X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel & Pub Reviews

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1411 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great hostel, they offer shuttles to the station which is then a 10 minute train to downtown which is excellent. Lovely staff. Quiet and cool. Plenty of young people to socialize with.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

I have stayed in many hostels all over the world and I think this hostel is a little below par. The hostel is not in the best location, you have to take a couple trains and a bus to get to it from the main bus and train station upon arrival. The hostel doesn't smell too great, it is right next to a main noisy highway but staff seem friendly enough. The showers for men are awesome but communal changing. Bed are extremely noisy when people move on them.


40%

Warning! Location not School Street in Boston, but School Street in Everett. It's nice but far away from downtown! All four days the shuttle bus driver left too early (and receptionist said: "Yeah, I guess he left too early, too bad for you") or left even though I was waiting in the reception. Or it was cancelled. Rude staff except one of the women. Breakfast: White bread with butter and jam. Useless. Few other guests on weekdays. Expensive. No locker for my big backpack.


89%

We had a great stay! They welcomed us very warmly! Chris and Judie were perfect hosts and gave us a lot of nice tipps for Boston! Also the shuttle was great thing! All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Backpackers, nice atmosphere and stuff! :)

  • 13th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Make the no parking sign at the side of the hostel even more prominent.

  • 12th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The restrooms are very tiny. The bathrooms have no shelves / closet to put your stuff on. The beds are incredibly noisy and annoying. I was sleeping at the bottom of a bunk bed, and I would wake up each time the guy above is turning around or doing something!

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Noisy mattrasses.


97%

I had platinum service from all the staff,Chris in particular.The cost was reasonable." Steve K"


63%

After experiencing a European standard of hostel, this place came as a bit of a shock. Boston is an expensive city, but this place was exorbitant, especially given it's not even technically in Boston (actually Everett). You can still take the Metro out there, but it's a hefty walk. The hostel will actually come and pick you up most of the time though, and runs a sort of hourly shuttle too - nice touch. Staff are typically New England-style standoffish. Lots of old men, not backpacker crowd.


86%

The entire staff at this facility are EXCEPTIONAL and do a fantastic job of taking care of their customers. I would definitely recommend this facility to a relative or friend and would personally stay at this facility anytime. I am very pleased with this Hostel.

  • 3rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Breakfast was poor, beds were okay, facilities were terrible (3 public showers in one room but no possibility to put your clothes). Had some creepy old men in my room, talking all time like there was no one else sleeping in the room. Not the hostel I would recommend in Boston. Location for public transport is very poor!


74%

First thought is, where am I! Then their shuttle and excellent public transport make it work really well. Clean and well run. I would use them again.


74%

Great hostel with plenty of common areas. Had a great time playing pool and the piano in the back room, great way to meet people. Staff friendly and helpful. One thing they didn't mention on the website about the free shuttle from Wellington Station - this is provided by the hostel (with whatever vehicle is available at the time). Give them a call from the station and they will happily pick you up. Train is needed to get Downtown. Had a great time staying there.


83%

I would recommend accommodation in the Backpackers hostel to anyone seeking cheap accommodations as well as neatness. The staff is very friendly...also they have catered for transport to the railway station for what I think is a big plus.

  • 29th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

A decent value for your money. With a $20 unlimited metro ticket, you can get downtown pretty quickly from Wellington, and you can either ask the staff to shuttle you there or take the bus. The building does feel a bit gloomy, though, and there are definitely a few issues with cleanliness.


71%

Thanks for the free shuttle of this hostel.It's time to fix those doors of rooms^_^~

  • 24th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

not good place, but nice facility.


91%

This was an excellent hostel over all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pub room, while not a full bar, was a nice place to hang out and talk to fellow travelers if you find yourself needing to recharge after a long day traveling around Boston. The laundry service is a plus, but the free shuttle to the local T-line was an outstanding bonus to this hostel. Just call from the Wellington stop and they will pick you up within minutes. I will definitely stay here again.

  • 23rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very good laundry service offered. The hostel is a bit far from the center but there is a shuttle that brings you to the tube station, so I would say they've thought of it for us which is quite nice


94%

I wholeheartedly enjoyed my stay at Backpackers Hostel & Pub! It's a great place to stay with a great atmosphere and fantastic place to meet other travelers. The staff are very friendly and willing to help out in any way they can whether it's about information of Boston or the local Everett area, or taking you to the nearby Wellington station after the last shuttle. You definitely get great value for your money at this place! All the best, Christian from Denmark.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(876 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback