X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3895 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Really awesome place to stay. Night club downstairs which opens at 10pm is pretty meh but we mostly used it as a smoking area as you could smoke down there. There was also an outdoor smoking area that closed at 10pm. The bar offered 10€ pitchers of Heineken, which is pretty good. Breakfast is from 7.30-10am and it's free! You can make your own toast, ham and cheese is there, jam, butter, chocolate spread and peanut butter. Fruit, granola, tea, coffee and PANCAKES IF YOURE QUICK ENOUGH!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great to read you liked our pancakes :)! See you again soon for a pitcher of Heineken and a pancake? Hans Brinker

86%

Good location, bathroom in dorm rooms, free breakfast, cheap price. Everything you need in a hostel and its a good price, stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your short but adequate summary of our hotel :)! We hope to see you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Good hostel in general. Or should I say the worst...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Or are we the best in trying to pretend being the worst....? See you next time! Hans Brinker

60%

Me and my friend were very lucky to stay in a room with nice people. The hostel is a mess, the bathroom was awful, no internet on the rooms and the staff wasn't exactly nice. Good points: location is very good and you get free breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Good to read you had nice roommates. We have free wifi at our bar, restaurant and club and currently we are installing wifi at our rooms too! Hans Brinker

83%

Me and my mates had a great time perfect for wot we needed somewhere to wash and sleep wot more do u need in amsterdam will b using the hans brinker kept tripping over the girl dribbling on the stairs ... Thanks

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oi, Thanks for your review, mate! See u next time at our bar, killing some Jager Bombs! Hans Brinker

94%

Great place to stay, very close to tourist attractions in Amsterdam. Awesome happy hour, cheap beer and great atmosphere. Easy to meet people if travelling alone

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great review! Amazing to read you've enjoyed your stay! See you again soon? Hans Brinker

83%

It you want to party, Hans Brinker is the place to go, loud, has it own club down stairs, very close the trams and coffee shops. restaurants and shop everywhere. Bike hire right next door. free breakfast is good has a variety of food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

My locker was damaged.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Georgia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Please come to reception to tell you're locker is damaged, so we can find a solution. Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Great hostel with great location. The staff is friendly, the rooms are alright. The breakfast is actually very good and the bar is awesome; perfect place to meet people. They just need to have internet in the rooms, because you can only use it at the bar. But overall, this is a great, fun hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for your review! Currently we are installing wifi at our rooms, so next time your visiting the Hans Brinker Hotel you can go online at our rooms! Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

The free breakfast was quite good and the location was great. Their are lockers in the rooms and you get a key for them when you check in. Unfortunately, the common area is more of a large cafeteria and is quite loud. Also, I woke up on my second night with bed bug bites but when I mentioned it to staff they seemed good about it so hopefully that was a one off.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Often people think they got bitten by bed bugs, but in fact it were mosquitos. We check our rooms daily and we do not have bed bugs. We do have mosquitos sometimes during high season! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Good hostel. However, the directions to the hostel are not so precise, a little bit noyse, but ok... Recomend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! The directions to our hotel are as following: From Amsterdam Airport Schiphol: -You can take a taxi to Kerkstraat 136-138 (35-45 euro) -You can take the train to Amsterdam Central Station (3,80 euro, second class, one way). From Central Station take tram 1, 2 or 5. Get out at stop Keizersgracht. Take the first street left (Kerkstraat). After 100 metres you will see the big yellow sign HOTEL!That's the one! Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

Hans Brinker Bed-Bug Hotel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, As we check and clean our rooms every day I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs in our rooms. We do have mosquitos sometimes during summer season. Hans Brinker

66%

Hans Brinker is epic if you don't care about anything but the weed and booze, and perhaps a bit of culture. We were on a lads holiday and although the staff messed up our booking and there were bed bugs, the beds were actually pretty damn comfy and the location epic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, As we check and clean our rooms every day I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. Unfortunately we have mosquitos sometimes during spring and summer. We hope you've had an epic time in Amsterdam and see you next time! Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

friendly and helpful receptionists, hearty breakfast (not just bread and jam), overall great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Great to see you really liked your stay! Please recommend us to all your friends and we hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

Too noisy, impossible to sleep, but good rooms and breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Next time your staying at out hotel don't forget to bring ear plugs :)! Hans Brinker

86%

Hans Brinker was a nice place. It's very easy to find and is close to a lot of shops, bars and restaurants. The dorm room was a fair size with lockers and the bathroom was okay. You only get wifi downstairs at the bar but it's a great way to meet new people. They have happy hour too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, True, just look at the big yellow sign HOTEL and there we are :)! See you soon at our happy hour? Hans Brinker

86%

BED BUGS. BED BUGS. BED BUGS. I stayed here with two others and all three of us woke up with multiple bed bug bites. Had at least 10 bites on one arm. Besides that everything was nice. The rooms were clean, bathroom was clean. You only get wifi downstairs which was a downside. But the breakfast was amazing! There was one girl at the front desk that was extremely unhelpful and rude but there were other few nice ones.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. As we check our rooms daily I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. We do have a lot of mosquitos sometimes during summertime. For your next stay at our hotel, please mention you have mosquitos in your room, so we can provide you a spray. About our wifi: currently we are installing wifi at some of our floors in the rooms! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

If it's a cheap and basic Hostel you want, than this is it. It is in a great location and is suited for those who are looking to use the Hostel as a place to sleep, drink and have breakfast but not much else- but what else do you really need when you have the city of Amsterdam waiting for you on it's very doorstep.


74%

Bitten by bedbugs, so cleanliness wasn't their best point. But the bar had a really good atmosphere for young people, and the free breakfast was really convenient if you don't want to spend money on food outside the hostel.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, As we clean and check our rooms every day we do not have bed bugs. We do have a lot of mosquitos sometimes during summertime, but we have a spray at reception. We hope to welcome you next time you're visiting Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

It's fine. You get what you expect. Not a lot. Worth the adventure.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Indeed we are an adventure / experience :)! See you! Hans Brinker

(2015 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback