X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3969 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The hostel was very lively and charmingly decorated. The staff - particularly the nice man who was making breakfast on the morning we left - couldn't be more helpful or more courteous. The room was good with excellent bathroom facilities. (Mattress could have been a bit thicker, though!) Didn't get an opportunity to try out the pool, to sit in the TV room or use the laundry facilities.


91%

Great hospitality from the front desk staff member (Liz I believe it was). Good atmosphere in meeting new people. Nice and relaxed areas to come together. Strong wifi connections throughout. Good advice and delicious cookouts.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

India House is fantastic. Very close to the streetcar into town, but everything is als within walking distance. Huge kitchen, plenty of fridges, large dorms, lounge, outside space, pool. One of the best hostels I've stayed. Staff could be more invloved but it is a big hostel so not really necessary. Overall, great vibe


100%

It's the best hostel I ever been at .most amazing accommodation in New Orleans .staff the best

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Dorms are not cleaned every day People leave dirty stuff on the floor when they leave People don't clean the terrasse after they party and they don't wash their dishes in the kitchen (the maids do it every morning for them...) Only one toilet and shower upstairs for at least 5 rooms/dorms, no floor carpet so it's all wet and slippery

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Had an amazing time at India House Hostel, would recommend it to anyone!


100%

I've stayed at India House before and will stay there again. Love the place.


80%

very chilled out hostel only problem was really the location however it is serviced frequently with public transport on the corner 1 min walk away.


43%

Arrived early,our beds were free so we made them up and went out for the day.Came back later and they had been stripped,annoying.As nice as the AC is on a hot night it gets really cold at night and we are only provided with a top sheet. We stayed there for 4 nights and the bin was not emptied until our last day attracting flies even though they tell us not to bring food into the rooms for this reason. We cooked pizza one night but there was no towel/glove to remove it,the desk gave me a sheet!?


94%

One of the better hostels I've stayed at in America... Atmosphere was amazing and the pool was a great spot to chill out before the night ahead. Also a tram is only a 50m walk away that takes you into the city. Lots of fun


74%

Great place but good breakfast food! Staff is knowledgable but not too friendly when off duty. We had pest issues in the room even though we never brought food inside. Wish they did a better job of keeping out roaches. Other than that no complaints!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place with friendly staff and good meals at great price. Streetcar to french quarter 1min walk. They clean daily, outside pool with deck and AC in rooms and lounge area. big bonus. Mos def going back next year.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel exceeded my expectation of cleanliness. My dorm's (Lincoln room) bathrooms were plenty and was very clean and updated. This is much better than the AAE hostel. My only issue was the air vents were closed and it took forever to cool the building during the sweltering heat. I couldn't open them because the building has a 20-foot ceiling. So you won't feel claustrophobic on the top bed.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel! Especially if you get to stay in the main house, wonderful atmosphere and great facilities. The pool is so much fun and it's a real party each night around the pool.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Super bohemian vibe, creaky wood floors and art on all the walls. Clean pool, friendly staff, trolly line super close. Sit on the pourch, drink a beer and make new friends. Really awesome hostel. Blankets and sheets were totally adequate. Bring a towl of course. Would go back and probably will. Also, Taj, the big fluffy hostel cat :)

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I arrived a day late due tp journey delays and was pleased to find the hostel took a night's board off my bill with no fuss. The staff were friendly, welcoming and attentive and the atmosphere was vibrant and positive. The centre of town is easily accessible - just hop on a streetcar ($3 per day) and you can get anywhere.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Must stay for New Orleans area! Fun, definitively NO and affordable rates for a range of options.


86%

Amazing stay! It's all about the atmosphere. If you want to chill and not socialise this hostel isn't for you. My bed was pretty much in a corridor which for me just meant meeting more people but for some may be uncomfortable. The atmosphere is amazing and it's make your NOLA trip feel like home away from home.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Cool place, with a nice vibe. Wasn't quite as energetic as i thought, but staff were friendly and useful, the pool area at the back is cool. The mattresses were ripped and the sheets didn't fit the mattress right, so slept on the plasticy surface. An overweight staff member kept inviting himself into our room, not explaining who he was or what he was doing, or responding to our conversation, and instead he just helped himself to our toilet and unloaded an absolute A-bomb of a turd


94%

This hostel is great. It's really quirky and has a great atmosphere. Great value too. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(257 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback