X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Reviews

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2017 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Amazing stay, was recommended this place by my mates and I can see why! Fantastic atmosphere, staff were awesome and the guests were from all over the world. Room were very comfortable, clean and quiet. Facilities are great, lots of space to socialise, or have quiet time. Great value for money. It's so good that I extended my stay. If you want a good vibe , great location and chill people def come here.

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Large hostel in a great area. Free breakfast is fruit, toast, cereal, coffee. The open air courtyards are great, plenty of places to hang out. Small security safes in each room are free to use. They offers tours from the front desk. No complaints, but not very cozy or original place to stay.


100%

Great Staff Great Location


100%

It was a very nice experience to stay at el Viajero Hostel , you have the chance to meet a lot people around the world and have fun, the hostel is not a hostel party but you find a lot fun outsinde which it is much better cause you can come back to the hostel and sleep well. thank you guys for all your help and advices :)

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel in the centre of the Old Town. Knowledgeable staff and relaxed atmosphere.


100%

really good hostel, well run, clean and with good facilities. the staff were really helpful and friendly. alex was great and helped us a lot


100%

I loved staying at El Viajero! My stay was simple and worry free. The facilities were clean and the people friendly and there were plenty of activities for me to choose from. El Viajero will definitely be the first hostel I contact the next time i'm in Cartagena. Justin

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

El Vierjo was excellent! Staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. Close to bars and restaurants. Activities were available upon request and were lots of fun too :) Hasta la proxima!!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Great location. Short-fused, unfriendly staff: aircon in the rooms is turned off every day from 11am to 2pm, even if you ask them to turn it on, they refuse. No stove in the kitchen, therefore no possibility to cook. Average atmosphere, not a party hostel.


97%

Large place, lots of tourism help. I was a little too old for this type of hostel, but it's a great one. You're bound to make friends on the Wednesday night bar crawl or the Monday night salsa lessons. The staff are very friendly, though the desk isn't always manned (you have to wait around a few minutes until someone shows up). They have a system for checking your bags if you want to leave them securely, but honestly you could just walk in the luggage room and grab whatever you want.


69%

Almost anyone can just walk in and snoop around the rooms, as found out when a friend went looking for me! Breakfast is simple but fine and the place is clean, has good bar and kitchen and air con in TV room during the day.


89%

Big hostel with lots of people in the very centre of Cartagena. The crowd there is mainly young and party going, but I didn't find it as noisy as it was reported in some advices before. The staff is really nice and helpful and the hostel is very well kept. The location is very safe so one can go in and out at any time without problems, which is not the case of every area of the city.

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff is the best part of the hostel, Miriam, Alexander, Santiago and Alvaro have always been super helpful and fun. They managed to keep the place organised throughout the day, lively in the evenings and quiet at night. It was a real pleasure to meet them.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel!

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a party hostel, which for me is a good thing. It's a great place for solo travelers because it's very easy to meet people. I seriously met about 20 people during my 4 night stay. It does stay very loud until about 11. Salsa class was fun. The staff are a little inconsistent though. When I checked in, the person checking in next to me was receiving tips on everything and was shown to his room. All I got was my room number and sheets. Some staff are way more helpful than others.


89%

Good spot in old town. Really helpful staff


89%

El Viajero is a clean, centrally-located hostel with a vibrant atmosphere. The bunk beds in the shared dorms are high but comfortable and offer large lockers for luggage storage underneath (bring a small lock, or buy one at the Exito, only 2 blocks away). There are safe deposit boxes in the shared rooms, operated with codes, small but enough to hold passports and cellphones. The kitchen provides breakfast every day (included with the cost of the stay) - cold cereal, coffee or tea, fruit, juice and toast, and the dining room is open for guest use. The showers are co-ed and clean, bathrooms are always open and clean. There is a media room with movies and a large TV, also several computers for guests' use. Recommended!


100%

Good hostel and definitely recomend it, the staff is really nice and helpfull and all the rooms have aire conditioned, before writting thisGood hostel and definitely recomend it, the staff is really nice and helpfull and all the rooms have aire condicionate, before writting this message i was asking myselft why people some people write that the staff is not nice :( now i understood; thouse people are old and bored and they lose their spirit of travelers or backbackers. thanks guys for everything

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Ok location, 10 minutes walking from the center, good breakfast, AC in the rooms, good WIFI, safes


74%

One of the more sociable hostels you can choose - mainly due to a large number of people in a relatively small space. Dorms are aligned on either side of a central, open air, "street" with an array of seats provided outside each room. Such a design is good during the day yet at night noise can be a big issue. I guess it's just luck as to whether you encounter other guests who don't realise how much their voice travels at 2.00am. Would stay here again but would also be willing to try elsewhere.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(97 results)


View all Cartagena Hostels

Please give us your feedback