X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
4223 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Exactly what we expected. Clean, close to the center and just a few minutes walk from Leidseplein. Nothing luxurious but we didn't ask for it ;)-

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great you liked your stay with us, thanks for your review!

89%

After using the shower complete bathroomfloor flooded, a sill between shower and bathroom will avoid this small problem.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your suggestion for improvement. Happy to see from your rating that you did enjoy your stay!

60%

The wifi was awful and trying to get on the top bunk is a bit tragic, but otherwise, it was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, your comments help us to improve our property!

80%

The hostel was very good, but I think there are better ones for the same price. We actually ended up choosing it because it was the best one that accepted one night reservations. The only huge downside I see is that they dont have a kitchen, but it was a nice stay..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, glad you liked your stay with us! True that we don’t have a kitchen, but we do offer cheap food (around €6,-) at our restaurant, that’s open daily!

71%

Overall, not a terrible hostel. if you're a neat or clean freak, best stay away. However, the beds and pillows were amazing! Also were great about letting me leave my luggage there during the day after I checked out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! Hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam, and that our comfortable beds didn’t keep you away from the city too much ;) Hope to see you again sometime!

57%

Was an alright stay, however the payphone stole money off me and made me waste about 20 euros, it accepted 2 euro coins as 50 cents, not a brilliant location but not bad,

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that the phone took your mone; phones can be unpredictable. Therefore, normally when you go to reception, we do refund you the money the phone ate (in case you weren’t able to call). Hope you did enjoy the your stay in Amsterdam!

77%

Good hostel in an ideal location which was perfect for a weekend stay! Facilities are good and you cv can't complain for the price! Only problem was we had to pay the full amount on arrival despite paying a deposit through hostel world. I was told hostel world has nothing to do with them and we would have to still pay the full amount! I've stayed in a lot of hostels and never had this problem before.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive words! Our room rates are 22,50 for a dorm bed. If you book through Hostelworld, you have to pay a bookings fee of €2,50. Room rates stay the same though! Sorry if that wasn’t clear. Glad to hear you’ve had a good time at with us, hope to see you again sometime!

86%

Exactly what we wanted for a 21st birthday weekend in Amsterdam. Very basic dorm rooms but clean and tidy - nothing to complain about. En suite in our 6 bed dorm was a luxury! Best part about the hostel was the bar downstairs - good for a few cheap drinks before going out and helps create a lively atmosphere. The underground club seemed quite quiet so we didn't use that but went to the red light district instead (not too far to walk to). Decent breakfast included as well which is a bonus. 8/10

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your positive words, we’re happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay! And we hope you've had an unforgettable birthday ;) See you again soon?

49%

It is a shame, we reserved for 3 nights, and had to share a room with a stranger way older because you didn't registered our reservation

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we are sorry to hear this. You did indeed book 4 beds for the first night, but after that you cancelled 1 bed and were just 3 people, when you reserved 4 beds in a 4-bedroom. Automatically, the bed that isn’t filled can be occupied by a different person, since you booked beds in a dorm room. We’re sorry if this wasn’t clear before booking and affected your stay a lot. Hope you could still enjoy pretty Amsterdam!

77%

They check all people who wants to enter the hostel. That is good. Also their own bar. In the room the guest has his own locker with key. For Amsterdam the price is low but it does not mean anything because Amsterdam is generally expensive.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion about our property, we hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

74%

They really need to put a stair to the top bunk, I hurt myself because of that. A simple portable-three-steps-stair in each room would be a start!! There's absolutely nowhere you can leave your towels and clothes in the bathroom, not even on top of the toilet, since it doesn't have a lid. And a three minute shower is enough to leave the entire bathroom flooded. Otherwise it's clean and well furnitured (it really needs those stairs!!). Locks for each bed. Good breakfast. 24h Reception

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion, you're information helps us to improve our property! Hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

63%

Well, the location is quite good and you can walk to the main attractions. Was cheap comparing to the other places and has free breakfast. About its facilities, the rooms are pretty small and the bathroom not so well architected, as it gets quite wet after any shower despite the care you take for it not to happen. Don't stay on the first floor rooms if you want at least one night of rest in Amsterdam, is desperately noisy and the seem not to care about it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion about our hostel. As a youth hostel with a bar and club inside, it can be a noisy sometimes. We're sorry if that kept you awake - hope you still enjoyed your time in Amsterdam though!

77%

The hostel it's nice, nice location, nice area, very big and nice bar. It's a shame that the corridor was so nosy early morning!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion, we’re very happy to hear that! Hope to see you again next time you’re visiting Amsterdam, hasta pronto!

80%

The shower really needs a better separation in order not to leave the whole bathroom wet. It needs a small wall or something. Also, it doesn't have anywhere to leave clothes, towel and shampoo. It doesn't even have the lid of the toilet. It is really hard to go to the top bunk without a stair, I hurt myself with this. A simple portable ladder per room would go a long way.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review and suggestions for improvement of our hotel! Thanks a lot for giving us 80%, hope you’ve had a great time in Amsterdam!

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next » last »
(114 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback