X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2753 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great, clean hostel in a great location


89%

Lovely, big modern hostel. Each bed has its own power sockets and light. The bar/social area was really nice! Drinks and food were a good price for us! Right next to the train/bus station and most central attractions. Free walking tours everyday. Free wifi too! Only downsides to it were the showe and WC were tiny, and being the size that the hostel was meant there was no communal kitchen for ourselves to make our own food

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

Great location right in the town and next to the station. Staff very helpful and polite. The lift available was slightly small due to one not working, so guess this couldn't be helped. Rooms were great, beds extremely comfy, and the plug sockets connected to the end of the bed were a bonus. Would definitely recommend this hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the recommendation. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

It was Good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. Hope to see you next @ Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

66%

Ensuite bathrooms and toilets are so small. There are bigger shared ones at the common area but they are not that clean. Location is not so far from the main attractions. Lockers are great, you can even put your backpack in it. Other than the bathroom thing this is a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for writing your comments. The bathrooms are really a little smaller, but when we insert a hostel into this very historical building (even the Beatles have been here before!) we have to respect a lot of restrictions. Our aim was still to have the comfort of an en suite in all rooms and we decided to install the units you have seen. Hope it will not prevent you of staying with us in the future. You are really always welcome. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

This was an average large hostel, I only stayed one night so I can't really comment on the social atmosphere. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the location was extremely convenient! The wifi was good even in the rooms which were clean. The bathroom in my room could have been cleaner though. There was urine on the floor when I arrived and it was there until I left which means they either don't check/clean daily or they don't do a very good job..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize that the cleanliness was not as expected. We have now set up a systeme where you can contact the reception at any time and we will make sure the areas will be cleaned in time. Hope to see you again at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

A very excellent hostel in a great location - couldnt be better

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, many thanks for the great comment about your recent stay. Whenever you are around I would be delighted if you chose Generator again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

66%

Very poor customer servic. Rude staff. I arrived at 2pm to check in. I was told my room wasn't ready and they'd have no idea when it would be ready, and to put my bag in the luggage room and come back in a few hours. Upon check out, they told me I couldn't leave my luggage in the luggage room for 2 hours, as they don't let anyone use the room on Friday or Monday as big groups check in. My bag wouldn't fit in the €6 for 3 hours lockers. Told to use the train station lockers, no help was given.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for giving us your feeback about your recent visit. I regret that we did not find a suitable solution to store your luggage. I will def. follow up on the issue to prevent other guests are making the same experience. In the meanwhile I hope won't turn away completely from Generator. You are really very welcome in our hostels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Great hostel, friendly staff and a nice bar

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the nice feedback. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Was a great hostel all around except for one thing. The elevator was broken when I got there and I was staying on the 7th floor which was a bit annoying.


97%

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed at in some time. However, the staff was a bit short with me and seemed really busy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for sharing your impressions with us. I regret the experience you have made with our staff. We will look internally what can be made better. Would be great if you chose Generator also for future stays. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Great location, great staff, fun atmosphere. Had a great time staying here in hamburg, I would definitely stay again. Take advantage of the communal bathrooms in the hallway since the bathrooms in the room are next to impossible to wash/shower in properly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the great comment about your recent stay. Hope to see you next at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

37%

The staff was very unhelpful the entire time. It just seemed like they wanted to make money over everything. Breakfast/padlocks whatever. They dint know about anything mentioned on the map. And they would just reply with a straight no. The place wasn't cleaned the whole time I was there, and the bathrooms inside the rooms were like temporary bathrooms. The lock dint work. And when I told them, they said you could use the public one. Which was 1 among 100 people. And filthy. Never going back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I have to apologize for the picture you gained on your recent visit. I will pick up the points you have mentioned and will work with the team on improvements. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Location could not be better, on the opposite side of the road from the Haupbahnhof and Bus terminals, such a good vibe and awesome staff. Didn't eat the food here but if it's anything like the rest of their standards I'm sure it's great.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks a lot for the excellent review. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

very nice hostel. very close to the main station. nice bar and rooms

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the comment about your recent visit. We will work on the areas, where we have not been able to completely convince yet. Whenever travelling next Generator will be there for you. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

It's in a business area an far from the party places .. It's a big hostel almost looks like a hotel and extremely close to the train station but if you want to go out you need to take a taxi

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. I really regret that the team was not convincing. Also I wonder about the location score. We have the underground directly in front of the hostel and it takes only 7Minutes to Reeperbahn. Just check it out on your next trip to Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Great. Great atmosphere. ALOT OF PEOPLE I would recomand it if you want those stuff. Really big hostel, the bar is great and its a great place to check up with other travelers. Also theres no age limitation but the place is so big it doesnt metter at all. Highly recomanded!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, wow, that is a brilliant review and I would really like to thank you. It is very nice to see that we left such an impression. Come and see us again on your next trip to Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

I had a comfortable stay here. It was super clean and quiet in the rooms and the beds were comfy. Literally right next to the train/bus station. Very secure with big metal lockers under the bunks. However, no kitchen and no outside drinks allowed. Staff was less than enthused about their jobs. The nicest staff member was the security guard :) This is one of the those European hostels that is only interested in generating money (note the pun haha).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for the review. I regret that we left such a picture. Our aime to be more than a hostel, but not a hotel. We will work intensively on an improvement. Hope you will not turnaway from Generator and chose to stay with us again in the future. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Brilliant hostel, loved everything about it was a great place to chill out and great rooms. Everything was great, also had such a good time there, just the toilets inside the rooms were weird and really small and out of place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for your recent stay and the feedback. The toilets were mentioned very often, but we have larger bathrooms on every floor to share. Maybe you want to try them out on another trip to Hamburg. You would be very welcome. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Great place, nice and clean, and has a everything you need and is good value for money

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. Good to see that you had a good time in Hamburg. Whenever travelling next, I hope you will chose Generator again. All the best, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

(210 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback