Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers by the Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • meganbates97
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Mar 2017
8.6

Really liked this hostel. They have a shuttle bus and also let you hire go pros. Really friendly staff and good air conditioned rooms. The pool was really nice to get into and the hammocks were good as well. Just a small walk into town but it's easy enough to do. Free tea and coffee all day and $3 breakfasts in the morning. Only thing is there are a lot of ants in the kitchen, as long as you keep your things in the fridge and not the cupboards, you should be fine!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
8.0

Staff was nice and the hostel is close enough to the main street. Rather quiet hostel even though the owners seem to encourage a bit more liveliness. For the price it's absolutely a good choice unless you want to party :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
8.3

Staff are really friendly and helpful. It is a relaxed place with outdoor area, pool and hammocks. Dorm room for 4 females was great with fan, AC at night and with secure box for valuables for each person. 5 minute walk from town centre to buy groceries etc or greyhound bus stop. I stayed 3 nights in the end. Great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
9.1

Great laid-back little hostel that is a bit off the main drag and thus more quieter and relaxed. Definitely worth spending some time lazing in the hammocks! Only downside is air con is shut off during the day. While the rooms do have ceiling fans, it can be a bit sweltering for newbies to Australia who haven't quite adapted to the climate yet!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Had a lovely stay in a 4 bed dorm with the most powerful AC ! the hostel was quiet, no loud music of games which suited us ! They picked us up from the bus terminal and dropped us back for free ! Be careful when sitting outside , I got eaten alive ! Would recommend !n

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
7.1

Nice rooms and man on reception so so friendly and helpful. Kitchen needs to be cleaned. Nice location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
5.4

I stayed in the hostel for four nights whilst doing Whitsundays. I would not stay here again or recommend it. The rooms are ok however there are no ladders to get to the top bunk you have to just climb up the wooden panels at the end of the bed. The kitchen / dining area has loads of teeny little flies everywhere! On the counter tops, in the draws in the cupboards. The hostel advertises having a quiz every night at 730pm, in my 4 nights here I never saw this. Choose somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to write and l'm sorry your stay wasn't as expected. I think that the bunk bed ladder arrangement was originally arranged as it is because os safety issues due to the large ceiling fan in the centre of the room.I'm not sure how you were not picked up at the bus terminal, except that your bus may have running late. We are the only hostel that still offers the courtesy transfer and we arrive 15min before scheduled arrivals and wait 5 mins after. We also clean the bathrooms and kitchen areas before every bus pickup but little sugar ants in the tropics are very quick to find any food scraps that guests may have left in between - we have the kitchen professionally pest treated every 6 months. And with regard to the nightly Quiz which is a high priority for our little hostel - we need a minimum of 9 people who wish to join in and sometimes that modest number can't be obtained.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jan 2017
6.9

The facilities are a little worn out and cleanliness of the bathrooms are pretty hit or miss. However, if you're looking for somewhere to lay your head on either side of your whitsundays trip, then it's value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.6

This is a nice little hostel, just a 10 minute walk to the centre with the bars etc, you don't need to catch a taxi. It's also across the road from the greyhound drop off, the rooms were quite hot I found the air con didn't work so well. It was nice and clean and some of the staff were friendly and chatty. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
8.0

Nice laid back atmosphere but not great for meeting new people. Kitchen was well kept and staff really helpful. Bit of a walk into town!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.