Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,618 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,618 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites Located at Direccion Soriano 1073, , Montevideo.
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
Uruguay
Montevideo Direccion Soriano 1073
86% 1618
-34.9078243 -56.1928367
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Aug 2016
10.0

This is by far the best hostel I had the pleasure to be in,( Montevideo) I was in two other hostels and they don't compare to this one. They have everything you need to visit Montevideo, the environment was nice, they have things you can do everyday and they were helpful with everything. Really nice hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lucasdemary
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.9

Nice place. Little noise in the night, but at 1 AM, the noise stop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
12th Aug 2016
10.0

super great staff and nice atmosphere in the middle of Montevideo. A hostel that has every morning almost a line with people asking if they can stay for a night longer ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank youuuuu!!!! :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jul 2016
7.4

This is a fantastic location within walking distance to a lot of key places, and a lot of food and service shops. We stayed from a Friday-Monday and there was live music every night which was very cool, except it went to the very early hours of the morning. The staff were very friendly, and the bar/ court yard area is fantastic. Just be warned the common area - where a lot of the night activities take place - is right outside a lot of the dorm rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jul 2016
6.3

Great location and good atmosphere. But we had problems with our stuff. One of the guests used my friend's towel, I had my toothbrush stolen and my friend had his flip flops stolen as well. In the end of our stay, this person returned the items but it was still very inconvenient. The staff said that we didn't lock everything up in the lockers (which were really old and not very safe as well). There is no lockers on the door, so everybody from the hostel can go inside every room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Excellent Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jul 2016
6.9

We booked for 2 nights and had to change rooms after 1 night. The staff were friendly enough, although seemed put out when you needed assistance with something. The location is good, walking distance to the main streets. Limited seating inside when we wanted to chill out. All rooms face onto communal areas so they were really loud in the early morning and late at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • rafael_maverick
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.9

Very nice staff. Breakfast average but good. It was a little noisy because people were celebrating in front of our dorms. The bedrooms have heating, very important in winter time and the shower is really hot and nice. We stayed two night and will be back in 4 days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
9.7

What an awesome place to stay in Montevideo. I was there for 3 days and I had lots of fun, met some really nice people and lastly, I would like to give a shout out to the staff... They are so F****** COOL!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.7

I recommend to stay at El Viajero in Montevideo. Is near from museums, restaurant, marketplace. Everywhere is close from the hostel such as markeplace, laundrymat, restaurants, bus station (15 minutes). I want to thank Martin for his excellent service and being very patience with me jeje. Thanks a lot. Plus, they have heater if you have in mind to visit on winter season. psd. Dont forget to bring back the ID or passport to the clients. Very important.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.