X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Home at The Mansion Reviews

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1275 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Adequate place, not amazing not awful. Interesting building, pain if you're on the 3rd floor tho, lots of stairs. Really helpful Welsh guy on reception, other staff fine. About a 15 minute walk in to the CBD. A few longtimers which takes away from the atmosphere a little.


91%

Very nice hostel, quieter than the last one I stayed in which was a bonus!


91%

Great place to stay. Pros: very near to all atractions. Only few steps from city circle tram stop. Nice and helpfull staff. Cons: there three floors and no elevator. You have to carry your heavy luggage all the way up by the stairs.


94%

Great cbd location, friendly atmosphere. Are groups of friends but if you speak to them, theyre more than welcoming. Really clean hostel, massive bathrooms on top floor. Only downside is having to pay for wifi, no lift/lots of stairs. Staff more than helpful, free bbqs, free goon. Very social garden. Would recommend!


89%

I really enjoyes my stay at this hostel!!

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

loved the place, location for me is perfect!


89%

Tall German guy at front desk was very helpfull and professional - thanks! Room was big, quiet and the showers were very clean. I'd recommend


77%

Super Hostel zum Leute kennenlernen sehr familiere Atmosphäre werde auf jedenfall wieder kommen. In Sachen sauberkeit muss man eben Abstriche machen das ist jetzt nicht so das es dreckig wäre aber sauber ist auch was anderes eben Hostel aber alles ok soweit. Was ein wenig blöd ist sind die steigende Preise ist irgendwie nicht gerechtfertigt für die 7 Bett Zimmer von einem auf den andern Tag 8 $ mehr zahlen zu müssen.


91%

Great stay at home at the mansion. Nice mix of nationalities and short term/long term travellers with plenty of insight and advice about the city. Met some great people here with who i travelled the great ocean road and will continue to keep in touch with. Awesome place to start a journey :)

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I booked in for one week, stayed 2 months! And I've been back a few times since on the way through Melbourne, great hostel, amazing atmosphere, comfortable, safe and lovely staff who help you out whenever they can - couldn't recommend enough!

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Receptionist was rude and seems like he has worked too long in that position. He was never around when my friend and I needed to speak with him, puts up a "be back in half hour sign" frequently. Will not recommend this hostel to anyone

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Anonymous

Owner Comment (Hide)
You made a booking for a friend who did not arrive until the next day. Other hostels would have charged you but we didn't. You also checked out one and a half hours late, again we didn’t charge you even though this delayed a guest checking in, who’d been on international flight. It wasn’t fair on them and you showed absolutely no cooperation or urgency in helping this guest.

91%

Friendly staff Great location Clean bathrooms

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 Next » last »
(52 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback