X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3894 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

We would definitely stay here again! :) And the breakfast? Exquisite...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! See you again soon at our breakfast? Hans Brinker

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Very happy with Hans Brinker. Posters on wall make fun of the lack of facilities and extras but it was everything you need. Have stayed in far more expensive hostels in worse locations that weren't as good as this one. Would definitely book again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for your review! We would be really happy seeing you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

The hostel is located in one of my favourite areas of Amsterdam. Whilst it offers value for money and is clean overall, the lockers in the room we had were falling apart and we were rudely awoken by the cleaning staff way before our check out time of 10am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! We are aware of the fact some of our lockers need to be renewed. See you soon at our bar for happy hour?? Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

fantastic hostel staff on front desk where always very helpful

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Thanks for your comment! Please recommend us to all your friends and next time you're visiting Amsterda, you know where to find us! Hans Brinker

77%

Very nice, just not enough staff at reception when you're waiting to check out, you have two staff working but both are with the same customer so queues build up rapidly. We had a problem with Mosquitos I'm our room and both of us were bitten quite badly but nothing like some of the reviews go on about on here. The room was very clean and the bathroom also, just bring flip flops because the bathroom gets soaked after one shower! Other than that haven't got too much to nag about. Enjoyed our stay

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! The moment you've checked out we had a trainee at reception extra, so unfortunately there was some delay. We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

I sjust a place to sleep, nothing else. Well located.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Paulina, We are not just a place to sleep, we have a bar, restaurant and club :)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Great location most places within walking distance, a couple of the england fans watching world cup were a pain in the arse, but that's nothing new and not hostels fault.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! I guess during the World Cup every hostel is filled with fans :)! Greetings and see you next time! Hans Brinker

86%

Amazingly helpfull staff, clean rooms and delicious breakfast, the worst hostel I've been to so far, and I loved it. will surely come back.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Aruba
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great review! Well, see you again soon then! Hans Brinker

86%

really nice!! i totally recommend this hostel! clean, wide, good breakfast ! everything is super nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

51%

Some girl from the staff told us that check-in is at 9 a.m. At arrival didn't even let us inside earlier. Then it turns out the check-in isn't until 14.00 and they have no idea how did this mistake happen or what to do... Very rude and poorly organized staff. Otherwise a decent place.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Check in is from noon, but during high season sometimes rooms get cleaned after noon. You can leave your luggage in our luggage room for free though (so you can enjoy the city). Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

You get what you pay for, so it was a place to sleep and breakfast in the morning was tasty. Content is the best way to describe it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! Please recommend us to your friends! See you next time! Hans Brinker

57%

Bathroom in very poor condition. Very low water pressure. Hot and cold shower fluctuating. Hot water would disappear in the middle of my shower.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location, clean, lovely breakfast!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The cleanliness of the rooms needs to be improved. Our shower water smelt like sulfur and the beds were very old and worn down. There were stains and hairs on the mattresses and we had also read of bed bugs and understood why. However, the atmosphere was nice, loved that we could play beer pong. We left after one night to switch to a cleaner hostel that was still the same price.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our rooms get cleaned every day and we ALWAYS provide clean towels and bed linen. I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. We do have some mosquitos sometimes during high season. Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

Not at all the worst hostel in the world. This was my first hostel, but I found it was mostly clean. The only issue with cleanliness was the bathroom, which after the shower was run once in a day, the floor of the entire bathroom would be a slimy mess until it gets cleaned the next morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience! We hope to see you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

Room were really small. There was a window without a courtain, so in the early in the morning you have a room with a lot of light and no oxygen. Except for that, everything was fine.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. You stayed in our special stained glass room, where we have curtains for the normal windows, but not for the special one :). All our other rooms have curtains for every window. Greetings, Hans Brinker

54%

Location of this hostel is good. However it is very noisy and other guest just kept yelling and screaming throughout the nights. Wifi is totally broken. Toilet is smelly (we have private toilet and it's still smelly after I cleaned it myself!!). Not enough staff for reception (I was in queue for 15 minute just for check out). Price is not that cheap given with the above conditions. I do not recommend staying in this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Too bad you didn't like staying at our hotel. Our rooms (and bathrooms) get cleaned every day. We have free wifi at our bar and restaurant. If the wifi doesn't work, you have to go to our staff, so we can fix the problem (tip for next time). We are one of the cheapest stays in the middle of Amsterdam though. Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

Went with my wife for one night stay in a twin private Ensuite room. We expected a doublebed but were provided with two shady looking beds; maybe we read the room description wrong. Room/bed/toilet were clean but in sub-standard condition. The furniture was hideous, duvets and pillows were absolutely unsuitable for use, and the shower area in toilet had very poor drainage system; there was a pool of water just after one shower. The free breakfast is the only reason I am giving average ratings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are a basic hostel, so we do not provide any luxury. We do provide you everything you need during a stay in Amsterdam. We are not a romantic hotel with double beds, but we are way cheaper than hotels who have more luxury. We are glad you've enjoyed our breakfast buffet! Greetings, Hans Brinker

29%

It's not about what's wrong it's about what's right... There was literally nothing ok about this place, I never listen to reviews I've seen online but I really should have. They have no ladders for the beds so if your short you have to some how find a way up like me ( I'd step on the bed below me and try to pull myself up ) I got bitten by something whilst asleep Awful tiny beds that were extremely horrible to sleep on Rubbish club downstairs I'd advise you to pay abit more for ANYWHERE els

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to read you've experienced some difficulties during your stay. During summer we sometimes have mosquitos in some rooms! Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

Not my favorite hostel. Ive just stay for a night, so that was ok. I wouldnt stay there for lots of days. Too much people. but its clean and ok.


(2014 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback