X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

David Boat Reviews

Conradstraat 417, 1018 NE, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
187 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Really nice location, especially if the weather is good. Easy access to the city centre and very friendly and helpful owner.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

David is a cool guy, next time in Amsterdam I'm going back and definitely get a tram pass only minutes outside and super safe place


94%

We loved David Boat! It's unique and if you've never stayed on a boat I recommend it! We found it so romantic to lay on the deck looking up at the stars. Our cabin was so cosy, romantic and spotless clean with the most comfortable bed. The boat is a little outside the busy city centre. Some people don't want this but we enjoyed the sweet peace in the morning with our coffee on deck, before cycling only a quick ride into town. David is the most welcoming, helpful and friendly man in Amsterdam.

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a great stay, we wanted to try something different from the hostels in Amsterdam and loved it. We would recommend anyone going to Amsterdam to live here!


94%

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at david boat .david was very helpful and friendly, will stay here again if visiting amsterdam. thanks non & chris wales


80%

The houseboat is nice and cosy, it has two rooms for guests, in the back, and David lives in the front of the boat. The rooms have separate entries. David him self was very friendly and helpful.


94%

Everything was just great. We lived in the captain cabin with shower, hot water, towels, toilet, and big bed with warm blankets. We didn't see other rooms but this one was very cute and romantic. It's another type of rest and experience that differs from hotels and hostels. P.S. David is a very kind person. He helped us to get our baggage when it was delayed in Frankfurt. Thank you David!

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

we had a great stay at Davids Boat! He is very nice and friendly! we stayed in the old fashioned room with our own facilities - IT was perfect and i would stay there at anytime again! thanks David!

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Boat was easy to find because david sent us maps before the trip, nice quiet neighbourhood but still close to center of amsterdam, close to the artis zoo about 10min walk, and nice market street about 10min walk, we really enjoyed our stay at david boat and we think we will be coming back in our next trip, david was really nice guy and would help if any questions/problems and he gave his personal phone number so you can call and ask about anything, places to go etc. Thanks David for everything!

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We really enjoyed our stay at David Boathouse. The location is great, 5 minutes ride from any museum you wish to visit. The boathouse is in a very calm area and David has been very nice, from the moment we booked, communication was excellent, to the moment we left.

  • 25th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We loved our stay at David Boat. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood and only a quick tram ride away from the main train station and city. David was very friendly and helpful. Also a fun experience to stay on a houseboat.


94%

The boat is a few minutes away from 2 tram stops (we walked to the central station in about 20min) - there is a bakkery around the corner and a nice restaurant, and do not forget to try the brewery -> nice garden. (5min walk). If we would travel to Amsterdam again we would stay at David boat.

  • 8th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

David Boat is just what we wanted - somewhere for a base to enjoy a relaxing holiday in Amsterdam - the facilities are very basic but quite adequate and warm.The boat is not in a tourist area so that the nearby bakery, cafe, Italian takeaway and other outlets are all very reasonable and pretty quiet. David himself is very helpful and friendly. What better way to stay in Amsterdam than on a houseboat?.

  • 6th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The boat is ~20min quick walk from downtown. It's good choice if you were travelling with one small bag as we did. Very friendly host. Thank you, David for the nice stay!


80%

The place was very nice and clean, the owner super kind! The boat is not in the center, but the surrounding area is nice and very quiet. Only small negative note: there was not a small table or similar in the room. it would have been practical to have one to place some stuff on.

  • 1st Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The boat was great, David is very friendly and helpful. During our stay the temperature was ok but he also offers a small electric heater. The neighborhood is very quiet and thanks to the tram stations near the boat you can easily visit all the city. I hope to see you again, thanks David!!

  • 28th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The boat is located in a channel not far from the central station (3 tram stops or 10 minutes by bike), but is very near a railway station and in front of a playground, so there are noises all time. The room and overall spaces are quite small. I found 3 major negative point: 1) it was really cold (I mean there were no more than 16-18 degree in the "room") 2) it is really dark after sunset (just 3 abat jour no room lights) 3) the sink doesn't have hot water

  • 7th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed at Dave's boat in late February, and it was great. The bed was really comfortable, and the heavy blankets were perfect for keeping us warm when it cooled down at night. It was just two metro stops from central station, which was ideal. There is public transportation all night long - we bought two, two day passes for 11 euros. Our water froze during the first night because it got really cold, it wasn't anybody's fault, but David let us stay for free because he felt bad. Stand up guy. 5*


91%

David boat is fantastic. Its clean, safe and very special. And the host is very nice and helpful, you can always ask him if you need something. Thanks David!!


66%

David is very nice person and living on the boat is unforgettable experience, especially if it is in summer. For winter, it is rather cold. You also need to take into account that boat is a little bit aside from center, and for getting into/out of it, you need to have no physical constraints or handicaps.


(106 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback