Hostelworld.com

Guest House Pongyi

Prices
map
reviews
9.7
Superb 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.7
Superb 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.4
Guest House Pongyi Located at 2-22, Rokumai-machi, Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Kanazawa.
Guest House Pongyi
Japan
Kanazawa 920-0868 2-22, Rokumai-machi, Kanazawa, Ishikawa
97% 387
36.5734142 136.6473993
Guest House Pongyi
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
10.0

I absolutely loved this guesthouse. The staff is so welcoming and friendly. They will give you personal advice about things to visit and restaurants. There are plenty of interesting things to see in Kanazawa. The guesthouse used to be a kimonoshop and it still has this atmosphere of craftmanship. There were so many nice details in the interior. This is a place to socialize, to meet new people as a solo traveller. It felt like a home. Thank you Pongyi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th May 2016
10.0

Really I cannot stress this enough, if you go to Kanazawa you have to stay at Pongyi! This place gives you the feeling of actual living in a Japanese family with its super charming Japan style interior and the most caring and helpful staff you could imagine. Every evening there were activities like learning Origami, writing Japanese or learning how to carry out a traditional tea ceremony. I learned so much about Japanese culture in the 3 days that I stayed here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Apr 2016
9.1

I wish I had of stayed longer than two nights! Maru and Masaki where wonderful hosts, I hope to visit again one day :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
10.0

THE hostel in Kanazawa. Pongyi is a little and lovely place, and the owners will do everything they can to make you feel welcomed. Absolutely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

This guest house is really good. I had a very warm welcome and stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Mar 2016
9.4

Had an amazing time at guest house pongyi. Maru is really friendly and helpful. Had a japanesse cook up night when i was their and all their friends can over for it was the best experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
10.0

I had a great time at Guesthouse Pongyi during my trip to Kanazawa. The staff at Pongyi are extremely nice and helpful and really make you feel welcomed. Staying here will allow you to learn a lot about Japanese culture and local activities. The beds are also very comfortable, the hostel is cozy and clean, and the location is very close to Kanazawa station. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
10.0

A very unique hostel, very special. If you go to Kanazawa go here, sure!!! You will find a different atmosphere, completely different with other GuestHouses where you will meet a great Japanese family. Thank you!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

The most adorable place I stayed in Japan. Truly a one-of-a-kind experience - and very Japanese. Loved this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Feb 2016
9.7

Loved this hostel!! So friendly and helpful and generous! They really help give you want you want to experience there and a taste of traditional Japan. Couldnt recommend enough

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.