Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1,929 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1,929 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.4
Cambie Hostel - Gastown Located at 300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver.
Cambie Hostel - Gastown
Canada
Vancouver BC V6B 2N3 300 Cambie St., Vancouver
73% 1929
49.2831899 -123.1088662
Cambie Hostel - Gastown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

Cambie Hostel is the best choice, I personally felt very comfortable. .. safe. Everything was great . Met nice cool people, Kitchen was very clean , 4 bed room was comfortable, plenty of organic free food, for any one. Bathrooms were kept cleaned. Location beyond extremely nice, in Gastown. the guests can be noisy but it's not the hostel fault. . Be open minded Have a positive attitude this is hostel not our private house or hotel, know the GAPS. Halimatu .. thanks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
8.3

If you're looking for a cheap and fun place this is your place to be! Perfectly located in Gastown, around 10 min walk to Waterfront Trainstation and with lots of bus stops around, it is easy to explore Vancouver starting here. It's not the cleanest hostel I have stayed, but it's not gross either. Big advantage is the restaurant/bar in the same building (you can skip the line (which is pretty long on the weekends) when you stay at The Cambie). For breakfast you get coffee and a muffin for free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Sep 2016
8.3

Great atmosphere. Very noisy but that's to be expected with the pub down below. Super uncomfortable bed and facilities not the best, but great for meeting people and Gastown is a good area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
5.7

Good location for visiting Vancouver. Room clean, although not all lockers worked or could be locked. Surprisingly quiet considering the neighbourhood and bar. Front desk staff no interest in customer service or answering questions so might be tough if travelling alone or want help. Worst part was the main stairs smelling of urine, and then the corridors/rooms smelling of bleach in the morning. The smell of cleaning products was so bad it made my eyes water and I checked out early to get away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
7.7

Cambie Hostel is a great hostel for the traveler with a budget. The beds are as one would expect in a hostel, clean sheets, and there are usually 4 lockers to lock your stuff into (usually more like 8, but a few doors broken off!). The bathrooms are not big, but function. It is in an old building so comes with a lot of old building problems. In the summer it's pretty warm at night, as there's no AC at all. On the main floor is a busy local Pub. Friendly staff, I always meet friends to talk to.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
5.7

This hostel is in a good location and is very lively. There is a big pub on the ground floor, which appeared very popular. It would probably be a good hostel for meeting people. However, we were very disappointed in the cleanliness of the hostel. The sheets on our bed appeared somewhat dirty. It was very difficult to tell if they had really been washed. The bathrooms were also dingy and dirty. The breakfast was nice, but overall I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
8.3

The place to be in the heart of Gaston. A towel would be appreciate for shower!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
8.3

Very loud, ask for quiet room, go a room under a night bar. Loved the bed, would come again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
5.4

When checking in, they gave me the wrong key. So I endet up in a room which already was full. But cause it was dark and one bed was free when I arrived, I didn't realize it in the first moment. So at 3 am they walk up the entire room and I had to change room. The guy there appologized, but was not willed to give any money back or offerd anything.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
7.7

Washrooms are always not clean You can't sleep at night because of loudly music some times until 2:00 am at night. Their breakfast are not varied, there are only tea or coffee and muffins. If you want something else like potatoes or eggs you have to for that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.