Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers by the Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 878 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 878 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd May 2017
8.9

nice location...! very cosy spot..! friendly staff and if ya get nothing to eat with you, you can have breakfast for 3$..! woolsworth is a ten minutes walk away from it as the centre of the village! Greyhound bus stop just in front of the backpacker..!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Mar 2017
2.0

They charged me a night as I had to cancel due to the Cyclone that was about to hit. And I emailed them a day before explaining I wasn't being able to get there due to this but they said that they will still charge me then when I emailed back they ignored the email. Really bad customer service

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2017
6.3

I was at Backpackers by the Bay when cyclone Debbie was going to hit Airlie Beach. Then, the hostel (or rather the owner) showed itself from a very unpleasant perspective. A lot of other hostels had to evacuate (a.k.a. kick out) their guests because of the upcoming cyclone and Backpackers by the Bay took full advantage of them. They still needed to pay the full price per night despite the lack of power and water and apparently got dirty bed sheets since there was no power for the washing machine

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2017
9.7

I had stayed at Backpackers by the Bay for about 2-3 weeks looking for work in Airlie and was here during Cyclone Debbie. The location was AMAZING, located about a 5-10 minute walk to town but far enough from the town to be quieter than most hostels which is great!! Peter the owner is great, very helpful and always on top of things. I definitely recommend here, very friendly, social and inviting atmosphere :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.4

Nice hostel, lovely outside area and little bar. Was pretty quiet though, could be the time of year but if your a solo traveller I wouldn't count on meeting others. Still I would stay again since it's very relaxed and community area is spacious. Good location too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • meganbates97
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Mar 2017
8.6

Really liked this hostel. They have a shuttle bus and also let you hire go pros. Really friendly staff and good air conditioned rooms. The pool was really nice to get into and the hammocks were good as well. Just a small walk into town but it's easy enough to do. Free tea and coffee all day and $3 breakfasts in the morning. Only thing is there are a lot of ants in the kitchen, as long as you keep your things in the fridge and not the cupboards, you should be fine!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
7.4

Alright place... laid back vibes. A 10 minute walk outside town where all the action and restaurants are. It's really around the same price as the other hostels in town, which I think are better value and more fun anyway.. so yeah stay here if you want a chill place away from it all?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
9.4

Great showers! nice staff, cheap breakfast, and walking distance to the port and buses.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
8.3

Location is a walk to the main strip but very close to the greyhound. They had a van to pick me up which was nice. It is a quiet place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
8.0

Staff was nice and the hostel is close enough to the main street. Rather quiet hostel even though the owners seem to encourage a bit more liveliness. For the price it's absolutely a good choice unless you want to party :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.