X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3576 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

We wish we could use the kitchen, but the stay has been awesome anyway!

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! We don't have a kitchen for common use, but we offer cheap and tasty lunch and dinner at our restaurant and bar! Hope to see you next time you're visiting Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

77%

너무 좋았습니다. 직원분들도 친절하시고, 무엇보다도 위치도 마음에 들어서 어디든 걸어서 암스테르담을 여행다닐수 있었던 점이 좋습니다.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Please recommend us to all your friends! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Can't get better for the price and location

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Muy buena opcion si visitas Amsterdam con un presupuesto limitado. No es para nada tan malo como lo pintan y está muy bien ubicado para visitar la ciudad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

74%

Really noisy in the room if you are on the 1st floor and awkward guy at the reception...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. As we are a youth hotel we cannot guarantee a totally quiet stay. Although we hope you did have a great stay in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

86%

unico neo di questa struttura è l'areazione della stanza, non so se è capitato solo a noi, ma la finestra era appositamente bloccata da un asta di ferro per impedirne la completa apertura e considerando l'assenza di un altra finestra in bagno, ci avrebbe fatto piacere poterla aprire completamente!!!!! ma in ogni caso l'esperienza rimane più che positiva, il bagno in camera, la colazione gratuita e un pub ristorante al piano terra sono piccole chicche che apprezzo negli ostelli!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Due to safety reasons the windows are not allowed to open all the way. We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon! Hans Brinker

86%

Gostei bastante do hostel! Os funcionários estavam sempre dispostos a nos ajudar! Chegamos e tudo estava limpo e arrumado. E também percebemos que o quarto e o banheiro eram limpos todos os dias. Localização perfeita! conseguimos fazer todos os passeios a pé! :-)

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Great to read you liked staying at our hotel! See you soon! Hans Brinker

91%

Muy bueno el lugar, aunque solo estuvimos una noche. Esta a unos 20 minutos a pie de la estación central, las habitaciones son grandes y el único problema fue la bacha del baño que estaba mal conectada con el caño y perdía mucha agua. Lo recomiendo de todas formas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Instead of a 20 min walk, you can travel by tram in less than 10 minutes :)! See you next time! Hans Brinker

86%

For that kind of location and atmosphere, it's really hard to beat. Everything is basic but fully functional. Pretty cool that you don't have to pay many extras upon arrival, unlike other cheap hostels. The lockers in the rooms are...soft, let's say. New locks would make it perfect. Would go again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Well, hope to see you again soon! About our lockers, currently we are working on a solution to fix that problem! Hans Brinker

66%

The staff was not the most friendly but they know it and people who go to Amsterdam usually don't care. The hostel is huge with a nice and big bar/restaurant/living room (good breakfast included). Nice garden. Free Wifi but not in the rooms. Small rooms and bathrooms. There is a club in the basement that should be cool (i didn't go but the idea sounds nice). It close to the city centre, you can easily walk there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, Thanks for your review! Actually we do have wifi at the rooms (the same network as in our bar)! We hope to se you and your friends next time you're visiting Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

89%

centrale e comodo io è le mie amiche ci siamo trovate benissimo, c è un atmosfera gradevole, è possibile conoscere molte persone, la posizione è perfetta per girare e si può trovare tutto nei dintorni. Lo consiglio :)

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola! Thanks for your review! See you and your friends again soon? Greetings, Hans Binker

91%

Thx for all guys et very nice happy hour !!

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank YOU for staying! See you next time! Hans Brinker

69%

Lage ist super aber schon für sehr einfaches Zimmer und essen relativ teuer. Trotzdem wieder nächstes Mal.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Great to read you will stay again at our hotel! Hans Brinker

49%

Realmente es el hostal mas sucio que me ha tocado en todo mi viaje por Europa. No tengo problemas con compartir pieza con otras personas, pero llegar al punto de no querer ducharme por lo poco limpio es otra cosa. La habitacion era muy muy chica con nada de ventilacion, y la atencion pobre. Yo solo queria una habitacion para dormir ya que todo el dia estaba afuera recorriendo..pero llegar al hostal fue un desagrado.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our rooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. As we are a youth hotel, we are not the suitable place to sleep all day and night, especially when you share a room. We have private rooms though! Hans Brinker

34%

Das schlechtest Hostel, welches ich je erlebt habe. Schade um das Geld...

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gutemorgen, Next time you're reviewing a hotel, please say what you didn't like, so we can fix things when necessary. Hans Brinker

83%

Really friendly atmosphere and cheap drinks at the bar! It's within walking distance of everything too, I would definitely stay there again

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, That's exactly what we are :)! Cheap, central located and fun! Looking forward seeing you soon! Hans Brinker

74%

Prendre des tongs pour la salle de bain, sinon Nikel, très sympa, a conseiller!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for writing a review and good to read you've enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon! Hans Brinker

86%

Une super auberge, une super équipe, et des prix vraimenr convenables. I will come back for sure.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour! Thanks for your review! Well, see you soon then at the bar during our Happy Hour? Hans Brinker

80%

prijs-kwaliteit in gemoedelijke sfeer met leuk personeel dat weet waarmee het bezig is

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Dankjewel voor je goede review! We zien je graag snel terug met je vrienden voor een onvergetelijk weekend Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

57%

Showing the keys to get inside is not really safe option. Open luggage storage as well as small locker in the room doesn't really help. When you pay extra for your own bathroom, you usually expect it to be clean. No kitchen nor even fridge is quite unplesant supprise for every backpacker. And finally, there is a leaflet at the reception: "Do NOT like us on Facebook". Quite ironic, if you require like on the Facebook to get logged into the wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, First of all, you can rent a safety deposit box at the reception to secure your personal belongings like your passport etcetera. All our rooms have an ensuite bathroom, so you don't pay extra for it. Besides that, our rooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Indeed, we don't have a kitchen for common use, but we serve cheap and tasteful meals at our restaurant. Hans Brinker

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(201 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback