X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3664 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very friendly staff, hopping bar and extremely packed and social smoking room. This hostel is a great place to hang out for the night and meet people, as it's a very unique and fun atmosphere. My only complaint is the early 10:30 checkout time and they didn't have a free storage rooms for my bags while I went to Anne Frank museum before my flight that afternoon. Breakfast was included, tasty, and well maintained beginning at 7:30 am. The beds are extremely comfortable with outlets by your head!

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Would have loved a laundry and the stairs to level 4 were something else!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! We really appreciate this and we are happy to see you had a great time staying with us :) Sorry we don't have a laundry, but there is one close to the hostel! We don't have an elevator unfortunately, due to the traditional Dutch architecture of our building. Our staff is always ready to help out bringing luggage upstairs, though! Thanks again for your time. The Flying Pig Uptown

46%

Bathrooms really really small. Stairs everywhere.


94%

A lovely, easy going hostel with excellent staff and location! Full of lovely guests as well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great feedback! We really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out and we are very happy you had such a good time with us! Thanks again :) The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Only stayed for 36 hours, but a very chill hostel. Smoking area by bar. Offer standard breakfast(cereal, toast, juice/coffee), as well as daily supper specials that you can pay and get. Cash only bar. Need to be buzzed inside, so felt safe. Under bed lockers, good showers, clean bathrooms. Close to central area(not far to be anywhere in Amsterdam, especially if you rent a bike). Staff had good tips on where to go, what shops to see, etc. Most expensive hostel on my trip, but it was worth it.


80%

Get place to stay and very friendly people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! We really appreciate it you took the time to write a review about your stay with us. It's great to see you enjoyed yourself here! Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Amsterdam :D Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

a little small


97%

Fantastic as usual. My favorite place to stay in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot! It was great to see you again :) We hope to see you again on your next visit to Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

(+) L'auberge est agréable, propre et sécurisée. Située à 5 minutes du Musée Van Gogh, elle est desservie par de nombreux tramways. Le personnel est sympathique. Les lits sont très confortables.. Le petit déjeuner est copieux et de qualité. (-) Les douches sont propres mais peu fonctionnelles (il n'y a pas d'endroits pour poser ses affaires) et le seul moyen pour se laver les dents est d'utiliser le lavabo des toilettes (pas de lavabo dans les douches ni dans les chambres).

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay! We really appreciate it since we can learn a lot from your experience with us. We are very happy to see you enjoyed yourself here! We hope to see you again whenever you visit Amsterdam again :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

60%

The hostel was alright but the vibe was strange, it's very pokey, dark and gloomy. No kitchen was really annoying and the staff (one guy) seemed grumpy. Would have been really nice to have yoghurt and some fruit at brekky! Location is quite far out! I'm definitely staying more in the centre next time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay! We are sorry to hear though, your stay was not quite as expected. We actually do have a fully equipped kitchen available for everyone to use! Sorry you missed this. Our breakfast is a buffet with cereal, bread, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt and more! We would love to know more about your stay with us and the grumpy staff member. Therefor we will contact you personally. Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Really friendly staff, great atmosphere and nice location.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice!! Thank you so much for this great review of your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back soon! :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Good stay, really great staff and friendly atmosphere

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! It's great to see you had such a good time here :) We will pass on your kind words to our staff too, they would love to hear this. Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

j'ai été très bien accueilli et tout le séjour s'est bien passé. j'espère que plus tard il y aura un monte bagage ou quelque chose qui y ressemble car les marches sont très étroites et un peu dur à monter avec les valises. il y a eu une jolie demoiselles blonde qui m'a accueilli avec mon cousin le lundi 10 au soir vers 19H , pourriez vous songer à une augmentation ou un autre geste de quelques natures qu'il soit car elles nous a bien accueilli :)

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for leaving such a nice review of you stay with us! We are very happy to see you enjoyed yourself here. Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Was a great chilled place. Lots of interesting people.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving such a nice review! We are very happy to see you enjoyed yourself while staying with us :) We hope to see you again one day! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Amazing staff super nice and accommodating , bathrooms are really small and kitchen closes to early 10:30. But pretty good location close enough to walk everywhere but far enough not to hear any loud noise at nice , all and all would stay there again mainly because how amazing the staff is

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot! It's great to hear you enjoyed yourself with us. We will pass on your kind words to our staff as well! They would love to hear this :) We hope to see you again one day! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Really liked the atmosphere and the staff. The hostel itself was warm and inviting and had a chill, friendly vibe that made it easy to relax and talk to other people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
That sounds great! Thank you so much! We are happy to see you had such a good time with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Generally a good stay. The breakfast was great & so was the staff. A super energetic team. I would have loved more activities - a chill pub crawl, etc put on by the hostel. The only major complaint I have is the stairs. I understand it's an older building and there's no elevators. But WHY can't the door on the main level be used? You have to go downstairs to the bar/reception in order to go up the stairs, which is dumb. My bed also had a big gap between it & wall so a lot of things fell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us your review, very helpful! Good to hear you enjoyed yourself with us. Having the reception in the bar downstairs indeed means everyone has to go past reception to get into the hostel. And that is exactly the reason we did it that way, since we can now keep an eye on everyone that comes in, to keep the hostel safe and secure :-) Also, feel free to ask for a bottom bed next time so you can keep your things on the floor, if you like. Ciao for now, The Flying Pig

100%

Adorei!!! Excelente quarto...

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much!! :D

100%

Fiz uma eurotrip e passei por vários hostels e esse foi de longe o melhor de todos. Excelente organização, limpeza, stafs super simpaticos, café da manhã bem servido e super bem localizado. Enfim foi uma ótima experiência, ficarei la mais vezes e recomendo a todos.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, this is great to read! Thanks a lot :) We are very happy you had such a good time with us :) We hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Hostel dentro da média, eu particulamente não gostei da localização. Do demais tudo ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us! We really appreciate it and we are happy to see you had a good time with us :) We are sorry to hear you did not like the location. We are situated close to the main night life square, the beautiful Vondelpark and Museum square with all the famous museums. But Central Station is about 10 minutes away with the tram. Thanks again for your time! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(175 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback