X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites Reviews

Direccion Soriano 1073, Montevideo, Uruguay

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1109 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

A chill place with a good vibe.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Only very sweet stuff for breakfast

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

We literally just slept at the hostel, our travel schedule didn't even allow us to try the breakfast but: comfy mattresses, only a fan in the room-no AC which made it quite hot, our room smelled a bit of mold too, but the hostel had a great colonial feel to it with gorgeous floors, glass roof and colorful paintings. A nice vibe and good hang-our areas.


74%

Me and my girlfriend stayed at a double bed private room, the room was kind of old, with broken doors and had a strong smell coming up from the bathroom's drain. The kitchen was as old as the bedroom and had few cooking tools. The positive things were the Staff, the location, the common areas, the free internet access and the fact that we could rent a bike and just leave it at the hostel. In general I liked it.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Caio! It was a pleasure to have you here like a guest, thank your four your comment! we try all the time to improve our service! See you again on your next time in Uruguay Regrards Santiago, Jefe de Recepciòn

77%

Everything is pretty good at this hostel. My only complaint would be all our stuff that went missing. An entire toiletry bag just disappeared. Annoying to say the least! My bed was also taken apart and the things on it thrown out by the cleaning staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much four your comment Angela, about your complaint we want to make you know that now we have cameras all around the hostel trying that that situation won`t repit again! Regrards Santiago, Jefe de recepciòn

86%

Great place to stay, would recommend. Breakfast could be more varied.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank`s four your comment Lucas, About the breakfast we want to make you know that we are impriving it, now we have also fruits! Regrards! Santiago, Jefe de Recepciòn

86%

I can't imagine a breakfast without milk!! It happened one day... maybe an accident, but... an issue to solve.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

A good hostel with open common areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank`s four your comment Amy! See you next time you`ll be around here! Regrards Santiago Jefe de Recepciòn

91%

Staff were friendly and only a short walk from the beach


100%

It was just great!!! Thanks Sinai for everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias Humberto por tu comentario! Nos alegramos mucho que hayas disfrutado de tu estadìa! Nos vemos en la pròxima! Saludos Santiago, jefe de Recepciòn

97%

A nice little hostel, located slightly away from the main street. Lots of activities advertised daily adn the staff were really helpful. A good courtyard for mingling and a nice sized kitchen for cooking meals. The breakfast was nice, but you needed to get there earlier rather than later in case things ran out!


100%

Great location. Thanks Fede for all your tips and suggestions ;)

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank`s four your comment Julia! hope to see you soon again! Regrards Santiago, jefe de Recepciòn

100%

A nice friendly hostel in a period building with original featurtes and a courtyard that is a great place to chill and drink a few beers with new friends in the sun. I rented a bike from reception, they are new bikes and a great way to get around especially for cycling along the seafront.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank`s John four your comment! It was a pleasure to have you here like a guest see you soon! Santiago, jefe de Recepcion

100%

I fell in love with el viajero instantly. The staff were extremely welcoming and kind. Santiago and Fredrico were the best! Very helpful and fun to hang with. Santiago took me and a few others out on the town for what turned out to be and epic night. It's a must stay in montevideo

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sean! Thank you very much four your comment, you and all they guys put a lot of energy while you stay there, you and your friends are lovely people thank`s for everything! Regrards Santiago, jefe de recepcion

94%

the kitchen was too small for the number of people who tried to use it and only one ring on the stove top worked on arrival. To be fair a new oven was installed the next day. Floor tiles in the shower area were very slippery when wet and guests were meant to wipe the floor which of course meant they didn't so the floor was often dangerous to walk on. Staff were incredibly helpful and had good local knowledge

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

WiFi was very unreliable, router needing to be reset too too often. Staff all anxious to help.Found a good shower and look a bicycle for u$u 380 a day. No problem staying here again, but sort out the unblessed WiFi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Martin for your comment! It will be a pleasure to have you here again! about wifi there is a problem that we usually don`t have, but the last week we were having problems with the router but it`s fix now! thank you and see yo soon! Santiago, Jefe de recepciòn.

100%

Fresh and inviting I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel and would recommend it to anyone wanting to spend a few days exploring Montevideo. Great location close to a variety of restaurants, bars and a handy laundry next door. Federico and the staff are really friendly and helpful, and always happy to give directions, even if it is only 2 blocks away. Cheers guys!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank`s for your comment Susy, it was a pleasere to have you here with us! See you on your next time in Montevideo! regards Santiago Jefe de recpeciòn

97%

The guys at the reception are lovely and are always available to to help out with whatever you need.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

It is a nice and comfortable hostel. However, I didn't like the atmosphere too much and the impression it was somehow a little sterile... Well, WiFi didn't function mist of the time and the guy at the reception didn't or couldn't do anything to fix it.


80%

Staff were great, very helpful. We were knackered and the chilled out atmosphere was what we needed! Kitchen could be better equipped, had to keep the door open which meant all the mosquitoes came in. Kitchen and bathrooms could use a deep clean!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Montevideo Hostels

Please give us your feedback