X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hong Kong Hostel Reviews

A1, 3/F, Paterson Bldg., 47 Paterson St., Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
2522 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Location was good, right next to Causeway bay station. The staff were helpful, gave us a free map and seemed like they were keen to assist us if we needed anything. Unfortunately the room was less ideal. Placed in a different building to what we expected, the room we were lead to smelt like stale sweat and B.O. Anyone would have struggled to get access to the building if they were not staying there but I'm not sure anyone would have tried.


60%

In Hong Kong places are small, so is this. So dont be suprised! Internet only in the reception, not in the rooms. A bit problem with the toilet and shower as they closed one in our floor, there was only one shared to use for everyone. Proper lockers are missing to store youre valuables.

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

VALUE FOR SHORT STAY.VERY GOOD LOCATIOM.

  • 18th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The room looks too gloomy and old. Had to wait very long for toilets.


60%

Receptionist was disinterested and impatient. Different buildings is a little inconvenient. Could use an overall improvement in attitude. Also, hostel is very hard to find. There should be signs on the ground floor of the building at least.


80%

I had a good stay at Hong Kong Hostel. Thank you all very much. I am planning to visit Hong Kong again next year with more friends and my family. Hope i can see more smiles of your staff. Best Regards,

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

very enjoyable stay


86%

It would be great if there is a sign at the main entrance. But the directions given here are good.

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The address where you check in and pay for your room isn't even on the same street as the dorms! We walked about 10 minutes in the city streets with a staff member to another building and she took us up to the dorms after we checked in. We had to walk back and forth to check out. Also, staff was not very helpful, one of the bathrooms was flooded and the wifi obviously did not work because it was blocks away. Out of all the hostels I stayed in while visiting china, this is the one I regret.


77%

Good hostel


89%

The Hostel is well located, the staff is perfect and the dorm comfortable ! The shuttle to the airport is very near ! You will enjoy your stay for sure!!

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

We stayed for 8 nights but our bins were only changed twice.


77%

Good location with a supermarket nearby to get ur fav breakfast / drinks / snacks. All major public buses are available close by. Victoria Park for running nearby. Airport free shuttle drop / pick up point just 1 street away at park lane hotel causeway Bay. 40 bus starts from nearby to ocean park. Ca walk to hostel from Wan chai night spots.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The location was really good as it's just few minutes walk to Causeway Bay MTR station. Lots of shopping mall along the way, However, I must conpliant about the wifi I stay there for 3 night but only the 1st night access wifi, we ask the reception to fix it but since we left the wifi still doesn't work. other than that everything is fine.


57%

Wifi signal weak, the community area is too small for the number of guests, bed as hard as rock, bathrooms not clean.


63%

it was great and cheap!


60%

Staff were not very helpful. Asked for a second key as we had one between two people but were denied. You have to have a key in the power slot of the room to power the air con. This is very fustrating in a dorm room as obviously people need their keys in the morning to be able to have showers or just go out so the othrrs left in the room have to get up and insert their key. Cleaners come in to early to change bedding, wake up others in the room or just get in the way if you're trying to getready


77%

Clean and quiet hostel, especially on the fourth floor :) Very good location, in the heart of shopping district Nice and helpful staff Overall a good impression

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

WiFi is horrible, we booked twintwin bed and got bunk bed....


80%

Good location, cheap, clean. Only downside is the toilet door is not working.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(121 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback