Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bon Paul & Sharky's Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
5.7

Facility not maintained properly. Bathroom door jamed all night long making lots of noise. Private room bed horrible . NO parking for the car on site, had to walk and park on main street. NO staff available.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
31st Jul 2017
9.1

Quite good hostel. I love it's location. There are a lot of bars and restaurants which has different vibe and feeling to others' in the downtown. Not bad transportation system near the hostel, you can easily catch the bus to the center of the city whenever. You may be happy even just hang around and chill out around the hostel and the village.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
10.0

Great stay with wonderful people! Great location as well...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
8.0

Staff was great. Other guests were very friendly. Other hostels may have better facilities but the staff was top notch !

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
10.0

My 25 yr old daughter and I stayed here before heading home after a camping/paddling trip on the French Broad River. As an older adult, I have been hesitant to to stay in a hostel due to a preference for privacy over savings. Here we had a private room that was light, airy, charming and comfortable. The hostel itself a great funky, eclectic atmosphere. The location is excellent. There are many small shops, bars, and restaurants (and even a retro arcade) within a couple blocks of the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Jun 2017
9.7

A really great place. A cool vibe and helpful staff. The comfiest hostel bed I've ever stayed in! In fact I would probably say it was comfier than my bed at home! I wished I could have stayed longer to see more of the town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.3

Very homey hostel beds are extremely comfortable! Staff are very helpfull

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
9.1

My trip to Asheville would not have been complete without this hostel. It's nestled in West Asheville (which is probably the "weirdest" part of Asheville) with a short bus ride available via public transportation OR Uber/Lyft. I met some awesome people among the guests and staff; we even organized to go to a concert together. Overall, it's an excellent place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Cuba, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
8.6

The only thing that I didn't like was the attitude of the employee who received us. In my opinion, he was rude and impolite. The importance of a friendly face and treatment shouldn't be undermined.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th May 2017
6.6

No locks on the dorm rooms and back door is often left open so take a padlock for the (small) lockers available! Location is good and they have parking which is a bonus! The breakfast is a banana and coffee! At $30 each a night it's very overpriced (maybe it's due to location) however it's fairly clean and my bed was comfy!! Asheville itself is beautiful and I recommend checking out the blue ridge mountains!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear that the back door was open. We do try to be very diligent about keeping the building secure. We do have plans to put locks on the dorm doors as well. Breakfast is a simple coffee, tea, toast, fruit, and eggs. We are not a B&B. The $30 includes the tax. Thanks!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.