Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 5497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 5497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2017
7.7

El Viajero Hostel is in a fantastic location if you're looking to walk around Ciudad Vieja, and go to its many restaurants and bars. I stayed in a six-bed room, and it was spacious and well-maintained. I have to say that my favorite part of this hostel was the bar area, where you can hang out and meet other guests. Ena, the bartender, is an angel and she was super charismatic and sweet to me. She played every song I asked for, and even showed me some champeta songs. Overall, I had a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • rominavn
  • Uruguay, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Sep 2017
10.0

Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2017
4.3

Very little flexibility of cancellation for a hostel. The rooms are located in a very noisy corridor where everywhere sits and makes it difficult to relax. Breakfast is ultra basic and way too busy. Too expensive compared to much better experiences in the country.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2017
9.7

This hostel is the place to stay in Cartagena! It's within the walled city and right around the corner from bars and restaurants. The courtyards have people hanging out in hammocks throughout the day, and the bar area is crowded at night. The free salsa lessons were really fun! The bunk beds were comfortable and the AC was very strong. In fact, I actually got cold at night with only a sheet because the AC was so strong. The breakfast was not the best, but everything else was 10/10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Sep 2017
7.4

Good location but expensive for what it is

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment. As you said, the location is everything in Cartagena and sure you noticed everything is more expensive than other cities in Colombia. However, 16 bucks for night is not that bad, is it? Safe travels!

  • shakeawayy
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Aug 2017
8.3

Overall a good place to stay, it's a sociable place with a good bar which closes at midnight. After hours: the night security guy did not want us to stay in the main outdoor part and were asked to either stay in the lobby or go to our dorms. Not fun! But otherwise good place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review Mohamed, we are glad you enjoyed Cartagena and our hostel. We try to respect all our guests rest and being in the main outdoor would not be nice for the people trying to sleep. Otherwise we offered you an alternative to still hang out in our lobby. We hope to see you again at El Viajero hostels also in Cali, Salento and San Andrés

26th Aug 2017
6.9

I've stayed at a lot of hostels and had high expectations considering this one was supposedly one of the best in SA The location is amazing but everything else is sub par. #1 note, the air conditioning situation is HORRIBLE. They'll only turn it on at 6pm and even then, it isn't that cool. The rooms don't have locked doors. The lockers have open backs that you can move the beds to access without unlocking. Stuff was stolen too. If you can find another hostel in the city, i would stay there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2017
10.0

Located in the walled city of Cartagena it was an awesome experience. As a solo traveler it was very easy others doing the same thing around the hostel. Very close to the airport and boca grande. Lots of bars and restaurants in the area so it's easy to get around. My room was always air conditioned, idk if I was lucky or what but it made things nice for myself! Solid breakfast in the morning. This place was great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our hostels.

23rd Aug 2017
9.7

Super Great Saty!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot !

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
8.0

Very popular place but not too noisy at night. Nice communal breakfast to meet other travellers. Rooms are ok but wish the AC was on earlier and turned off later. This city is hot AF and you'll be craving a pool in no time at all. This isn't a bad place by any means but there's probably better value around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the AC, we try to keep it running only when our guests are back from their daily activities.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×