Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 4,759 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 4,759 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Located at Calle 7 Infantes, , Cartagena.
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Cartagena de Indias 2044 Calle 7 Infantes
86% 4759
10.4269769 -75.5467343
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jan 2017
7.7

Not great value for money - staff were a bit cold too. Can understand why not but would be good if a couple of friends could enter, but there was a zero tolerance policy. However it was a good spot generally.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hi we are sorry about your experience, but due to security reasons and to prevent people from outside getting into our dorms and stealing devices from our corridors, we tell people from outside to stay in our lobby or commun area next to the reception, if they want to have a drink over there , we are pleased to have them there and enjoying a good time with friends from the hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel, good vibes and very helpfull staff, especially Carlos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
8.9

Excellent location in the walled city - walking distance from the major sights and around the corner from numerous restaurants and bars. The hostel bar itself has cheap drinks and is often busy. AC in our private room worked great, but showers were pretty cold. Decent breakfast with fruits, cereals, toast, and coffee. Staff was very helpful with booking a transfer for us to our next destination. Overall a good place to stay in the walled city!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel and the staff on the front desk in particular were very helpful and welcoming. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
10.0

Everything was great and the staff was really nice and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alidusha465
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.6

Awesome time at El Viajero! However, be careful with the charging station in Room 5. It is right below the AC and during the night while my phone was charging, the AC was dripping with water and the whole charging shelve was full of water!! Now I have water inside my phone's screen El Viajero Please move it elsewhere!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hi we are sorry about your bad experience, we already moved that charging station, we apreciate your suggestion and apologize for all damages.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
4.3

Overall bad experience. The room was boiling & only had an aircon unit turned on a few hours at night. No fans. Room right next to the bar and sound so intense it was loudly audible through earplugs. Rooms overpriced. Wifi dropped out a lot. I booked transport to Santa Marta with staff, which they never booked for me, accused me of never booking, resulting in having to find my own way and missing my connecting transport, out of pocket a nights accom. Bags in storage were thrown about carelessly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hi andrea, we are sorry about your experience with us,our dorm rooms have aircons from 6 pm till 11 am next morning , all the aircons are turned on together so thats impossible to turn it all except yours, we turn it off when all people is out during the day for sostenibility and to be eco friendly, private room has airconditioning avalaible 24/7 and remote control available in the room, transportation is an additional service and its not provided for a hostel shuttle, is a private company that require a prior payment to confirm a reservation, if people come to ask we give information about schedules but reservations are validated with a payment and making a phone call booking from the hostel, we are the only hostel that provide you to storage your bag for free and few days, there are a lot of travelers leaving bags but we accomodate with care as possible and give them a tag to claim it. we appreciate your comment to improve our services and hope a better experience next time with us.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.0

Not sure the actual hostel is worth the money, it's expensive by Colombia's standards. Overall pretty clean bathrooms/ showers etc and nice breakfast in the morning. Great location - worth the money for the alone but the bedrooms are average with noisy metal beds!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
10.0

Everything is PERFECT at this hostel the STAFF is EXCELLENT especially CARLOS OLAVE !! This guy at the front desk knows it all !! :) It's always a friendly face !!!!! It is very close to everything, a very good cleanliness without a doubt this hostel is the best of Cartagena. GREEEEAATTTTT thank CARLOS!! ARE THE BEST MEN!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Nepal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
10.0

Fantastic place to stay. Great location and awesome way to meet new people. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.