Hostelworld.com

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 4,163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 4,163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Located at Calle 7 Infantes, , Cartagena.
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Cartagena de Indias 2044 Calle 7 Infantes
87% 4163
10.4269769 -75.5467343
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th May 2016
7.7

A little pricy, but perhaps worth it for the excellent AC in the rooms. The 8-bed female dorm was spacious & had individual lockers for valuables & backpacks. Showers/bathrooms are clean but a bit claustrophobic. Great location in the heart of the walled city. Breakfast was pretty lackluster--cereal with warm milk or white bread for toast. My friend had a bad experience in a mixed dorm w/ guys doing coke in the ensuite bathroom of her dorm, and the staff wouldn't do anything about it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
10.0

Very nice hostel, I enjoyed very much my staying, very organized, cool activities at the bar, then staff is very kind and the tour that they offer are very good and the chief of staff is very kind

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • karim77
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd May 2016
6.9

We had a decent 4 day stay at El Viajero hostel. The location is pretty good in the old town part of Cartagena. The staff was not very helpful in recommendations for things to do or places to eat. The thing that got me most mad was the bartender over charged our group for beers even though the night before they were a lower price and sign on the wall had the lower price from the previous day. I called her out on it and she refused to change the price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
2.0

I was bitten.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
10.0

Loved the hostel! I totally recommend it if you wamma have a good time in Cartagena

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we're very glad you had such a wonderful time with us

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd May 2016
7.7

I had a great time in this hostel, but the stay was slightly tarnished by a couple of jobsworth staff members. But in fairness there were plenty of friendly and helpful staff too. AC is a must and was great to have, but if i'm nitpicking, they could have set it a few degrees lower! Showers excellent, wifi strong. What else do you need?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment, we will review what happened in your staying to see what went wrong and correct it to keep providing an excellent service, regarding the AC temperature, we set it up on an average number, so that is pleasing for everyone

21st May 2016
4.3

This hostel is definately not worth the money-more $ than other nearby hostels. First, it is filthy and the floors in the bedrooms look as they have never been washed. There were dead roaches on the floor two days in a row. The sheets dont fit the beds and the mattresses smell like feet so the beds feel very unclean and the pillows are very lumpy. It is very large and there is no real communal space for people to hang out and meet each other - not great for the solo backpacker.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're very sorry you didn't have a great time at the hostel, we'll keep improving so that the service keeps getting better. We'll review what happened with the housekeepers, although they keep cleaning everyday multiple times all of the hostel, we just have to keep in mind, that most of the floors are part of the historic charm that Cartagena has; we actually have 2 backyards and a bar in where we organized free daily activities so that people can meet up and have a good time

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
10.0

Very organized hostel, the layout is really cool, the AC in the room is soooo necesary, they have a nice bar that opens everyday and the staff is very well managed, thank you Alvin

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
7.1

It's a nice hostel if your room is located in the main part where all the people are, if you are like us and get stuck in the 3rd building there is no atmosphere. The breakfast was fine, fruit and cereal. Location is great, but definitely don't think it is worth what we paid for it. Also, air conditioning is amazing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
10.0

El hostel es increíle! Super organizado, el staff es muy atento y las actividades del bar son lo mejor; me sorprendió mucho la organización de las camas, ya que nunca hubo casos de confusión, lo que es raro ver en un hostal

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.