Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers by the Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 832 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 832 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
Backpackers by the Bay Located at 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach.
Backpackers by the Bay
Australia
Airlie Beach Queensland 4802 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach
78% 832
-20.2744557 148.7232327
Backpackers by the Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jan 2017
6.9

The facilities are a little worn out and cleanliness of the bathrooms are pretty hit or miss. However, if you're looking for somewhere to lay your head on either side of your whitsundays trip, then it's value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.6

This is a nice little hostel, just a 10 minute walk to the centre with the bars etc, you don't need to catch a taxi. It's also across the road from the greyhound drop off, the rooms were quite hot I found the air con didn't work so well. It was nice and clean and some of the staff were friendly and chatty. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
8.0

Nice laid back atmosphere but not great for meeting new people. Kitchen was well kept and staff really helpful. Bit of a walk into town!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kaleigh_miles
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2016
6.0

Rooms very small & so were the beds with no ladders or barriers making it difficult to get up & down. Had to ask for the corridors to be vacuumed as housekeeping sweep dirt from rooms onto the carpet. Asked after 4 nights of being there without it being done once. Bathrooms & kitchen have charts to show that they have been cleaned 5 times daily, they were never signed in the week we stayed and were cleaned once per day. Receptionist drinking wine whilst dealing with customers - unprofessional.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
22nd Dec 2016
8.6

Nice hostel if you want peace and quiet Bit far from the strip

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Dec 2016
5.1

Average hostel located quite far from the main street. No security, we had a stranger walk into our locked room in the middle of the night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
9.1

I loved staying here! We made friends with the staff, everyone mingled and it was a great location-just a short walk from the strip! Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
9.7

This was a great stay! Loved the athmosphere in the hostel - very relaxed and we had great fun every eveniing with the trivia quiz. And it was so easy to get in contact with other travellers! The kitchen is well equiped, the showers are clean and the rooms are a good size and with a locker for everyone. You can easily walk to town. Would absolutely recommend to stay here! Thanks a lot to Peter and the team!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.1

Great hostel, would definitely stay here again! 10 minute walk from the main road so a bit quieter if you want to get some sleep but at the same time there were still plenty of people going out, just meant pres were a bit more chilled. The rooms were small but comfortable and the showers were clean. The staff were also really friendly and helpful. Stayed in Base in Airlie Beach as well but definitely prefer this one!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
8.6

Friendly staff and a good, laid back atmosphere. Mostly backpackers, not so many long term residents. Nice garden with a pool, hammocks and a barbeque. Well equipped kitchen. Feels a bit like a big happy family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.