Hostelworld.com

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,722 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,722 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.5
Cambie Hostel - Gastown Located at 300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver.
Cambie Hostel - Gastown
Canada
Vancouver BC V6B 2N3 300 Cambie St., Vancouver
75% 1722
49.2831899 -123.1088662
Cambie Hostel - Gastown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
5.4

Rooms were too hot, beds too close, very stuffy, location a little scary... Didn't feel safe always. Heard a woman screaming in the night in the alley and it scared me a lot. Staff very friendly and breakfast was good as well at a fair price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
9.1

My absolute favorite hostel to stay in when visiting Vancouver. Always a great experience!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
3.1

Having been to 100's of hostels over the years this is one of the worst. I arrived late, the guy on the desk was useless. He was useless. Lay off the crack amigo! It was noisy on the street, half the lockers are bust and the others full, breakfast was a muffin...a muffin which wasn't even in stock. The woman was rude on the desk. My life dramatically improved once I left this place, it was like going to a Tony Robbins conference. It's cheap, that's the only positive. No atmosphere. No

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
7.1

I've stayed at many hostels and I would say this one is slightly below average. The location is excellent. A lot of restaurants and shopping right outside the front door. The bar attached to the hostel is nice and gets really busy (even on a Tuesday night). My room was located directly above the bar, so it was very loud. The bathrooms were tiny, computers didn't really work, kitchen was pretty gross, and there was a mouse spotted in my room; it's a hostel. The breakfast at the bar was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
4.3

If you don't care about cleanliness or sleeping then this is the hostel for you. It's sits on top of a bar which sounds cool and seems ideal but it's rather irritating because there's never a moment where you don't hear music or loud people. Not only is it constantly loud it's rather disgusting. The rooms are insanely small for four people. No outlets to charge anything. They clearly don't care about how things look because there is no appeal with the cracked/chipped walls. The w

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
7.7

Overall had a great time at the cambie. Only thing is if you want to sleep, I wouldn't recommend staying here - the music vibrates through the hostel from the pub downstairs at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
4.9

The dorms were really smelly and dirty. The hallways literally smelled of garbage. The kitchen is dirty and greasy. no room in the fridge, there was probably food in there for days. Kept my food under my bed. There is a bar downstairs which is which is really loud, DJ playing till 2am. I read this on another review and should have taken it seriously, I couldnt sleep. the bar and patio however are cool to check out. Staff was nice! But the dorms were really disappointing.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
8.9

Love the location - Gastown has character, the waterfront & public transportation. I walked to Stanley Park and Granville Island too. It has a certain level of permanent grime, but the sheets and kitchen and bathroom were clean. It's above a noisy, (grimy) bar, so request a room away from the street and not on the first floor. Showers are tiny, but clean, laundry worked, and the staff was great! Breakfast was perfect! Wide age range for guests, and I'm really glad I had a female only dorm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
6.6

Showers didn't work very well. Male communal bathroom was messy and floor covered in water and towels. Bed was comfortable and common room had a good vibe. It was also very noisy with the bar downstairs and the busy road. But the location is great for night life and exploring.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
6.0

Know this is not a hostel with a bar on the bottom floor. This is very much a bar with a hostel above it. Weekend noise till 3AM. Location and price can't be beat.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.