Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers by the Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
Backpackers by the Bay Located at 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach.
Backpackers by the Bay
Australia
Airlie Beach Queensland 4802 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach
84% 731
-20.2744557 148.7232327
Backpackers by the Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
8.9

Lovely hostel with great staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
7.4

The hostel is a short walk from the Main Street and is a lot quieter than the other party hostels. Each room has a small locker box to keep a few valuables, but no huge lockers. Staff were friendly. If you pay $6 you can leave your luggage whilst you go to the Whitsundays and then have a shower when you get back which is nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
8.3

Good spot a short 8-10 mins to town centre. Nightly quiz made for social yet laid back atmosphere. Clean bathrooms. Rooms were a little run down. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall great value. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
9.4

This hostel has friendly and helpful staff. It is not new but everything works and is pretty clean. There is a trivia night and Bbq every night which gives this place a great atmosphere and a chance to meet other travellers. The hostel is located off the main strip of airlie beach but I didn't mind the 5 minute walk into town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
6.9

The kitchen needs a proper clean, I understand hostels get dirty if people don't wash up their stuff, but inside the drawers where the cutlery is full of grime, needs to be cleaned out properly then I'm sure backpackers will respect the kitchen properly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
8.9

Great relaxing hostel that's quietly tucked away from Main street. Some of the friendliest staff you'll meet are here. They do a trivia night every night which is a great way to meet other travellers. Also only $3 for breakfast and $1.50 for a sausage at dinner. Their "free wifi" is a little misleading though. It's free wifi for the first hour or so but then you have to buy more time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jul 2016
9.1

Loved my stay! One of the best I've stayed at in Oz! Staff were all lovely, especially when the washing machine stopped working. Four bed rooms, which was lovely. Sliding glass doors in all rooms, which was lovely, easy to air the room out. Good space to put bags for every bunk. Small lockbox for all your valuables. Hilarious semi naked men photos in the girls showers! Slightly dated bathrooms, but everything was clean. Only issue was that top bunk mattresses were very thin and worn down.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Jul 2016
7.7

If you are going to book into this hostel and haven't planned your boat trip to Whitsundays I would just turn up - then they offer discounted rates on all the boats (they have a blackboard with available ones for next couple of days) and then will give you a free nights accom and free storage (otherwise $6). Overall nice hostel, bar event on makes it easy to meet people and they offer BBQ sausages for dinner for $1.50! Slightly further from town that some of the other hostels- 5-10 minute walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
9.4

Amazing, even let me use the facilities 2 days after my last night their to shower down after a sailing trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

Great place! The guy Doff or Loff? At the front desk was so kind and welcoming. He made everyone feel welcome. Clean rooms, fun people but not a crazy loud hostel. Just right.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.