Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.6
HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel Located at 1253 Barrington Street, Barrington Street, Halifax.
HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel
Canada
Halifax Nova Scotia B3J 1Y2 1253 Barrington Street, Barrington Street
81% 301
44.6410861 -63.5707139
HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Aug 2016
5.7

Dorm (4 people) was ridiculously warm, very poor ventilation and illumination plus a weird smell. Bed was comfy. Number of plugs insufficient for 4 people with phones, cameras, two ventilators (that HAD to be on all time) and bed lights. Toilets were good and clean. Kitchen only opened at 7:30 (?), which caught me by surprise one day I had to leave early. Not the friendliest staff. Wouldn't stay here again, too pricy for what you get.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Loved pg cafe nearby too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
10.0

Location! Comfortable rooms and hospitality too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
8.6

The hostel was in a great location, i think the staff need an update on customer service, like cleaning the restrooms between 9.00am and 10.00am, this is the time most travellers get up and have a showers, shaves, etc. Being a bit more friendly at the front desk would also help, thismis especially true for the young german girl and the french canadian girl.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2016
8.3

No complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
8.9

Great Place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jul 2016
8.9

This felt like one of the cleanest and roomiest hostels i've ever stayed at! I would definitely stay here again. It was close to the waterfront, and nearby was a lot of coffeeshops and restaurants. It was also close to the train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
8.0

Great location; easy to walk to all the main attractions in town. Friendly staff. The rooms were okay. I stayed in one of the lower level female dorm rooms, and there was a slight smell as you walked down the steps. But, overall decent stay for the price and would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
8.3

Clean, convenient and cheap in a great location in downtown Halifax. No complaints. The bed was awful the first night but I got accustomed to it quickly. Basically a four inch foam slab covered in an incontinence pad that does nothing but add traction when you try to turn over. But you do get used to it quickly. Nice, clean bedding and a towel is provided. Also, showers had consistent hot water and good water pressure. I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th May 2016
9.7

A lovely hostel in a good location. Very clean, good showers and beds, and comfortable places to hang out. I would be happy to return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.