X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cambie Hostel - Seymour Reviews

515 Seymour St. V6B 3H6, Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
924 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great location and helpful staff. Building is old which adds a nice charm to the experience. Room and restrooms were clean. Parking is a pain if you go that route --just an FYI, not going to fault the hostel for that.

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved the location, the staff were super helpful and friendly. Good value for money. Ild deffinately stay here again!

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Should have informed us about the renovation (and thus closing) of the kitchen upon check-in. Could use more bathrooms and better privacy in the bathrooms. Beds are saggy.


71%

I appreciated the way the staff responded immediately to my email when the train I was travelling to was delayed until 3:30am, reassuring me they had a 24 hour lobby and also answered an earlier query

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Team was very nice. I arrived very early on the 28th and the guy who was working then was very unfriendly! He gave me the feeling to be not welcome at all. All the other staff members were lovely and helpful :-) so thank you for the nice stay!

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

In general it´s quite a nice hostel, the location is great. Unfortunately the music in the pub downstairs is terribly loud at night. Furthermore, there are only few people in the common areas (probably due to the existing pub), so it is harder to get in contact with other travellers than in hostels without a pub. What I found a bit annoying, that I arrived at 7am and I couldn´t use the common areas before 2pm...

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Everything was great! My only critique is that the 2nd floor women's bathroom door wouldn't shut all the way, meaning that when you take a shower people could easily see you naked if they were to look at the mirror from the hallway, or through the large crack on the hinge. Otherwise, everything was great! The staff was also EXCEPTIONAL, very helpful and friendly.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Kind staff, tasty morning coffee, hot water, slow Wifi (but works), poor soundpoof, clean bed, good location.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

- Room right over a very noisy dance club. Earplugs were not remotely sufficient - No changing room for showers. This had to be done in the middle of the bathroom, which door can be opened at any time and is connecting to the (public) hallway - 2 of the staff people felt like they'd much rater be somewhere else. The 2 other staff people I met were very nice - The location is great to enjoy the nightlife

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30


74%

It was my first stay in a hostel as i have always used hotels or motels.I thought i would try a hostel as money was tight.With no offense to the hostel i would not do it again.Staying on first floor and sharing a bathroom on the third floor was too much for me.I was grateful it was only 21 degrees the day i stayed as it was about 25 in my room.That being said i would recomend to other people , hosteling was just not for me.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

This hostel is funny-smelling, dirty, bed-bug infested, noisy place. They don't clean the rooms, they don't do maintenance there either. The bar downstairs is extremely loud and so is the construction site nearby. The only advantage of this place is it's cost. Never staying there again.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The Cambie Seymour is a hostel that is located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, walkable to almost everything including gastown, Stanley Park, the Harbour attractions, Robson St., etc. It is a good value for the cost, and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The downsides are that my room, anyway, was RIGHT over the pub downstairs which got really loud at bedtime, and had a construction site across the street which was at it starting at around 7 or 8am.


1 2 Next » last »
(32 results)


View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback