Hostelworld.com

El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,565 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,565 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites Located at Direccion Soriano 1073, , Montevideo.
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
Uruguay
Montevideo Direccion Soriano 1073
83% 1565
-34.9078243 -56.1928367
El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2016
6.3

I stayed here for 2 nights. The staff are nice when approached but not the most friendly and its location is fairly good however I was disappointed with a few things. Firstly the bar is in the courtyard in the centre of the hostel and played music until 1. I wouldn't mind normally but it seemed that it was mainly used by the staff and their friends. My room was also freezing cold. Maybe it's just the wrong time of year to visit.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2016
8.9

It was a very good place, although it was very full when I was there, which made it slightly unclean (mostly in the restrooms), and a bit annoying to stay there due to amount of noise made by those people. But it was indeed very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th May 2016
10.0

We spent two nights here and had a great stay. The highlight was the staff who introduced us to their friends and took us out to see the local area. They made us feel really welcome and at home and we wouldn't have enjoyed Montevideo half as much without them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.9

The staff at this hostel were extremely friendly and I had an absolutely fantastic time staying here. Some friends of the staff come to the hostel to social, which provides a great atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
6.3

The atmosphere at the hostel was very different from what I'd expected from the pictures. Other than Saturday night, the hostel is pretty dead. The entire place has a funny smell and you'll be expected to make your own bed. The breakfast isn't bad though and most of the staff is nice. However, they used one of the few outlets in a room that already had 6 people staying in it and then talked loudly outside of the room late at night. Great location but wouldn't recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
6.0

The location was great and some of the staff was really awesome! However... The woman at the front desk barely gave us a tour of where things are and had us make our own beds. Storage under the beds smelled strongly of urine and the rest of the hostel had an unpleasant odor as well. We were woken up each morning at around 6:30 by staff sitting outside our room talking loudly and with cell phone notifications at full volume. Staff was also using two of the three outlets available in our room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
8.3

Fun hostel, stays loud till late at night (sometimes there's live music!). Most of the rooms are adjacent to the courtyard so it's not ideal if you're looking for peace and quiet for sleeping. But the staff is super nice, especially the girl with the glasses! You can rent old bicycles. The kitchen is pretty nice. The bathrooms are a little dingy and the girls bathroom was always out of soap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2016
7.1

Good. Not really the time to go to Uruguay though, a bit quiet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
8.6

Staff was really good, facilities weren't as great as I expected. Only one outlet in a room for 6.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
9.4

El Viajero provides an incredible experience to it's guests. The atmosphere is cool and relaxed, the breakfast is good and the bar area is great for meeting people and making new friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.