X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Castanea Old Town Hostel Reviews

Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
2633 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Really nice hostel in a beautiful building, clean and cosy. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Well-equipped kitchen and clean showers. Room was small but comfortable.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the kind words, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Kindly /Lotta

91%

Really the cleanest hostel I've ever used!

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you :) Kindly /Lotta

94%

Very recommended for your stay in Stockholm! Right down in the center of the old town, seconds away from all the happening. AND CHEAP!!! Clean, tidy, has all that you could possibly need, and more - books to borrow, tips from the staff, equipped kitchen to make your own food if you want to spare a few kronor, and more.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the excellent review, and for staying with us! Kindly, Lotta

97%

Staff was very friendly and helpful! The location is excellent. Metro is really close and you still get to stay in the picturesque old town. Great value for money, especially in an expensive city as Stockholm.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, that's really nice to hear! /Kindly Lotta

94%

This is a great place and location to stay. You are very central and it is fairly well prized for the location.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Castanea. Kindly /Lotta

100%

We had a very positive stay with Castanea. It's very clean, exquisitely well located, and pretty affordable. The staff are friendly and helpful. It's small and quiet. It's what you need.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for you words, glad to hear you enjoyed Castanea! Kindly /Lotta

91%

Had a lovely stay- location was excellent. Atmosphere was good, however there was a school group staying when I was there, and they dominated the common areas. Would definitely stay again, and recommend to my friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review and welcome back anytime! Kindly /Lotta

100%

Everything was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you :) Kindly /Lotta

100%

It was great.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for styaing with us! Kindly /Lotta

100%

it was great. staffs nice. i arrived at night , and all i haven to find is german church tyskakirke then i cloud find this hostel. i slept at right next to the window, it was amazing to see outside thru the window. shower room was nice and kitchen was nice too. but some of warning letters with joke in kitchen(fire alarm thibg), could be very un-friendly joke.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Kindly /Lotta

83%

Loved our time at Castanea. I was in the 16-bed mixed dorm, the set up is very good, it doesn't feel like that many people. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The Old Town of Stockholm is absolutely beautiful, and I'm so happy we stayed here. My only real complaint is that the showers smelt damp, however they were very modern.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for your awesome review! We will check the showers and make sure the ventialtion is working as it should. Kindly /Lotta

91%

This place was really great. A bit difficult to find in the Old Town and a bit too quiet for me; these are my only complaints. Overall, an excellent hostel with friendly staff, clean & comfortable facilities, and nice people. Perfect for that weeknight getaway.


97%

Great welcoming staff. Very clean shower room and toilet. Too bad that they charge extra rent for bed sheet. The old style lift is really cool. Best Location in Stockholm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for all the nice words, I'm glad you had a nice time staying here! To not include the bed linen is very common in Sweden, and really helps to keep the prices down as you are always welcome to bring your own as an alternative. Kindly Lotta

100%

A very nice staff and a really comfortable Hostel!

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words! I hope you liked Stockholm as much as you liked Castanea, so we get the chance to see you back here again... Kindly Lotta

100%

Very nice room and community area, friendly staff, and the hostel is located right in the old town of Stockholm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Kindly / Lotta

89%

The room was too small. More spacious options were available elsewhere.


100%

Great accommodation for a fair price, great ideas about off setting carbon and reuse of left over food.

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your review and for staying with us! Kindly /Lotta

71%

The hostel was right in the middle of everything so that was nice. The entrance as well as the dorm room had passcodes which means that anyone who had been to the hostel before could come back. So it didn't feel the safest. Also, the staff were not there very often. I didn't feel like there was much room to go and hang out and meet people with there only being one small living room. However, the hostel worked out and definitely didn't ruin my trip and the kitchen had lots of free stuff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback! Although we love when previous guests returns to Castanea, they have to be updated with the door codes we change frequently... Glad you enjoyed the kitchen :) Kindly Lotta

91%

Fantastic location. Tight security and good kitchen facilities. Limited showers, but it was never a problem. Small common area is nice, but there is no staff to enforce the quiet hours at night.


94%

Amazing location! clean, neat and super friendly. I was traveling alone and must be honest it wasn't the most socially run hostel but there was always someone in the Common room to chat to and have a drink with. Definitely recommend it!

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I'm glad you had a nice stay and thank you for your recommendations! Kindly, Lotta

(85 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback