Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers by the Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Backpackers by the Bay Located at 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach.
Backpackers by the Bay
Australia
Airlie Beach Queensland 4802 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach
85% 713
-20.2744557 148.7232327
Backpackers by the Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Jul 2016
7.7

If you are going to book into this hostel and haven't planned your boat trip to Whitsundays I would just turn up - then they offer discounted rates on all the boats (they have a blackboard with available ones for next couple of days) and then will give you a free nights accom and free storage (otherwise $6). Overall nice hostel, bar event on makes it easy to meet people and they offer BBQ sausages for dinner for $1.50! Slightly further from town that some of the other hostels- 5-10 minute walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
9.4

Amazing, even let me use the facilities 2 days after my last night their to shower down after a sailing trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

Great place! The guy Doff or Loff? At the front desk was so kind and welcoming. He made everyone feel welcome. Clean rooms, fun people but not a crazy loud hostel. Just right.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
8.9

Excellent friendly staff. Pleasant old school vibe. More personal than many of the chain hostels popping up elsewhere in Oz. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.3

Excellent atmosphere and staff - would definitely stay here again. A brilliant alternative to the big hostels on the main street. Located 5 mins from greyhound and 10 mins from town. Great outdoor area and there's a quiz on every night to meet others. Nice bathrooms. Negatives - you can walk straight into the hostel from the street late at night, the kitchen and dining area aren't too clean and there are old and broken pans, plate, knifes etc. and the beds are small with no bars on top bunk

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

Loved staying here! It's a short walk to where the action is but it nice and quiet. Nice room and friendly staff, would definitely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jul 2016
7.7

The Hostel looks very nice and it's a very relaxing atmosphere. The bathroom and the kitchen were very clean and with enough space. Small lockers in the rooms. Beds are a bit uncomfortable, especially when your sleeping on top. Furthermore there is no real ladder to get in your bed. It was a bit annoying though that we weren't able to use the air conditioning in winter, because it was pretty warm in the rooms. However, it is a nice hostel especially because of the friendly atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.3

Great hostel, lovely and clean with really good facilities but I was really let down by the staff when I checked out - reception is supposed to open at 7:15, and so I planned on returning my key for my deposit then, and then catching the hostel's shuttle bus to the bus station; but no one turned up at 7:15 and after waiting 5 minutes until 7:20, I had to run to the bus stop as it was leaving 10 minutes later. I didn't ever get my $20 key deposit and was very dissappointed by lack of bus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Jun 2016
8.0

Tidy hostel, got a free night for booking a cruise - confortable rooms and friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
27th Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel with a nice relaxing vibe. Cute little bar next to the pool. Would recommend staying here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.