Hostelworld.com

Hostal Cuija Coyoacan

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

I have stayed at many hostels around the world and in Mexico and this one is top notch! Even though it is located in the southern suburb of Coyoacan is is well situated to Cento Coyoacan, restaurantes, mercados, shopping centrers, cinemas, and the Coyoacan Metro Station. The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. Even with my only functional espanol I could communicate and ask questions. The included breakfasts are lovely and there is a washing machine available for 40 pesos. Highly rated!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
9.4

This is a very nice hostel, with more of a bed and breakfast vibe. It is quiet, well decorated, safe, in a great location, 10 minutes walking from Coyoacan center and about 15 from the closest subway. The hosts were very helpful and nice. Breakfast is home made. There's also a very nice sun terrace and a very nice garden in the back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
8.0

Positives: Great location to museums and central Coyoacan. Charming hostel with garden and roof terrace nice breakfast Areas of weaknesses: not a place to meet people (stayed there for two days) not a party hostel, a more serious hostel about 15 minute walk to Metro Overall, I would book again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
7.7

The hostel had some nice people working there, pretty friendly but I really wish that they knew some English. Me knowing some broken Spanish made it easier to communicate with them but not easy. The toilets need to be cleaned more often, and the faucet on the sink near the men's dorm looks like its about to break, fix it please. Otherwise, it was a nice hostel with nice complimentary breakfast serving something new everyday.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.6

The hostel is beautiful and very clean, lots of common spaces... But it really needs to enforce quiet hours. The 3 nights I was there, 2 Argentinians were yelling in the common area right outside the dorms (while there are 3 common areas isolated from the dorms) till 3am!!! They couldn't care less when we asked them politely, twice, to keep it down because one of us had to get up at 5.30. Seriously I've done a few wild party hostels and they were not nearly as annoying and loud as those 2!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.9

This place is located in an amazing house full of art. The house is clean, beautiful, with fast wifi, great outdoors, and very comfy furniture to lounge in. The 4-bedroom dorm is tiny and it got very cold at night. I wish the trash in the bathroom got emptied more frequently because TP had to be disposed in the trash cans rather than flushed and it started smelling after a while.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
10.0

1. I usually stay at a Hilton when I travel, lol. I picked this hostel bc of its high marks for location/cleanliness/security/service. My stay exceeded expectations. 2. Hostel is a 15-min walk to the Coyoacan Metro stop, parks, a market, a supermarket, a small mall & a large bakery & the Frida Kahlo museum. Taxi from the airport is ~mx$250 3. Bring earplugs bc neighborhood dogs & cats all night. Bring warm clothes for sleeping & maybe a book light. 4. Bring yr Spanish-spkg A-game.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Dec 2016
10.0

This is more luke a BnB than hostel. It is awsy from noise of city centre however an easy metro trip to anywhere in Mexico City. I can recommend this hostel highly enough. I have stayed in ovet 100 globally. The only place l would stay in Mexico City. Totally Clean, Secure, Comfortable and easy walk to cafes, parks, museums, shopping centre and metro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

The staff was very accommodating of my late arrival and change of plans. The location is in a nice residential neighborhood two blocks from the Frida Kahlo museum, past some nice cafes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
6.3

Honestly was a bit put off my this hostel, the staff mistook my booking as for 2 females instead of 1F and 1M, even though it was clearly marked on hostel world and my gender was marked as "male and female". Anyways, ended up having to share a queen size bed with a man I didn't know very well because they "upgraded" us to a suite. Come the morning and we went downstairs with 8 minutes of breakfast left and were denied by the cooks at first... Overall not super impressed with the staff/attitude.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.