel. it also has a bar where you can eat breakfast, snacks or just have a drink. and meet new people. would come back to this hostel immediately


94%

Very well located and clean. Would recommend to anyone looking for best value for money.


100%

Was a great stay, thank you so much.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

6 bed female dorm was excellent, very comfortable and quiet. The staff are very knowledgeable and helped me on many occasions with food recommendations and directions. Would definitely stay again


83%

K's House Kyoto is efficiently run: clean and modern. The location is excellent: a short walk to the station and near to the Kamo river, the main cycle route through the city. The Zen cafe/bar downstairs was also very good. It was pretty crowded, though. Hard to get a seat in the common room and to use the washing machines. We had a Japanese style family room which was absolutely tiny. We expected more for the price - $130 per night.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

K's House was great. The staff were friendly, the showers were clean, and there was a space for socializing. Wifi got rather slow at night when everyone was on it, which was a bit disappointing, and do note that their computers are not free to use (but rather cheap 100 yen for 30 minutes). They are suuuper clean -- they have staff cleaning every few hours! Truly a good experience -- even made some friends playing cards :)


100%

K's House Hostel Kyoto was an excellent place to stay. The staff were outstanding, friendly, helpful and fun. They made us feel very comfortable. I noticed the cleanliness straight away and was so impressed. The facilities were excellent, in fact I was surprised as K's House was better than many expensive hotels I stayed in during my travels. Location was perfect. I would highly recommend K's House Kyoto. I am now planning to stay at the other K's House Hostels across Japan.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks for having us!


86%

Loved the staff! They were so helpful. We had such a short time in Kyoto, but they knew where we should go to get the most out of it. The rooms were nice and the other people staying there were nice. Made some new friends and will be back in Japan and hope to stay here again.


80%

very nice hostel, with cozy common space and a roof terrace. Staff is very helpful and nice. Several bus stops just some minutes away by foot. Would definitely stay here again.


94%

Everything is excellent but wifi. >

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really great!

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It is in walking distance to the important places, not in the crowded middle center. Good, but small rooms, if you choose double or triple vacancy.


94%

it was overall a great experience. the feeling is like being back in a college dorm, which can be good or bad depending on your memories :P


100%

This hostel was recommended by a friend and we couldn't be more pleased. The atmosphere was great. There was a cozy bar and a great lounge/kitchen area that was clean & relaxing. There was loads of useful info. on the walls about exploring Kyoto and the staff were friendly & helpful and spoke good English. The double room was a good size and the communal bathroom facilities were to a high standard. We only wish we'd found out about it sooner and had booked to stay in K's in other areas of Japan.


97%

K's House Kyoto is what you're looking for as a backpacker! Staffs are very friendly and helpful, facilities are good (nice kitchen, computer for rent, laundry, cafe and a lounge where you can meet other travelers). The only thing to improve is the hot shower, it only runs about 5mins and then you get cold water in the middle of the shower. Other than that, everything is perfect. Thank you K's Kyoto!


80%

There was an odd (Mary says awful) smell in the room probably from a scented thing we found under the bed just as we were leaving. Otherwise all good.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff is nice and friendly, They gave me a map to travel for free. Thankyo very much!

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(242 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback