Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1964 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1964 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alfapiero90
  • Peru, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
10.0

La mejor atención que he podido tener en mi primera experiencia de viajar fuera de Perú. Muy agradecido con absolutamente todos; en especial con FEDERICO, que se porto de una manera que no podría expresar en palabras!! Muchos bendiciones; y regresaré pronto. No hay duda!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
8.6

Good atmosphere, nice people, comfy bed. Bathrooms are okay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2017
6.0

Good location and the live music in the evening was good. However, the place could do with a deep clean and the door to our room didn't close properly which resulted in a loud bang each time the door was opened. Overall wouldn't recommend to a friend! :-(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Aug 2017
6.0

Unhelpful staff - "you can just look that up on the internet" when we asked questions about how to get places. Girl's toilet stank of sewage, room doors don't shut properly (panels of my room door were duct taped shut). Wi-Fi was unreliable (didn't work at all in my room). Location is uninspiring, I moved to the Parque Rodó area and found that to be much nicer. Great atmosphere but that's solely down to the awesome people staying there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Honduras, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
10.0

The people in the Hostel was really really helpful! I really recommend this hostel! Thanks guys for all your help!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your comment!!! We are so glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you soon at our Hostels.

2nd Aug 2017
10.0

Maje, Alex and lucho are the best!! They made me feel so welcome and made me feel like I had a group of friends in Montevideo!! Also all are very knowledgeable about the city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our hostels.

31st Jul 2017
8.6

Really liked this hostel! You have to stay here if you're in Montevideo. The staff are all a great laugh and very friendly and helpful. The hostel is fairly big and the dorm rooms are spacious and cosy. Plenty of thick sheets and blankets to keep you warm at night. Very good location with everything you need within walking distance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jul 2017
7.4

it was not bad, but was not really good. atmosphere, breakfast, services of hostel were quite good. but it was little bit uncomfortable to use only 1 bathroom (with 2 shower booths). but the staffs were really nice and i loved that bike service (but it was little bit expensive for that old bike tho). i think they need to lower the price little bit.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment, most of our rooms have a bathroom inside. You stayed on a room without a bathroom, which is why it's the cheapest, we do have more shared bathrooms and showers than the one you mention, they are just on another area of the Hostel.. We appreciate your feedback though, it helps us to improve.

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2017
5.1

Great reception staff but kitchen stuff were very weird, they were using the kitchen for hooours while drinking wine. Bad attitudes from them even when we were very nice. Bathrooms were dirty and smell like garbage. Rooms where smelly, humid and cold. Good breakfast. Would not recommend this place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback, we are currently improving the housekeeping . We do have a cooker who makes dinners for many people, we are sorry if she made you feel uncomfortable, but most guests love her and her delicious food

6th Jul 2017
8.6

I would definitely recommend this hostel! It is very well-located and all the staff was very helpful during our stay. The only issues we had were with our room (more specifically, the bathroom in our room). The toilet was not okay, in the sense that each time we flushed, we would end up with a bathroom floor filled with water. Aside from that, though, the bathroom was ok (the shower was very good!). The common bathrooms were always clean, too, as well as other areas of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×