X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3179 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

For me service the most important factor when I choose to stay at a Hotel/Hostel and I cannot say that Generator Hostel Hamburg fulfilled that need. In fact they did not even provide an average or basic level of service. When I addressed my self to the receptionist, she did not only not say 'hi or welcome' she keep staring at me, until I said 'I have a reservation?' and then she replied in a rude maner 'and what do you want me to do about it?' - this is shocking for me.


97%

I didnt expect sharing room would be this fine. They are professional, the room was clean and comfortable.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your impressions with us. I would be very happy if you chose Generator also in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

The only negative thing I can complain is the tiny little bathroom inside the room and the unexpected nude old woman suddenly appear on the last morning. But well, you can always use the big bathroom out in the hall and the guest you cant really control so... Great location, friendly and helpful staff, great facilities.

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the nice feedback. I would be really delighted if you chose Generator also in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

57%

Really unfriendly almost rude staff. No soaps in the toilets, and funny toilets with tiny sinks where you can't even brush your teeth. cold water in the shower. expensive charging for everything, especially for food and lockers at the lobby!. you can't bring your own food inside and everything it's so expensive there. 3 € for a beer in a hostel seriously?!

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Having the laundry facilities were great. The huge under was lockers were great too. It would have been good to have a towel included though. Definitely a family atmosphere as opposed to a younger vibe. Overall I'd stay there again and recommend it to my friends.


80%

Great atmosphere and location. literally right next to the hbf. but queues for check in should be properly managed. it was my first time waiting for 40 mins just to check in!! other than that, everything was perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the review. I regret that you had to wait for such a long time for check in. Our new Front Office Manager is currently working on improvements. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Definitely the most charming hostel I have stayed with.


83%

Typical generator hostel, great facilities, clean and more of a hotel feel. Great for non party backpackers but not much vibe


91%

Great location. Very good security and very clean.


100%

Great stay with no problems at all. Great staff and location. If I could think of only one thing, that'd be that there were no soaps anywhere in the bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the excellent rating. That incurrages us still to keep up the good work. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

63%

Clean rooms, close to the train station and hot water. That's about it. I stayed at Wombats in Munich and had a great time, so I figured I'd have a similar experience at this extra large hostel. Definitely not. The staff are rude, and the atmosphere is dismal. Its also one of those hostels where they try and penny pinch you, and search your bags on the way in to make sure you're not bringing in outside food or liquor. If you have a one night and want to be close to the train, sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, I am really sad that we were not able to convince during your stay. There are some points that will be discussed to find ways of improvement. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

Good: Great value for money Perfect location (right next to Hamburg Hbf) Very clean Friendly staff Modern design Only people with room keys could get into the hostel Got a nice bar and common area Breakfast was quite good although it wasn't free (2 kind of ham, cereal, bread, juice) Power socket and USB port for each bed Bad: SHOWER was terrible - water went from hot to cold all the time. (and it's winter!)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review. I hope we can welcome you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

Very clean facilities, enjoyable stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the nice not after your recent stay. Whenever you return to Hamburg, I would be delighted if you chose Generator again. In the meanwhile I wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

69%

Good location and security but unfriendly staffs


86%

The sinks are to small to wash your face because of the board over the sink. Good and comfortable bes and awesome breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the nice feedback. I am really happy that we left in total a good impression. The bathrooms cannot be changed that easy, but in our new Hostels, we have not used the small units anymore. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

Pros: - Excellent location - Spacious and comfortable room - Free locker room service! Cons: - Bathroom and toilet are too small. Would definitely recommend this to travellers on budget!


74%

We were in a 2 bed room that felt like there was no ventilation, so it got very stuffy during the night and it was difficult to sleep. A few extra shelves in the room would be helpful. The doors of all the rooms are super heavy - so when people shut them - it's very loud and the whole room is shaking. The staff was not very nice, not rude, but really doing the bare minimum, not very friendly. The overall impression is that it's a clean and safe place for a sleepover, but nothing more than that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I really regret that we were not able to leave a better impression. Still I am happy that you share this with us, so we can work on improving the the critical areas. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

It has been the best hostel I've been, rooms are clean, the shower is a little small but it's inside the room and super clean, I would definitely recommend it

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
WOW, 5 out of 5 in average. That is a great result. Thanks for giving us such a fantastic feedback. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

Thank you guys for a wondeful stay! I had a ball in Hamburg and will always remember the nice people at the bar and reception! All the best!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the nice review. It was a pleasure having you as guest in house. You will be always welcome to stay with us again in the future. Sven Hebelring Assistant GEneral Manager

69%

Very big and busy hostel. Clean rooms but let down by tiny camper van style shower room. Staff are apathetic bordering on rude. No real friendly atmosphere and burly bouncer on the door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. I really regret that the team and the security were leaving such an impression. I will make sure that this does not continue this way. At this stage I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

(200 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback