X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

David Boat Reviews

Conradstraat 417, 1018 NE, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
212 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Davids boat was brilliant. the boat might not be everyone's cup of tea as its very rustic but we thought it was really cool and loved it. the toilet is in the bedroom with a curtain covering it which is a little strange but apart from that we couldnt fault it. David's a lovely guy and really helpful with anything you want to know and anytime we needed to get hold of him he was there. locations about a 35 minute walk from central station but there are tram stops close by. would definitely go back

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

David Boat is perfect opportunity for someone who wants to try something different that usual hostel. Small but cosy boat cabins, beautiful surroundings, seagulls...we enjoyed lovely and romantic stay there. My parents (both 57 years) probably wouldn´t appreciate these pros, but David Boat is a perfect choice for young people who want to discover Amsterodam. We will definitely come back once again.

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We enjoyed David Boat a lot! The atmosphere is just great in this very cosy houseboat. The surrounding area is quiet but still close to the city centre - we liked that very much. Facilites are quite rustic but that didn't bother us. Heating and warm water worked fine. David is very friendly and uncomplicated. He contacted us right after booking to arrange our arrival. We would definitely stay on David Boat again. Thanks a lot!

  • 8th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a very lovely stay at David's Boat, it was very cozy and individual! David had always an ear for questions about the city and a few good tips. A very fine guy!

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staying on David Boat was awesome, the location was really good. Only 3 stops away from Central Station (5mins) the room/boat was really cool and had everything we needed. Would defiantly stay again!

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is rather rustic so don't expect it to be like a typical hotel. You must be nimble on the boat deck and to go down the stairs. David, the owner, is renovating so there will be some added "creature comforts" but it will always be unique. Plan to bring some snacks for breakfast from the nearby shops as there are few restaurants that are open early (except for the Central area).

  • 8th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

David gets in touch with you once you book, and is very good about answering any questions and he also sends very good information about the area/ how to get there. Thanks David for your hospitality!

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The wheel house cabin was very basic, facilities consisted of a toilet, double bed mattress on planks, kettle and very small upstairs shower and basin. There was no hanging space for clothes, no refrigerator and this was needed as there are no shops or restaurants nearby. Cabin is in need of repair and refurbishment. Web site photos are misleading. David was pleasant and helpful, but overall we were disappointed.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I have two seperate rooms for guests on the houseboat. I don't consider the photo's to be misleading. they actualy give a good idea about life onboard in my optic. I know It's not everybodies cup of tea and I do feel sorry if your stay was not what you hoped for. kind regards, David

63%

David is a nice guy and his boat lies in a quiet place not far from the center. If you have a bike, it's perfect: quiet and still central. The room I got was very basic; an extra closet to put clothes in, towel holders or some hooks on the wall would have made some things easier. But is was clean and I slept well. The shower is in the room (which I didn't mind); the toilet is separate and tiny and not too well-lit. But I still liked the place and would stay again!

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a great time at David's boat. Our room was very private, we had our own toilet and bathroom. The area is very pretty too, not far from the busy centre by bike, very close to a nice coffee house and supermarket


83%

Great quirky place to stay, quiet area, tram ride away so it was nice to get away from busy busy amsterdam. Room alot bigger than a hotel room.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice location, especially if the weather is good. Easy access to the city centre and very friendly and helpful owner.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

David is a cool guy, next time in Amsterdam I'm going back and definitely get a tram pass only minutes outside and super safe place


94%

We loved David Boat! It's unique and if you've never stayed on a boat I recommend it! We found it so romantic to lay on the deck looking up at the stars. Our cabin was so cosy, romantic and spotless clean with the most comfortable bed. The boat is a little outside the busy city centre. Some people don't want this but we enjoyed the sweet peace in the morning with our coffee on deck, before cycling only a quick ride into town. David is the most welcoming, helpful and friendly man in Amsterdam.

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a great stay, we wanted to try something different from the hostels in Amsterdam and loved it. We would recommend anyone going to Amsterdam to live here!


94%

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at david boat .david was very helpful and friendly, will stay here again if visiting amsterdam. thanks non & chris wales


80%

The houseboat is nice and cosy, it has two rooms for guests, in the back, and David lives in the front of the boat. The rooms have separate entries. David him self was very friendly and helpful.


94%

Everything was just great. We lived in the captain cabin with shower, hot water, towels, toilet, and big bed with warm blankets. We didn't see other rooms but this one was very cute and romantic. It's another type of rest and experience that differs from hotels and hostels. P.S. David is a very kind person. He helped us to get our baggage when it was delayed in Frankfurt. Thank you David!

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

we had a great stay at Davids Boat! He is very nice and friendly! we stayed in the old fashioned room with our own facilities - IT was perfect and i would stay there at anytime again! thanks David!

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Boat was easy to find because david sent us maps before the trip, nice quiet neighbourhood but still close to center of amsterdam, close to the artis zoo about 10min walk, and nice market street about 10min walk, we really enjoyed our stay at david boat and we think we will be coming back in our next trip, david was really nice guy and would help if any questions/problems and he gave his personal phone number so you can call and ask about anything, places to go etc. Thanks David for everything!

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(117 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback