X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4111 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Hans Brinker is in a great location and the staff very friendly and helpful. I'd be very happy to stay there again and would absolutely recommend the place to any traveller or visitor who has a low budget. Thank you Hans Brinker Hotel for a cool stay in Amsterdam.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very lively hostel, as you'd expect in Amsterdam! There are no luxury furnishings but everything is functional and clean, and the staff friendly. Basically, they provide everything you could need. The only problem I had was kind of silly: I was assigned the top bunk but could not get up there despite repeated attempts - I'm not very tall! So if you're a shortie, ask for a bottom bunk or just arrange with your roommates.


69%

Do you know how shock am I ? I order an mixed 6 person room, and my roommate are 5 boy .....only one girl is me.


69%

très déçu dans l ensemble car nous sommes arrivée a 9h00 du matin (comme indiqué dans l email de réservation) et on nous a dit que la chambre serait disponible cas 14h (pas très agréable de se promener la matinée avec les bagages) . Et le soir quand nous sommes rentré dans la chambre (vers 3h00 du matin) il y a avait un homme qui dormait dans notre chambre (qui est une chambre pour 6 personnes et que nous avons payer pour 6 personnes) , obliger d aller chercher quelqun pour régler le problème

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Really close to everything and really nice breakfast in the morning.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel was ok the staff were friendly enough but we had bed lice in the bunks which gross and wasn't very nice.


60%

auberge tres bruyante chambre et salle de bain tres petite pas echelle pour le lit superieur

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Tipical big hostel, 25 minutes away from Dam sq. By foot. Its basic, you only have a bed, but Internet works very well and the breakfast is very good.


60%

Non per deboli di stomaco!!!

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good value for money nice and cheap and not to far to walk to the city. Very decent prices drinks at the bar. Had some very rude dorm mates but that can't be helped.


40%

This is a hostel for single men that are here to party only... Not clean, safe or suitable for couples.


89%

bunk bed without ladder... so not easy to get on top And the 2 elect. plug are on the bottom bed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - good to see you liked our hostel even though you had to practice some gymnastics to get in bed! Hope to see you again sometime!

77%

It´s hard to get a good nights sleep on Weekends with drunk guests screaming around on the Hotel floors and banging doors. I suppose this is part of your concept. But still I think a bit more common decency isn´t to much to ask for. And I think that your staff is obliged to enforce this.Other than that we had a great time.


83%

Bon accueil, petit déjeuner copieux, bien frais... Ambiance bon enfant... Par contre beaucoup de chahut la nuit...Cris et coups dans les portes des chambres!! Et ça, c'est lié aux "locataires" pas à l'Auberge elle-même....

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup, great you like your stay, hope to see you again soon!

71%

Notre dortoir de 6 personnes était petit mais il y avait suffisamment d'espace pour tout le monde. Pas de rideau ni de cabine, une douche suffisait à inonder toute la salle de bain. La chambre était très humide (même en aérant) et froide. L'auberge cuisine des plats que l'on peut acheter (minimum 6€), il n'y a donc pas de cuisine à disposition des clients pour que chacun puisse faire ses repas. Excellent point cependant le petit déjeuner à volonté TRÈS copieux et très varié!

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us! Hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

83%

Bon rapport qualité prix pour cette auberge idéalement située. Bonne ambiance générale et état de propreté tout à fait correcte si on vient bien dans l'esprit "auberge de jeunesse". Le plus : petit déjeuner ultra-copieux. Le moins : la taille, ça fait un peu "usine" certains jours. Nuits possiblement un peu bruyantes, très variable en fonction des jours... Les boules quiès peuvent être utile !

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

excellent hostel just to rest, because the atmosphere is sad, nobody in the lobby and so quiet. So clean, the personal nice, good u bicarbonate

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We also like that we have a good bicarbonate. We do wonder where all the guests went when you stayed with us then… But we’re glad you liked your stay!

71%

晚上偶尔会有人在走廊吵闹。早餐很不错

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us!

43%

One of the worst Hostels I've stayed in. - Smelled horrible. - There was blood on on of our towels. - The lockers aren't fastened to the wall and as a result nearly fell on my friend. - Mass groups of people standing around the entrance smoking. Pay a tiny bit extra and just stay in a hotel.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30

Owner Comment (Hide)
True, we’re basic; this doesn’t mean you should find blood on towels or horrible smells, and as soon as this is reported to us we’ll definitely take action. Sorry to hear you didn’t like your stay much; we do hope you did like your stay in Amsterdam in general.

63%

As Advertised.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(109 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback