X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3186 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Rooms are very small and toilets seems to be taken from an airplane.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. I am glad that you had a good time. Still I understand that you have not been happy with the facilities. They are indeed smaller, but unfortunately there is not a lot we can do about it. Have you discovered the larger bathes on the floors? They are more comfortable. I would be delighted if you chose Generator also for your next visit of Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

Mega hostel with hotel feel. So therefore, they want you to buy everything there, food, drinks, etc. You can't bring outside food or drinks, and even if you did, there was no where to put it. Otherwise, everything was sufficient. Bathrooms are small, but there is a larger bathroom on each floor for anyone that is claustrophobic. Location across the street from bus/train station. Staff was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. I am glad that you left satisfied. If you ever return to Hamburg, we would be delighted to be your host again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

I loved my stay here. Met some amazing friends, and the atmosphere was great at the bar almost every night. The rooms were clean and secure, Hamburg was an awesome city, and the location of this hostel is great. Definitely worth staying here.


80%

Nice and clean places with some minor issues. Locks on the bathroom was broken and some of the boxes in the room couldnt be locked. But i see these things as wear and tear and i guess that the will be fixed soon. Otherwise the place was fresh and good looking. But i couldnt shake that there were something missing to the whole atmosphere. Overall i had a good time at the generator

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, good to see that you had a good time at Generator Hostel Hamburg. We will be there for you, if you return to our fascinating City. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Great hostel. centrally located in one of the best cities I've been to. Iman and Tom were awesome for helping me out and pointing me in the right direction. Will definitely be back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the review and the nice comment about our TeamMembers. This will definitely be passed on. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

Not the nicest area, especially at night. But very convenient as its right next to the main station. Too few staff available at reception at times. Otherwise great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for giving us your feedback after your recent visit. I agree that the area around stations can be irritating. That is why we have our own security in house. I would be very happy if you visit us again on another trip to Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

69%

Generator Hostel is not a hostel in the traditional sense - it is not designed for budget travelers; it is designed to milk you for every penny you have. There are 4 floors of rooms, with 30 rooms on a floor - it's packed and full of partiers. It is clean, secure, and well-maintained, but lacks basic elements that allow you to travel on a budget (affordable laundry, towels for hire, kitchen, etc.). The bar food is poor quality & expensive. Staff are nice, but that doesn't make it a good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the constructive feedback. I regret that we were not able to convince you completely of Generator Hostel, even though I am very glad that the team left a good impression. We will work on the issues you are mentioning. I would be delighted if you chose to stay with us again, so that we can present improvements. Kind Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

This is the second time I've stayed at Generator Hostel and I would certainly stay again. Although it definitely isn't the cleanest hostel, the atmosphere is great. Love how the beds have their own outlets, usb ports and lights! But the bathrooms in the room are TINY and not always cleaned everyday. It is located between the main station and bus station (literally across the street from both) making it an easy walk! The area at night can be shady though! Usually they have security which is nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for giving us your feedback about your recent stay. Whenever you return to Hamburg, I would be delighted if you chose to stay with us again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

I stayed only one night at the hostel, but the atmosphere is great. The bar/restaurante is Nice, and the location is perfect when you arrive by train, It's really close to the central station. The staff is Kind and helpfull. The thing I did not like was the batherooms - I was in a small romm for 6 girls, and the shower was pretty small, and It was hard to take a shower (and I am a tiny woman). But in general, the hostel as great. I would recommend to a friend.

  • 29th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for your review and the comment. I am glad that you would recommend us to your friends, because that is the best compliment. I would be happy if we can welcome you and your friends soon again at Generator Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

I've been a fan of Generator Hostels for a while now. Their brand is consistent and a great hostel experience for first timers, or people that have stayed in many hostels. Thank god for the security of the building though, because with being right next to the train station, the area can seem a bit intimidating. If you aren't willing to go out into the night life, staying in and getting a 3.5L beer tower is a great alternative. There is plenty of space and nightly events to enjoy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the excellent review. We will be there for you whenever you return to Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

The best location, Generator has bathrooms inside the rooms. They're very small, but absolutely clean. Staff is great, internet is easy and the cafe is delicious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, many thanks for the review and the nice comments. I would be delighted if you chose Generator also for future visits. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

63%

Young teenage school groups where staying here when I was...low atmosphere...bad pretty out if the way


100%

right in the centre of town. it had a great bar and great atmosphere. the wifi was fast and the rooms were nice with power points on ever bed. it was nice and cheap. would recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the nice feedback and the recommendation. I am really happy that you left satisfied. Generator will always be there for you if you return to Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

51%

This hostel 'checked' my credit card after I had fully paid for my booking. Approximately 54 euro was locked from my travel card, with no previous warning or consent on my part. Given that this was 2 days budget, this was quite the inconvenience for me. Also, their bathrooms were extremely small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the feedback. I regret that there have been inconveniences. I will follow up the issue to prevent other travellers of making the same experience. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

Perfect location, perfect hostel.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks a lot for the "perfect" review. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Very Nice but I did not really like the "Party" vibes the hostel had in the lobby. It felt like I was sleeping over a bar.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. We have made a note for any possible future stays to give you a room on a top floor, so you will not be disturbed by any noise. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

66%

I was outraged that I had to pay €6.50 for a towel, when I was already paying over 30€ for my stay. The hostel was nice, but there was no kitchen according to the staff, and the atmosphere was not great as there were so many guests. I got put into a 4 person dorm when I requested an 8. Some people would be glad about that, but I like to meet people in my room so I was bummed about that. Would stay here again if I was with someone, but would not recommend for solo travelers.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I really regret that we did not meet you expectations. We have noted now your preference and it should be fine if you book again, that you won't be upgraded again. I can fully understand your aim to meet other people, because that is what a hostel is for. Until your next visit I wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

63%

My stay at the generator hostel in Hamburg got off to a bad start straight away. Months ago when making the booking I had made a request for a bottom bunk in a 6 bed dorm. I had this request confirmed by email. On arrival however I was informed by a rather haughty male receptionist that there were no 6 bed dorms left and that if I wanted a bottom bunk it would have to be in an 8 bed dorm. As I have a back problem I had no other option but to accept. No explanation was offered to me.

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. I really regret that your stay turned out to be not to you convenience and I have to apologize for not delivering, what you asked for and what has been confirmed. You can be assured that I will follow up the issue you have stated. Now I can only hope that you will not turn away from Generator completely and give us another chance. You are really always welcome in our properties. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Location and facilities are spot on! However they do not provide a kitchen and neither a fridge to store food so this is a negative point that leaves the place more like a hotel than a hostel. Staff is also not very friendly. But overall had a good experience as all facilities offered are in great and working condition.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. I regret learning about the issue with the staff. We are taking initiatives to lift the mood and the guest service provided by the team. I would be delighted if we can welcome you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Felt more like a hotel then it did a hostel. We were not there long enough to really explore the city around us but we saw lots of places to eat not far away. Bar downstairs seemed to be quite busy. Nice and clean. Staff seemed a bit tired and always serving people but were helpful.


(192 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback