Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 2433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 2433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2017
8.0

Staff was great. For cleanliness the common room was littered with beer bottles and trash. How some -mandatory- drugged up drunk people were able to yell at the top of their lungs past midnight in the hallways is unbelievable. On a tuesday night. When i arrived exhausted, i had to use the female bathroom as the male one was crowded by a partying group including a female. Broken glass and garbage everywhere. I travel a lot, and a hostel in Singapore for example felt like a 5-star compared.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Sep 2017
8.9

There's very few power points , none around the beds, no night lights, nowhere to put your stuff in the shower

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
6.0

Hostel was in a great location, breakfast at the bar was wonderful but bar was very loud until 2 am and our room had mice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Sep 2017
5.7

It's an OK stay for one night. The bed was really unsturdy and sleeping on the top bunk bed wasn't really pleasant. Bathrooms weren't super clean. They have a security deposit of $10 but I never got to know where you actually can put your bag. The price was pretty high, but I assume it was because of the high demand that weekend. Overall it was OK but I wouldn't want to stay for longer.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2017
9.1

Great time, met good folks, loved breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2017
6.3

Rooms are really warm, even when Vancouver is not, because they have very bad ventilation. First floor is very loud. No soap in showers. Location is very good. But that's about it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
7.4

Great spot. One canadian girl on reception was lovley and made to feel like i could ask any questions. The other aussie girl and another boy were mean. I actually waited for the Canadian girl to get back on reception to ask a few questions. Dont work in customer sevice if you dont like people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2017
6.9

The location was very nice and the pub under the hostel is perfect for breakfast; allot and cheap! But the rooms and bed itself are really dirty. They only wash the sheets but not the sleeping bag you sleep with. The matrasses are so old that you feel the bed springs. O and they have mice... The bathrooms are clean but there is no place to hang your towel or clothes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2017
6.9

I notified the Cambie staff about a variety of issues. dead light-bulb, room without lockers, broken toilets. roommate smoking in room. none of these issues were addressed. The pub had issues as well. 2 specific staff would routinely overcharged. Be wary. I think better management is called for in the hostel and pub. There are good staff here but the bad apples spoil the Hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
9.7

Had a wonderful stay, staff were great, it was clean, secure, and great location and price. Only thing is because they got a bar on the bottom floor it was insanely loud until the bar closes at 2am(but I just put some headphones in and was able to sleep) also the bunk bed mattresses aren't the most comfy , but what can u expect for $32 a night, I would deff stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×