X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hong Kong Hostel Reviews

A1, 3/F, Paterson Bldg., 47 Paterson St., Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1724 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

At the beginning we booked a 3 bed dorm for me and my friend, and when we got there we got upgraded to a private room instead which was pleasant. The location was also good, close to the shopping district with easy access to the MTR and lots of good food around. However, the bathrooms were quite dirty, all of them were clogged, and mouldy black grime build up on the bathtub curtains was just disgusting. Lastly, wifi did not work in the room at all.


86%

This was a great hostel, and bigger than I thought it would be. Only problem was the TV not working, I asked a few times for them to fix it but they didn't. However, I would visit this place again next time I'm in Hong Kong. Great location in Causeway Bay!


60%

Rooms were small but they had everything you would need (lockers, space for bags, hot showers, good bathrooms, clean). Our room seemed to be in the storage area though so we didn't have wifi in the room. We could go to the common area but it was burning hot, so staying there for more than 10 minutes was impossible. Staff was awful. The simplest requests were treated with anger, disdain, or indifference. Stay here if you need a bed and nothing more.


91%

Value for money..

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

No wifi in room 2 Fighting in the lobby is not professionnal... Amy is a very good professionnal staff girl !


83%

Location is goooooooood!!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Fantastic location. Nice place to stay at.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Internet no good, bathrooms so so, no proper common areas to hang out. Also they commonly increase rates when you try to extend your stay. They wanted 190 instead of 130 HKD from me. Stayed there and now at Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY, only 5 min apart. Yesinn is way better. Go there.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

More hangers please


97%

The hostel was very clean and the host/hostess was really helpful, kind, and polite. The hostel location is really great for those who like shopping and enjoying Hong Kong lifestyle as it is located in Causeway Bay the heart of Hong Kong.


89%

wc too small

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Calm, clean and convenient!

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a great time! We didn't stay in the main hostel building, but in an apartment in the building across the street. Basically we had a dorm, our own common area and a basic kitchen. Location is good, but in a quite expensive area. However the MTR is only a few minutes away which makes it easy to get around and visit other parts of the city. Chill atmosphere, very social and easy to meet other travelers.


89%

Spent 2 nights here for a business trip. Simple, clean room on a great location, at a very reasonable price.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Advantages: great location in Causeway Bay, close to MTR. Great security with key cards and lockers. Friendly, helpful staff. Great common area. Free Wifi. None of the Chungking Mansions sleaziness. Air-conditioned dorms. Suitable for people of all ages: I met people freshly out of college and some in their 60s and 70s. Disadvantages: Wifi only in common area/reception area. Common area is not air conditioned and can get quite muggy in the hot weather; there are fans, though.


91%

Very friendly staff, excellent location and clean room.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Very friendly, helpful staff. The 4th floor needs upgrading to match 3rd floor and other rooms. Enjoyed my stay, thank you.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Solid hostel choice on Hong Kong island. Great choice over sketch Chungking mansions


91%

stayed for 10 days in early may. staff where very good and helpful especially the young lady on the morning shift. Would definitely stay there again. recommended !!!! value for money.


80%

Thanks for the free upgrade to a private room! We really appreciated your hospitality and friendliness. The room was comfortable and your hostel is easy to get to.


(180 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback