Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Grand Hostal Playa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.6
Grand Hostal Playa Located at Avenida 20 Entre Calles 4 y 6, , Playa del Carmen.
Grand Hostal Playa
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo 77710 Avenida 20 Entre Calles 4 y 6
75% 181
20.6263380 -87.0764780
Grand Hostal Playa
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jan 2017
4.9

Room was hardly a room,more of a corridor . Smallest 4 people room ever Great location but I refused to have a shower there, just too dirty Booked for 2 nights ended up staying 1 and wasted money, lockers too small for big backpack

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
5.7

Was clean & quiet but female dorm was was of the most cramped dorms I've ever seen! About 2 foot gap between every bunk bed. There was just about enough space to stand up your rucksack - thank god I was only staying for one night as unpacking would've been a nightmare ! Breakfast was quite poor - just bread with jam and butter. Hostel has potential that it hasn't tapped into.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
6.3

I have to say that the first one I wanted to leave the place since it was not clean at all and the had a annoying guest whom was staying at my dorm and the police had to come to take her, really uncomfortable. I was lucky to meet really nice people and I gave it a second chance since there were no spaces available elsewhere. The staff is very nice, the atmosphere is cool but they really need to work in the way they keep that place clean and in order, sometimes no hot water, wifi was weak, etc...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
3.1

Stinking hot rooms. Staff sub par. Bathrooms are grim with not toilet seats. Zero, ZERO breakfast, especially considering I paid $70 (dollar not peso) for 2 nights. Rubbish

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Dec 2016
6.9

They charge extra for holding bags for a few hours. I feel that was a basic necessity for backpackers. I stayed in 9 hostels in this trip and this is the only place that asked to pay for holding the bags

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
10.0

This place is calm and good. Not a party hostel. This is for travelers who want to enjoy the calmness of Playa unlike Cancun and this place perfectly fits the bill. The hammocks are a nice addition. The place is clean and the bathrooms are clean as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Dec 2016
7.4

If you're on a budget it's alright people are really friendly and there's free water. Breakfast is minimal. Good location. Ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Dec 2016
6.6

No atmosphere that helps travelers to meet. Quiet hostel but even for me too quiet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2016
8.6

We had a nice time at Grand Playa. Friendly staff and well located place. Far enough from the noisy party spots and close enough for authentic food, crowded shopping zones and the beaches. Also the bus station is just a five minute walk away. The hostel has a pool as well as a green patio. The shared bath rooms are clean and the kitchen is well equiped. A good choise for Playa.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.4

Great staff, great atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.