Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained


4616 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The hostel is very simple. Our room was quite dirty although the sheets and cover for the beds were very nice and clean. Breakfast and the good location make the hostel worth it. I'd say it's overpriced but it is Amsterdam, so every hostel is overpriced.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • dzanghelini26
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the review. Our rooms are cleaned daily and really shouldn’t be dirty – please report to the receptionist if they are, so we can fix it! Hope you’ve had a good time in Amsterdam!


I wish we stayed at the hans brinker from day 1 in Amsterdam. A really laid back hotel that had quirky twists. There is a club in the basement that was great if you wanted to go for drinks before and after you went into town and breakfast was pretty good too. Surprisingly very clean too. When I come back to Amsterdam, I wont think twice about returning here.


Good location but the hostel always has a big crowd that made so much noise. Mix dorm actually is all male dorm so as the only female I don't feel comfortable when many roommates being half naked after shower. Noisy in the lobby and late night in the hallway. Breakfast was awesome ! Poor wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Our mixed dorms are mixed, that means you can be with all guys or all girls, just how it turns out. Doesn’t mean you will always be with only guys. Glad you liked the breakfast!


It's hard to review this place because although it's very barebones it is advertised as such. Great if you only need a place to sleep, however, don't expect things like Wi-Fi to work or a common area to meet people. Better for groups.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! You’re right, we’re quite barebones. But the things you sum up (common area + wifi) are actually things we DO have, they were just not there during your stay due to reconstruction of our bar. Now they work again! Hope you’ll visit some other time to enjoy them ;)


Ein tisch oder ne Ablage wäre nicht schlecht in den Zimmern aber alles in allen war es okay

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke schön! We’re not really sure if there would be space for a table though… Glad you liked your stay!


Free Breakfast was nice. Sadly I went when the Bar was under construction. Some staff were nice and some were not, but we are talking about people (human beings) here, you can't expect anyone even in customer service to put on a smile 24/7.


Interesting hostel.. Didn't expect much going into it since they advertise it being crappy but it ended up being not THAT bad.


No frills. Clean and good location. There is a good amount of storage in the locker.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! Hope you’ve enjoyed your time in Amsterdam!

4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next » last »
(188 results)

View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback