Hostelworld.com

El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1782 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1782 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
8th Feb 2017
10.0

I arrived to a friendly welcome by Sofia who was really helpful during my stay as well as the other staff. The hostel is in a great location to visit the city centre. It has a great atmosphere and many things to do. It was easy to meet people. A fantastic breakfast and it had all the facilities you want in a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

The best place to stay in Montevideo. Close to the main city spots, u can rent a bike and head to the beach. It has the best staff I've ever come to Meet at any hostel,great gang.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
5.4

Most staff were nice and helpful there was one girl in the reception who was very unprofessional, full of herself and she had no clue what is customer service. She calculated our price for the stay wrong and got angry when I tried to solve the situation. She was very nice to all the guys and was looking for a lot of attention. During our stay one of the owners came and she changed her attitude completely. She was in general very unprofessional and not nice after we complained for a reason.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Jan 2017
8.3

Super friendly and helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.0

Lovely hostel although in a bit of a strange part of town. Common areas, breakfast and staff were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
6.6

A 1 night place no more.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

Great place! Great vibe! Wonderful staff!! And good breakfast ... really happy with the hostel accomadation!!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
9.4

Really good hostel to recommend in Montevideo! Very friendly and cool staff and a very good terrace to chill during free time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
6.6

In a pretty good location and there's a lot of fun energy at the hostel. However, you needed to wear a wristband at all times (which I thought was annoying, especially when going outside). Staff was okay; they forgot to record that I had paid on arrival, but it was timely resolved when I left. One of the bathrooms was dirty, and the wifi was very spotty. Overall, not a bad hostel, but I would probably choose to stay elsewhere if I am back in Montevideo.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.1

watch out, they have life live music after 11pm until after 12 and the dorms are situated around the community area where they play. and if there's a party there's no sleep before that one ends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.