X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Cathedral Reviews

Republica de Guatemala No 4, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1181 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

We really liked this hostel, the bar overlooks the historic centre which is great. Excellent breakfast. Nice, helpful staff - especially Fernando! The computers were really slow and kept crashing but other than that, no complaints.


83%

Nice hostel in the centre of the historic part, with a lovely rooftop bar. Breakfast is really good. Only thing was the key card stopped working and we had to go the the front desk to get it re-magnetised but it doesn't take long to do so. Would recommend staying here.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

This hostel feels more like hotel where you share a room rather than a hostel. The staff are required to follow frivolous rules which makes them seem like they don't care. The key card system is effective only because the cards lose their programming a couple times per day, so you've got to go down to the front desk to get them reprogrammed. It is a very clean place, however, with good access to the public transport system for actually going out in the city. I won't be back.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Its busy, if your looking for a quite place this might not be for you. If your looking for a great location in the heart of Mexico city you can't ask for better.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is just great: fantastic location, great staff, nice rooms, ingenious roof terrace and great atmosphere - I will definitely come back again and so should everyone else do. Thanks to the whole team - we will see us soon! Céline

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your comments and happy travels!

94%

Probably one of the best hostels in Mexico: very central, small dorms, helpful staff, friendly atmosphere, rich and various breakfast, mexican (chileotes,fried eggs,beans) and continental, in the 6th floor with a beautiful view of the town. Deals:discounts with HI card and if you sleep 5 nights,one is free. A lot of free activities. I found some problems with wifi and I used the 2 computers available. Kitchen is poorly equipped and in these days fridge is broken.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your comments! The fridge is now working perfectly and the wifi is working in normal conditions now. We look forward to have you back!

80%

Key card to the room kept failing and had to be fixed almost every time upon returning to the room. Most of the time was not a huge problem, but sometimes got caught behind groups of other guests checking in and had to wait in line 20-30 minutes.


97%

This hostel is in a great location and has a good vibe to it. The roof top bar is always fun and the staff are helpful. A special shout out to Fernando (who runs the daily walking tours for the hostel), he was knowledgeable in all areas of the city and organised some great hostel nights out.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

great breakfast, but noise from lobby makes it impossible to sleep after 9am. typical HI Hostel - large and clean but no atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! It surprises us you did not find atmosphere!! Every day there´s lots of people at the bar, TV room, computers and the kitchen´s terrace! We hope to see you again!

77%

Excellent location in the center of the historic district. Rooftop bar/breakfast area had a great view of the cathedral and Zocalo. Not much information available about the local sites. Room was very hot - no outside window - and noisy because it opened up to the center area where you could look across and see your neighbor and to the bar down below. I used ear plugs to block out the noise, which helped, but it still didn't quiet down until around midnight. Staff was helpful when asked a ?

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they certainly help us. We do offer fans on request for the rooms. Happy travels!

97%

Would recommend anyone to stay here... it was a brilliant location right in the heart of the city. Really safe staff were so helpful and friendly great walking tours around the city found places we wouldn't have found on our own!! Rooftop Bar was fantastic different things happening everynight. Breakfast good selection of items to choose from ...

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I will come back to this very nice place any time I can.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! Happy travels!

74%

good hostel but it does have drawbacks: the booking system is poor and you often have to change rooms each night, the electronic keycards stopped working twice a day, and the hostel was busy but it had no atmosphere and the common areas were always empty


97%

Great Hostel! had a great time over there, the staff is super friendly. It is loud like they say in the comments, but they can give you earplugs if you ask for them, they made my trip so much better i can't be thankful enough.


86%

Great location, loved the rooftop bar. Private room was great value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments and happy travels!

89%

Some of the beds were in really bad shape this time. I've stayed here before and this hasn't been an issue so maybe it was just bad luck with the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! The matresses in the room you stayed in have already been replaced. Once again, thanks!

77%

The location of this hostel is second to none. Right on the zocalo and directly behind the cathedral where something is always going on. Breakfast was incredible on the roof terrace but the place just lacked atmosphere and the kitchen is very basic. Staff helpful and friendly and offer plenty of tours if abit pricey. Computers were a bonus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments!! When you were here, the hostel was almost full with 2 big groups, that´s why you did not find the usual great atmosphere an social environment. We are, by far the most sociable hostel in the city. Happy travels!

69%

Very safe place, great location right downtown, amazing rooftop bar where ok-breakfast is served. A nice and helpful place overall, however, the value-for-money is very poor. For a room for two people for one night, we payed about USD 50 and encountered a room that resembled a broom chamber. For 20 - 30% of the price, this would absolutely not have been a problem at all, because facilites were okay and it was quiet clean, but for this price I really would have expected something else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! You paid a bit less than 42 USD for your double room, wich is 21 USD p/p. If you paid your proposed 30% of that, it would be 12.6 USD for a double room with flat screen TV, shower and toilet. Plus free hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, free use of computers, free walking tours and all of it in the HEART of Mexico CIty. Are you serious? You probably have a wrong idea of Mexico City´s prices. We kindly invite you to shop around to realize how good of an option we are!

100%

Excellent across the board! It was great to have the owners come around and introduce themselves, make sure that everyone is having a good time and that there were no issues. The roof top terrace bar was great and we were lucky to have two nights of DJs and great music!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your comments! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Happy travels!

60%

Noise everywhere ! And do not eat that breakfast there !

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(94 results)


View all Mexico City Hostels

Please give us your feedback