Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 5336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 5336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.7

Very nice place!! Great place to meet people and the air conditioning in the rooms was great (and much needed)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel very good location, excellent reception staff especially Carlos he knows it all !! Always recommended .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
8.0

Overall not bad. I stayed 1 night hoping to dance salsa but it was pretty calculated and not that fun. Vibes are fine. Location is good. Breakfast is meh continental

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2017
9.1

I absolutely loved it here. What it lacks in a pool it makes up in air conditioned rooms and social atmosphere. The salsa lessons / communal bar area was an easy way to meet people. But its not too crazy that you cant have a quiet night in if thats what you want The staff were super friendly and were always happy to help out. I loved it. Would come back here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • samanthablundell
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jul 2017
7.7

This was a good hostel but not as social as I expected, probably due to it's size. As a solo traveller I would suggest going to a smaller hostel instead. The staff were helpful and spoke English quite well but weren't able to give very many recommendations. The showers are great though and the location is ideal. The beds are quite high and the metal lockers are annoying if you need to get up early without waking up others.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.1

Perfect how hostel in Cartagena! Everything is clean and easy to use, good safes and lockers. Staff help you do everything you want during your stay and help with transport to next stop. Be careful of a guy who says he works there selling "things" he is gonna rip you off hard and you'll be in for a very sketchy experience. Hostel is great tho.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
9.4

Great location in the city. The staff was friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
8.6

The staff were super friendly and the hostel is continuously cleaned. It's also in a great location within the Old City. My favorite part of the hostel was the salsa lessons and live music.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
8.0

Me and my partner chose this hostel because of the reviews talking about the amazing social atmosphere. However, compared to other hostels we've been to in Colombia this was definitely not the one with the best vibe. The private rooms are nice and big and the bathrooms were very clean. We enjoyed our stay here but wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for a party vibe. The staff were inconsistent about whether it's ok to put purchases on room tab.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
10.0

Social atmosphere, breakfast and strong coffee included free, and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.