X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2237 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Small ensuite in the dorm is unusable, appered to have more long term residents / conference people then travellers, no kitchen / hot water jug was a disappointment. Really close to the central station


97%

I had read reviews about how small the bathrooms were, I agree...they're are a tighter squeeze than an airplane bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your rating us that good. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. We would be delighted to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg -Front of House Manager

89%

Good location, right across from the main station. Very clean hostel, nice beds and rooms however showers/toilets very small almost like port-cabins within the rooms. No pool table was a disappointment however Foosball table was an acceptable substitute.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy to see that you had a good time and we are already working on a entertainment program for the evenings. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

Great location, wasn't concerned about safety/security like some other reviewers. Clean rooms, storage lockers underneath beds and plenty of wall hooks. Loved the plugs/lights at each bed. Bathrooms are rather like shower trailers installed in the rooms. Very small but I didn't have a problem with it. Would've been great if they supplied hand soap, at least at the sink in the toilet room.


83%

they have restaurant so they dont want you to bring food , there is no kitchen. great location, right opposite of hbf.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. It is true that we have no guest kitchen and we are sorry for that. We have different kind of menus in our bar and also in our cafe. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes -Front of House Manager

91%

literally right across from the main station. as a female travelling alone it was safe and central, just what I needed. The Sandermans free walking tour advertised in the lobby was a great way to meet people and they pick you up right from the hostel! would definitely stay again if I return to Hamburg

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the time with us, we hope to see you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

80%

everything is perfect except the bathroom is excessively tiny

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. It is true that our bathrooms are not that big and we are sorry for that. We thought it would be better to give every room a own bath, so that you don’t have to walk across the floor to get a shower. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

83%

we living in the room for four people,it is all fine and comfortable,but our room can hear noisy music in the night,not very quiet:(,our room number is 123.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you had problems during the night. Our reception is 24 hours open, if you have any problems the next time please let us know. We would be happy to help you. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

Good location literally down the road from Central station. Some nearby restaurants and bars. Good transport links from the airport and around the city. Security guard on the door 24/7, internal bar etc. 6 bed dorm for a weekend away on the beer :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear that you had a good time. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

74%

Have to agree with other reviews on this one. Reception was sometimes quite rude, also there were also some nice people there. Totally depended on the person. And the bathrooms were really the tiniest I ever saw. Had to open the bathroom door to reach the sink. Tip: There's a bigger bathroom in the hallway,though thats only 1 bathroom for around 20 rooms. For the rest everything was allright. Breakfast definitely wasnt worth the 5 euros though. Definitely better than Generator London and Berlin


94%

Great hostel facilities. Loved the bar area. The best security set-up I've ever seen, but with one MAJOR drawback. 10am is not a customer-friendly checkout time in any city. It seems that the traditional Midday checkout has crept back to 11am in many hostels, but Generator goes even further than that to 10am. In a city that's known for it's nightlife that's just crazy. It basically means you are being deprived of your right to stay in bed for 2 hours of what your stay should have.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are really happy that you enjoyed staying with us. 10 am is early that is true but we want our guests to be able to check in to the rooms as early as possible. For the people who like to sleep in we offer a late check out which changes the check out time from 10am to 1pm which you can try during your next visit. We hope to see you again, all the best from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

Overall was a pleasant stay apart from that they advertised double beds online and only had two twin beds pushed together.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment. It is good to see that you had a good stay. The procedure for the room allocation will be reviewed by us to maximise the comfort. I hope you will soon visit Generator again. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Very stylish and modern hostel, it was clean and had good security. The staff were helpful and the bar/common area was cool.


83%

I stayed here one night because I wanted a good connection to the airport and train station. It's fine, but better for groups. No kitchen, 10 am checkout, and the tables are low and awkward to use a laptop on. There are hostels with more character in Hamburg, and St. Pauli is a better neighbourhood for bars/food/street life, but this is closer to the Reichstag & old town. Neighbourhood is a bit rough, probably why there's a doorman. Badshah is a good, cheap Indian restaurant around the corner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I have read your comments about the area. Unfortunately not a lot we can do about it, but we try to give you a good feeling inside the hostel, what is why we have our security on board. The mentioned tables are a good hint. We will change them to maximise the comfort! Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

Hostel was huge and commercial. Clean, each room has a washroom and separate shower. Each floor has individual male and female shower/washroom as well. Bar in hostel was cool, happy hour drinks 2,50! A little bit more difficult to meet new people as the hostel is so big. 2 min walk to bus station and main train station Hbf, 40 min walk to Red Light District, 15 min walk to town hall area. Good wifi, interesting hostel design, nice patio out back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for sharing your impression. We are happy that you liked our design and our happy our in the bar. We hope to see you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Area around the hostel is a bit sketchy, but the security is great and otherwise the location is extremely convenient. We stayed in an 8 person room and it was very large with lots of storage under the beds. The shower in the room was very small, but there are bigger ones down the hall that aren't quite such an... experience. If a return trip to Hamburg is in my future I'd stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad that your stay was to your satisfaction. Looking forward to welcome you soon again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

Pros : Super close to the central train station and the metros, value for money, clean & tidy,excellent wifi connection ! , the usb plug points by the bed side, cool bar and a nice cafe inside. Cons: 2pm check in (not a big -ve, but after a 12 hrs flight, waiting for another 2 hrs can be quite difficult), no kitchen ! Overall a great stay.. Would recommend it !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I am very happy that you would recommend Generator. Hope to see you soon again. All the best for your travels, Sven Hebering Assistant General Manager

97%

common areas great, staff at reception professional, but dorm small and toilet/shower in the dorm REALLY TOO SMALL!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for yoru review. I am very happy about the amount of points. Unfortunatlely I am unable to change the shape of the rooms or the bathrooms. We are in a very historical building and there are a lot of restrictions in terms of installations. Hope it will not prevent you of coming back soon. Yours, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

Perfect location, clean and nice. Very helpfull staff. Would stay again!


89%

Big hostel, decent atmosphere, bar attached where you can have a few beers and socialize, rooms are good but the shower/bathrooms ensuites are a joke, I'd just wait and use the one normal shower per floor, I had a good time here


(146 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback