Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2046 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2046 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alixraff
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
6.9

Location perfect. Staff weren't the most helpful. Common area not the best. Bar downstairs is reasonable priced. Building needs updated.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
5.4

Wow, was our room dismal. I'm probably too old for this stuff, but we made it work. The staff largely could not have cared less. We didn't have a huge amount to do with them, but they were just less that friendly/welcoming, other than check-out, ironically. Maybe a little too hip to be nice - and certainly not nice enough (the room) to justify the general attitude. There's cheaper around, I'm sure, and they won't be worse.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
6.3

Good location bad cold showers. And didn't get key deposit or towel deposit as nobody at reception when leaving

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Traveler855
  • Latvia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Feb 2017
6.0

Every evening I saw mice. In breakfast only muffin with coffee or tea. If you would like more in breakfast you have to pay for it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Feb 2017
5.4

Do not come here in winter, insufficient heating, the kitchen while no fault of the hostel more so people staying here is revolting. The rooms are disgusting and dirty, there was mice in mine and worst of all the showers are freezing. I spent three nights here and tried on multiple occasions to get a hot shower which was not once achieved. I would not stay here again but would recommend for one night if you wanna go downstairs and party as the bar is good fun.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
10.0

An awesome 2 night stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
7.1

Quiet, mellow, and lots of lovely people staying here. It's a great location and the pub food is affordable and tasty. Yes, it's not the cleanest but the bedding is fine and there's hot water. I not only would stay here again, I will come back soon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
8.0

Fun place with lots of stuff going on. Chill people and chill vibes. Do not expect to have a nice, quiet evening or get a lot of sleep because the bar downstairs stays open late and is loud!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
9.7

I've stayed here many times, and will continue to stay here every time I'm in Vancouver. Best hostel that I've visited in Canada and the US!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
9.4

Perfect for what it is. Great location, awesome that it's connected to a bar (definitely a bar for a younger crowd), really lovely and helpful staff and very efficient in all that they offer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.