Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.5
Cambie Hostel - Gastown Located at 300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver.
Cambie Hostel - Gastown
Canada
Vancouver BC V6B 2N3 300 Cambie St., Vancouver
74% 1817
49.2831899 -123.1088662
Cambie Hostel - Gastown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
6.0

you get for what you paid : I met some nice travelers, and being downtown for a cheap price is quite a deal. However the staff was not that helpful (and sometimes rude), the dorms are extremely hot and it's noisy at night. During my two days there, the kitchen sink and the laundry broke and water from the ceiling started to drop off the girls' washroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
4.6

Great location but horrible experience. Too loud, bathroom was out of order, dirty, and the staff was rude.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jorijnsmit
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
17th Jul 2016
10.0

If you aren't staying here yet cancel your rent or move of your mom's couch and go to Cambie Gastown!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danieladrag5905
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.3

I was happy with the place, very easy to find, nice reception staff. They do have an elevator - so you will carry your bag on the stairs. Security is ok - the night supervisor checks if people who enter have a key. At the second floor, the door was not locked - however there was a locked door at the entrance (ground floor). I had a private room for two - one of the beds was double - very comfortable. There was a bad smell in the room - not sure if coming from the outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.6

Nice place. Location is good, was a bit concerned about been above a bar with noise etc. But wasn't an issue. Staff were helpful and friendly, good social atmosphere with nice kitchen and lounge, which everyone then moved down stairs to the bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
8.0

Overall, it was fine, and I'll probably stay here again. The breakfast service staff in the bar-restaurant was not alert. The $3.50 coupon given to me by the desk was overlooked in the bill by the waitress; I had to re-call it to her attention to get the discount. The gals in the breakfast area were not on top of things.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
6.9

I wanted to try this Hostel out because of the location and heritage vibe. I had a LOT of luggage and it wasn't clear what floor I was on. I went all the way up to the second floor (which is actually the third) but the fob they provided me didn't respond to the door so I went all the way back to the second. The Housekeeper told me I was on the wrong floor and to go back to the third... I booked a girls dorm and was shocked when a man came in while I was dressing. Unclean and unorganized.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
10th Jul 2016
7.4

Not a bad place place for a few nights, but very loud at night with the bar on the ground floor, shower stalls are tiny. It's a very old building with wonky floorboards and musky smells. Free coffee and muffin at breakfast is nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
4.6

Staff were friendly. Bar and breakfast area nice. The hostel unfortunately smelled poorly (in particular in the hallways) and was overall unclean. That and it's location was next to a fairly sketchy part of town that wasn't exactly inviting.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
4.6

Very very basic rooms, very noisy & felt unsafe at night with lots of drunk male guests. Showers were awful. Hard to access tap for drinking water, kitchen was average, lots of rotten food in fridge. Staff friendly but v busy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.