X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
4006 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

La Camera da 6 era molto piccola, letti a Castello molto attaccati e bagno minuscolo. Buona colazione e discreta pulizia. Ottima posizione ma il prezzo un pochino troppo alto per la struttura

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

Apparte la posizione questa struttura va chiusa. Ho dovuto chiamare il personale due volte per poter cambiare lè lenzuola.


77%

Everything was great, there was just a bit of blood on my bed :/ before I got into it, I should add

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The location of this large hostel is excellent. The rooms are quite spacious, cleaned and have a decent locker to store your stuff. The breakfast is good for hostel standards. I just needed a place to sleep and I'm happy I've stayed there. The only minor thing is they force you like them on Facebook or to subscribe to a mailing list in order to get wifi access. This is childish because wifi access is part of the facilities shown on Hostelworld and has nothing to do with 'protecting' the network.


94%

I only gave an "average" grade to the cleanliness due to the constant smell of puke in the stairs. That was quite disgusting. Appart from that, everything was perfect (for the price).


89%

Perfectly fine hostel

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel !

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Other reviews are spot on. Great location and inexpensive but it's pretty stark. As long as your expectations are in line with this you'll be fine here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great conclusion of what we are. Thanks!

86%

O único comentário negativo foi no ultimo dia em houve um grande barulho até as 3 da manha de resto tudo bem

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Super auberge, parfaitement située ! L'auberge possède un grand bar, resto, fumoir extérieur, petit-dej copieux et varié inclus. les chambres comportent douche/sanitaire privés, un casier par personne, avec clé fournie. Seul point négatif pour ceux qui ont le sommeil léger, bruit toute la nuit. + super rapport qualité/prix . Bref, je recommande !!


80%

I was placed in a 4 bed room but in the end i was in the room alone. Did not really feel the interaction with other visitor but overall the stay was nice. Breakfast was very good indeed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive words!

69%

Took 23 of us down (men and women aged 17-22) decent location, we were concerned after the advertising but at £20 a night it's a treat. Perhaps the girl on reception could of smiled though.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good you liked your stay, we hope to see you again sometime and if you let us know, we will instruct our receptionist to smile :) (even though she has a sign with ‘worst staff in the world’ in front of her’)

71%

Solid Hostel.


69%

hostel was ok, probably will be fan for a big group of friends in their twenties. nevertheless, the rooms are so basic and simple, it brings to mind an army camp. a bit of colour in the rooms and a stopper for the shower water would improve the rooms immensely.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your suggestions for improvement, we will definitely take them into consideration!

74%

There was an enormous group that made things harder:checkin, breakfast, checkout were almost impossible to do with everyone occupying the hall with their bags. The hotel was ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, and we’re happy to hear that even though you had some difficulties with a big group you still had an ok stay with us.

94%

Great location and very cheap! The breakfast was not that great, but it was free so it was to be expected. Would definitely recommend staying here for anyone heading to Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, happy to hear you liked your stay!

71%

Not a bad hostel, not the friendlyiest staff but not bad. No lockers is a bit of a pain

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do have lockers in every room though… hope you’ve enjoyed your time in Amsterdam!

83%

i had a great experience , staff was helpful and friendly loved it will stay there again an dagain

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Then we will see you again and again and again! Great, we’re looking forward to it!

74%

It is pretty honest in what it is and what it isn't. It is a budget hotel. There wasn't a lot of choices for the breakfast, but there was a breakfast and it was ok. The room was ok. The bathroom was ok. The hotel provides the basics. I am sure that if you are young and don't expect a high-quality hotel, you can definitely stay there. Only the old lockers looked a bit unsafe. Some of them could be replaced.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A decent sum-up of what we are (although we do think the breakfast deserves a bit more credit with bread, cheese, ham, jam, peanut butter, yoghurt, cruesli, pancakes and fruit salad, tea and coffee). Many thanks for your review, hope to see you again sometime!

83%

Good place to stay, with good facilities. Free lockers in the room, and no problems with cleanliness and very helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We like that you liked us, thanks for your positive review!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(107 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback