Hostelworld.com

India House Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 5,687 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 5,687 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.4
India House Backpackers Hostel Located at 124 South Lopez St, , New Orleans.
India House Backpackers Hostel
USA
New Orleans LA LA 70119 124 South Lopez St
85% 5687
29.9683660 -90.0922960
India House Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Amazing! Such a cool atmosphere and great location. Can't wait to get the opportunity to come back and stay again. If you get the chance, check this place out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
9.1

India House was a really fun and friendly place to stay. The meals are delicious and the pool is perfect on a summers day in New Orleans. Staff were friendly and I love the graffitti covered walls and party vibe. Its just a quick tram from downtown. A perfect place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
9.4

You can't go wrong for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
8.3

We had a great time. The tram takes you directly to the city for so cheap. The area is a bit rough but everywhere in New Orleans didn't feel safe. Staff were lovely, everyone was really nice. The only thing is, there isn't much done to prevent the bug problem. A lot of roaches in and around. Apart from that, it was great! Thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
8.0

This hostel is too far away to walk to the French Quarter, but it's right on the trolley line which makes getting around very easy. The facilities are nice and the pool is an added benefit during the summer months. Staff were a little slow on check-in but otherwise helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay at the India House Backpackers Hostel. The staff was really courteous. I stayed in a private suite (with an attached bath) and it cost me $60 per day. It was well worth the money. The room and the bathroom was clean. I had to buy soap, shampoo, and got towels from home. There was coffee available 24/7, and wifi. I met people from all corners of the world. Thoroughly enjoyed my experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
9.7

From check in to check out, I had a great experience . The staff were very friendly and even had a home cooked meal for purchase, after a while on the road, that was so awesome and appreciated. The facilities were spacious and full of Nola charm. The visitors quickly became like family, thanks to the friendly atmosphere . If you're visiting new Orleans, don't stay anywhere but India house hostel. The location is spectacular. Literally fifty steps to the canal street trolley.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
10.0

India Hostel was a nice New Orleans experience. It has little oldish decoration and furniture but staff is trying to make it clean. It is not in the center of the city but it is extremely close to a popular an inexpensive street car. Pool is great thing at that weather,, not an olympic but bigger than some hotel pools downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.0

The layout is AMAZINGLY social. The other guests were amazing. The staff were amazing. The ONLY thing I would change is maybe do some of the live events a bit later in the evening. I stayed for a week and never saw a live band or open mic happen at the hostel (I may have gotten back from exploring too late in the day though). The only other minor thing is the security of some of the rooms, but you become so friendly with the other guests that it's not really a concern at all.It almost adds to it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

Even though this is clearly a party house the rooms were quiet and our bunk mates were respectful. We had to leave early in the morning, just as other guests were coming back from their night out. We enjoyed our short stay in this unique and artistic little house.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.