X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3184 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I was in a dorm and the shower/toilet was suuuuper small! It was also inside the room, so it was quite noisy. You could barely turn around. Even the sink was too small to properly brush your teeth or wash your hands. Apart from that everything was fine. Good wifi and location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for the review. Unfortunately, we often hear criticism about the bathrooms and we agree that these are not very large. When we three years ago renovated this historic building, we had a lot of restrictions to follow. Nevertheless, we wanted to offer the convenience of a bathroom in each room and have therefore decided to take the option you experienced. Also we have installed larger bathrooms on all corridors. Kind Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

60%

As per other reviews, the lock on the toilet was broken, bit awkward in a shared room. Also we requested food from the menus on two consecutive nights and were told the kitchen wasn't open, apparently due to there not being enough staff available. Defiantly pack ear plugs (we had an old guy snoring like a jet engine and the street noise). Great location, very close to train station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. I apologize that you have not been able to order food. We had due to sickness, to close the kitchen. But now everybody is back on board and to prevent that of happening again, we have also taken the necessary actions that it does not happen again. Would be nice to see you again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Very Nice place with poor atmosphere :D

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. Even you gave us fantastic scores in nearly every area, I regret that the atmosphere was not to your satisfaction. If you ever come to Hamburg again, give us a hint, what can be improved. In the meanwhile I wish you a great time. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

It's a typical large chain hostel: good security, clean facilities, no atmosphere. Just one staff at the reception desk at a time, so there's often a queue for check-ins etc. The bathroom was tiny; the sink was really uncomfortable, even for a short person like me. But generally clean facilities & outlets for each bed. Location is very convenient (right next to the train station). The "common room"/bar area didn't seem helpful for meeting new people, but I made some friends from my room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for letting us know about our recent stay. Your points are very valuable for us and we will def. work on improvements. Whenever you are around again in the future, I would be delighted to be your host again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

71%

The sinks in bathrooms are extremely small.. It's almost impossible to use them. The security guy can be irritating sometimes.. Location is excellent! Staff is friendly!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the great comments about the location and staff. The security is there to lift you comfort and to make sure that you and our team can feel always secure. Still I will see that this can be done, that his appearance won't be irritating. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

A very large hostel, easy to find and get to and from. Helpful and friendly staff. Good facilities and security. Such a large and busy place will always be rather 'bland'.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for rating us on Hostelworld, I am especially happy that our team was able to leave such a good picture. Please visit us again in Hamburg, if you are ever around again. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Nice atmosphere! Good size of rooms - a bit small bathrooms though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for the review. We often hear criticism about the bathrooms and we agree that these are not very large. When we renovated this historic buildings, we had a lot of restrictions to follow. Nevertheless, we wanted to offer the convenience of a bathroom in each room and have therefore decided to take the option you experienced. Also we have installed larger bathrooms on all corridors. It would be nice if you would chose to stay at Generator again

94%

Good hostel over all - good staff and some cool people stayed there. The only problem was that it was so hot. It wasn't too hot outside but the bedrooms were unbearable. Thankfully I was in an all girls dorm so we slept naked but it was so hot it felt suffocating. The windows wouldn't open either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, did you ask for fan that we actually borrow out at front desk? The windows cannot be opened unfortunately, due to security issues. It would be nice if you chose Generator also on your next trip. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Awesome location. Staff were helpful and overall the hostel was a great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the overall good review. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

close to the train station which is very convenient clean wifi in the room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the overall good review. Hope to see you again at Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

34%

The staff brought a homeless lad up to our room and stood there as he woke me up and tried to get me out of the room. Turns out the homeless guy spiked my boyfriend and was trying to get me out for God knows what reason. The staff, especially a man called Nelson who accompanied the man to our room, completely shrugged it off and lied to us where possible as well as during the official investigation. Really dodgy stuff here, normally love generator hostels but we couldn't sleep here after that


94%

one lady behind the desk in particular was rude. staff generally unfriendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, It is very sad that you left with such an impression about our team. We will def. focus on that over coming weeks to bring it back to the point we aim to be. In the meanwhile I hope you will visit us again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

Booked this hostel very last minute and was not disappointed. The food and bar was great and the rooms were clean and nice. I loved how close it was to the train station and is in walking distance of pretty much everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the review. I really appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Everything is great apart from 1.5 -2 square meter toilet and 1.5 -2 square meter bath room, sink is too small so that water splash everywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for giving us your feedback. I understand the frustration about the bathrooms. They are indeed small. Still we tried to offer en suite facilities in every room. Furthermore we have larger bathrooms on every floor. Hope to see you again in Hamburg Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Comfortable and clean dorm. But the shower room and toilet were tiny and the locks on both the doors were broken. The staff I met with helpful and I had a lovely breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your stay and the feedback. I am very happy that you left with an overall good impression. Regards, Sven Heberling

4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next » last »
(195 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback