X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Reviews

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3461 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

We had a good stay but with the temperature in Cartagena a pool would have been a good asset. The rooms were clean and well maintained although the outside noise could be heard inside the room. The staff was always available and very helpfull

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very noisy. For solo travellers who wish to sleep well is not ideal. The rest, very good. Clean, well located, excellent option for Cartagena for people less inclined to have an 8 hour night of sleep.


100%

Cool hostel! Special thanks to Albaro for helping me with the booking and my staying there. The rooms are comfortable enough, they have a nice kitchen where you can cook and keep your things in a fridge, my only suggestion would be to improve the maintenance of the rooms to make them a lil bit cleaner

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

If you stay in this hostel you should be prepared that there is loud music and people until around midnight. The beds, rooms and especially bathroom are very cheap and not nice. In some rooms, the AC is not working properly.


69%

There's nothing special about the place, sure there's a lot of visitors coming in, but rarely do you get to know them. The staff was very helpful at least and the tours they give are mixed at best.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostel was clean and well placed. Aircon was turned on at nigt (which was appreciated) but the hostel could have used a cool/aircon space during the day as well. After walking around the hot and steamy streets of Cartagena, it would have been nice to sit down and cool down. The hostel bar was well priced but did not encourage traveller conversation - from what I saw, people mostly stayed to themselves.


86%

The best thing about this hostel is location, just a few blocks away from the main square. Good atmosphere. Salsa class was fun. I've met cool people there. Dorm rooms couldn't be locked. Should have individual outlets and reading lights for each bed. I felt a bit uneasy leaving my cell phone charging overnight in the only outlet the 6-bed dorm had, as the door could't be locked.


49%

Great location in the old town, however the room was overpriced, and the staff were really unhelpful. Met some great people but wouldn't recommend due to the rude staff.


100%

Very nice hostel in Cartagena, I enjoyed my time there, the only thing I would suggest is to improve the breakfast since is very poor. Thank you Alvaro for helping with my manyyyy questions hahaha

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel! Amazing location, very helpful staff, shout out to Alvaro for helping me out with pretty much everything, would def recommend it!

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Only stayed one night but seemed nice enough- good areas to hang out in. The washing machine was broken when I got there though which was a bit annoying.


89%

The hostel is great! It's located in the very city center! Atmosphere is amazing! Full of people from all around the world! It's a real party hostel so if you want to sleep find another place, but if you like to have fun and meet new young people it is definitely the place to go.


91%

Hostel staff was pretty good and always willing to help in all areas of the place. Special kudos to Ena at the bar, always with a big smile and promoting a good vibe between all incumbents in that area. Only thing I would change would be the pillows in the place as they are pretty run down. Other than that, thank you so much for everything.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Very bad cleanliness in the bathroom! Awful breakfast, no options and no quantities, ended so fast everyday.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostels has an exellente Location, the staff are so helpfull, if you need more information of the city they are willing to give you advices, the bathroom and the shower are clean, the breakfast is good. i recommend this hostel i had a great stay here!...

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Super Fun Hostel in a perfect location!! Tons of rooms and different people to meet and talk with :)


86%

We arrived one day later than booked (of course told a few days in advance) and it was no problem Big, colourful hostel with a bar but also not noisy Interesting program every day (Salsa dancing, BBQ, party) Perfect location in the beautiful old city but situated in a rather quiet street Many people in the hostel so you could not feel all too familiar except of our considerate roommates


63%

The staff could have been a bit more helpful. Some could have been more friendly. They were very vague when answering questions. If they were serving you they would cut across and start serving someone else mid dealing with you, lefting the guest just standing there. Customer service very poor which is a pity because the facilities were great.


60%

This hostel was one of the most expensive on our trip. Maybe they think Cartagena is expensive so they can over charge. But the staff isn't very helpful and it's kind of a 'do it yourself' operation for most situations. Also, everyone from the tours to the shuttles that they contract with screwed with us, numerous 'door to door' shuttles simply pulled over and made us walk several blocks. No AC in 4 hour vans rides etc. The hostel didn't seem to care. Breakfast is pretty bad. always loud music.

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

I really liked staying in this hostel. It had a really good atmosphere and as a lone traveler, I felt secure and safe and made many friends. The hostel has a really nice bar where everyone goes before going out to have drinks. The rooms are basic but comfortable and always clean. The location of the hostel is in the secure area of the old town within the walls. Everything was accessible by foot.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(168 results)


View all Cartagena Hostels

Please give us your feedback