X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Reviews

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2007 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

We were blown away by the rudeness of the guy who checked us in. He doesn't want to work, thats clear. We didn't get proper sheets (he knew and didn't tell us) For the price you pay you have to make your own bed with sheets that doen't fit. So you have to lie on dirty (in my case bloody ?Bedbugs before?) mattresses and pillow. The hostel is ok, but has a huge amount of 18 year old drunk (or coke) love seekers. People will sit in front of your dorm until 6 in the morning talking.


86%

Great hostel in the centre of the Old Town. Knowledgeable staff and relaxed atmosphere.


51%

Pretty awful experience - staff were rude, unhelpful and gave out incorrect information. One of our friends had bed bugs in her bed and when she told the staff about the problem they replied by saying she must be lying!! Good atmosphere and location, but there must be better places to stay!!!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

really good hostel, well run, clean and with good facilities. the staff were really helpful and friendly. alex was great and helped us a lot


100%

I loved staying at El Viajero! My stay was simple and worry free. The facilities were clean and the people friendly and there were plenty of activities for me to choose from. El Viajero will definitely be the first hostel I contact the next time i'm in Cartagena. Justin

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

El Vierjo was excellent! Staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. Close to bars and restaurants. Activities were available upon request and were lots of fun too :) Hasta la proxima!!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Great location. Short-fused, unfriendly staff: aircon in the rooms is turned off every day from 11am to 2pm, even if you ask them to turn it on, they refuse. No stove in the kitchen, therefore no possibility to cook. Average atmosphere, not a party hostel.


97%

Large place, lots of tourism help. I was a little too old for this type of hostel, but it's a great one. You're bound to make friends on the Wednesday night bar crawl or the Monday night salsa lessons. The staff are very friendly, though the desk isn't always manned (you have to wait around a few minutes until someone shows up). They have a system for checking your bags if you want to leave them securely, but honestly you could just walk in the luggage room and grab whatever you want.


69%

Almost anyone can just walk in and snoop around the rooms, as found out when a friend went looking for me! Breakfast is simple but fine and the place is clean, has good bar and kitchen and air con in TV room during the day.


89%

Big hostel with lots of people in the very centre of Cartagena. The crowd there is mainly young and party going, but I didn't find it as noisy as it was reported in some advices before. The staff is really nice and helpful and the hostel is very well kept. The location is very safe so one can go in and out at any time without problems, which is not the case of every area of the city.

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff is the best part of the hostel, Miriam, Alexander, Santiago and Alvaro have always been super helpful and fun. They managed to keep the place organised throughout the day, lively in the evenings and quiet at night. It was a real pleasure to meet them.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel!

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a party hostel, which for me is a good thing. It's a great place for solo travelers because it's very easy to meet people. I seriously met about 20 people during my 4 night stay. It does stay very loud until about 11. Salsa class was fun. The staff are a little inconsistent though. When I checked in, the person checking in next to me was receiving tips on everything and was shown to his room. All I got was my room number and sheets. Some staff are way more helpful than others.


89%

Good spot in old town. Really helpful staff


89%

El Viajero is a clean, centrally-located hostel with a vibrant atmosphere. The bunk beds in the shared dorms are high but comfortable and offer large lockers for luggage storage underneath (bring a small lock, or buy one at the Exito, only 2 blocks away). There are safe deposit boxes in the shared rooms, operated with codes, small but enough to hold passports and cellphones. The kitchen provides breakfast every day (included with the cost of the stay) - cold cereal, coffee or tea, fruit, juice and toast, and the dining room is open for guest use. The showers are co-ed and clean, bathrooms are always open and clean. There is a media room with movies and a large TV, also several computers for guests' use. Recommended!


100%

Good hostel and definitely recomend it, the staff is really nice and helpfull and all the rooms have aire conditioned, before writting thisGood hostel and definitely recomend it, the staff is really nice and helpfull and all the rooms have aire condicionate, before writting this message i was asking myselft why people some people write that the staff is not nice :( now i understood; thouse people are old and bored and they lose their spirit of travelers or backbackers. thanks guys for everything

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Ok location, 10 minutes walking from the center, good breakfast, AC in the rooms, good WIFI, safes


57%

The hostal chain El Viajero have nice things going for them. I stayed in El Viajero in Colonia, Uruguay too, beside Cartagena. I am sure the people behind the chain have the best of intentions. However, El Viajero staff (in both Colonia and Cartagena) are the worst I have ever experienced in my many stays in hostals. Very unfriendly. They treat you like you are cattle. They are being very arogant and seem more interested in theire own computer surfing then attending to their guest.


91%

Staff here are excellent and really make the difference. Highly recommended.

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

BIg hostel, a lot of good space, but too little integration among guests. Great staff, well located, near everything you need in Cartagena. I stayed in the mixed dorm - the bathroom was NEVER clean, smelling badly, even after complaints.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(94 results)


View all Cartagena Hostels

Please give us your feedback