X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Viajero - Downtown Hostel & Suites Reviews

Direccion Soriano 1073, Montevideo, Uruguay

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1040 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

WiFi was very unreliable, router needing to be reset too too often. Staff all anxious to help.Found a good shower and look a bicycle for u$u 380 a day. No problem staying here again, but sort out the unblessed WiFi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Martin for your comment! It will be a pleasure to have you here again! about wifi there is a problem that we usually don`t have, but the last week we were having problems with the router but it`s fix now! thank you and see yo soon! Santiago, Jefe de recepciòn.

100%

Fresh and inviting I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel and would recommend it to anyone wanting to spend a few days exploring Montevideo. Great location close to a variety of restaurants, bars and a handy laundry next door. Federico and the staff are really friendly and helpful, and always happy to give directions, even if it is only 2 blocks away. Cheers guys!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The guys at the reception are lovely and are always available to to help out with whatever you need.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really cool setup at the Viajero. Semi-outdoor semi-indoor gathering area...lovely patio, clean kitchen, comfortable living room/"chill space". Although its hard to sleep in at this hostel because when one is up - all are up (due to the fact that all rooms are right next to gathering areas) and the internet was down the whole time, I had a very nice time at el viajero. Very cool people from all around the world stopping in at the viajero - I guarantee you will meet just as awesome people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment Mina, we are always trying to improve so thank`s for your critics also, we`ll be waiting for you for the next time! Regards!

69%

Nice looking hostel, though the staff started to put on music (loud enough to wake up the people sleeping near the lobby) at 6 am. That's a pity, since they were friendly and helpful. In general a good hostel to stay in Montevideo.


89%

Great place, great staff, great asada on the weekends! Stay there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Stephen! See you next time with asado! ;)

66%

Didn't like the room. Too small, noisy, no windows and mold. The hostel is fine and location is good. Staff is awsome.


60%

Interesting place but our room smelled pretty bad

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

We liked the hostel!


91%

It's a good hostel, we liked the rooms, common areas, the staffs... the whole atmosphere is very nice! I just think they should organize more activities!


66%

The four bedroom dorm was small but ok. Few plugs to charge stuff. The room was in front of the common area and people didn't respect the rule to be quiet ater 11pm. The staff didn't seem to bother either. Great location, close to a great avenue with plenty of bus lines and restaurants. Close to plenty of points of interest. Complete breakfast. The great problem is the number of female toilets: ONE! There were three showers and only one with sink and WC.


97%

Frederico (a guy that worked there) was very helpful and friendly to us. The only bad thing about the hostel is the breakfast, with very few options. But we really enjoyed our stay.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Bathrooms and rooms could be improved.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your sugrencia and your comment! Cheers from all the staff!

97%

excellente hostel, very good atmosphere, the staffs were very very helpful, i loved everythings...the rooms goods and cleans..the location in the center of the city is great, it is next everything you need...main points of turistic interest...bus stop...beach...shops etc... I definitely recomend...I will be here again and again certainly...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oi Moises muito obrigado pelo comentario, sempre tentamos fazer o melhor para nossos clientes, estamos a disposicao e te esperamos para uma proxima visita al Uruguay no esqueca que tambem temos hostels em Colonia do Sacramento e Punta del Este. Um abraco Heros O Gerente

100%

The best staff in Montevideo!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muito obrigado por seus comentários! Estamos muito satisfeitos que a sua estadia tem sido excelente !! Felicidades de todos os funcionários !!! :)

74%

There is a Subway, Mcdonalds and Burger King close. Also many monuments are near it. Internet is good and range the majority of rooms. Breakfast is a little bit poor, but you can hold on until lunch. You can rent bikes but it's expensive. However staff is very polite and helpful, mainly, Federico, who helped us with dinner and places to go. It's a good hostel, but for the same price I stayed at best hostels.


51%

There was no curfew. The first night a group of people partied until 3am with no staff intervening. Thee next day we asked to change rooms and were told that they would let us know in the afternoon. They didn't get back to us either way. The second night there were two groups of people partying in different locations. The latest party finished at 6am when we were getting up to travel. We would have left after the first night but we had a reservation and paid.


89%

El Viajero is a great hostel. I kinow it is getting cliche to say, but if you are looking for a 4 star hotel, go elsewhere. But for the price, this hostel is excellent. It has a nice common garden in the middle and the rooms are spacious and clean. Get room 15 if you can! It has a bathroom in the room. The staff are very friendly, especially Fredrico, and they are willing to help you with anything you need. They also put on some nice live music and tell you where you can go for a night out!

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location and staff! They arranged BBQs and live music which was nice. The breakfast was terrible in my opinion. Only sucrillos and white bread. Would be nice with something that has some fibers.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel! It has everything you need.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Montevideo Hostels

Please give us your feedback