Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2109 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2109 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th May 2017
8.0

Poor washroom facilities , rest was good, excellent bar downstairs, easy to reach by train, nice staff and guests

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
10.0

Loved my 2 night stay! Clean and safe environment! Friendly people all around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
8.0

For the price, this was a good hostel. Centrally located, cozy interior. It does get noisy at night since it's right next to a bar and a lot of cigarette smoke will get in your room with around 20-30 smokers nightly immediately outside the hotel. I saw one mouse when I stayed there as well but that's probably to be expected with most hostels/motels to be honest. Friendly staff. Kitchen could be bigger for the size of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
4.6

Very much just a party hostel to get drunk and pass out in. The rooms were not very comfortable. There was a bulb of garlic on the radiator in our room on check-in so the place smelled awful. Very few electrical outlets in inconvenient places. Lockers were filthy. Terrible washrooms - two toilets in the ladies and one was overflowing. The shower doors are frosted glass open to the whole room and visible from the hall when people kept leaving the doors open. The bathmats were dirty towels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
6.6

Breakfast could be better or a stay without breakfast for a lower price could be offered. ThE atmosphere was fun there were a lot of nice people that we could easily hang out with in the evenings.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.6

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The lockers in the room were small, half-length school lockers that would not fit a large pack. The building and facilities are older, but about what I would expect for a hostel. It was about $40 each for a private 2 person dorm, compared with the average from backpacking around Europe it was a little higher than I remember. The location is pretty good. I didn't count on my room vibrating from the loud music in the bar below. (stayed on 1st floor)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Emiliewormjensen
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th May 2017
8.9

I had a great time on Cambie. Will recommend it to everyone. Great bed, location and helpfull staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
4.9

Stayed on a Sat night on the first floor in a mixed dorm. The sound from the downstairs bar is insane loud until 330 am. Bring earplugs... The showers also were exposed to the toilets (you can see into the toilets from the shower)... its not exactly a great stay. Ontop of that somehow someone got into the room and thought I was in their bed (but they had their room number confused) -- surprised the keys worked for more than one door.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
8.6

Only downside is the bar underneath the hostel is very loud till about 2am otherwise everything else is quite reasonable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexegan093754
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.0

Great location, loved that it was above a bar, but there wasn't a great communal area to meet people, seemed like they pushed the bar as the communal space. The pillow i was given had a bunch of large stains on it. Being right in the centre of Gastown made up for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments! I'm sorry you weren't passed on the information but there's a common room / kitchen on the 1st floor where we have movie nights, game nights and it's where we start the pub crawl! Next time you're back ask us where it is and we'll point you the way :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.