Hostelworld.com

Backpackers by the Bay

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
Backpackers by the Bay Located at 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach.
Backpackers by the Bay
Australia
Airlie Beach Queensland 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach
81% 672
-20.2744557 148.7232327
Backpackers by the Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Apr 2016
7.1

Nice relaxing hostel. Lots of places to chill outdoors. Easy to meet people since it's a smaller hostel and they have a game of trivia every night so it's a reason to socialize. Not a far walk from town. Nice little getaway. No deposit for kitchenware which was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.1

The best thing about this place is definitely the lovely staff, they immediately make you feel so welcome! The receptionist even kept our 4 bed dorm free so we got our own room for a couple of nights, bonus! There's a really relaxed atmosphere and the rooms and facilities are great, especially the amusing showers ;) it's the only hostel in Airlie that does transfers as well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
7.1

A very nice hostel. With a great atmosphere. Very familiar. The only thing that misses, is a new hob (hotplate) in the kitchen. The current looks a little bit.... overused.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Jam12Caz
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.6

Don't listen to the bad reviews, great hostel! 5 minute walk from bars, lagoon and shops etc. Clean rooms, great kitchen. Staff are excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
8.6

Great little hostel. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Checked out for a Whitsunday's tour for three days and when I came back to get my luggage, the girls were more than happy for me to use the showers and have a cup of tea while I waited for my night bus. Nice garden and pool with plenty of places to sit around in the heat!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Mar 2016
2.0

Was very disappointed with this hostel, not one person gave me and my friend a welcome. We simply received a key and a rough greeting. Not friendly. Not clean!!!! Not secure and the smallest bunk beds I have ever seen! Will not be recommending or staying again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Lauren, we have never received such a devastating review b4 so l am ridiculously disappointed for you and for me. however l recall that you arrived after reception closed at 7.30pm and a key was left out for you untill you formally checked in. Housekeeping cleans and make up all rooms daily and our bathrooms and kitchen are cleaned first thing in the morning,late afternoon and tidied throughout the day. I am also confident that our staff make the most effort to be friendly to all guests compared to any hostel in Qld. I only wish that you had taken the time to speak with me in person so that l could address any concerns. l hope your travels and your attitude improve for the rest of your trip so you won't feel the need to flippantly try to sabotage a business reputation.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2016
9.7

Couldn't of had a better stay at this Hostel Peter and all the gang at the hostel went of their way to ensure you had a good time. Very social and incredibly easy to meet amazing people of all ages to make your time at Backpackers by the Bay even more enjoyable. Would go back time and time again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
6.9

Nice hostel but a bit of a walk to the town. Charge to use their phone for national calls. Staff are really friendly though and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Mar 2016
8.9

Whilst a little out of town, this hostel is everything you could want. The atmosphere was so relaxed and it was exactly what was needed after a whitsunday trip. Also as a solo traveller I thought the evening quiz was an excellent way to bring everyone in the hostel together and encourage socialising.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Mar 2016
9.7

One of the friendliest and most hospitable places I've stayed!!!! Nothing was too much for the staff! They were always kind and happy to help in anyway they could!!! Although it's not on the Main Street in town it was only a 5 minute walk in and it meant that we were away from the noise of the town if we wanted to be!!!! I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.