X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2387 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Thr showers in the room waa extra small. I could not even move inside

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. Yes it is true that our bathrooms are not that big. We wanted every room to have their own bathroom. that nobody needs to go out in the morning to take a shower. Additionally to that we also have shared bathrooms on each floor with more space and a hairdryer. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

57%

First impressions mean a lot to me and when I arrived the check in lady was rude, snappy, miserable and unhelpful. We then made our way up to our room to find we had been placed on the top bunk of 2 beds with people already in them, as we are travelling as a couple it made life very difficult. The beds had dead skin and toe clippings all through them, we slept on our own towels they were that disgusting. Otherwise an ok place to stay, I wouldn't go back though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review. I really regret what happened to you. I will do def. a follow up on the incidents you have mentioned. As I am unable to turn back the clock, I would be delighted if you give us another chance. You 2 are always welcome at Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

I put security in average because the luggage store room is not watched by the reception. When I went there it was around 10am and a lot people checking in and out. In the entrance hall, really not in good order. Though the room is locked, it seems any one can access to it. The other parts are good. Really close to the Hbf, It's clean and comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We regret that you had the feeling that it is unsecure. In the moment we are working on a solution. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

The hostel stay near from Haupbanhof, excellent!!!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are delighted to hear that you had a good time. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Hostel is ridiculously near the central train station. It stands out and is so much easy to find. Lovely spot! Really convenient for travellers. 100% I will stay here again if I ever come back to Hamburg.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

97%

This hostel probably has the best bunk beds. They have plugs and even USB ports attached at the end of the beds so you can be within distance of your phone without having to get out and finding a plug. Pia and Jane were really cool people to talk to and the other staff were friendly. The location is great, especially for people getting off at the main station as the hostel is literally across the street. I would definitely come back to this hostel when I am back in Hamburg.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had a good time with us. We would be delighted to welcome you again in generator hamburg. Best wishes Martin Major

77%

Was an average hostel. Run like a hotel and so you don't really get that hostel feel. Staff always seem very moody. Nice lounge area to relax. Every single person that comes here always goes the wrong way to the bedrooms first, up the stairs. Get a sign!! Also brought late checkout only to be woken up by staff to checkout. They didn't know I had purchased late checkout. Defeats the purpose a little. Beds were super comfortable, everything was super clean. Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. With regret I had to learn about your experience. I apologize for the disturbance in the morning. We are working on an improvement. Also the “moody staff” is something we will check up to indentify what was going wrong. As we are not able to turn back the time, we would be delighted if you would give us a second change. Best wishes Martin major Front of House Manager

80%

Fine hostel in general but I found a couple of small details annoying: If you don't have your own towel you cannot rent one but have to buy a whole towel, which not something a backpacker with little luggage space is happy to do. Under the dorm beds there were some kinds of lockers but you needed to have your own lock to be able to close them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. It is true that you can buy those item here with us and we are sorry that you did not get the information before. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

71%

My friend´s wallet was stolled in the common area of the hostel, while we were playing foosball. The location of the hostel is really good, but anyone can get inside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for your loss. We have a security guard staying at the front door and checking for key cards, so not everybody can get inside. We would be glad to get some more details about the whole situation. Since we are not able to turn back the time, we would be delighted to welcome you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

Problems with keycard - it didn't work properly, staff had to re-code it several times. Bathroom IS tiny, but if you are of regular height and weight it's ok. It's a hostel, not a spa ;) Great cocktails!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy that you tried our cocktails in the bar. We would be delighted to welcome you again in Generator Hamburg. Best wishes Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

Generator is perfectly located! Just across the street from the bus station and the train station and where all tube lines pass. The atmosphere is really nice and it's really clean. Breakfast is not included but you can pay €4,90 for their buffet (coffee/juice/bread/cheese/cereal...). The only negative thing is the really (r e a l l y) small bathroom. Also, the staff is not that welcoming. I would definetely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your value feedback. We are sorry that you had the impression that the staff is not welcoming. We will defiantly investigate further in that case. Thank you again for letting us know. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Just next to the train and bus station! It was super easy to find it. There is a security person always at the entrance, there is a bar with food and drinks all the time and great environment! The beds were nice and you actually feel with privacy due to the type of beds. Internet was great everywhere, and they even have computers for everyone to use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are happy that you explored our hostel and enjoyed your stay. We would be even more happy to welcome you again in Generator Hamburg. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

100%

Great place to stay in Hamburg. It's clean, easy to find (right next to train and bus station), and great services.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

49%

If you are looking for a pleasant stay at Hamburg and like to get to know new people and make new friends, this is not the right place. The hostel is huge and more like a hotel with dorms. The staffs are not so friendly and you can't expect more on such a big hostel. The location is really close to the train station which is really good but no afforable bars or clubs around.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We really regret to read that your stay wasn’t how you expected. We are not able to turn back the time, but we would be delighted if you would give us a second chance, you are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

74%

This was a fine hostel to stay in, although definitely nothing special - but it worked out well for just one night in Hamburg. One thing that would have been nice though would be soap and hand towels in the dorm bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the feedback. It is always good to get an impression about your stay. We use the comments to constantly improve our services. I would be delighted if we get the chance to welcome you again in the future. All the best for your travels Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Everything is perfect - just some party goers crush my peaceful night. I stayed in dom and the first 2 nights were good. I met a few cool guests there. My last night of stay was 30 Dec, at that night a few party goers checked in the dom. They smoked weed and mess the whole room with snacks and alcohol. They came back from party at 5am, opened all the lights, chatted and laughed loudly, and even play games like it was 5pm.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are sorry for the problems you had during the night. Our reception is 24 hours open and always willing to help. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

They overbooked our room but solved the problem by moving us to a private room!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the feedback. Good to see that we were able to solve the problem to your satisfaction. Would be great to see you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

The hostel is very very near the train station, which can be quite uncomfortable at night, but there's a bodyguard/bouncer in the hotel, which makes it all the more safer. The staff were very hospitable and the hostel vibe/atmosphere is definitely there. The rooms were very spacious and clean, but the toilets were incredibly small. It was very hard to take a bath and brush my teeth, but the hostel was great nonetheless! I was able to meet some new friends as well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thanks for sharing your impressions. It is nice that we were able to convince you of Generator Hamburg. Hope to see you soon again here in the north of Germany. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

The hostel locates right beside Hamburg Hbf. The staffs are nice and the facilities are good. There is also bar downstairs. but it would be better if there is a kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for sharing your impressions with us and even tell us, what we could improve. We are using the comments to constantly improve our service and the facilities. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

I like how they have bathroom also outside the room because the one within the room is just too small to use. Bunk bed is good with individual lights and outlet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the review. I am glad that we were able to convince you of Generator. Would be great to see you again in the heart of Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

(141 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback