Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

India House Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 5987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 5987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
8.9

Amazing hostel, a real travellers hostel. Great experience, and amazing staff. Very good location right on the street car line. No better value in New Orleans.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.1

Nice place to stay in New Orleans.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Awesome atmosphere and a great way to meet people while traveling! The artwork throughout the facility was on point, the kind where you notice something new everytime you look around. Really appreciated the cleanliness and the super friendly service. Will be staying here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
10.0

Great staff, location is easy to get around from the airport and to the french quarter, and a friendly atmosphere. I would recommend to friends and family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.0

Really loved the quirky feel of the hostel! The street car is really close to the hostel, and the entire place makes it super chill! Sure it isn't a 5 star hotel in terms of its facilities, but for $20 per night, it's totally worth it if all you're looking for is a place for the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
8.9

Great place to stay, close to the French quarter. It's a little loud at night when people are drinking and hanging out in the outside common area. If the night time social area was moved a little farther from the sleeping quarters it would be perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

Wonderful experience. This was my first time staying in a hostel so I had some reservations. I was traveling with my 21 year old daughter so I called ahead to get the 411. I was greeted with a friendly voice and given honest information aboit my concerns. I was not disappointed at all with the facilities. I was in the city of NOLA for the marathon that weekend and the location was perfect!! Thank ypu India House for your great hospitality!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
9.4

Nothing but good times. I stayed for 7 days. It's close to the supermarket and the mass transit. So I was able to see to the city and save some money by using their community kitchen. The staff are so cool and friendly. We had so many laughs and conversations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
6.9

Was fine, easy to catch the tram car into town. The hostel is made up of different houses. The door never seemed to get shut properly. Was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
9.4

The hostel is located on Canal and it was beyond easy to get anywhere by the trolley or bus. Even with Lyft, we never spent over 13 dollars. Everyone was so friendly and helpful at the hostel, though sometimes the staff member may be away from the front desk for an extended periods of time (I waited over 30 minutes to check in). But I am pretty sure it was just that one day and one person, I did not have to wait to ask a question any other days we were there. Good money to value ratio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.