Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 4,464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 4,464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Located at Calle 7 Infantes, , Cartagena.
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Cartagena de Indias 2044 Calle 7 Infantes
88% 4464
10.4269769 -75.5467343
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Aug 2016
9.4

Nice sociable hostel. This was the first stop of my trip and met some great people to travel with. Rooms are clean and air con is strong. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.9

Nice hostel, good location, very helpful staff. Breakfasts were really good and lots of it, although I would have liked them to provide tea bags too as I'm a tea drinker not a coffee person. It's more of a younger prisons party type hostel I'd say on the whole.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
9.4

Best hostel I've stayed at in terms of quality of living. Cartagena is extremely humid so having A/C is a must and this hostel provides A/C in every room. Atmosphere was lively at night as there is a bar inside the hostel with cheap drinks. The hostel offers good deals on shuttles to/from places. We took a shuttle from Cartagena to Santa Marta with short notice for a reasonable price. Bathrooms are very clean and plentiful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
8.0

Great hostel in a good location. Pros: air conditioning in the rooms; friendly staff; good location in the old city; tv room Cons: layout is a bit weird; breakfast included but is really nothing but toast, fruit and cereal; no outlets by the top bunks. Overall a good hostel in Cartagena. Great for social activities, booking tours, decent sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • URIELITOrres
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
9.1

I think the hostel is very good, I loved the location , the place is very clean and has a nice decoration not to mention that the kitchen is very useful, a good place to stay more secure congratulations

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Aug 2016
7.4

I stayed at the Viajero for two days and found it really expensive for what it is. The hostel is very clean and thebeds were really comfortable but for the price I paid I expected the bed to be made when I arrived, but no each guest has to make his bed upon arrival. The staff is ok but not particularly nice. Breakfast is included but is very basic plus from what I saw they always running out of something and in no rush to get some more out of the cupboards ( I had to wait 30 min for butter...)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
7.7

El Viajero was a really fun place. There was good music, a beautiful Colombia style, and had a good amount of facilities/activities. The staff was usually kind and friendly. The bathrooms maybe need some work but were kept as clean as they could be. The only real downfall was, perhaps only in our room, both the personal locker and majority of safes were broken. The room was also near impossible to cool, but the staff did their best to accommodate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.9

Annoying that they turned off the air conditioning during the day so our room was super hot after walking around all day on the hot street. Also the bar area is ungodly loud until 12pm every night of the week which made it difficult to sleep

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
7.4

Ok hostel, bathroom facilities are not that clean. Good location and nice staff though

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Eeyvah
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Aug 2016
7.7

The viajero hostel is located very central. It's very busy. The beds are comfortable. There are lockers where you can charge your phone in. Breakfast isn't that special. It's a bit too pricy if you ask me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.