X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cambie Hostel - Gastown Reviews

300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1305 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Room was extremely hot without ac or a fan. Much warmer in room than outside temperature.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

・Staff was so kind. ・Too noisy in midnight. ・Bathroom was so tiny.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The cambie is rad! You meet cool people and are in a great location.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. Had a great location being right next to the sea bus and the train station. Would stay again


43%

Mice run freely in the kitchen on the first floor. Partying in the pub downstairs is rowdy and if you like to sleep at night, then this will bother you. The building is old and the floors are wooden and dirty. I did like the cheap laundry and the free muffin and tea for breakfast next door. Wifi was slow or only intermittent. Location was in the middle of a neighbourhood overflowing with the smell of burnt drugs. Overall a very poor hostel experience.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Was initially sketched out by the neighborhood and the atmosphere on arrival, but the extremely friendly man at the desk immediately dispelled that. It's got a very grungy, down-to-earth charm to it, and it certainly was outside of my comfort zone, but I loved it. The staff here was extremely helpful, plus the bar downstairs has some pretty great beers on tap, not to mention a very lively nightlife. There are no lockers, so have a lock that can fit your luggage. Definitely would stay here again.


89%

I very much enjoyed my stay at The Cambie. The only thing that slightly bothered me were the small holes in my ceiling, on the top bunk I was very close to the ceiling and imagined lots of creepy bugs crawling out every night when I was trying to fall asleep. But I still had a great time!


51%

Very dirty, very noisy at nights since the pub is under the rooms

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location near the main train station and near all the bars/restaurants in Gastown. Hostel itself is fine. It's clean enough but everything is a little bit old and run down. Would be nice if the windows could stay open to get some air into the room! If you want to get a good night's sleep this is not the hostel for you - it's right on top of a large, lively pub and the street-facing bedrooms get very noisy (especially on weekends).

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Great atmosphere of hostel, but facilities could've definitely been better maintained. The lockers and overall room seemed to be falling apart.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel, only complaint would be the noise from bar below but if you can deal with that it's fine. Love the free muffins and coffee on a morning, great location - easy to walk to vancouvers attractions. Wifi works great, plenty of plugs in each room. Staff are very friendly, particularly curly haired man who worked behind reception as he helped us with all our directions/ what to do/ printing etc. Thank you! Would definitely stay here again if we were to pass through Vancouver.


89%

I was pleasantly surprised that is was decent. Could use some fans but I was happy. Great staff, clean and decent bed.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Little to no social vibe within the hostel as there is only a very small kitchen and smaller seating area that could offer some hostel value. Rooms were basic and outdated but bearable, perhaps it's just a Canada thing but there weren't all that many travellers and interesting oeople - and the bar downstairs, although nice and proximate, was not one that people would be open and talkative at unless you were already in a group. All in all an ok but underwhelming stay. 5/10.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As of June 8th the kitchen has been completely renovated, doubling the space plus adding all new cooking equipment and appliances! The Cambie Bar has won many city awards like "Best place to meet new people" and "Best place for cheap drinks"! It also has weekly events like Tuesday Beer Pong to go with the legendary Friday and Saturdays! Being full nightly, we can promise future guests they will unquestionably meet interesting people throughout the hostel! That's why we love our job :)

80%

I loved the location of this hostel. The room was also good value for a double room. Showers did not allow any privacy which wasn't so good. Also, Wifi did not work throughout the hostel only in certain spot and still was slow.


91%

So Happy to have been recommended this place for it was prefect. Staff recommended some local restaurants and I had a fabulous dinner. Loved that it was a double bed sheets very crisp liked that too. all in all excellent.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Amazing and understanding staff! The front desk was helpful and even gave us tips on where to go to explore Vancouver. The location is close to everything and super convenient.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent location, excellent and happy staff that will help with anything, clean and big beds! The door to the room is difficult to lock from the inside and can be unlocked without knowing which is a little unsettling. The security getting into the hostel is great.


80%

It can be very, very loud. Make sure you have headphones or earplugs. Otherwise, fun place, interesting crowd, good location.


100%

Had such a awesome stay at the Cambie, Great location (Gas town is wonderful), Lovely staff who were always super helpful and had a great atmosphere. Cant really go wrong with the Cambie if your staying in Vancouver!


51%

I have booked thru online and i was asked what time would i be arriving. I replied 5am. When we got to the hostel, we were greeted by an unfriendly man and said check in time is 2pm. Just imagine driving 12hrs at night straight and expecting a bed waiting for you at 5am so you could rest a bit before going about your day. This was too much. The building itself for me could be deemed unfit for accomodations. I understand that Cambie Hostel is a heritage site in Vancouver but it needs major recon

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The Cambie Hostel can not wake up a guest at 5am and ask them to leave 6 hours before check out due to an early arrival. We do have 24 hour check in though and if you were to arrive at 5 am on the day OF your arrival, we would still be able to check you in. But 6 hours before check out wouldn't be fair to another guest.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback