X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3495 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Cons: -My bed had a bed bug that bit me 10+ times over two nights, leaving large welts on my back and leg. On the second night I found the bug in my bed and killed it. I told the front desk staff who only said, "I'll make a note of it". - My friend had his credit card stolen out of his suitcase. Make sure to lock up everything! The hostel draws an interesting crowd. Pros: -Great location, affordable, en-suite bathroom, free breakfast, luggage storage, and lockers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi We can assure you we do NOT have bedbugs, it were mosquitos! All our rooms get checked often to make sure we don't have them. Unfortunately we do have mosquitos sometimes (we have a anti-mosquito spray at reception). Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

The breakfast is really good. Many choice and they are tasty. And the location is very nice that it close to many important hot spots. But the facilities are poor that my closet was broken that I couldn't lock it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your comment! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Good budget hotel

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Eman, Thanks for your comment! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

The brinker never fails to ensure a quality stay

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jason, Thanks for your great review! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

A good place to sleep at night and to eat your meals. It is however a hostel which lacks the hippy atmosphere which can be found in some other hostels. The value for money, the cheap meals and the security make up for the lack of atmosphwre. You can find that in the rest of the city

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Klaas! Thanks for your comment. See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

Room was clean, no bed bugs, good location. So, I'm happy with my stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ugurcan! Thanks for your great review! We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Overpriced as every hostel in Amsterdam but overall was alright. Clean rooms, a good atmosphere (party), good location and free breakfast.


77%

Slightly more expensive, but worth the included breakfasts. Each bed also gets a key to a locker in the room- awesome. The bar and club in the basement was good fun, even on a Tuesday night. The common room had a great atmosphere, with cheap drinks. It was a great location, minutes from Leidsplein square. a great hostel, worth booking ahead of time!


63%

Somebody had puked in the basin in the guest toilet downstairs. Pretty disgusting to see. Also nobody cleaned it up for an entire morning. Need more a common area with couches etc. Fairly hard to meet single travellers.


80%

great price but you cant expect a 5-star hotel...

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ori! You are totally right!!!We are a basic youth hotel, great for backpackers, groups and young people who would like to have the best time in Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

I will come back! It's a really cool hotel, good location great anti-advertising and nice people. The only thing that should be changed are the opening and dinner hours of the bar, because the downstairs disco is a little bit boring, dark and without tables. The bar itself is much more comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Anna! Thanks for your great message! Great to hear you've had the best time at our hotel! We really hope to see you (and your friends) again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

it was very good all around

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thibault, Thanks for your message! We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

100%

what you pay is what you get.


94%

There are some terrible hostels in Amsterdam hans brinker is not one of them! Stay here or regret the decision not to forever

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jessica! Thanks for your great message! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

I have several giant mosquito bites. Mosquitos are a serious problem. Other than that, it was great. Thanks very much for the wonderful stay. Long live Happy Hour.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Chris! Thanks for your review! Great to hear you've enjoyed Happy Hour! did you party at our underground club as well? Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

great for young people or even teenagers travelling with a group of friends. A reasonable, affordable option in an excellent location for any kind of tourist who is tolerant of noisy, drunk, but generally respectful groups of teenagers, and who doesn't plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel.

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Soledad, Thanks for your review. We hope you've had the best time in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

The location was excellent, the room was clean, the only bad point was the bathroom , which did not have real walls , only tainted glass.

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lara, Great to hear you've had an excellent stay. Not all our bathrooms have glass walls, only a couple on the 4th floor. Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Better than advertised - taking into consideration they are a self proclaimed terrible hostel. Rooms and showers were average for what you would expect from a hostel. Location is good, only a block from the tram but you can also walk to the museum area and touristy areas easily.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Risa, Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon! If you are interested in our advertisement campaigns, please have a look at our website! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

the hostel is very good located, there is a young enviroment, i would definitely recommend it for young groups who would like to have fun and being at the centre of Amsterdam

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Eva, Thanks for your stay and your review! Please remember us for your next visit to Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

For a citytrip to Amsterdam it's a fine hotel. You pay what you get.

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Erik, Thanks for your review! Please remember us for your next visit to Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

(1879 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback