X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
4433 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The worst hostel in the world!!! lol Check in was easy. Was briefed well by the staff. Room was basic and clean. Enough space for 4 pax. The locker was small but did the job. Toilet was clean. Fresh towel everyday. Was pretty lucky because both night, the room was for myself. Met a lot of travelers while staying. Really great and cheap hostel with a perfect location for roaming around Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review, very happy to read you’ve enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime!

100%

The hostel is huge with a lot of young people. There is a bar and an underground bar opened until 4am. Our room is more than enough for a weekend with friends. The location is perfect, just near the center. The breakfast is not so complete but it is ok. Bread with jam and cheese and some fruit and cereals. I strongly recommnend this hostel.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muuiittoooo obrigado! Love to read your review! Did you know we recently opened a hostel is Portugal (Lisbon) as well? Hope to see you again in either of both places!

74%

The rooms were OK, everything was clean, the breakfast was included in the price and did take away hungerhunger:) the bartenders were supercool!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review, we like to read this! Hope to see you again sometime, our bartenders will be waiting for you ;)

77%

Good value. We're fairly certain our camera was stolen from the luggage room here, but to be fair, they had warning signs up to not leave important things in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the honesty! And we are sincerely sorry that you’ve lost your camera; next time, rent a safe at reception, you’re stuff is safe in there!

86%

i recommend, very good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks!

31%

Probably the worst place I've ever stayed. They really embrace being the worst hostel out there and not in a funny way. The bathroom was a joke, beds were terrible, and everything smelled rotten.. Their bar staff didnt know what they were doing and don't get a Heineken, they water them down. Oo and it also felt like I was at a daycare.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Are you sure you stayed at our place? Because we are actually VERY funny. Oh, and never mess with our Heineken. It’s the only thing we’re very serious about

89%

Ideal location within walking distance of Dam Square, RLD etc with nice cafes and shops nearby. Rooms are very basic but if you're going to be out most of the time and just need a place to sleep it's good and comfortable. Wasn't around too much for the events the hostel has but nevertheless there was a nice atmosphere to the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Spot on review, makes us proud! Many thanks and hope to see you again sometime!

77%

Having booked the hostel on a Saturday morning for the same day, obviously defeated the "value for money" aspect of it, since I payed around 25e for the bed. The staff were great, and everything else was just enough of what you would expect from a hostel, especially one that claims to not worry too much about it!

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to see you think we're a bit expensive, as we're one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam! Sorry, it's just an expensive city... But since you liked the rest of your stay, we recommend you to visit our hostel in Lisbon as wel, which is cheaper and further just as Brinker fun! Thanks for the review and hope to see you again sometime!

77%

Friendly staff, Great atmosphere with clean and well maintained rooms, WifI was mediocre, very poor signal reception in most of the places of the premises.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments! Sorry about the Wifi, we're working on it. Hope you've enjoyed your stay and to see you again sometime!

100%

Great B-fast!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You’re great!

31%

Within 10 mins of check in, someone came into my room and stole my wallet. There were a bunch of high school kids running around all the time, my sheets were stained upon arrival, and the restroom spelled bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re very sorry to hear about this unfortunate situation. We’ve send you a private message to gain further information about this.

80%

Facilities and rooms are high quality, my biggest issue was that the bar area downstairs was perpetually empty as there wasn't much atmosphere. Not the most social of hostels in my experience but everything else was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Sorry to hear you think we’re not too social, it’s actually what we would like to be… Maybe it was due to the construction of our bar, where normally most social life is going on. We invite you to come and visit some other time to see if you like it better with our bar!

66%

The wifi didn't working during my entire 3 day stay. Their bar and restaurant are under construction.

Owner Comment (Hide)
True. But now we’ve finished! New bar is there and wifi works again. Hope you can come visit sometime to see how it looks now, and hope you’ve enjoyed your time in Amsterdam!

60%

Best thing about this place is the location - other than that it's just alright.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review!

34%

The staff were rude, the rooms were not very clean and the lockers could easily be broken into, we paid way more then this hostel was worth compared to all the other hostels we have stayed at. Decent breakfast and average location. Would not stay here again.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at our hostel, we do hope you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Just to be clear: we state that our lockers are not safe and that you shouldn’t keep your valuables in them – for valuables you can rent a safe at reception. Our location rocks, can’t be more in the city center! And we’re one of the cheapest hostels of Amsterdam – unfortunately an expensive city.

63%

The hostel is very simple. Our room was quite dirty although the sheets and cover for the beds were very nice and clean. Breakfast and the good location make the hostel worth it. I'd say it's overpriced but it is Amsterdam, so every hostel is overpriced.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • dzanghelini26
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the review. Our rooms are cleaned daily and really shouldn’t be dirty – please report to the receptionist if they are, so we can fix it! Hope you’ve had a good time in Amsterdam!

91%

I wish we stayed at the hans brinker from day 1 in Amsterdam. A really laid back hotel that had quirky twists. There is a club in the basement that was great if you wanted to go for drinks before and after you went into town and breakfast was pretty good too. Surprisingly very clean too. When I come back to Amsterdam, I wont think twice about returning here.


57%

Good location but the hostel always has a big crowd that made so much noise. Mix dorm actually is all male dorm so as the only female I don't feel comfortable when many roommates being half naked after shower. Noisy in the lobby and late night in the hallway. Breakfast was awesome ! Poor wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Our mixed dorms are mixed, that means you can be with all guys or all girls, just how it turns out. Doesn’t mean you will always be with only guys. Glad you liked the breakfast!

69%

It's hard to review this place because although it's very barebones it is advertised as such. Great if you only need a place to sleep, however, don't expect things like Wi-Fi to work or a common area to meet people. Better for groups.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! You’re right, we’re quite barebones. But the things you sum up (common area + wifi) are actually things we DO have, they were just not there during your stay due to reconstruction of our bar. Now they work again! Hope you’ll visit some other time to enjoy them ;)

83%

Ein tisch oder ne Ablage wäre nicht schlecht in den Zimmern aber alles in allen war es okay

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke schön! We’re not really sure if there would be space for a table though… Glad you liked your stay!

(178 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback