X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2147 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hostel. It's right near the train station, pretty close to everything. It is clean, has a good atmosphere, and also has a strict quiet policy in the rooms themselves, so you can sleep early if you want to or stay out late and come back in and go to sleep. The bathroom was a bit small- about the size of an airplane bathroom, but for a couple nights it is not bad.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for your comment. It is really nice to see that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

We absolutely loved the bar staff, including Pia. She was the most welcoming and friendly person we encountered in the hostel. Most of the front desk staff weren't very welcoming, however. On multiple instances I stood waiting to be acknowledged and they wouldn't even look at me- even though there was no one around. I hated to have to say "excuse me!" just to get them to look at me. Other than that we absolutely loved the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, It is pretty good to hear that you liked your stay with us, especially the bar stuff.About the reception we can only apologize and say that it is usually not our standard and we will work on that. Thank you for your feedback. Best regards Luisa Heist Shiftleader

80%

Nice place although not a classic hostel. More tailored to drinking and cafe/pub style food. Nowhere to cook yourself if on a real budget. Still super close to Hamburg Hbf and nice and clean. Seperate toilet and shower in the dorm which are so small it is necessary to inhale deeply if you need to turn around. Could be heaps worse! I'd still recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hallo, thank you for you comment. It is true that our bathrooms are not as big, but each room has its own one and additionally there are two public bathrooms on each floor that are bigger. We hope to see you during you next stay in Hamburg you are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

97%

Rarely do I give such a high rating but Generator Hamburg definitely deserves it. Centrally located, easy to find and close access to all public transport. Very high security and spacious, clean bedrooms. Laundry, bathroom, restaurant and bar facilities all very good, although 'ensuite' and toilets in rooms are the size of a cubicle. Very popular hostel so expect a lot of people, including large student groups. Good lounge area for people who want to retreat or bar for socialising

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback on hostelworld. We are really happy that you had a good stay with us. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

77%

Nice hostel in good locatin beside the main train station so very handy. I stayed in the 6 bed dorm which was kept extremely clean as were the bathrooms and showers. As other comments have mentioned the showers were extremely small, but were fine. Also there is a nice little bar in the hostel which was a good area to meet people. One negative I would say is that there were no activites organised for guests to interact with each other which many hostels do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. We are already working on an event program to entertain our guests, which you can experience during your next visit. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

91%

Great lobby and helpful front desk employees. The location is great-right next to the main train station. The bathrooms are VERY small and the lockers in our room were broken. Otherwise good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the review. I regret that your lockers were broken. I have already informed engineering to check that. I hope you will visit Generator soon again. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

71%

my room mate is bad ;;;;;;;;;; So i can sleep and uncomfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had problems during you stay in a dorm, the reception is 24 hours open. If you have any problems during your next stay please let us know we would be happy to help you. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

100%

It's a very busy hostel, but great. Met a lot of awesome people here. The staff were fantastic and I would defiantly stay there again if I'm back in Hamburg


100%

Stayed with 8 people and everyone thought it was fantastic! Thanks

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the great review. I am very happy that you had a good time in Generator Hamburg. When travelling next, just think of us again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Very handy location near the Hbf and very modern. Not a fan of the en suite in the room I was staying in, it was so cramped and awkward I used the bathroom outside the room instead.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback on Hostelworld.com. We are happy that you had a good time. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

91%

Excellent facilities. Had to put up with 5 drunk roommates arriving at 3am due to the no-curfew policy, but I guess you take the good with the bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad experience in a dorm. During the night we have Security in the house, next time just let us know and we will try to help you. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

91%

Nice place. More like a hotel than hostel feel. But the generator hostel chains have all been good. No complaints apart from the super small bathrooms but they do the job.


86%

Nicely designed modern building, comfortable beds with power outlet and even USB power outlets at each bed. Clean and quiet at night. Great location at the main station while not too loud on the street. Absolutely tiny bathroom and shower in my 6-bed dorm. Reasonable continental breakfast for 5 euro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked the Generator Hostel Hamburg and I am especcially happy that the team was able to impress you. Whenever travelling next, I hope we will be able to be your host again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Great location. Storage drawers under the bed rather than lockers make the rooms very spacious. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank your for sharing your impressions with us. I am glad that you found the underbed lockers good and that you recommend us. Whenever travelling next, you are more than welcome at Generator. Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

91%

Overall we enjoyed our stay, and thank you for everything. We found the bathrooms in the room quite small and hard to use. We were glad for the extra bathrooms on the floor but they weren't always free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank your for your feedback. We are really happy that you had a good time with us. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Near to bus station =)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

The communal area is large, friendly and you have access to free computers... I asked a member of staff where was good and 20minutes later she'd circled a load of interesting spots on a map and how I can get to each... 48 hours packed full of highlights. A few complaints about the size of the bathrooms on here... they are small, real small, but how much space do you need in there?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for the great review. I am glad that you liked Generator. I hope you will chose to stay with us in the future. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Good hostel. But dont have kitchen. You cannot make your breakfast because the hostel dont offer any space for that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. Yes we do not have a kitchen. But to offer still a good service we have a reasonable priced breakfast with a good choise. Hope the missing kitchen will not prevent you of booking Generator in the future. You are always welcome. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

I was incredibly impressed with every area of this hostel. Your needs are catered for completely. The bed set up is perfect, frosted glass on 3 sides giving you some privacy, and above your head there's a panel with USB, charger and personal bed light facilities. The hostel is visually outstanding, the staff beyond helpful, the location perfect for getting around. And to top it all off the room was cheaper than I'd expected. This hostel is absolutely a look in. Bravo

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for feedback on Hostelworld. It is really nice to see that you had such a good time in the Generator Hamburg. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Very nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your feedback. We are really happy that you had a good time and that rated our staff with 5 from 5 points. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

(155 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback