Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel Located at 1253 Barrington Street, Barrington Street, Halifax.
HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel
Canada
Halifax Nova Scotia B3J 1Y2 1253 Barrington Street, Barrington Street
83% 308
44.6410861 -63.5707139
HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Sep 2016
8.0

Location of this place was perfect in downtown Halifax, a few minutes walk from the bars and the harbour front. The staff were really nice, very helpful, and although the place was clean and well laid out, it really does need upgrade as it is a bit tired now. There is a bit of an odd smell in the rooms, granted, but it's very clean and I really did have fun here. I'm glad I picked it over the other hostel in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.1

Great spot to stay in Halifax for a couple of days. The place is cozy and the staff is super friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
8.0

Some staff (Tyler specifically) was a little rude at times in sarcastic manner. Other girl was great and very pleasant. Cooking area is good, and beds are comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
9.1

Conveniently located (a block and a half from train/bus station, close to downtown attractions), nice kitchen, cool and friendly staff. Loved my stay and would not hesitate to stay here again when I return to Halifax!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
10.0

An awesome place close to all the excitement! Great staff, they helped me plan my trip better and offered great tips.. I WILL BE BACK!! thank HI for a great Hostel and great staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Aug 2016
5.7

Dorm (4 people) was ridiculously warm, very poor ventilation and illumination plus a weird smell. Bed was comfy. Number of plugs insufficient for 4 people with phones, cameras, two ventilators (that HAD to be on all time) and bed lights. Toilets were good and clean. Kitchen only opened at 7:30 (?), which caught me by surprise one day I had to leave early. Not the friendliest staff. Wouldn't stay here again, too pricy for what you get.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Loved pg cafe nearby too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
10.0

Location! Comfortable rooms and hospitality too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
8.6

The hostel was in a great location, i think the staff need an update on customer service, like cleaning the restrooms between 9.00am and 10.00am, this is the time most travellers get up and have a showers, shaves, etc. Being a bit more friendly at the front desk would also help, thismis especially true for the young german girl and the french canadian girl.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2016
8.3

No complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.