X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home at The Mansion Reviews

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1541 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The staff was great, clean toilets and showers. Great location.


77%

It's on Victoria Parade and all rooms face it, so loud, and not much by the way of common lounge/TV room other than 2 very small areas and the bar but otherwise clean, comfortable and for Melbourne well priced.


86%

Really great hostel. The thing that really makes it are the awesome staff - always very helpful and willing help with any problems you may have as well as just generally being really nice. The rooms are fairly standard and the kitchen is okay. There is a bar attached to it which is both a good and bad thing. Good as it brings a great atmosphere and a place to hang out but bad because you can't drink your own alcohol inside when the bar is open. Free movies and playstation (yay) but no free wifi.

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel to base yourself whilst staying in melbourne. The building itself was once an old mansion turned training college for Salvation Army and holds great charm and character. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, yet not at all roudy like other hostels. The staff are extremely helpful and outgoing and reception is open 24hrs, perfect for late night arrivals like mine. I'd througherly recommend this hostel over others available in the city.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

There was no activities :(

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place, right on the edge of CBD; staff are friendly and helpful, rooms and toilets are ever clean. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great experience for the money and such a short stay!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

One of the best hostels i've stayed at in AUS. Staff was really good without seeming pushy about tours and everything. The only thing to point out is that the wifi is expensive..


100%

One of the best hostels! Great location. Friendly and helpful staff who will make you feel at home and also throw in some great banter. Would definitely recommend and stay here again. Big up Rich n Saskia xxx


80%

Very good location and well maintained. Staff was friendly, but the other guests were all long-term tenants and it lacked atmosphere.


60%

The hostel was good value for our money. My only two comments would be: 1. the floors are very creeky (the building is very old so I do understand that this is just a fact of life) so this might make it hard for light- sleepers in shared accommodations. 2. it would really be an added benefit to have screens on the windows so that windows can be left open without unwelcome bugs sneaking in on hot nights.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were all extremely friendly ans welcoming and a fantastic place to meet people in a safe environment. Would definitely stay again.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really good hostel especially compared to what australia has to offer! We had no problems and the additional activities put on are very good, I.e free drink etc.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Hostel was great! Such an unique building. The inside was very clean. No deposits required for keys or blankets. Very clean rooms and cleanest bathrooms I've seen in Australia.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is close to the tram, to the art part of Melbourne and really nice. You get one drink for free in the bar downstairs (no worries the bar close at ten). You have to pay for the internet ;(


94%

Not sure if the storage for leaving your luggage is very secure.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Very good hostel for location and staff are really helpful and friendly. Atmosphere was just not there, no communal area making it difficult to socialise with new people. Overall stay ok if you a just wanting a quick stay in the city and a good location.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Although I occupied a room above the downstairs cafe/bar (where there was lively music) I was pleasantly relieved when the place closed at 11. Very reasonable time to allow those who needed to to sleep.Clean, safe, friendly. Liked having an opening window, fan and tv supplied too.Thank you

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Really awesome hostel! Staff are all super friendly and the bar downstairs is great. Really good showers and rooms and daily activities. The only down side is the expensive wifi.


91%

The best hostel I've ever stayed in! The staff is soooo friendly, and incredibly helpful, location is good, bathrooms are amazing. Clean and quiet. Not a party hostel at all. If you are looking for a good night sleep, Home at the mansion is the best!

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(72 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback