Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bon Paul & Sharky's Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 275 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 275 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.3

Very homey hostel beds are extremely comfortable! Staff are very helpfull

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th May 2017
6.6

No locks on the dorm rooms and back door is often left open so take a padlock for the (small) lockers available! Location is good and they have parking which is a bonus! The breakfast is a banana and coffee! At $30 each a night it's very overpriced (maybe it's due to location) however it's fairly clean and my bed was comfy!! Asheville itself is beautiful and I recommend checking out the blue ridge mountains!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear that the back door was open. We do try to be very diligent about keeping the building secure. We do have plans to put locks on the dorm doors as well. Breakfast is a simple coffee, tea, toast, fruit, and eggs. We are not a B&B. The $30 includes the tax. Thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
10.0

My buddy and I recently stayed here on a birthday weekend, and believe me, it was a genuine blast. The staff there are cool and including as hell and willing to answer any questions you have about downtown AVL or anything like that. Overall, the hostel was clean and accommodating. About a 10 minute drive to get right in the center of downtown AVL; however, within walking distance there are plenty of places to eat, drink, and explore.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mads587
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
8.0

Colorful, unique hostel situated right in the middle of the quirky town of West Asheville. Great place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
7.7

Inconsiderate women sharing the room made certain my night would not bring much sleep...Quiet 1.5 hrs after 'quiet hours', then disturbances at 12:40 and almost 2 am. My alarm awakened me to find a man sleeping in the women's room. Happily, there was hot water, nice people having breakfast & great eateries, bars nearby. Could be a '9'- push mgmt to enforce rules to improve YOUR stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.0

Lovely characterful hostel with a great Asheville vibe. However along with this it is quite a historic house and doesn't have modern hostel amenities like accessible plugs. Breakfast was disappointing but the location was good for west Asheville and a quick drive to town. Lovely staff, would go back overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
8.9

Really enjoyed my two new guy stay here, would go again! Great location in west Asheville, uber to downtown only $7. Breakfast was very basic and only two bathrooms one upstairs one downstairs but can't complain for what we paid. Very friendly staff, we felt very welcome here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
9.7

Loved the place and met friendly travelers from all over the country/world. It's simple and basic but I love that when traveling. It's a couple of miles from downtown Asheville but bikes are available for free and one may not want to leave West Asheville anyway as it is a very cool, hip and friendly area with some really good music venues and eateries of its own. I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

I spend there only one night. However, I enjoyed my stay a lot and spend a great evening with people I met there. Only disadvantage are there are only 2 bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We actually have two full bathrooms, and one half bath. Sorry you didn't see them all. Thanks!

31st Mar 2017
9.1

This place was so cozy and welcoming. Really loved the very friendly staff. Met a friend for a lifetime there and the outdoor patio is so sweet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.