X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cambie Hostel - Gastown Reviews

300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1417 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Very dirty, very noisy at nights since the pub is under the rooms

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location near the main train station and near all the bars/restaurants in Gastown. Hostel itself is fine. It's clean enough but everything is a little bit old and run down. Would be nice if the windows could stay open to get some air into the room! If you want to get a good night's sleep this is not the hostel for you - it's right on top of a large, lively pub and the street-facing bedrooms get very noisy (especially on weekends).

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Great atmosphere of hostel, but facilities could've definitely been better maintained. The lockers and overall room seemed to be falling apart.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel, only complaint would be the noise from bar below but if you can deal with that it's fine. Love the free muffins and coffee on a morning, great location - easy to walk to vancouvers attractions. Wifi works great, plenty of plugs in each room. Staff are very friendly, particularly curly haired man who worked behind reception as he helped us with all our directions/ what to do/ printing etc. Thank you! Would definitely stay here again if we were to pass through Vancouver.


89%

I had a lot off fun at Gastown and would stay again!


89%

I was pleasantly surprised that is was decent. Could use some fans but I was happy. Great staff, clean and decent bed.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Little to no social vibe within the hostel as there is only a very small kitchen and smaller seating area that could offer some hostel value. Rooms were basic and outdated but bearable, perhaps it's just a Canada thing but there weren't all that many travellers and interesting oeople - and the bar downstairs, although nice and proximate, was not one that people would be open and talkative at unless you were already in a group. All in all an ok but underwhelming stay. 5/10.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As of June 8th the kitchen has been completely renovated, doubling the space plus adding all new cooking equipment and appliances! The Cambie Bar has won many city awards like "Best place to meet new people" and "Best place for cheap drinks"! It also has weekly events like Tuesday Beer Pong to go with the legendary Friday and Saturdays! Being full nightly, we can promise future guests they will unquestionably meet interesting people throughout the hostel! That's why we love our job :)

80%

I loved the location of this hostel. The room was also good value for a double room. Showers did not allow any privacy which wasn't so good. Also, Wifi did not work throughout the hostel only in certain spot and still was slow.


91%

So Happy to have been recommended this place for it was prefect. Staff recommended some local restaurants and I had a fabulous dinner. Loved that it was a double bed sheets very crisp liked that too. all in all excellent.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Amazing and understanding staff! The front desk was helpful and even gave us tips on where to go to explore Vancouver. The location is close to everything and super convenient.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent location, excellent and happy staff that will help with anything, clean and big beds! The door to the room is difficult to lock from the inside and can be unlocked without knowing which is a little unsettling. The security getting into the hostel is great.


80%

It can be very, very loud. Make sure you have headphones or earplugs. Otherwise, fun place, interesting crowd, good location.


100%

Had such a awesome stay at the Cambie, Great location (Gas town is wonderful), Lovely staff who were always super helpful and had a great atmosphere. Cant really go wrong with the Cambie if your staying in Vancouver!


51%

I have booked thru online and i was asked what time would i be arriving. I replied 5am. When we got to the hostel, we were greeted by an unfriendly man and said check in time is 2pm. Just imagine driving 12hrs at night straight and expecting a bed waiting for you at 5am so you could rest a bit before going about your day. This was too much. The building itself for me could be deemed unfit for accomodations. I understand that Cambie Hostel is a heritage site in Vancouver but it needs major recon

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The Cambie Hostel can not wake up a guest at 5am and ask them to leave 6 hours before check out due to an early arrival. We do have 24 hour check in though and if you were to arrive at 5 am on the day OF your arrival, we would still be able to check you in. But 6 hours before check out wouldn't be fair to another guest.

77%

The hostel was in a great location, near public transportation, Gastown, and the Waterfront. The staff was very helpful and willing to recommend places to check out. The hostel was very loud, with a lot of noise coming from the bar downstairs and the street outside. If you are not into drinking and partying, this hostel may not be the best choice. Some of the hostel seems to be in disrepair, the hallways are very warped and pigeon feathers and droppings tend to drift in through open windows.


91%

I was happy to be welcomed so friendly at the hostel. The atmosphere was lively and was a good introduction to the atmosphere of the City. The adress is comfortable to explore Vancouver. Thank you for my first night in Canada.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Large very clean rooms. Noise from the bar comes up right through the window, so if you are planning on sleeping before 2AM bring earplugs. Bathrooms are clean but could benefit from a privacy curtain around the shower so you can dry off out of the shower cubicle but not in middle of the bathroom. Also some hooks to hang clothes would be helpful, Breakfast is great.


80%

Great central location with easy transit access. The staff were also helpful and always welcomed me with a smile. Maybe advertise the Cambie Card a bit more. I know it made my stay more affordable and I'm sure it could do the same for others. Overall, good experience. It was a little weird waking up one morning to see a man who could've been my grandfather asleep on the bunk across from me though.


80%

Good value for a great location. Wi-fi was not terribly debendable but managemt indicated improvements are on the way. Good place for meeting fellow travelers. A few more plugs would be handy for charging smart phones and tablets.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic place to stay. Good atmosphere, decent coffee and muffin for brekkie too.


(113 results)


View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback