X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Home at The Mansion Reviews

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1275 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

We stayed at Home at the Mansion on and off for a few weeks while we travel along Victoria and it's been, every time, a great stay. The atmosphere is always friendly and the staff is quite amazing, specially Richard and Ben who helped us in a tight spot.

  • 6th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a great stay at the mansion, everyone, staff and residents, are all extremely helpful and really fun people! Definitely going to be calling the Mansion Home next time I'm in Melbourne

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great stay here, the staff were always friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were always clean and the rooms were tidy. Enjoyed the free sausage sizzle. Short walk to Brunswick and Smith Streets for cool bars/cafes and shops. Just round the corner from the CBD. Highly recommended.


83%

The bathrooms and communal areas were kept really clean and were a good size. Rooms were a reasonable size for the number of people in them with a locker for each bunk to secure things away. The fridges were very full and did not necessary work very well. Some members of staff were much more approachable and friendly than others. The wifi was fairly expensive.

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

was great place to stay and thanks for letting me check in at 3am thanks max

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a great time at Home at the Mansion. The staff were very friendly and useful, the facilities were good and clean. A lot of long stayers lived in the hostel, but they were all welcoming. great location next to CBD, tram very close by.


100%

everything is so good in this hostel, BIG and clean bathroom (when u lock the door you can have ur own bathroom!! this is so incredible) nice location near st vincent hospital, also this architecture looks old but extremely nice, great and helpful staff, everything is great! i will absolutely come back again!


83%

We were a group of 5 and stayed in a 5-bedroom, that was perfect! Would definitly come back! A clean and bif house with such a nice atmosphere.


63%

It was an ok hostel to stay in, nothing amazing. Its a long term hostel, small kitchen . 10 minutes to cbd


100%

I loved this place so much! It actually felt like home, and I was sad to leave. Everyone was really friendly and the facilities were awesome; it's the only hostel I know which never closes his outdoors and barely closes his kitchen. After staying at this hostel, I was afraid, because it could only go downhill from here...


97%

Home hostel is a hostel with a very nice atmosphere. The bathrooms are very big and also very clean so that's amazing. The building is looking a little bit like a castle! I really would recommend this hostel, because this is one of the nicest hostels where I have been.

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It was alright but not very quiet, and not very clean or fancy. The room I was assigned as the wall falling apart and was full of people.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

nice and friendly hostel nice and clean and lots of friendly people. had a really enjoyable experience staying here

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel building is in itself very impressive, it is huge. Very nice patio with picnic tables, BBQ and ping pong table. Friendly staff. The location is good but not great, that means there were some long walks to/from it. Not free Wi-Fi.


89%

Really good located hostel near Melbourne's cbd!i loved the spacious bathrooms and the kitchen and outside area!would stay there defenitley again


94%

Nice building,perfect location,clean bathrooms and ok garden. Lot of long-term guests who like to spend time together in closed groups.


60%

The room was very small. I booked a 7 Bed and there were 8 people into the room. The staff were not very helpfull.

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Home at the mansion was the best hostel I stayed in. The atmosphere is great. Staff is always very friendly and helpful. The facilities get cleaned more than once a day. It's only a short walk to either CBD or Fitzroy. So a perfect location. I would always come back.


97%

Home at the Mansion is a really nice, the beds and the bathrooms are alright and clean, the staff is helpful. The atmosphere is very social, people get together in the kitchen as the central meeting point especially in the evenings and even enjoy their free time together. The only minus point is that you have to pay for the internet.


86%

Really clean facilities and great location, lots of long-term stays though so not great for solo travellers.


(52 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback