Hostelworld.com

Backpackers by the Bay

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
Backpackers by the Bay Located at 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach.
Backpackers by the Bay
Australia
Airlie Beach Queensland 4802 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach
81% 680
-20.2744557 148.7232327
Backpackers by the Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
16th May 2016
9.7

Really great hostel in Airlie. Quiz every night means it is easy to meet people and the staff are super friendly and give you about 10% off any tours/activities that are outside of Airlie! Spacious dorms, kitchen and bathrooms. Would definitely recommend staying here .. definitely worth the money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
9.7

On top of theur game here. Friendly yet very efficient. Much appreciated the courtesy pickup from the bus and drop off later at my boat. Mattress is most comfortable I've slept on during 6 months on the road including some swank places. Lively ambiance but not noisy. Love the nightly trivia quiz and 1.50 sausages that Rick dishes up. Bit of a walk but easy stroll to town. Pricing for boat trips is CRAZY good so check with them before you book- wish I had! quibble - wifi but being upgraded.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel! The staff were amazing. Helped me out with transfers and bits of info regarding my sailing. The room was clean and the beds comfy. Was chilled but near enough to town to walk. I loved chilling in the hammocks and even booked another night there. Highly recommend if you want a clean, friendly place with a really good hot shower! Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th May 2016
7.4

Nice place, friendly staff.the trivia night questions were a bit not thought very well and wasn't much atmosphere for that

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
9.1

One of my very favourite hostels that I have stayed in Australia, and the winner in "friendliest staff" category. I felt welcomed from the moment on I was picked up by their driver from the bus station. Also the owner and the other staff were very nice, welcoming and wanted their guests to have a good time in their house. Only stayed there for one night before my Whitsundays' trip, but had a lot of fun taking part in daily the quiz night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
7.1

Nice relaxing hostel. Lots of places to chill outdoors. Easy to meet people since it's a smaller hostel and they have a game of trivia every night so it's a reason to socialize. Not a far walk from town. Nice little getaway. No deposit for kitchenware which was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.1

The best thing about this place is definitely the lovely staff, they immediately make you feel so welcome! The receptionist even kept our 4 bed dorm free so we got our own room for a couple of nights, bonus! There's a really relaxed atmosphere and the rooms and facilities are great, especially the amusing showers ;) it's the only hostel in Airlie that does transfers as well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
7.1

A very nice hostel. With a great atmosphere. Very familiar. The only thing that misses, is a new hob (hotplate) in the kitchen. The current looks a little bit.... overused.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Jam12Caz
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.6

Don't listen to the bad reviews, great hostel! 5 minute walk from bars, lagoon and shops etc. Clean rooms, great kitchen. Staff are excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
8.6

Great little hostel. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Checked out for a Whitsunday's tour for three days and when I came back to get my luggage, the girls were more than happy for me to use the showers and have a cup of tea while I waited for my night bus. Nice garden and pool with plenty of places to sit around in the heat!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.