X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3497 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The BEST Hotel in A'Dam!!!! The WORST Hotel in the world!!!all in perfect style upgraded

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Aurelio, Thank you so much for your great review! Great to hear you've had the best stay in Amsterdam and our hotel! See you soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

Nice room, but the toilet wasnt properly sealed so the first hour the room stank very badly.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Daniel, Thanks for your review. We hope you've had the best time in Amsterdam and at our hotel. See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

very basic room, just bad and one chair...good breakfast buffet

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Massimo, Thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon. greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

Everything was great, super clean, very nice staff (special thanks to the barman who played "moi je m'appel Lolita" when he noticed we were french haha) and close to everything we needed. I'll recommend !

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jade-Eve, Thanks for your great review! Lovely to read you've had the best stay at our hotel! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

63%

Their advertising gimmick as the worst hostel in the world was a great strategy, because I had horrible expectations. It turned out it wasn't so bad! Bunk beds, and free sheets and linens. The locker was skinny, but it was all right. Overall it was okay. I wish it was close to the red light district, but it was like a 30 minute walk from the Centraal Station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi J, Thanks for your review! About our location: we are 3 min walking distance away from entertainment area Leidseplein and 10 min journey by tram to the red light district and central station! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

good man Hans Bricker.'tis a fine hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! See you soon in Amsterdam and at our Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Second visit and no complaints. Perhaps maybe less salt on the food in the Hostel? Also a lot of Chavs this time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great to read your review! See you again soon for your third time in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel? Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

If you ever want to do something wild, Hans Brinker is your launch pad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I guess you've had the best time at our hotel ;)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

Okay place, seems overpriced but that's amsterdam for you. 6 bed dorm was small and needs better ventilation in the room and bathroom. Staff helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Actually we are one of the cheapest stays in the center of Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

We were a group of 5 friends and got a 6 bed private room for a weekend. For the low night rate we expected much worse than that! Room had enough space, beds were good, sheets were clean and we were even given a towel per person! Bathroom was small, and shower got a bit messy after 5 of us, but it definitely did the job for the weekend. Breakfast got very busy, but the food was decent and with more than simple cereals. Oh! and the common area/bar was great for having some beers, at anytime!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great review! We hope to see you and your friends again soon!! Greetings, Hans Brinker

43%

First of all the room (bathroom included) was very small for 4 persons and the smell was bad. There was no Wi-Fi in the room. Breakfast wasn' t rich and in the rest room there was a smelling of moisture. Check out time was very early 10 a.m.. So i think that 28.50euro is very expensive for this hostel.

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christos! We have free wifi at our bar, restaurant and underground club. Our free breakfast is more than basic, including freshly made pancakes, fruit, yoghurt, bread and spreads, cereals, eggs, coffee and tea. Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

this hostel is very big. location is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gregor, Thanks for your review. We hope you did enjoy your stay at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Please remember us for your next visit to Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

Your breakfast was really great and the big common room/bar is very good as well. But you should check the shower head in room 18, its spreading the water to everywhere but not down.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thomas, Thanks for your message! Great you liked our breakfast and the bar! We will go after the shower at room 18 :)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

A few too many mozzies !


83%

For a budget hostel i was more then impressed with the facilities. Although the rooms were basic if you're just after somewhere to put your bags, get ready and put your head down then this place more then fits the bill. Loved the way they advertise the place in that you go there expecting the worse but its actually nothing like that and you're in fact pleasantly surprised. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Shayne, Thanks for your review! Great to read you've had a wonderful stay at our hotel! We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

43%

The rooms are so small and dirty. There weren't any hair dryer in the rooms. We asked to rent one if reception has but the answer was "If you need it you can go and buy one, sorry."

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We are a cheap and basic hotel. We provide everything you really need for a great time in Amsterdam, such as cheap and nice food, a bar, a club and basic but clean rooms with ensuite bathrooms. Because we are a budget hotel / hostel we do not provide luxury items such as hair dryers and irons. Greetings, Hans Brinker

100%

Amazing place to stay. Staff is extremely warm, friendly and responsive.Right in middle of the city makes it easy to commute between places.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sudheesh! Thanks for your great message! Wonderful to read you've had an amazing time at our hotel! We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

Upper beds need ladders

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Nepal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Subash, Although you wrote a really small review, we hope you've had a great stay at our hotel and in Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Fun place with a funny approach ("Worst Hotel"), a nice bar and great staff. I was just there for a night, but it was a great place to stay, close to everything. It attracts a varied group, but everyone is social.

  • 3rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Fantastic you've had a great stay at our hotel! Please remember us for your next visit to Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

Tongue in check sense of humour made a good change from the norm. Be aware this is a BIG hostel and as such has massive tour groups coming through and going everywhere. Major downer was the price, really. Amsterdam on the weekend = crazy prices.


(1880 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback