Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites Located at Direccion Soriano 1073, , Montevideo.
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
Uruguay
Montevideo Direccion Soriano 1073
86% 1657
-34.9078243 -56.1928367
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Sep 2016
8.0

The staff is amazing, they are great! The toilets are a little small.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Sep 2016
9.7

I stayed where while the weather was pretty horrible so spent a bit of time in the hostel and loved it. The staff were great and there was always someone around to chat to. Great location as well. I was looking for a party and I can sleep through anything so noise was not an issue. However, if this is not what you are looking for, then maybe somewhere else is better suited.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
9.7

Great location. The atmosphere is great. The staff is very friendly. I enjoyed my time at El Viajero. I totally recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.4

We had such a great stay at El Viajero which was much thanks to the staff that go above & beyond for the guests, nothing is to big of a hassle. One staff member even took us along to watch a soccer match with him which was an amazing experience. The common area/bar was very socialable & a great atmosphere with a band organised ones night. All facilities are clean. The hostel is secure but the 4 room mixed dorm could use with a lock on the door. Location is close to Plaza's & Rambla.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Sep 2016
6.0

So noisy! Most of the rooms are around the social areas of the hostel, and the parties in the main section went onto about 2am, with breakfast starting at 8am. There isn't nothing in regards to much sound proofing (wooden door) so it really is very very noisy. The wifi also wasn't working at this time which was frustrating! Location is good, kitchen and bathroom were good also (and clean). Hostel had live music on some nights and staff were nice otherwise!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
8.3

Was ok for one night, has a breakfast including fruits and very helpful staff. But be careful in the big dorms, it might be a little bit cold in the winter/spring.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th Aug 2016
8.6

This was a great place to stay in Montevideo. Seems like a social place and the staff were helpful and fun. If we ever return, we'd stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
28th Aug 2016
9.4

Everything was great including the breaky, only thing lacking was the atmosphere. Possibly due to the fact it appeared there were a lot of long stay/workers living there, I'm not too sure. Otherwise great hostel in the heart of Downtown Montevideo close to most attractions. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
10.0

Nice place, good bikes to rent and great atmosphere. Thanks Guille and Fede for your music and recommendations!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Aug 2016
10.0

This is by far the best hostel I had the pleasure to be in,( Montevideo) I was in two other hostels and they don't compare to this one. They have everything you need to visit Montevideo, the environment was nice, they have things you can do everyday and they were helpful with everything. Really nice hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.