X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Reviews

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2596 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

This hostel has one of the best layouts I've ever seen. Right when you enter you have the kitchen, sitting area and cinema -- all 24 hours. The location was good, el centro, a couple blocks from a grocery store. The hostel was all very clean except the kitchen. Breakfast pretty pathetic. All in all a good hostel with a definite party vibe.


91%

Cool hostel with good vibe, nice bar, very safe. All rooms have AC, which is definitely necessary in Cartagena. Staff have little to no idea what's going on inside or outside the hostel.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It was my first time on a hostel and was a great experience! The bedrooms are great and the location is very good. It has very good price for the location and structure. But the best thing about it was the DEDITOS! Deditos is a snack served on the breakfast. Have to prove to undertand!

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice place, well located, huge hostel with many people. There is a bar, which has beers with good value. Nice place to meet people.


80%

We didn't extend our stay because our private double room was next to the bar and it was very noisy till late at night and then again early in the morning.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel in good location. Very popular place. Staff were generally friendly, except for one individual working in the bar who appeared to be a bit arrogant. Good place to socialise and meet fellow travellers.


91%

Social hostel. Rooms are air condition at night which is really needed because of the humidity. Decent bar area.


100%

I had the absolute best time here!!!! I would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone traveling through Cartagena!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The location of the Hostel is perfect because it is close to the center of the Walled City and everything you want to see there. You can go anywhere by foot. I went tripping with my boyfriend so we stayed at the quiet side of the hostel. And the fact that breakfast is included is awesome cause you wake up, put something good and warm in you stomach and leaves to enjoy the day. The staff is great. I surely recommend it.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Location is great. Great atmosphere when I was there - a lot of mingling between guests. Generally clean. The complaint is the staff - they didn't really offer much help in terms of stuff to do in Cartagena, and one of the girls made it seem like we were annoying her with by checking in. Also, when we booked the bus to Santa Marta, we were never asked to pay (we thought we were gonna pay the bus directly) and then were subsequently yelled at for not paying upfront when the bus came.


63%

The staff are terrible and couldn't be more disinterested and are visibly annoyed when they have to look up from their phones to talk to you. There is no real atmosphere compared to other hostels in Cartagena and bar was closed on our stay. There are much better and cheaper places in Cartagena. The only good thing is the aircon


91%

El Viajero was the first "party" hostel I've ever stayed at and to be honest, I'm glad I did. I didn't think that the noise was too loud & boisterous at night (as others have said in their reviews), since the hostel bartender would close the bar around midnight and usher everyone to partake in a bar/club crawl outside the city walls. Decor was super cute & colorful, staff was friendly, nightly group events were plentiful - overall a great place to meet people & maximize your time in the city!

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • drobles7856005
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel was very clean and nice. The showers were great compared to most hostels. There are plenty of them, so you never have to wait. Water pressure is good. No temp adjustment, but the cool water feels great on a hot day, anyway. A/C in the rooms is a life saver. Helpful staff.


83%

great atmosphere, staff, and fellow travelers

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Was a nice place. Cheaper hostels about but overall there is always a nice atmosphere


91%

Nice hostel, very clean and pretty. Good breakfast and wifi. The staff was ok, but the cab drivers were more helpful with tips. Cool bar and people.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The aircon is actually only on from 6-7pm until 10-11am. Friendly vibes and a clean place in a great location.


83%

AC is working throughout the night which was very helpful consider it was super hot in cartagena, and the location was great!


83%

Is a good hostel with decent facilities (including air conditioning which is a lifesaver in the humidity). Breakfast is average and wifi slow. Staff aren't very helpful at all and make you feel like you're bothering them if you ask a question. This put a dampener on our stay.


86%

Air con in rooms is great but switched off for most of the day which is not great if you are having a lie in with a hangover. In/house travel agency which was handy. never made breakfast but it is included. Kitchen is quite small and has no fan. One girl on bar kept saying she had no change and probably made small fortune off visitors..watch our for this. Liked the lockers under the beds. Showers and toilets clean.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(186 results)


View all Cartagena Hostels

Please give us your feedback