Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers by the Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 791 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 791 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
Backpackers by the Bay Located at 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach.
Backpackers by the Bay
Australia
Airlie Beach Queensland 4802 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach
81% 791
-20.2744557 148.7232327
Backpackers by the Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Nov 2016
6.3

room was nice, but the air con was too loud..and the stove took forever to heat up..other than that, its clean, showroom is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Nov 2016
4.0

Upon arrival, the Receptionist answered the phone right in front of us, have a chat with her other colleague and even start selling another couple an excursion whilst we were still waiting in front of her to check in and had arrived prior to all of this. It took us 35 minutes in total to check in when we were only second in the queue(!). Rooms were tiny and all floor space was taken up by belongings with nowhere else to put it. Room door also opened without needing a key! Wouldn't recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Nov 2016
2.0

It was a terrible stay. Our bed wasn't cleaned and we had a lot of bedbuws on our pillow!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
5.7

I was disappointed overall. There is only one staff member who works reception. That person also books tours, answers calls, and talks to colleagues in the back room so you wait in line for ages. I hated the kitchen. There were tons of ants crawling all over the kitchen, and I had to rinse ants off of my PB jar! They were also on plates and cutlery. The kitchen has to be cleaned WAY more often. The rooms were clean. The atmosphere was okay. I liked the hammocks, but I would not return here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
9.4

Backpackers by the Bay was a great place to stay at for a few days in Airlie Beach! Location is an easy 5-10 minutes to everything in the city center, there's a bus stop right across the street, and the charters will pick you up right in front of it. Oh, and the staff. Easily the best, friendliest, and most personable staff I've ever encountered at a hostel. Wifi kind of sucks but aside from that I would highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Nov 2016
8.9

Stayed here for 3 nights before my whitsundays trip. Very nice hostel about 5 mins walk from Airlie Main Street. Therefore a bit more quiet and civilised than the party hostels. Staff was supernice and helpful, they have a quiz every night and there's a very sociable, relaxed atmosphere. The place itself (kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms) is a bit dated but clean and tidy. Wifi is only free for 2 hours and does not work everywhere. All in all, I had a great time and would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.7

Great chill place. 10 mins from main street. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
2.9

The only decent thing about this place was the showers. Air contionder is on a timer from approximately 1800 to 0700 so hot days are nearly unbearable. Rooms smelled musty. No ventilation or air conditioning in the bathrooms. Only 2 hours of free wifi upon check in - good luck getting it to work. Cheap breakfast with decent options, but the kitchen was dirty. Left early due to conditions. Don't recommend unless desperate.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Nov 2016
7.1

A bit out of the way in my opinion. The Polish girl at the reception was friendly the other girl seemed to be a bit moody. All in all was fairly clean. The top bunk beds are very hard to get on to an pretty scary to sleep in as they don't have a rail on one side

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Nov 2016
7.1

A lovely hostel just outside the main hustle and bustle of the town centre, with a fun quiz night where you can won a bottle of champers! The bathrooms are okay but not cleaned thoroughly. Kitchen was okay and the security lockers were just literally a brief case. Staff were very helpful and good vibe overall

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.