X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3699 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

the bathroom flooded making the floor not just slippery but dangerous.... I woke up with bites all over my feet and les

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Karen, Currently (during spring or summer time) we have mosquitos in some rooms unfortunately. We hope you did enjoy Amsterdam after all. Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

It has everything what u need for sleep and breakfast. Not more, not less. Enjoyed my night

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

really the worst hotel ever, but the best hostel :) good staff, good meal for good price

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your positive thoughts regarding your stay! Looking forward welcoming you again soon at our place! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Delicious breakfast the bathroom is small and not clean as expected


86%

Very basic but pretty clean. I was surprised there was even a bar with big tables where to have breakfast (included in the price) and for some beer.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We have not only a big bar, but did you visit our underground club too? See you next time! Greetings, Hans Brinker

54%

The staff is rude, mainly the girls who stay at the front desk!! They are not helpfull and make you fell unconfortable. They don't allow you to take breakfast if you arrive before the check-in time, and you can not stay inside the building after your check-out. The place is okay, the breakfast is really good (and Mr. Pedro is the only one of the staff who is polite and gentle). It snt a place to have a good time! It's only ok to sleep and look for fun outside. Go to Flying Pig (cheaper n fun)!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Mr. Pedro will be happy to hear your compliment. It's true you cannot take breakfast when you haven't checked in yet (as in any other hotel), but you can stay at the bar area after check out! Compared you Flying Pig we are cheaper and we have our own underground club…. Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

Good location, good value of money


71%

We had BED BUGS in our room, which unfortunately kind of ruined the whole stay. We had to move to another room in the middle of the night and I got bitten all over. Instead of being comprehensive or offering a discount, the reception staff was so rude to tell us that we didn´t have to pay extra for the new room (hello??? we had bed bugs!! Should we pay for that? That was not what I requested, seriously). Truly very bad service at the reception and a very disappointing stay.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to hear you had some difficulties during your stay. Although you've had some troubles, we hope you've had a great time in Amsterdam. Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Good hostel in great location and clean rooms. It may be basic but its cheap so you can't have it both ways

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

Certainly wouldn't say it's the worst hostel in the world but clever marketing..its a big hostel which means big queues to check in as only one person on the desk..except for that really good , free breakfast and decent sized rooms and shower was fine..would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Of course it's only marketing, but doesn't that make your stay even nicer and funnier (especially our Wall of Shame)? We would love welcoming you again soon when visiting Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

I really liked how the hostel was so easy to find , as well as how there was wifi in the lobby :)

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our big yellow sign 'HOTEL' is easy to see from every direction :)! At our Hostelworld profile you can see a short movie which gives you directions from the Airport to the Kerkstraat. Looking forward seeing you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

51%

They're advertisements do them justice. Very livable, but ultimately not great. Dirt cheap bar on the first floor attracted multiple rugby teams, not sure if it was a regular thing, but they were drunk and loud all day every day we were there. Generally dodgy atmosphere, and there was no shower curtain so the whole bathroom got soaked. It was clean, and up to standard, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We have every kind of groups in our hotel, from Art schools to Rugby teams and so on. Sorry to read you will not stay at our hotel again, since we are cheap, located in the middle of the center and we provide everything you need during a stay in Amsterdam. Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

The shower was dreadful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We hope you liked the rest of your stay, besides the shower. Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

I was satisfied spending time in that hostel. Everything was fine

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Please recommend us to all your friends :)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

54%

blanket was brown here and there. i got up late so check out is delayed. and the cleaner was complaning like hell and im pretty sure that i heard the word 'f*ck'. bath room was good. kids were blocking the way...

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 31-40

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our bed linen and towels are really clean. Our check out time is 10 AM so after that time it's possible cleaners enter the room for cleaning. Greetings, Hans Brinker

100%

The best place to stay in Amsterdam! The facilities include the (nearly) 24 hour Brinker Bar, Brinker Breakfast, inspection shelves in every toilet and an ever-changing array of goons from other countries. The room was regularly bleached for cleanliness. Fantastic place, already considering booking again.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your fantastic description of our hotel! Definitely the way we are in a nutshell! Why not visit Amsterdam during summer again (and stay at our place)?! Greetings, Hans Brinker

63%

The club downstairs had stripping poles :/

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for pointing out our unique selling point ;)! We hope you have a great time during your stay! Greetings, Hans Brinker

43%

The process to show the key to enter the hotel is not efficient The breakfast queue was very huge we couldn't take breakfast in time The staff was not really welcoming The light from the hotel sign in the street was very bright in the room even at night

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We have our door policy to keep strangers / uninvited guests outside our hotel. We serve breakfast from 7.30AM to 10AM, so you could have plenty of time to get some breakfast. Greetings, Hans Brinker

63%

This was one of the worst hostel I have ever stayed but as I stayed in another hostel in Amsterdam before, I would say that it is hard to find a good one in Amsterdam. I chose this hostel because it was relatively cheap. However, I was expecting better facilities in room. Especially bathroom was really small and hard to use. It was not clean as well. Staff looked little bit cold when I first checked in but they tried to answer all of my questions. Staff was the best point in that hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your thoughts after your stay! We are one of the cheapest hostels in the center of Amsterdam, but we are basic. All our rooms get cleaned every day, but if you share a room with other guests they can get the place messy afters cleaning. Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Reception was super slow, but other than that a perfectly good hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great to read you experienced the Hans Brinker Hotel as a perfectly good hostel! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

(173 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback