X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2372 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

i lost an item in generator but i got no repnse from the stuff in the hostel, the stuff was unfriendly and impatient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment. I really regret this leak of service and I have to apologice for it. You are more than welcome to contact me personally to clearify the if we have found your lost item. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

This is a great hostel! It is very well located, close to the Hamburg Hauptbahnhof, it was really cheap and the facilities are amazing, the bar is good and the bedrooms perfect. If you're going to Hamburg, that's definitely the best place for you to stay! For the hostel, I' like to recommend one thing, the staffs do a good work, but they could be trained to be more sympathetic. It's really good when you arrive in a hostel and you are received with a big smile, and that didn't occur to me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review and the nice comments about the facilities. I regret that the team was not able to fully convince you. I would be delighted if you still chose Generator for your next traves. You are always welcome. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

Great hostel, very central, very modern, very clean.


86%

Bathroom in 8-person dorm was way tiny. Wifi worked great. They had a security guard in the lobby. Only wish the luggage room was more secure, but nothing of mine went missing regardless.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. The bathrooms were mentioned often. Unfortunately due to the historical backround of the building, there are only limited possibilities to have bathrooms in every room, like we have. I hope it will not prevent you of coming again in the future. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

The location of the hostel is fantastic! It's right outside of the central station which makes it a convenient base to set out to visit other attractions in the city and vicinity. The facilities are great and there are numerous hangout spots and evening events! The staff at the reception was prompt and efficient! Room was clean when we first checked in but it was not cleaned daily but it didn't cause any major problems. The bathroom size is manageable. Would recommend the hostel for convenience.


89%

it's a nice place very close to the train station. i would stay again simply because it was amazingly convenient.


74%

We stayed for only one night and really enjoyed our stay. Clean and in a great location, the hostel felt very secure.


86%

Thank you, I enjoyed my stay. Staff are friendly. Hostel is clean and relatively quiet. :) But the toilets are extremely small. Showers are inside the room which is not the best thing because the room can get too humid sometimes. Anyway I used the one in the corridor which is bigger and more convenient .


86%

The hostel is right off of the bus/train stop which is awesome but when we got off the bus there was a bar fight across the street, two police were walking towards the hostel, and there was a security guard in the hostel: not a good neighborhood despite the convenience. There were practically only old people here. Maybe two 20 year olds in the whole place. Despite that, it's the cheapest one in the area and right off the bus stop.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you liked our hostel. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

71%

A guy took my bed and he was not willing to change back to his bed. The staff is then ask me to change to another bed. However, I do not think I should be the one to change the bed. Also, the bathroom is EXTREMELY small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had to change your bed, unfortunately we thought it might be easier for you to just take a new bed, instead of waiting till your bed has been made again. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

100%

stayed for one night only but i feel its a great place in general and the price is great!


94%

This hostel, whilst central, was very close to less than desirable elements only down the road. The rooms themselves are extremely well set up as is the eating area and the common room area. I would definitely stay here again or any generator hostel and will be strongly recommending this chain to friends and family.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, wow, that is a fantastic review. Thank you. You and your friends are always welcome at Generator. Yours, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

The facilities are good, bed is clean and comfortable. But the bathroom in the room is sooooooo small that I can hardly turn around or bend myself. Someone kept opening the window although it is December so it was very cold during the evening. But the location is great and the wifi works steadily.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the comment. I regret the experience with the bathrooms. Unfortunately there is not a lot I could do about it. I hope you will not turn away from Generator. We can offer much more. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Great location for train and bus stations. Walking distance to places also. Good security and cool building with a lot of places to hang out with friends. Can use computers for free and lockers for free. Rooms were fine with really good beds. Felt very secure. Wifi was good. Most staff were very helpful. An Australian girl had a bit of attitude or at least just seemed to be more helpful to male guests.


51%

Small ensuite in the dorm is unusable, appered to have more long term residents / conference people then travellers, no kitchen / hot water jug was a disappointment. Really close to the central station


97%

I had read reviews about how small the bathrooms were, I agree...they're are a tighter squeeze than an airplane bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your rating us that good. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. We would be delighted to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg -Front of House Manager

89%

Good location, right across from the main station. Very clean hostel, nice beds and rooms however showers/toilets very small almost like port-cabins within the rooms. No pool table was a disappointment however Foosball table was an acceptable substitute.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy to see that you had a good time and we are already working on a entertainment program for the evenings. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

Great location, wasn't concerned about safety/security like some other reviewers. Clean rooms, storage lockers underneath beds and plenty of wall hooks. Loved the plugs/lights at each bed. Bathrooms are rather like shower trailers installed in the rooms. Very small but I didn't have a problem with it. Would've been great if they supplied hand soap, at least at the sink in the toilet room.


83%

they have restaurant so they dont want you to bring food , there is no kitchen. great location, right opposite of hbf.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. It is true that we have no guest kitchen and we are sorry for that. We have different kind of menus in our bar and also in our cafe. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes -Front of House Manager

91%

literally right across from the main station. as a female travelling alone it was safe and central, just what I needed. The Sandermans free walking tour advertised in the lobby was a great way to meet people and they pick you up right from the hostel! would definitely stay again if I return to Hamburg

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the time with us, we hope to see you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

(142 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback