X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Broadford Backpackers Hostel Reviews

High Road Broadford Isle of Skye, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
401 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The location is good. Staff is helpful. Lounge is comfortable to spend time, read or watch movies.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Very average hostel. I only identified one member of staff, not sure if there were others. You have to make your own bed on arrival and strip if when leaving - a bit lazy out of the staff at this price point. I'd imagine it's a lot better when the weather is good; nice green surroundings with outdoor space. There's not much to see in Broadford.


83%

The outside looks a bit skeevy as it's a building up for sale and a bit dilapidated, but once you get to the hostel part around the back the inside is fairly nice and snug. Five showers separate to toilets which is good, lots of hooks in them for clothes! The room itself was clean, mattress a bit creaky though. Nice common room but wifi access a bit spotty. Kitchen was fine for us but on the small side, I imagine it's pretty crowded when there's a few people cooking.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Pretty OK


91%

More convinent location than YHA good value for money, and unexpectedly nice and clean

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice and quiet off the main highway. Great to have free parking on-site. We especially liked the house cat. Lots of refrigerator space, especially some of it outside the kitchen so we could keep cold items accessible while kitchen was closed. Sometimes a little hard to locate the staff, but all very friendly. Lounge was good-sized and our room was close enough to the lounge for us to get Internet access from the room.


86%

Great hostel with good kitchen, rooms, and facilities. seemed pretty clean and promoted socializing which was great. the only thing is that its on the south side of the island and takes a while to travel up north where most of the major scenic areas are. other than that was great!


86%

The location is great. The private double room is really good that gave us a private space. We can also use the kitchen to cook which makes the trip better.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Typical low-end hostel for people on a budget. Looks not really attended from the outside, and there was mould in our room due to open windows. The sleep itself (beds, linen) were better than expected though. Overall, I would not like to stay again due to overall cleanliness and appearance.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Decided to stay here driving Glasgow to Broadford and spend a day going through the Isle of Skye, then on to Inverness. Broadford is well located for that. The hostel was about average based on a 2 night stay. No under bed racks or in room lockers. Elevator appeared to be out of service for some time and all rooms are on the 2nd floor, may be worth inquiring about if you have mobility issues.


80%

the manager and the employers very nice.Clean and confortable.beautifull place.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel, perhaps it would benefit from having a bar. A bit noisy but al hostels are. Nicee spanish girl at the reception was v friendly


63%

needs maintenance both inside and outside. The room was good, but the lift obviously had been out of use for some time as it was used as junk storage. A bit overpriced for the facilities offered. Room was unbearably hot in the afternoon as the roof window couldn't be opened because of the midgies.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

For a longer stay we would have liked more hooks and shelves in the rooms.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice place:-)


71%

Comfy beds, large dining room, only downside is the paper thin walls..


86%

Great hostel with wonderful atmosphere and very helpful staff who make you feel at home.


43%

We were travelling as a family (6 of us male and female)specifically booked this hostel because it had a 6 bedded room.Despite confirming the booking via phone and email.No problem was highlighted.When we arrived we were told that the 6 bed room was actually a 7 and we would have a stranger in the room with us.We had to stay as we had no a alternative.Also noticed Small insects on bed when I removed the sheet.Not a good experience.


83%

perfect ! very nice wellcoming, thank you

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff were really friendly and made you feel at home. I only wished there were screens on the windows as sometimes it gets hot in rooms and if you open window, midgies will fly in in the evening.


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback