X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2268 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This is a Generator hostel done right (unlike the Copenhagen one). Wifi was great, laundry a reasonable price, staff were super friendly and very helpful, the bar always had a good atmosphere, there were separate showers and toilets outside the main room, and the hostel in general was worth the money. Had a fantastic time here, and will definitely stay here when back in Hamburg! Would be nice if there was a reasonabley priced breakfast though..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment. It is great to see that we were able to convince you of Generator. It would be nice to see you soon again in Hamburg. All the best for your travels. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

Maybe just work on your directions from the train station. It's right next door to it but most people I stopped to ask, didn't know where it was

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for providing us with constructive feedback. We are sorry that you had problems to find us. We would be happy to welcome you again in Generator Hamburg. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

97%

The hostel is great! I think is the best i've been so far. The reception and bar have a great atmosphere. Rooms are clean and a detail is that you don't have to pay for bed linen, make the bed or take the sheets with you when you check out. The only thing is that the bathroom and shower are super small, but they are inside the room, which is nice. Overall i'd defenitely recommend this hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are glad that you had a good time with us. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

The toilet and the shower were very small.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. It is true that our bathrooms are a little small but we wanted that every room has it’s own bathrooms so that our guests don’t need to go on the hallway to use them. We would be happy to welcome you again in Generator Hamburg. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hostel. It's right near the train station, pretty close to everything. It is clean, has a good atmosphere, and also has a strict quiet policy in the rooms themselves, so you can sleep early if you want to or stay out late and come back in and go to sleep. The bathroom was a bit small- about the size of an airplane bathroom, but for a couple nights it is not bad.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for your comment. It is really nice to see that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

We absolutely loved the bar staff, including Pia. She was the most welcoming and friendly person we encountered in the hostel. Most of the front desk staff weren't very welcoming, however. On multiple instances I stood waiting to be acknowledged and they wouldn't even look at me- even though there was no one around. I hated to have to say "excuse me!" just to get them to look at me. Other than that we absolutely loved the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, It is pretty good to hear that you liked your stay with us, especially the bar stuff.About the reception we can only apologize and say that it is usually not our standard and we will work on that. Thank you for your feedback. Best regards Luisa Heist Shiftleader

80%

Nice place although not a classic hostel. More tailored to drinking and cafe/pub style food. Nowhere to cook yourself if on a real budget. Still super close to Hamburg Hbf and nice and clean. Seperate toilet and shower in the dorm which are so small it is necessary to inhale deeply if you need to turn around. Could be heaps worse! I'd still recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hallo, thank you for you comment. It is true that our bathrooms are not as big, but each room has its own one and additionally there are two public bathrooms on each floor that are bigger. We hope to see you during you next stay in Hamburg you are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

97%

Rarely do I give such a high rating but Generator Hamburg definitely deserves it. Centrally located, easy to find and close access to all public transport. Very high security and spacious, clean bedrooms. Laundry, bathroom, restaurant and bar facilities all very good, although 'ensuite' and toilets in rooms are the size of a cubicle. Very popular hostel so expect a lot of people, including large student groups. Good lounge area for people who want to retreat or bar for socialising

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback on hostelworld. We are really happy that you had a good stay with us. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

77%

Nice hostel in good locatin beside the main train station so very handy. I stayed in the 6 bed dorm which was kept extremely clean as were the bathrooms and showers. As other comments have mentioned the showers were extremely small, but were fine. Also there is a nice little bar in the hostel which was a good area to meet people. One negative I would say is that there were no activites organised for guests to interact with each other which many hostels do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. We are already working on an event program to entertain our guests, which you can experience during your next visit. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

91%

Great lobby and helpful front desk employees. The location is great-right next to the main train station. The bathrooms are VERY small and the lockers in our room were broken. Otherwise good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the review. I regret that your lockers were broken. I have already informed engineering to check that. I hope you will visit Generator soon again. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

71%

my room mate is bad ;;;;;;;;;; So i can sleep and uncomfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had problems during you stay in a dorm, the reception is 24 hours open. If you have any problems during your next stay please let us know we would be happy to help you. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

100%

It's a very busy hostel, but great. Met a lot of awesome people here. The staff were fantastic and I would defiantly stay there again if I'm back in Hamburg


100%

Stayed with 8 people and everyone thought it was fantastic! Thanks

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the great review. I am very happy that you had a good time in Generator Hamburg. When travelling next, just think of us again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Very handy location near the Hbf and very modern. Not a fan of the en suite in the room I was staying in, it was so cramped and awkward I used the bathroom outside the room instead.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback on Hostelworld.com. We are happy that you had a good time. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

91%

Excellent facilities. Had to put up with 5 drunk roommates arriving at 3am due to the no-curfew policy, but I guess you take the good with the bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad experience in a dorm. During the night we have Security in the house, next time just let us know and we will try to help you. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

91%

Nice place. More like a hotel than hostel feel. But the generator hostel chains have all been good. No complaints apart from the super small bathrooms but they do the job.


86%

Nicely designed modern building, comfortable beds with power outlet and even USB power outlets at each bed. Clean and quiet at night. Great location at the main station while not too loud on the street. Absolutely tiny bathroom and shower in my 6-bed dorm. Reasonable continental breakfast for 5 euro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked the Generator Hostel Hamburg and I am especcially happy that the team was able to impress you. Whenever travelling next, I hope we will be able to be your host again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Great location. Storage drawers under the bed rather than lockers make the rooms very spacious. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank your for sharing your impressions with us. I am glad that you found the underbed lockers good and that you recommend us. Whenever travelling next, you are more than welcome at Generator. Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

91%

Overall we enjoyed our stay, and thank you for everything. We found the bathrooms in the room quite small and hard to use. We were glad for the extra bathrooms on the floor but they weren't always free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank your for your feedback. We are really happy that you had a good time with us. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Near to bus station =)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

(142 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback