Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1823 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1823 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
9.1

Lovely hostel in a great location in Montevideo. Staff were nice and they have great kitchen facilities, computers you can use, bikes to rent and REALLY comfy beds! It could do with a couple more toilets/showers but overall, I'd recommend! Also, do the free walking tour in Montevideo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
8.0

Dorm bed was really comfy and the pillow was the best I've had through Brazil, Paraguay & Uruguay! Really chilled place, great spot to base yourself from to explore the surprisingly interesting city. Sofia was nice at check in and staff answered questions throughout. Not really enough toilets for the number of beds and the breakfast is very simple. The combined map for the 4x Uruguay locations isn't really fit for purpose.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Mar 2017
6.0

In total it is an acceptable hostal, but staff is not really friendly and they don't really help you if you have questions. Toilets are always dirty and there is missing some thing where you can leave your stuff while showering. Beds where awesome and the breakfast compared to other hostels is also really good. Kinda annoying is the music they play every evening at the bar... its not even chilled music. When you arrive at the hostal you get a free "drink" which is a shot and can't switch it...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
8th Feb 2017
10.0

I arrived to a friendly welcome by Sofia who was really helpful during my stay as well as the other staff. The hostel is in a great location to visit the city centre. It has a great atmosphere and many things to do. It was easy to meet people. A fantastic breakfast and it had all the facilities you want in a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

The best place to stay in Montevideo. Close to the main city spots, u can rent a bike and head to the beach. It has the best staff I've ever come to Meet at any hostel,great gang.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
5.4

Most staff were nice and helpful there was one girl in the reception who was very unprofessional, full of herself and she had no clue what is customer service. She calculated our price for the stay wrong and got angry when I tried to solve the situation. She was very nice to all the guys and was looking for a lot of attention. During our stay one of the owners came and she changed her attitude completely. She was in general very unprofessional and not nice after we complained for a reason.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Jan 2017
8.3

Super friendly and helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.0

Lovely hostel although in a bit of a strange part of town. Common areas, breakfast and staff were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
6.6

A 1 night place no more.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

Great place! Great vibe! Wonderful staff!! And good breakfast ... really happy with the hostel accomadation!!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.