X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Castanea Old Town Hostel Reviews

Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
2827 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The only thing you could do better, is making more seperate washingstands. You had to wait every morning to brush your teath etc because someone else was on the toilet..

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Usually it works smooth with the toiletes, but it didn't at your stay.and we are really sorry that you had to wait! Hope you enjoyed your stay at Stockholm and you are always welcome back!

91%

There could be some common room where people can stay after 23:00. Now the people were quite often common rooms, where should be quiet after 23:00. So I had to ask couple times people to remember that. So Take earplugs with you! Otherwise a really nice hostel in really good location. Nice kitchen and rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you were disturbed by other guests! Glad you reminded them of the limit of 23:00, and that you found Castanea nice. We hope you come back to Stockholm and to Castanea!

100%

My first trip to Sweden and what a warm welcome. The staff are all extremely friendly and so helpful, weather you need directions or idea's of where to visit they really go out of their way to make you feel looked after. The hostel itself is very spacious with great facilities, nice kitchen to prepare and cook your own meals if you wish along with huge power showers and heated flooring. Met some great people who where also staying there. I'd highly recommend Castanea!

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was a pleasure to have you! Thank you for your recommendation and your kind words! We look forward to seeing you again!

100%

Great stay in the best part of the city and great atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the amazing review! We hope you come and visit us soon again!

86%

Staff are very nice and helpful, I had a great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cool that you had a great stay! Thank you for the review and for your stay at Castanea! We hope you come and visit us again!

91%

Great place to rest up at night. Clean and everything works. Reception was open at specific times but the staff were great. The common area was nice but a little quieter than other places I've stayed. Location was great and easy to walk wherever you need.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy you are so positive to Castanea! Welcome back!

100%

We were incredibly happy with our stay at the Castanea Hostel. The room, bathrooms, and kitchen were all immaculate, and nicely decorated. As two girls traveling alone, we felt very safe our entire stay. The staff was very kind and provided us with plenty of information about the area—the location is touristy but in a beautiful neighborhood, easy to access from the train station, and centrally located for traveling to different neighborhoods during our stay. Would definitely recommend!

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your sweet words and for your recommendation! Glad if we get the chance to welcome you here again!

74%

Hostel is in great location, friendly staff. Lacks atmosphere probably because it lacks a good place to just hang out. Ground Floor showers did not pump hot water during the morning or evening and weak wifi in the ground floor rooms. Overall clean, has a kitchen. Overall, average hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy to see you liked Castanea's location! Sorry there were problem with the hot water during your stay! The landlord of this house worked to solve it but unfortunately it took some days. Welcome back to Castanea (now with hot water working)!

89%

Love the location! the rooms were so nice. we had all the privacy we would have wanted but also had access to the more social side of the hostel if desired. rooms were very tidy and spacious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review! It means a lot to us to hear that you loved the location in the Old Town and also liked the social meetings. Please do come and visit us again when you can!

60%

location is great and clean, however they advertise as quiet which is not the case. numerous times multiple people had to come out and tell the children partying there to be quiet. a sign that says no one in here after 10pm however no staff is every there to enfore it. the staff hours are ridiculous. late start. gone in afternoon for few hours then back then gone again for night. more like cots than single beds. very noisy, little help private rooms very very small. no room for luggage


89%

This was a wonderful hostel experience to find so sympathic people and such a wellcome! My impression is that of a mature-world-wanderer, customer of usual "holiday chains" hotels. The big difference is that in the "Hostel" "you-make-friends-and -talk-and make-kitchen-with-them!! ISN'T THAT NICE ? AT CASTANEA I found everything so sympathic, so clean, so as the wonderfull feeling of something like being simply "JUSTE-CHEZ-MOI (less Ye OL'Wineyard I see from my window near Bordeaux of course)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very posivite review! We are glad you met some nice people here. All the best!

91%

Nice People, atmosphere and stuf also Great Location!

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased to hear you are content with your stay! We hope to welcome you again!

100%

Nothing can beat the location. The staff were very friendly, the wifi was great. Everything was modern and well furnished. The only downside was the bed which was creaking; I guess that's normal with hostels, but can be improved.

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review. Sorry about the bed creaking, we have just checked all the beds so now they should be silent. We hope you will visit us again!

89%

Amazing location and a lovely stay. Thank you for making everything so pleasant and easy!

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for being such a friendly guest! Welcome back!

80%

Good located hostel in Gamla Stan. Kitchen for cooking well equipped. No breakfast included but there are two cafes around who offer reduced prices for hostel guests.

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you disovered the cafeés for breakfast, and that you enjoyed your stay here. Please do come and visit us again!

80%

Really enjoyed my stay here! Fantastic location in the middle of Gamla Stan (Old Town)- close to some great bars/restaurants. The hostel is very quiet and there is no real common room so probably not the best place for meeting people. The beds are comfy and showers are clean and hot! I would definitely stay again!


89%

Overall nice hostel, kitchen, clean bathrooms. great location. very nice and friendly staff, some music in the common area would have improved the atmosphere, better than other hostels id stayed at in stockholm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good suggestion with the music! Thank you for staying and for your very positive words! Welcome again!

94%

Very sweet lady who runs it. Good common area in the most picturesque part of the old town. Stay here

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice words! We look forward to have you here again!

100%

Super friendly staff, immaculately clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to here you found us in the staff friendly and that it is clean here. We try our best. We look forward to seeing you again!

94%

The room was perfect for me as I wanted to stay one night with my bagpack. Everything was clean and there were enough toilets/bathrooms. I also enjoyed the very good equipped kitchen.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy you found the room was perfect for you! We hope you will come and visit us again woom!

(87 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback