Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,585 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,585 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites Located at Direccion Soriano 1073, , Montevideo.
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
Uruguay
Montevideo Direccion Soriano 1073
84% 1585
-34.9078243 -56.1928367
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • rafael_maverick
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.9

Very nice staff. Breakfast average but good. It was a little noisy because people were celebrating in front of our dorms. The bedrooms have heating, very important in winter time and the shower is really hot and nice. We stayed two night and will be back in 4 days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
9.7

What an awesome place to stay in Montevideo. I was there for 3 days and I had lots of fun, met some really nice people and lastly, I would like to give a shout out to the staff... They are so F****** COOL!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
9.7

I recommend to stay at El Viajero in Montevideo. Is near from museums, restaurant, marketplace. Everywhere is close from the hostel such as markeplace, laundrymat, restaurants, bus station (15 minutes). I want to thank Martin for his excellent service and being very patience with me jeje. Thanks a lot. Plus, they have heater if you have in mind to visit on winter season. psd. Dont forget to bring back the ID or passport to the clients. Very important.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
6.9

Facilities and breakfast were pretty good, and location not bad too - close to many bus routes and 15 minutes walk from old town. The shower wasn't ideal and meant most days the bathroom floor was wet! The 8 bed dorm rooms were a bit cramped and lockers difficult to access when there was luggage lying around. Rooms back onto the courtyard so lots of music during the nights which make it tricky to get an early night sleep!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jun 2016
6.3

I stayed here for 2 nights. The staff are nice when approached but not the most friendly and its location is fairly good however I was disappointed with a few things. Firstly the bar is in the courtyard in the centre of the hostel and played music until 1. I wouldn't mind normally but it seemed that it was mainly used by the staff and their friends. My room was also freezing cold. Maybe it's just the wrong time of year to visit.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
8.9

This place ROCKS! The rooms are normal hostel rooms--just fine and even our cheap dorm had a private bathroom and air conditioner/heating unit. Very good because it got cold so we loved the heater. What sends this above and beyond are the staff. They are SUPER friendly, taking us out to a club just because they were going anyway, playing on the guitar with us, helping us with bus tickets. The whole 9 yards. Really good experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2016
8.9

It was a very good place, although it was very full when I was there, which made it slightly unclean (mostly in the restrooms), and a bit annoying to stay there due to amount of noise made by those people. But it was indeed very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2016
10.0

We spent two nights here and had a great stay. The highlight was the staff who introduced us to their friends and took us out to see the local area. They made us feel really welcome and at home and we wouldn't have enjoyed Montevideo half as much without them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.9

The staff at this hostel were extremely friendly and I had an absolutely fantastic time staying here. Some friends of the staff come to the hostel to social, which provides a great atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
6.3

The atmosphere at the hostel was very different from what I'd expected from the pictures. Other than Saturday night, the hostel is pretty dead. The entire place has a funny smell and you'll be expected to make your own bed. The breakfast isn't bad though and most of the staff is nice. However, they used one of the few outlets in a room that already had 6 people staying in it and then talked loudly outside of the room late at night. Great location but wouldn't recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.