X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Reviews

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2277 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

What a great introduction to Colombia by staying at El Viajero! Great amenities, good wifi (I was working while here, so this was important), and an excellent staff. Would recommend to everyone!


100%

Great staff !!

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here by myself and it was very easy to make friends. Great atmosphere and cheap drinks at the bar.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Poor staff make this not worth it. Checked out and into mamallena instead - much better, more buzzy location, heaps friendlier and helpful staff


100%

The best option to stay at in Cartagena, EVER! Great location (in the very middle of the antique city), clean and secure place, friendly and helpfull staff, reasonable price and a delicious breakfast. Special remark to the manager Margarita, she was very helpfull and nice. I'll be back for sure.


97%

To summarise: great hostel, great location, and meet a lot of good people there. However, the best thing about El Viajero is the staff. Fantastic helpful and always with a smile. Will definitely recommend El Viajero Hostel to other travelers.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • jHalsbog
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Facilities were excellent... air conditioning is the top priority in Cartagena and the rooms in this hostel are ice cold. Fast and reliable wi fi connection. Staff were a bit unfriendly compared to other hostels in Colombia and the atmosphere was lacking, but I did arrive just after the weekend.


86%

I loved my stay here. The atmosphere of the place is very nice. I felt that the hostel is not very safe, because anyone who enter can easily access the rooms's place, so keep your things safe at locker when you stay here. Also, some of the staff are rude sometimes.


94%

Loved this hostel. Can hardly find fault with anything at all. Fantastic atmosphere, very relaxed and open and friendly vibe. Most of the staff were extremely helpful, just 1 or 2 that didnt quite meet the standards set by the majority of the staff, but that is a minor quibble. Air-con in the room, secure safe for personal belongings. All good. Recommended.


89%

Some receptionists should improve their attitude with the public, but overall excellent service


100%

Its a perfect hostel! Airco nice bar and staff! But a pool would be very welcom!!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We just had a great time there. The staff were very friendly, funny and helpful.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Comfortable beds, rooms with AC, breakfast consisting of bread, jam, butter, fruit, fresh juice, cereal and a good coffee. The staff is excellent and always ready to help, they always get their customers to have fun.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I really had fun at el viajero hostel, the staff is really helpfull and they know exactly where to go out at night and also they organice event for the guest, we went to go out together to a place that is called bourbon and i really had fun there.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was the key to my great experiencia in Cartagena! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location is perfect! Close to everything! The hostel is very clean and the beds are very comfortable! There is great airconditioning in every roojm which make the rooms nice and cool! There is nothing better than coming back to the wonderful atmoshphere at el viajero hostel after a long day of exploring the city and beach!

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really clean and well maintained hostel. Great vibes. Free salsa lessons. Nice bar. Rooms are excellent, AC is ice cold

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Not my favorite hostel. The showers were dirty and right on the common area making you feel a bit exposed. Guests have to clean their own plates after breakfast.


100%

EL Viajero Hostel was a great stay. The rooms were clean and the AC was cold. The staff are fluent in both English and Spanish which really helped out as I don´t speak Spanish. The wifi worked and breakfast consisted of toast, cereal, juice and some fresh fruit. The staff was helpful when it came to club recommendations for the night and helped to book the bus ride to Santa Marta. The people who stay here are equally inviting and it was easy to find a group to go out for the night.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed here for a total of 10 days and the staff were most helpfull and extremely friendly. Everything is within walking distance and made some good friends. My bed was made every day and this is the first hostel I have come across that does this. Muchos cracias

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Place was really nice to stay at, great location, couldn't get any better, clean with AC. Was social but not a party hostel. I went back and stayed a second time.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(139 results)


View all Cartagena Hostels

Please give us your feedback