Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
5.4

No access to food or drink because kitchens are locked all night until 7:30am which is late. The manager didn't seem to care and was totally in accommodating when simple requests were made. Most expensive hostel bed I ever paid for. Rooms smell like stables and your bed is designated. For that price I will choose my own bed. Won't do it again, ever. Independent hostels are the way to go

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
7.4

Downstairs room was way better than top floor. Still hot though with little option for airflow

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.3

Great location, thanks for the beds!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jul 2017
8.9

Great place! Good location to pretty much everything. Well maintained rooms and bathrooms. Great size lockers. Temperature was awesome for no air conditioning (stayed in basement). Only things I'd warn about is that laundry isn't all day. You can only use the machines from 5-11 and there was only 1 working washer so there was always a huge line to wash clothes. Also, I'm a little concerned with how clean the large blanket is on every bed. They weren't collected to be washed with the sheets.Gross

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jul 2017
7.4

Very hot top floor room with fan it made it an uncomfortable sleep. Very cramped bathrooms on top floor. Staff were helpful when asked

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2017
8.6

Overall had a pretty good stay here! Great location - it's a super short walk to the train station and to most attractions in Halifax. and there's a 24 hour grocery store nearby. The room and the bathrooms were clean. Security is good - there's a door code that changes every night, so that's something you have to pay attention to if you're planning to stay out really late, but this was never a problem for me. It was also nice to have a full-sized locker to store my things.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
7.7

The location of this hostel cannot be beat...within walking distance to the harbor and many attractions. The price is also a plus - we paid $26 (USA) a night. It is a older building. There is a big kitchen and several common areas. Security is good. Our bedroom was downstairs and although that meant it was cool, it was damp and there was a decidedly musty odor. Can't be beat for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jun 2017
7.1

basic hostel, not very clean, wifi signal shaky but the staff were great really, def. thumbs up there, only stayed a night and it was very convenient

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2017
9.7

Great friendly staff and fantastic location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
7.1

Location was exceptional and the staff were really wonderful, though the bunk beds were very old and did not have lockers or charging ports nearby! Bathrooms were adequate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.