Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,752 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,752 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites Located at Direccion Soriano 1073, , Montevideo.
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
Uruguay
Montevideo Direccion Soriano 1073
85% 1752
-34.9078243 -56.1928367
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Jan 2017
6.6

In a pretty good location and there's a lot of fun energy at the hostel. However, you needed to wear a wristband at all times (which I thought was annoying, especially when going outside). Staff was okay; they forgot to record that I had paid on arrival, but it was timely resolved when I left. One of the bathrooms was dirty, and the wifi was very spotty. Overall, not a bad hostel, but I would probably choose to stay elsewhere if I am back in Montevideo.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.1

watch out, they have life live music after 11pm until after 12 and the dorms are situated around the community area where they play. and if there's a party there's no sleep before that one ends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
9.1

Amazing place! I will recomend to friends for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Dec 2016
10.0

Great hostel just like the rest of their hostels. Loved Montevideo, be sure to go to Colonial especially if you are heading to BA, you could probably do it cheaper than the hostel offers but either way it's worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
9th Dec 2016
6.0

Big disappointment compared to Cartagena hostel. Area of town was sketchy but it's not far to walk to the city highlights which there aren't many of! Lacked any decent atmosphere and generally found the place unwelcoming. Ended up leaving a day early.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2016
8.3

All in all a pleasant experiencie. Thumbs up for Sofia at the reception desk, always ready to help with a smile in her face. Too noisy during the nights though, as concerts are organized at the very hostel courtyard, metres away from the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Dec 2016
4.9

The location and the facilities are good. Nevertheless, the staff of the hostel is neither prepared nor kind. I just stayed for 3 nights and they made me change room 3 times, despite of the fact that I had made a reservation in advance. One of the nights I arrived at 5 am and a guy was sleeping in my bed (of course, the staff did not know what to do , so they sent me to another room). In 10 years travelling, i have never seen such desprofitness and bad attention in a hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Dec 2016
2.6

I decided to get the most expensive room so I could have some privacy and rest. The room was in front of the reception area. The man and the girl working there blasted music and YouTube videos VERY loudly the entire day and when I asked him to turn it down, he snapped back with, "This is a hostel, what do you expect?" He continued to argue with me and then played music loudly for 8 more hours. The bathrooms smell like ass and I was too uncomfortable to exit my room after being attacked verbally

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
9.7

My friend and I only stayed in Montevideo for one night. El Viajero was in a great location. It was a really laid back night seeing as it was a Sunday. The staff (Sophia) was really helpful and super accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • claudia_nikole8966
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
6.9

This hostel misses the mark on everything they claim to deliver. Simple additions, like a toaster at 'breakfast' or immediate check in, rather than a half hour wait with three staff members, in the evening with no one else in line. Don't bother

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.