Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 2,027 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 2,027 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.3
Cambie Hostel - Gastown Located at 300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver.
Cambie Hostel - Gastown
Canada
Vancouver BC V6B 2N3 300 Cambie St., Vancouver
74% 2027
49.2831899 -123.1088662
Cambie Hostel - Gastown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.7

Great location. Great place if you want a nightlife. Very enjoyable stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
7.4

This is definitely a party hostel, with not much in the way of common space unless you want to constantly encounter screaming drunks making messes in the kitchen. I wouldn't bank on trying to use the kitchen... it was pretty messy most of the time, and filled with aforementioned drunks. Also I was charged for a 2 bed dorm but there were 4 total beds in my room. They said they were only going to put 2 people in it (me + 1), but I've worked in hostels and doesn't make any sense at all. Scam?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
3.4

Although the hostel had a "fun" atmosphere, it was very dirty, and not an ideal place to sleep or shower. The bar downstairs was sleezy and VERY loud. Not only could we not sleep the music was so loud, but it continued on until 2am, sometimes even 4 in the morning, making it an awful place to spend the night. The bathrooms were tiny, and not well maintained. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone traveling through Vancouver.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Dec 2016
8.6

This was my second stay in the Cambie Hostel. This time I was here for one night. I really like the hostel because you will always get in contact with other travelers. I was the night out and ended in the bar downstairs with nice guys. All in all, a great place for some nights. Only the bathrooms are very small and you do not have much space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
9.4

A lot cleaner than I thought it was going to be. Free coffee and super cheap breakfast makes this place a steal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2016
9.4

Excellent atmosphere in the Cambie bar on the first floor with a great mix of different music and the hostel is great for meeting awesome folks from around the world.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2016
3.4

If you're looking for a private room in down town Van spend a few extra bucks and go somewhere else. Old and gross.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Nov 2016
6.9

Hostel is in a good location close to downtown but the area is a bit dodgy at night. We stayed in a private room with ensuite which was clean enough but very basic and old. Holes in the squeaky floor boards and not so great heating. Bedding was comfortable enough and the shower was hot, so if you only need those creature comforts then this hostel is reasonable value. There's no hostel common area but there is a bar attached to the hostel and guests get a small discount off the breakfast menu.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Nov 2016
8.3

Great location and the reception staff were really helpful. The hostel was really clean the only issue I had was that I think the fridges needed cleaning. Also if you want a quieter room then go the the 2nd floor as you can hear the bar quite alot on the 1St floor

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
4.3

I noticed doors leading to the dorms were propped open for hours, perhaps by cleaning staff. Also, though likely hard to do, guests should be reminded to lock dorm room doors, especially if they are leaving the building. Having stayed in the en suite room #217 twice now, I know some tenants don't lock the door. Don't want my stuff stolen. I stayed four nights this trip and the bathroom in the room was never cleaned(trash can not emptied) and toilet paper was running low.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.