Hostelworld.com

Grand Hostal Playa

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
Grand Hostal Playa Located at Avenida 20 Entre Calles 4 y 6, , Playa del Carmen.
Grand Hostal Playa
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo 77710 Avenida 20 Entre Calles 4 y 6
80% 148
20.6263380 -87.0764780
Grand Hostal Playa
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.7

Really good location wise, very clean and spacious!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
8.0

Great location, far enough from the main strip you don't get the noise at night, but close enough you can walk to the beach or clubs. The beds are uncomfortable and the room is tiny with little space. Lockers seem secure and are large.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.7

Nice small family-owned hostel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They agreed to change the dates of our stay without paying more and they also agreed to let us park the car on the property for 2 days while we went to cozumel. Rooms are a bit small but clean and AC was working. Showers are OK. Location was very good. Everything u need in walking distance and close to 5th avenue. All in all good hostel for the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
4.0

Bad place. The atmosphere is probably the worse that I've ever experienced. If you want to meet people, have fun and be well treated, don't go to this place!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2016
10.0

Everything was excellent! Hostel has a great atmosphere, staff is really friendly and welcoming, the location is great, common areas are really nice, we ended up staying an extra night because we really loved being there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
26th Feb 2016
6.0

After reading reviews on this hostel, I had expected more! Beds were some of the worst I've slept on - springs poking through and mould growing on them. Sheets on bed were old and had holes. Dorm room was so small and had a damp smell to it. Kitchen was great - big and open, except only one burner or four worked on the stove. Great place to meet travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2016
8.9

Good value for money, relaxed and with good atmosphere. The only problems that I have found is that the showers have low pressure and once of the reading light doesn't works.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
6th Feb 2016
7.4

2 of 3 female showers were broken and no pressure on te 3rd one.. Men showers worked fine. Beds nice, good wifi, rooms bit tight when full, good location. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jan 2016
10.0

Had such a divine time! As a solo female traveller the lovely lady at the front desk upgraded me from the mixed dorm to the female only one. A bit cramped but exceptionally clean and relaxing. Staff were lovely and I felt very comfortable talking to them. The area is also fantastic with a few wonderful restaurants nearby a bit cheaper than fifth avenue which is good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2016
4.9

The 16 bed dorm was so small most people were forced to sleep with their luggage as there was nowhere to store it, there were no windows to let in any natural light or ventilation which made it very stuffy. Bathrooms were filthy and rarely stocked with paper- when I let the receptionist know she handed me one roll for the entire bathroom. A bin someone had vomited in was left next to the toilet for a whole day before being emptied. Music played in reception until midnight. Very poor experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.