X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2558 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Generator Hostel was great. Great location; in middle of Hamburg close to Hauptbahnhof, tours of city available, lots to do in hostel common area and people to meet, quite in the rooms (when not talking to roommates). I'll stay here again if in Hamburg again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the nice review. We look forward to your next visit. All the best, Assistant General Manager

83%

Good location near train station. Very large hostel. Good cafe and bar. Good for large groups. Discouraged being in outside good. No kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the review and for the great scores in cleanliness and service. We will continue to do our best to achieve these good results also in the other areas. All the best for your travels, Assistant General Manager

100%

Everything was great. Maybe some AC in the hostel would be good. But they had computers, internet, free printing, wifi, great atmosphere, discounted food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, WOW max points is a great compliment. Thanks a lot for this fantastic review. Regards, Assistant General Manager

94%

I wanted not to like this big, trendy hostel. But I liked it. It was very clean, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and I had a lovely time talking with a bunch of the other guests in the bar. I guess if I were to dislike anything, it'd be the pod-style bathroom inside the room, but it really was fine, too. The neighborhood is terrible. That's one bad thing. But it was a short walk to a good neighborhood and the hostel had good security. So what can I say: don't hesitate to stay here

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the nice review and the recommendation. Whenever you are around, please visit us again. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

66%

Great location, but the staff could be a lot friendlier. The bathrooms are too small--even for Europe. Also, the hostel can do better with the card keys they are way too sensitive and work half the time. You have to go out of your way to meet people here. Dissapointing since Generator can do better than this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the detailed feedback. I regret that we did not meet your expectations, but it is good that you let us know about it, so that we get the chance to develop the points mentioned. Hope you will chose Generator also for your future stays. Regards, Assistant General Manager

74%

The hostel is ok. The beds were fine and everything was clean. My big issue was that the bathrooms are literally smaller than train/airplane stalls. They were so hard to use and everything got wet so easily, which was terrible for a room of 8 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. We are aware that our en suite bathrooms are smaller than average, but we have some more comfortable once in every corridor. Maybe you want to check them out on your next visit. You are very welcome at Generator at any time. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

Generator was great. The atmosphere was awesome - I loved how social it was and just a great place to hang out. The staff was all really friendly, the bed/room was comfortable, and I had no issues doing laundry. My only complaint is that the bathrooms inside the multi-bed dorms are tiiiinyyyyy. I preferred to use the larger common-use bathrooms that were accessible from the hall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the nice feedback. Good to see that you discovered the commong bathrooms and that you found them more comfortable. Whenever coming to Hamburg in the future, we will be happy to be your host again. Regards, Assistant General Manager

77%

it is a very busy hostel. With 24 hours reception. Unfortunately the service rendered there all depends on who was on Duty. Out of five different receptionist we encounter. Only one girl was good. Service with s smile. Two were average. One indifferent. One was so bad that when I asked for the rate of the coin operated lockers, She has the audacity to tell me to go there and check for myself !!! I need another token to dry she thought I was trying to get a freebie. Very insulting !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions from your recent visit with us. I really regret that the service was not as constant as you expect it to be and I fully understand your frustration about the mentioned conversation. We will def. follow up on the issue. In the meanwhile I hope you will not turnaway completely from Generator and give us another chance in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

69%

Small, cramped facilities. Soft beds (i prefer them a bit more firm). But a totally okay place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. The points you have rised are very important to us, because we are constantly working on improving our facilities and services. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Great location. Great price. People were friendly both staff and guests

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the fantastic review. It was a pleasure to be your host on your recent visit. Whenever traveling to Hamburg again, we will be there for you. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

the shower and toilet were incredibly small. otherwise no issues.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for sharing your impressions with us. It is true that our bathrooms are smaller than average, but have you also checked out the bigger bathrooms on the floors? Would be great, if we can welcome you soon again at Generator. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Clean and good facilities, staff were sometimes a little rude and disinterested but overall a good stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the review. I feel really sorry that the team did not leave a good impression. That will def. picked up internally to make sure that we all can wow you at any time. Hope you will visit us again in the future. You are always welcome. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Great and very laid back staff who even upgraded me to a smaller dorm my short stay (which again was due to my late arrival)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. Good to see that we were able to "wow" you on your recent visit. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

The bathrooms in the rooms are to small to actually. I've or clean yourself

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks a lot for your comment. We are currently working on an improvement of the cleaning. Would be nice if we could prove that to you on your next visit to Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

Great Location to see the city. Great atmosphere, very clean, a bit small, but overall great

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the nice feedback. Good to see that you liked it. Hope to see you next at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

A really nice, modern hostel - very friendly and easy to make friends with other travellers. Only thing is, if you're an inexperienced hosteller, never underestimate the value of a kitchen when booking hostels before your trip! This was the only hostel (out of 6) we stayed in that didn't have one and we didn't realise how useful it'd be before we left. However, we still managed to eat fairly inexpensively and everything else about the hostel was great! Great decor too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the nice review. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

69%

We stayed here for 2 nights in a private room. It's a good bed and that is all. The location is really good but it shows the worse of Hamburg. The room is small, the windows surpriselly blocks all the sound from outside witch is a bus station. The bathroom is really small and the shower was low for my husband that is 1,90m tall.WiFi is good. Staff not really helpfull. There is a bar in the main floor that it seems a point for the locals. In the second night there was a security guard by the door

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for giving us your feedback about your recent stay. I regret that there were so many points to criticise. We will pick them all up and will work on improvements, where possible. Hope you will now not turnaway completely from Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

Nice clean hostel! Easy to get to from the train station, and easy to reach popular tourist places.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to share your impressions with us. Whenever travelling next I hope Generator will be again your first choice. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

The central location at the Hbf makes it easy to go everywhere in the city. I had a single room and it was nice and comfortabel. Read a lot of people complaining about the size of the bathrooms. Ok, it's not big, but as it was sufficient for me, a person of 186 cm and well-built, it should be for most others, too ;-). There is a fun atmosphere in the hostel, especially in the evening at the bar. Makes it easy to meet people. I had a great time at Generator Hostel in Hamburg and can recommend it

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the nice words about us. Hope you will visit us again, on your next trip to Hamburg. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Had a great time here! They had so many things offered each night that gave the opportunity to meet people easier.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, WOW, a perfect review. Thank you so much for the amazing feedback. We will keep up and even try to get better. Hope to see you soon. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

(171 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback