Hostelworld.com

Backpackers by the Bay

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 698 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 698 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
Backpackers by the Bay Located at 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach.
Backpackers by the Bay
Australia
Airlie Beach Queensland 4802 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach
83% 698
-20.2744557 148.7232327
Backpackers by the Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jun 2016
8.0

Great staff. Nice little bar and quiz each night is great idea as it gets everyone together but is done within an hour so you're not committing evening to it. Decent showers. Well equipped kitchen which, for once, there was a culture of people cleaning up after themselves. Organised great sailing trip for me and left bags there while away. Main gripe was the dorm room. It smelt pretty bad (not due to those staying in it) and my mattress was so old it felt like i was just lying on the bed frame.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jun 2016
9.7

The best hostel I stayed at so far! Hammocks, palms, beautiful garden (and cockatoos attempting to steal your breakfast, haha)... and what a view!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
8.6

Chilled hostel, away from the Main Street and I preferred Nomads but still nice and easy going here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.0

Great place, wifi was not great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
10.0

Wonderful! The staff was especially exceptional-- warm, welcoming, and informative. Each morning I would wake up and take my complimentary coffee outside and enjoy the view of the bay. The hostel is about a 5 minute walk from the main strip, which made it a peaceful (but fun) getaway. Loved the quiz nights and world's tiniest bar-- they created a lovely community vibe! Free shuttle pick up and great deals on Whitsundays cruises + cheap, good wifi! My fave hostel ever!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
7.7

A bit out of town, quite basic, low key and comfortable. Helpful staff which help you figure out how to plan your stay. You have to pay for wifi unfortunately.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
9.4

Great hostel with super friendly staff! They really do make you feel welcomed!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sreed1996
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
8.6

Great chilled atmosphere, had a great stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
8.3

This was my favourite hostel on the East Coast. The staff are friendly, there are great facilities and a good chilled vibe versus the party hostels which can be chaos. Definitely worth checking out! It's a little further out of the Main Street but just a ten minute walk and worth it for a bit of peace if you don't want to go out for the evening. The decor is a little out dated and my first room had a bit of a smell but the good totally outweighed the bad!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
16th May 2016
9.7

Really great hostel in Airlie. Quiz every night means it is easy to meet people and the staff are super friendly and give you about 10% off any tours/activities that are outside of Airlie! Spacious dorms, kitchen and bathrooms. Would definitely recommend staying here .. definitely worth the money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.