Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

India House Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 5,961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 5,961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 8.1
India House Backpackers Hostel Located at 124 South Lopez St, , New Orleans.
India House Backpackers Hostel
USA
New Orleans LA LA 70119 124 South Lopez St
83% 5961
29.9683660 -90.0922960
India House Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jonnelander6468
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
6.3

Staff really friendly. Unfortunately I didn't enjoy the atmosphere, it's like a camp surrounded by schacks. Rough around the edges and a bit of a dump. Streetcar take you downtown on Canal st in 10 min though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

An outstanding hostel filled with character and friendly people. The food put on by the staff is of decent quality and won't hurt the wallet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.3

Really cool hostel in a pretty good location. Great atmosphere and great people. Some of the staff seem to be there more for themselves then for the guests and the facilities are rather limited (four showers and toilets for the entire hostel).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
8.9

Great stay, lots of fun people, huge community, a bit outside of the french quarter but an easy 15min trolley ride there. I would highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
9.4

India House might be my favorite hostel that I have ever stayed at. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The place is very relaxed but also clean and orderly. The location makes it easy to get just about any where. I would recommend this hostel to anyone and look forward to coming back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
8.9

Super happy with the overall feel of the place. Easy to get into town, near a few good pubs. Friendly staff. Just a truly grouse place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
2.9

I wouldn't recommend this hostel to my friends. Firstly, I found the staff very unhelpful. When we first got there they were unable to show where the hostel was on the map, and weren't able to give us additional information on tours, parties, and recommended restaurants in New Orleans. In our private room, the bunk bed had dirty sheets, the walls had black finger marks, and there were earwigs in the washroom. On checkout, they didn't have a lock up for our bags, poor security.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
7.4

The atmosphere is amazing but with the amount they are charging i think a little more upkeep could be done... the place is a dump guys.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
8.3

I booked my stay at India House at the very last minute on my way from the airport. And I am very glad that I did. My experience at India House is the one by which I'll judge all subsequent stays at other hostels. It's got this bohemian vibe that just makes it feel like you are part of a community, with people you don't know, but want to and will before you leave. The back courtyard is beautiful and rustic at the same time, feels like an oasis in a developing country. Not fancy, but very cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.