Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites Located at Direccion Soriano 1073, , Montevideo.
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
Uruguay
Montevideo Direccion Soriano 1073
86% 1713
-34.9078243 -56.1928367
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Dec 2016
2.6

I decided to get the most expensive room so I could have some privacy and rest. The room was in front of the reception area. The man and the girl working there blasted music and YouTube videos VERY loudly the entire day and when I asked him to turn it down, he snapped back with, "This is a hostel, what do you expect?" He continued to argue with me and then played music loudly for 8 more hours. The bathrooms smell like ass and I was too uncomfortable to exit my room after being attacked verbally

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
9.7

My friend and I only stayed in Montevideo for one night. El Viajero was in a great location. It was a really laid back night seeing as it was a Sunday. The staff (Sophia) was really helpful and super accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • claudia_nikole8966
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
6.9

This hostel misses the mark on everything they claim to deliver. Simple additions, like a toaster at 'breakfast' or immediate check in, rather than a half hour wait with three staff members, in the evening with no one else in line. Don't bother

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
10.0

Fantastic place to stay in Montevideo. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, activities offered by the hostel were great, and the live music at night was beyond cool. Definitely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Nov 2016
7.1

I normally really love this chain of hostels. But some of the dorms are right connected to the patio where it can get quite noisy. Good area though. Pretty decent breakfast and one night I think I had a really good homemade dinner from the staff (cost $180 - I can't remember it much I was really stoned). The only downside is the lack of comfortable social seating. There's a picnic table towards the back and a couple in the breakfast area with a small couch but that's about it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Oct 2016
8.0

Good hostel some rooms to close to entertainment area so bit noisy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2016
7.7

Nice enough hostel, big communal area so potential to meet people. Location was good. Showers OK.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Oct 2016
8.3

It's great hostel. People are good and helpfull. The only problem is noise from common areas it goes until early morning hours. It is great if you loves to socialize, butbit can be pain if you are trying to sleep. A part of it is very nice hostel with a loads of character.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Oct 2016
8.6

Hostel was good. Would stay again if I was not Montevideo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
10.0

I was very impressed with this hostel. Rarely do I give a perfect 10 rating, but I really liked it here. Montevideo is a small city, not too much to do, but the hostel is in a good location, very clean and safe. Nice people. Overchanged a little on checkin, staff gave me a free beer for the confusion :) On Saturday night they played music late into the night so BEWARE of that if you are trying to get some sleep on the weekend, it might not be the best place. I put in my ear plugs and slept fine

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.