X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel Reviews

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2512 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

To summarise: great hostel, great location, and meet a lot of good people there. However, the best thing about El Viajero is the staff. Fantastic helpful and always with a smile. Will definitely recommend El Viajero Hostel to other travelers.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • jHalsbog
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Facilities were excellent... air conditioning is the top priority in Cartagena and the rooms in this hostel are ice cold. Fast and reliable wi fi connection. Staff were a bit unfriendly compared to other hostels in Colombia and the atmosphere was lacking, but I did arrive just after the weekend.


86%

I loved my stay here. The atmosphere of the place is very nice. I felt that the hostel is not very safe, because anyone who enter can easily access the rooms's place, so keep your things safe at locker when you stay here. Also, some of the staff are rude sometimes.


94%

Loved this hostel. Can hardly find fault with anything at all. Fantastic atmosphere, very relaxed and open and friendly vibe. Most of the staff were extremely helpful, just 1 or 2 that didnt quite meet the standards set by the majority of the staff, but that is a minor quibble. Air-con in the room, secure safe for personal belongings. All good. Recommended.


89%

Some receptionists should improve their attitude with the public, but overall excellent service


100%

Its a perfect hostel! Airco nice bar and staff! But a pool would be very welcom!!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We just had a great time there. The staff were very friendly, funny and helpful.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Comfortable beds, rooms with AC, breakfast consisting of bread, jam, butter, fruit, fresh juice, cereal and a good coffee. The staff is excellent and always ready to help, they always get their customers to have fun.


77%

Pretty good all round. Good atmosphere.


100%

I really had fun at el viajero hostel, the staff is really helpfull and they know exactly where to go out at night and also they organice event for the guest, we went to go out together to a place that is called bourbon and i really had fun there.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was the key to my great experiencia in Cartagena! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location is perfect! Close to everything! The hostel is very clean and the beds are very comfortable! There is great airconditioning in every roojm which make the rooms nice and cool! There is nothing better than coming back to the wonderful atmoshphere at el viajero hostel after a long day of exploring the city and beach!

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really clean and well maintained hostel. Great vibes. Free salsa lessons. Nice bar. Rooms are excellent, AC is ice cold

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Not my favorite hostel. The showers were dirty and right on the common area making you feel a bit exposed. Guests have to clean their own plates after breakfast.


100%

EL Viajero Hostel was a great stay. The rooms were clean and the AC was cold. The staff are fluent in both English and Spanish which really helped out as I don´t speak Spanish. The wifi worked and breakfast consisted of toast, cereal, juice and some fresh fruit. The staff was helpful when it came to club recommendations for the night and helped to book the bus ride to Santa Marta. The people who stay here are equally inviting and it was easy to find a group to go out for the night.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed here for a total of 10 days and the staff were most helpfull and extremely friendly. Everything is within walking distance and made some good friends. My bed was made every day and this is the first hostel I have come across that does this. Muchos cracias

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Place was really nice to stay at, great location, couldn't get any better, clean with AC. Was social but not a party hostel. I went back and stayed a second time.


100%

I had a great time at El Viajero - very nice and safe neighbourhood, clean rooms with a/c, the bar is superbe and the staff is very helpful and adorable! Loved it!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you so much for help alex, I really appreciated all what you did for me during my stay in Cartagena, good hostel with air condition in all the rooms.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were incredibly friendly and from all accounts hard working. The cleanliness was top knotch and there were lots of great activities. Would recommend it 100%.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you Viajero for everything, i had a good time in this hostel and the sfatt is realy nice people, friendly and helpful. El hello thank you to teach me some spanish words :)

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(184 results)


View all Cartagena Hostels

Please give us your feedback