X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Reviews

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2253 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Comfortable beds, rooms with AC, breakfast consisting of bread, jam, butter, fruit, fresh juice, cereal and a good coffee. The staff is excellent and always ready to help, they always get their customers to have fun.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I really had fun at el viajero hostel, the staff is really helpfull and they know exactly where to go out at night and also they organice event for the guest, we went to go out together to a place that is called bourbon and i really had fun there.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was the key to my great experiencia in Cartagena! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location is perfect! Close to everything! The hostel is very clean and the beds are very comfortable! There is great airconditioning in every roojm which make the rooms nice and cool! There is nothing better than coming back to the wonderful atmoshphere at el viajero hostel after a long day of exploring the city and beach!

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really clean and well maintained hostel. Great vibes. Free salsa lessons. Nice bar. Rooms are excellent, AC is ice cold

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Not my favorite hostel. The showers were dirty and right on the common area making you feel a bit exposed. Guests have to clean their own plates after breakfast.


100%

EL Viajero Hostel was a great stay. The rooms were clean and the AC was cold. The staff are fluent in both English and Spanish which really helped out as I don´t speak Spanish. The wifi worked and breakfast consisted of toast, cereal, juice and some fresh fruit. The staff was helpful when it came to club recommendations for the night and helped to book the bus ride to Santa Marta. The people who stay here are equally inviting and it was easy to find a group to go out for the night.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Place was really nice to stay at, great location, couldn't get any better, clean with AC. Was social but not a party hostel. I went back and stayed a second time.


100%

I had a great time at El Viajero - very nice and safe neighbourhood, clean rooms with a/c, the bar is superbe and the staff is very helpful and adorable! Loved it!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you so much for help alex, I really appreciated all what you did for me during my stay in Cartagena, good hostel with air condition in all the rooms.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were incredibly friendly and from all accounts hard working. The cleanliness was top knotch and there were lots of great activities. Would recommend it 100%.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you Viajero for everything, i had a good time in this hostel and the sfatt is realy nice people, friendly and helpful. El hello thank you to teach me some spanish words :)

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location, staff nice, beds comfortables with air conditioned in the rooms, which is really appreciable.


89%

The "breakfast" isn't anything to write home about - just cereal and toast. Overall the stay was great!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is definitely for young travellers who wish to meet lots of people and party, so if thats what you are looking for I can truly recommend it. They have a nice bar (though drinks are tiny), many spacious shower stalls, rooms have air-conditioning (which is definitely highly appreciated in the heat). When we were there they had a water shortage and no running water for most of the time (but that was a city issue), my friends however had a hard time getting their laundry back when we left


71%

Had a good stay in the hostel and it had a nice courtyard where it was easy to socialize with other travellers . It's got a good location and the complimentary breakfast was a nice bonus. Our stay was marred when our laptop was stolen from under the pillows of the bed, granted it was our own fault since there are lockers provided. We still found it odd how our bed was the only one not touched in an 8 bed dorm by housekeeping that morning.


69%

Lacking in a bit of atmosphere & very moody staff. Facilities & location great plus good wifi. The fact they don't have proper lockers & instead have small (very loud & beepy) safes in the room is annoying as they need to be used at all hours.


94%

Nice hostel, really good location inside the walls of the old town. Rooms are clean and come with air con. Showers and bathrooms are also clean. Not a massive party hostel but there's a nice bar area for socialising and people seem to all go out together at night.


89%

Don't even think about staying in a hostel without air conditioning. In this hostel all the rooms, even the cheapest, have it. There are few bathrooms for the amount of rooms and staff ask your wishes always with a tedious face like: ok........I can do this favor to you....


77%

When we got to the hostel they told us we could not check in till 2 and we were completely fine with that. We came back around 2:20ish and the receptionist told us that housekeeping was still cleaning rooms and that our bed was not ready, 1.5 hours later it still wasn't ready. When I asked a different guy, he said that the laundry delivery was not in. Long story short the delivery truck came and dropped off clean sheets and towels around 10 pm.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

the breakfast could be improved.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(130 results)


View all Cartagena Hostels

Please give us your feedback