X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3184 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The Generator hostel is in a central location walking distance from the main square and across the road from the bus and train station. The hostel has free walking tours and a bar, so it's very easy to meet people. The rooms and showers are small- but very clean and comfortable :) would definitely recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for the nice review and the recommendation. I would be delighted if we can welcome you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

The location couldn't be better, and I loved having so much space in the lounge & lobby to hang out with people. The common areas of the hostel were great, but the bedrooms were not. They were small and cramped, and it seemed like they were only cleaned every couple days. The worst part, though, was the bathrooms. The toilet and shower were in tiny, separate rooms no bigger than an airplane bathroom. It was the most claustrophobic shower of my life.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for the review. Unfortunately we have to agree that the bathes are not very large. When we three years ago renovated this historic buildings, we had a lot of restrictions. Nevertheless, we wanted to offer the convenience of a bathroom in each room and have therefore decided to take the option you experienced. Also we have installed larger bathrooms on all corridors. It would be nice if you chose to stay at Generator again. Regards, Sven Heberling

100%

Fun bar downstairs. Nice clean rooms. Bathroom was like plane lavatory though. Other than that no complaints. Right next to train station too. Would stay again every time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the nice feedback. Good to see that we were able to convince you of Generator. Hope to see you next Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

60%

Great location (5 steps from main train station, maybe 10-15 minute walk to the main square). It's a Generator, so don't expect too much as far as atmosphere, but staff was really friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review. Good to see that we meet your expectations. If you ever return to Hamburg, you and your friends will be welcome in our Hostel. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

Facilities very good value for money , front desk staff friendly & helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for the great review. If you return to Hamburg, come and visit us again. In the meanwhile I wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

69%

Modern design, felt like a hotel. Rooms well equipped, decent wifi, however the ensuite bathroom leaves a lot to be desired, very cramped WC and I've seen more pressure from a leaky tap than the shower (lava or ice). Seek out the shared bathrooms if you actually want to wash. Biggest complaint however was the staff, who in general were good, but the guy who checked us in couldn't have been grumpier if he tried. Think he said about three words (youngish, big curly hair. German? Avoid him!)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review. I regret that your check in did not leave a good impression and even gave reason to complain. If a guests like our hostel or not is one thing, but that the service is outstanding is a must for us. I will investigate, what happened. I would be delighted if you give us another chance in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Bring a towel. Bathrooms are poorly designed and cramped inside rooms but thank goodness for the larger ones down the hall. Rooms could use some more ventilation. Overall location is very central and generally clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

The staff weren't very welcoming but the facilities were very clean. Location kind of in the ghetto but super conveniently close to the main train station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for sharing your impressions with us. I regret that the team was not able to convince with their service. Something we will def. work on. I would b delighted if you chose Generator also in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

66%

Rooms were clean and both the in room and public bathrooms were clean and kept. "Kind of a sketchy area" is such an understatement. If there wasn't a group fight (usually including bottles) going on right out front there was intoxicated sketchy people harassing the people smoking out front of the hostel. The bouncers while entirely necessary are entirely unfriendly to guests. Everything except the beer served by wasted bartenders was horribly overpriced.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the feedback. I regret that we did not meet your expectations. All areas we have an influence on, will be reviewed to find ways of improvement. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

60%

An epic central location, but with a place that size and capacity its more quantity than quality.

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. Your comment and the scores are very valuable for us. We aim to give a cosy feel. We will look in ways to give the place more this kind of an outlook. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

60%

Very poor hostel, I have stayed in the Generator before and knew to expect more of a hotel feel but this place was deplorable. It was very overpriced in every way. I stayed in 6 person dorm and the toilet & shower were terrible. They were the size of a portapotty and you couldn't move in them. The advertised "movie night monday" was a complete failure and the projector was broken anyway. Staff had no idea and tried to pass the buck. We got 6Euro nachos from the bar and they were horrific, avoid!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the feedback. I have to apologize for the inconveniences you went through. There is a lot that needs improvement and you can be sure that I will take the necessary actions to prevent this of happening again in the future. As I am unable to turn back the clock I would be delighted if you give us another chance in the future. You and your friends are always welcome in our hostel. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

The girl who made my check in wasn't welcoming at all. Once in the room, I saw that one of the lockers was broken and some other were almost at the same state. The shower is extremely small, since the bathroom is prefabricated. But there are two normal, big showers for each floor in the corridor. The atmosphere is great and the other facilities are okay. The location is the best thing from this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the review. I feel sad when I read about the behaviour of our teammember during your check in. I will investigate what happens. Whenever you return to Hamburg I would be delighted if you give us another chance, to show you that we can perform different. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

71%

Toilets and showers in the rooms are so small. There are other in the halls that have more space. I never felt more uncomfortable in a mixed room, there were 5 ladies and myself. Somewhat they were uncomfortable for having me among them and that made me uncomfortable aswell. The bar offers good prices for beers and a average quality food. There are no kitchen so be aware.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your review. I regret that we were not able to fully convince you of Generator. The dorms get mixed as guests are coming. That can lead to the situation you have been in. We will still discuss internally to optimize that process. I would be delighted if you visit us again on a return visit. You are always welcome. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

54%

The staff was quite rude when we were checking in. The woman tried to make us pay an extra high amount for breakfast. The room was dirty but okay. Good privacy but we had some annoying room mates. It was very expensive compared yo what we got. I looked at hotels after we booked and realized that we could get at double room in a three star hotel including breakfast for a lower price Tham what we paied for two beds in a dormitory.

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank for the valuable feedback. I am sorry for the confusion with the breakfastprices. That will def. be investigated. I would be delighted if you chose to stay with us again in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Other than a pretty unfriendly welcoming staff, I liked this hostel and its atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. I feel really sad, when I read about your experience with our team. That will definitely be addressed. I hope it does not prevent you of coming again to our hostel. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

This hostel was just what I needed. Nice bed, chargers for each bed, lockers, and an optional breakfast. Got a good nights sleep after arriving late and made it in plenty of time for my early train due to the great location. If you are just staying the night, this is the place to be.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the nice feedback. It would be great if you stay again and than for longer, because we have by far more to offer than only a good night sleep. You will be always welcome in our hostel. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Very clean, comfortable beds, good bar. Loved the live music on Thursday night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. I am very glad that you liked the hostel an its atmosphere. If you will be around again, come and visit Generator. You and your friends are always welcome. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Great location, clean rooms and despite very small bathroom and shower still a great hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for sharing your impressions with us. The Team and I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon again at Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Rooms are very small and toilets seems to be taken from an airplane.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. I am glad that you had a good time. Still I understand that you have not been happy with the facilities. They are indeed smaller, but unfortunately there is not a lot we can do about it. Have you discovered the larger bathes on the floors? They are more comfortable. I would be delighted if you chose Generator also for your next visit of Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

Mega hostel with hotel feel. So therefore, they want you to buy everything there, food, drinks, etc. You can't bring outside food or drinks, and even if you did, there was no where to put it. Otherwise, everything was sufficient. Bathrooms are small, but there is a larger bathroom on each floor for anyone that is claustrophobic. Location across the street from bus/train station. Staff was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. I am glad that you left satisfied. If you ever return to Hamburg, we would be delighted to be your host again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

(195 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback