X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI-Whistler Reviews

1035 Legacy Way, Whistler, Whistler, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
405 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I have stayed at this hostel a couple of times on little trips from Vancouver On my most recent visit I went on the Friday night pub crawl with a friend. The pub crawl was amazing. It was free, organized by a really high energy and fun guy and I met a ton of neat people. Do it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'll make sure Ryan, our pub crawl host, gets the pat on the back he deserves! Hope to see you in Whistler again soon. Kind Regards, Shaun Freeman - General Manager.

86%

Um it is awesome. Great big kitchen facility no freezer or oven though so don't buy frozen pizza... Lounge is great. Internet and computers were unreliable. Good atmosphere, very clean, and cozy. Small dorms but have cupboard to bring your own lock. It is out of the way from whistler village realistically a 15-20 min bus ride,takes longer in the snow and traffic. Pub crawl on Sunday nights was amazing. Loved it, you will not get a better deal in any other hostel ever.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

kitchen messy and not clean most of the time, no paper towels. Need to enforce individual cleaning


94%

Super modern feel. You'll forget your staying in a hostel at times by how well maintained and up to date this place is. Awesome facilities (TV in the Laundry room! It's the little things!) The only slight downfall is the location but I never had to wait more the 5 minutes for a bus. Great place for boarders as Whistler can be Skier dominated but most guests when I stayed boarded. Cool cafe/ bar in the foyer. Little pricey for a hostel but super cheap for Whistler so go figure!


97%

Awesome staff! Super easy to get to Whistler village, frequent buses all day and almost all night :)

  • 10th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Was super easy to bus it to town / slopes

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff friendly, facilities brand new and good, bathrooms could use a bit more TLC.


74%

On facilities! The kitchen was great, a tad dirty, butr nothing to write home about! Great amount of pots and pans, which is always a bonus! Good lounge area, with pool table. The location is about 25 mins bus ride from Whistler Village, wouldn't be a huge issue if the hostel didn't charge through the nose for accommodation! Almost $40 a night, not really value for money. And ridiculous price for a hostel! Darn Whistler prices. The staff are very friendly and help out where they can!


91%

Such a nice hostel! Rooms were so clean and didn't smell like old gross hostel rooms, just so nice and clean. And the kitchen/dining area was super nice too. Love this place, if I hadn't found a place to live in Whistler I'd stay in this hostel every time I'm up. Also, Ryan's da bomb!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you around the hostel again soon! Kind Regards, Shaun Freeman - General Manager.

91%

Fantastic hostel, best I've stayed in. It's a little way out of Whistler Village but buses are cheap and frequent. Atmosphere was awesome, staff, rooms and facilities all top notch. And the hostel organised Sunday pub crawl was epic!! The fridges probably needed to be cleaned out of extra food but other than that, nothing to complain about. Jan '14

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

The farthest hostel from town, about 20 minutes bus ride ($2.50). the hostel itself is very nice looking but not well maintained, kitchen is under equipped and on the evenings you might not even have a fork, fridge smells for rotten food and common area is pretty small and remote. Internet connection is absolutely horrible even in 90's terms, forget about youtube. just a google search can take a few minutes. some staff members are very nice, some are completely rude and useless.


97%

Great facilities including lounge area with pool table plus a separate tv room. The kitchen was a great facility although crowded at time. The people were super nice and they were both travelers and people there working for the season. An awesome alternative to renting a place in Whistler!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. It's not always easy to find an apartment for the short to medium term at this time of year in Whistler, we're glad you enjoyed your extended stay with us! Hope to see you in Whistler again soon. Kind Regards, Shaun Freeman - General Manager.

97%

Very friendly staff. Room was excellent. Did find some dirty dishes under the bed from the last guest, but no worries. They did switch us around to fit the four in our party into the same room which was very much appreciated. Thankyou for a great stay!!

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing down your thoughts on your stay. We're glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Our Housekeeping Supervisor will be reminding our staff of the importance of checking under every bed when cleaning rooms, I do apologize. We hope to see you in Whistler again soon! Kind Regards, Shaun Freeman - General Manager.

94%

Great hostel. Very clean, comfortable and warm rooms. Wifi was good too. Staff were spectacular. Jimmy in particular was a great guy and very helpful


91%

Hostel was great for what we needed. As scored, we liked staying at the hostel. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was good, it was big and had everything we needed. We didn't try the cafe but it was open every day. The hostel was modern and clean which made it a nice place to stay. If you are looking for cheaper accomodation in Whistler then this is it. Only thing is that it is a short, couple dollar bus ride from whistler village which is fine but can add up in costs.

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I stayed at the HI hostel Whistler for a week while job/house hunting. The Staff were very friendly

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The place was generally overheated, and even though we turned down the thermostat in the bedroom the temperature never went below 22°celsius all night. The window was too small for a 4 bed room, very stuffy night. We found it very odd that the entire kitchen only had 1(!) fork... But other than that we very much enjoyed our short stay.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Whistler Hostels

Please give us your feedback