Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel Located at 1253 Barrington Street, Barrington Street, Halifax.
HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel
Canada
Halifax Nova Scotia B3J 1Y2 1253 Barrington Street, Barrington Street
87% 324
44.6410861 -63.5707139
HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Dec 2016
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay here! The kitchen is probably the best I've seen at any hostel I've ever been to. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It's really easy to walk to a lot of the places I wanted to go to and I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a hostel in Halifax!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
9.1

Great location, accommodation ( love warm comforter) Staff friendly and laid back More info on tours, car rental, bus system would be appreciated.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
9.4

A OK. .Great place I will return. In December

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
9.1

Staff were wonderful and friendly. Awesome that you could use the washer and dryer at the hostel. Rooms and hostel were secure. Awesome location in a wonderful city!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
6.6

The facilities are good and the location is good, but just doesn't feel friendly or welcoming. Shame.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
8.6

Clean and modern, but dull and boring. Needs character, paintings on the wall, a bit of colour. Feels like a sterile hospital .staff was very accommodating and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Sep 2016
8.9

Really enjoyed the Halifax Heritage Hostel. Hostel is located on Barrington Street, in the heart of downtown Halifax. Close to the main attractions in the city and also to the Pubs/Bars and places to eat. If thinking about the best location in Halifax, then staying at Halifax Heritage Hostel is without a doubt the best option. Great Staff, cheers to Teal who was always really kind and helpful. The only thing I missed, was a night out organized by the hostel to gather its travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Sep 2016
8.0

Location of this place was perfect in downtown Halifax, a few minutes walk from the bars and the harbour front. The staff were really nice, very helpful, and although the place was clean and well laid out, it really does need upgrade as it is a bit tired now. There is a bit of an odd smell in the rooms, granted, but it's very clean and I really did have fun here. I'm glad I picked it over the other hostel in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.1

Great spot to stay in Halifax for a couple of days. The place is cozy and the staff is super friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
8.0

Some staff (Tyler specifically) was a little rude at times in sarcastic manner. Other girl was great and very pleasant. Cooking area is good, and beds are comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.