X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

David Boat Reviews

Conradstraat 417, 1018 NE, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
222 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

We stayed over New Year and the boat was perfect for us then and there: well located, clean, comfortable, very warm, and overall a great experience. David was there to meet and greet and was a very nice and pleasant man. Would definitely stay a second time. Thank you for the experience.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We (French-German couple) have really enjoyed our stay on David's houseboat. It is an old boat but nicely renovated with heating, hot water shower, a fairly comfortable bed and kind amenities like a water boiler, coffee/tea, etc. - we would definitely recommend to stay here. By bike, it takes you about 15 minutes to the city center and you will pass by beautiful neighbourhoods, this is indeed a nice corner of Amsterdam. David is a warm, helpful and patient host - we would come back any time!

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The boat is located a short distance from the center, about 20 minutes walking or €10 in a taxi. There are nearby trams that will take you to the museum area and Amsterdam CS as well. Personally, I really appreciated the quiet and everything you need can be found within a few blocks. David is kind and very relaxed, and the boat has wifi strong enough to stream videos without a problem. Room was simple, but you have your own toilet and shower and a huge bed. Couldn't have asked for more!


83%

The house boat is very nice and it's an original way to sleep in amsterdam. the tramway is close to the boat and it's easy to go in center. david is very friendly. i recommend this boat!


71%

David's boat was interesting experience. The room is quite small and basic, but cozy. David tried to make it livable by providing kettle&coffee, radio and other small, but nice things. As this is an old boat, it doesn't feel very clean and tide and it smelled a bit funny inside. In the canal around the boat there was a lot of garbage. But David was helpful, it was warm and in general we were satisfied.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we had a big storm in Holland wich caused the canal to be flooded with all kinds of rubbisch. Im very happy that the canal got cleaned properly last week.

89%

Really nice place. We enjoyed sleeping here. David were really nice and welcoming.

  • 10th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

David was incredibly friendly, and came in person to help us find the boat. The room was clean and coffee was provided. Everything seemed to be in good shape on his ship, and it was absolutely worth the money we paid.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Davids boat was brilliant. the boat might not be everyone's cup of tea as its very rustic but we thought it was really cool and loved it. the toilet is in the bedroom with a curtain covering it which is a little strange but apart from that we couldnt fault it. David's a lovely guy and really helpful with anything you want to know and anytime we needed to get hold of him he was there. locations about a 35 minute walk from central station but there are tram stops close by. would definitely go back

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

David Boat is perfect opportunity for someone who wants to try something different that usual hostel. Small but cosy boat cabins, beautiful surroundings, seagulls...we enjoyed lovely and romantic stay there. My parents (both 57 years) probably wouldn´t appreciate these pros, but David Boat is a perfect choice for young people who want to discover Amsterodam. We will definitely come back once again.

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We enjoyed David Boat a lot! The atmosphere is just great in this very cosy houseboat. The surrounding area is quiet but still close to the city centre - we liked that very much. Facilites are quite rustic but that didn't bother us. Heating and warm water worked fine. David is very friendly and uncomplicated. He contacted us right after booking to arrange our arrival. We would definitely stay on David Boat again. Thanks a lot!

  • 8th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a very lovely stay at David's Boat, it was very cozy and individual! David had always an ear for questions about the city and a few good tips. A very fine guy!

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staying on David Boat was awesome, the location was really good. Only 3 stops away from Central Station (5mins) the room/boat was really cool and had everything we needed. Would defiantly stay again!

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is rather rustic so don't expect it to be like a typical hotel. You must be nimble on the boat deck and to go down the stairs. David, the owner, is renovating so there will be some added "creature comforts" but it will always be unique. Plan to bring some snacks for breakfast from the nearby shops as there are few restaurants that are open early (except for the Central area).

  • 8th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

David gets in touch with you once you book, and is very good about answering any questions and he also sends very good information about the area/ how to get there. Thanks David for your hospitality!

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The wheel house cabin was very basic, facilities consisted of a toilet, double bed mattress on planks, kettle and very small upstairs shower and basin. There was no hanging space for clothes, no refrigerator and this was needed as there are no shops or restaurants nearby. Cabin is in need of repair and refurbishment. Web site photos are misleading. David was pleasant and helpful, but overall we were disappointed.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I have two seperate rooms for guests on the houseboat. I don't consider the photo's to be misleading. they actualy give a good idea about life onboard in my optic. I know It's not everybodies cup of tea and I do feel sorry if your stay was not what you hoped for. kind regards, David

63%

David is a nice guy and his boat lies in a quiet place not far from the center. If you have a bike, it's perfect: quiet and still central. The room I got was very basic; an extra closet to put clothes in, towel holders or some hooks on the wall would have made some things easier. But is was clean and I slept well. The shower is in the room (which I didn't mind); the toilet is separate and tiny and not too well-lit. But I still liked the place and would stay again!

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a great time at David's boat. Our room was very private, we had our own toilet and bathroom. The area is very pretty too, not far from the busy centre by bike, very close to a nice coffee house and supermarket


83%

Great quirky place to stay, quiet area, tram ride away so it was nice to get away from busy busy amsterdam. Room alot bigger than a hotel room.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice location, especially if the weather is good. Easy access to the city centre and very friendly and helpful owner.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

David is a cool guy, next time in Amsterdam I'm going back and definitely get a tram pass only minutes outside and super safe place


(124 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback