X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3218 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

The process to show the key to enter the hotel is not efficient The breakfast queue was very huge we couldn't take breakfast in time The staff was not really welcoming The light from the hotel sign in the street was very bright in the room even at night

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This was one of the worst hostel I have ever stayed but as I stayed in another hostel in Amsterdam before, I would say that it is hard to find a good one in Amsterdam. I chose this hostel because it was relatively cheap. However, I was expecting better facilities in room. Especially bathroom was really small and hard to use. It was not clean as well. Staff looked little bit cold when I first checked in but they tried to answer all of my questions. Staff was the best point in that hostel.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Reception was super slow, but other than that a perfectly good hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great to read you experienced the Hans Brinker Hotel as a perfectly good hostel! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Very good value for money. Large rooms, excellent spot, and nice staff. It is a hostel so of course you should expect noise and a breakfast that is not tremendously tasty. But for that price it cannot get better.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your recommendation! Did you have our freshly made pancakes for breakfast? They are the best! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

It is a cheap hotel. The bar is reasonable on prices, but the club in the basement wasn't too fun. Beds and all were comfortable, but the shower and toilet combination make for an unpleasant clean up since the shower water is guaranteed to fill up the bathroom floor. Other than idiots who pass out in the wrong bed, because they are too drunk to get tot he top bunk, (not the the hostel can stop that), it was a great time in Amsterdam.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Nice to read you've had a great time in Amsterdam!! Next time you're staying at the Hans Brinker Hotel ask for the top bunk so no drunk roommates can fall asleep at your bed :)!! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

War ein erfolg ;)

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung! Wir werden Sie hoffentlich bald in unserem Hotel sehen! Bis Bald! Hans Brinker

83%

Stayed at Hans Brinker for the third time. It is a basic accomodation but very good value for money. Located in the centrer of Amsterdam within walking distance to all major sights. Ensuite rooms. Breakfast included in the price. Recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review and your recommendation! Looking forward to the 4th time you're staying at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

49%

Abbiamo soggiornato 3 giorni in questo ostello, camera con solo letti e armadietti da soldato, nemmeno un piano d'appoggio, bagno con doccia con tendina lercia e soffione piccolissimo e malfunzionante, nemmeno un chiodo per appendere un asciugamano o accappatoio. Gli asciugamani "puliti" a volte presentavano strane macchie. Colazione discreta, atmosfera non male, la caciara fatta dai gruppi di scolaresche ravvivava il tutto. L'ostello è dotato di un bar al piano interrato ad ottimi prezzi

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I can assure you our bed linen and towels are clean. They may look old, but they get cleaned really well and professional. Indeed our rooms are basic but they have everything you need during your stay in Amsterdam. Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

Hotel environment is excellent for travelers who are alone interested in mingling around. Good for group sharing. Location is convenient to go to train station, can rent bike to ride around the city. The bed was good to sleep on, toilet needs to be improved because of the cleanliness and amenities there. Food for breakfast is average, for 1-2 nights, it is enough but nothing impressive.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

super Lage, nette Mitarbeiter und gute Auswahl beim Frühstück, dass sogar inklusive ist!

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung!! Bis Bald! Gruss, Hans Brinker

74%

I've got two rooms for two nights with no reservation. And I payed 25€/night and pers. This was great! The rooms were comfortable and so the services. The breakfast was just fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! It's cheap, isn't it?:)! Thanks for writing the review and we hope to see you again soon at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings!

86%

房间非常的卫生,被子和枕头也都是新的,睡的很舒服,不得不提的就是早餐特别给力,在欧洲这么久没见过哪个hostel早餐的水果这么多的,真的是吃的很爽,唯一不好的地方就是房间里没有WiFi,要去一楼的bar里才有WiFi

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your great review! Please let all your friends know you've had the best place in Amsterdam :)!! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

Perfect location for a short stay in Amsterdam! nearly perfect location, facilities/security is okay If you need a bed to sleep and stay the rest of the day in town it s the perfect place to be!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Thanks for your review!! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

You get what you pay for on this stay. This was my second stay in 2 years, so I knew what to expect. Bedroom was fine, loved happy hour and everything in the city was in good leisurely walking distance. Would still stay here again!

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks for your review! Looking forward to your third stay at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

Quality/price: expensive

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , We are one of the cheapest stays in the center of Amsterdam, as you pay 22,50 per night including breakfast (for a bed in a 6 persons dorm). Greetings, Hans Brinker

63%

the walls are very thin and the hostel was full of very young students who made a lot of noise throughout the night! this was a bit annoying but apart from that, the hostel was fine. Very near the museums.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We are a youth hotel so the bar or club can get crowded of students at night! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Aunque hacen gala de que es un sitio "sucio" y "cutre", para nada. Nosotros reservamos una habitación para 3 personas con baño propio y para el precio que pagamos (sobretodo teniendo en cuenta lo que cuestan los demás) estaba genial (si vas en plan "cutre" claro). Te dan sábanas, toalla, hay wifi, el desayuno es decente, hay una bareto q por las noxes es discoteca y está relativamente céntrico.

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Hey, die Lage von dem Hostel ist unglaublich gut, man ist mitten an der Haupteinkaufsstraße und nur 3 min zu Fuß entfernt sind viele Kneipen und Clubs. Die Zimmer waren sehr schlicht eingerichtet, dafür aber auch sehr sauber. Man kann, wenn man zu früh da ist seine Sachen in einen Kofferraum bringen und dann bis abends um 9 Uhr richtig einchecken. Direkt neben dem Hotel kann man auch günstig Fahrräder leihen. Das Hotel ist optimal um günstig ein paar Tage in Amsterdam zu verbringen.

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Did you visit our happy hour and underground club as well? See you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

Everything was fine except for the bathroom. It smelled horrible. I am not sure if it was lack of cleaning or a sewer problem, the smell never went away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to read you've experienced some difficulties during your stay. We clean our rooms every day, so it's not a cleaning problem. We hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

For me, one of the best in Amstedam! the only problem (not a real problem) is that we have to call to confirm the booking before arrive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! When you arrive later than the expected time you could send us a Facebook message too, so you don't have to call! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback