Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 2062 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 2062 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
7.7

It is something that you get what you pay for. It is an older building, but fairly clean. Our group stayed for 4 nights and didn't get to bed til after 1am every night due to noise. If you are into the party scene the Cambie is a great place to have wings and a beer, then go out or stay in. It was in a good location to be able to branch out and see anything you wanted. Only bad thing is that there is VERY limited parked and it is all pay at the meter with no real over night parking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
10.0

a terrific place FOR 21sand above armosphere electric rhe bar was full every night and everybody was jumping

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
4.3

Warning !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Do not stay here and waste your money. You cannot get any sleep here. It's basically a dorm above a night club. The music is so loud that you go crazy. Worst hostel in North America. What kind of an idiot runs a hostel above a club playing loud music at night until 3am. Breakfast is a joke. muffin plus coffee. Waste of money and take your money somewhere else Showers are cold and bathrooms are disgusting. How in the world has city given permission to run this place ?

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Feb 2017
5.4

Extremely loud!!! The worst breakfast ever. The worst bathroom I ever seen in the hostel. So cold in common area! Quite nice bar downstairs but the music there is too loud, and beer on special for 4$ is one of the worst i have ever tried!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
9.7

I've stayed here two different times now and both times the experience has overall been great! The location is very close to downtown Vancouver, the staff have excellent customer service skills, cleanliness is above average compared to other hostels I've stayed at, and the atmosphere is wonderful for interacting with people from all over the world over a cheap jug of craft beer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Feb 2017
7.1

The hostel is ridiculously loud at night because there is a popular bar right below the hostel. Aside from having trouble sleeping the hostel is absolutely fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alixraff
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Feb 2017
6.9

Location perfect. Staff weren't the most helpful. Common area not the best. Bar downstairs is reasonable priced. Building needs updated.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
4.9

Do not go here. Just don't. Even though it's fairly cheap it does not add up to all their issues. It's dirty and the staff is completely careless and rude, And the cherry on top is the bar downstairs, which plays crappy music to an extreme sound level whole night long. Seriously; so extreme that your bed will shake constantly due to the sound. Meaning: you will not sleep in this hostel, and since sleeping is basically what hostels are made for, you should find a better place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
5.4

Wow, was our room dismal. I'm probably too old for this stuff, but we made it work. The staff largely could not have cared less. We didn't have a huge amount to do with them, but they were just less that friendly/welcoming, other than check-out, ironically. Maybe a little too hip to be nice - and certainly not nice enough (the room) to justify the general attitude. There's cheaper around, I'm sure, and they won't be worse.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Very great location, awesome staff, people respect your privacy. There's a bar downstairs which gives a great opportunity to meet new people. Will probably be loud outside if you go to sleep early. Facilities are decent. They're clean enough but could be better. Beds were super cozy and comfortable. The place in general looks a bit old but it's really not a big deal. Beds and rooms are very clean. Overall my friend and I had a fantastic experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.