X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
4496 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

I don't recommned this place to anyone , if is so unclean and dirty and smelly , very inconvenient bathes, bad facilities , uncomfortable bed and weird atmosphere , not safe enough for women as the staff is not strict about the rules . Only the common place is good and it's location is good too It is the worst experience on hostels I have

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

It was very hard to feel comfortable here because it was so dirty. The bathrooms, the dorms, the kitchen all had dust and dirt hanging from walls to floor. The staff was doing the best they could. It needs a serious cleaning, painting and furniture update. There need to be hooks and shelving/cubbies in the dorms and bathrooms. Tiles in bathroom broken. Toilet seats were ill-fitted. We did not want to hang out here and left and stayed away as long as possible.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The people we met at the hostel were excellent. .the staff were not. They were a bit rude and non informational. .there was also a cat inhabiting the hostel which I did not know and there was nothing on the website about it. And I am highly allergic to cats and had a bad allergic reaction. I stayed at this location 2 years ago prior to last week and had a great experience. This stay however. . Was not. I most likely will not stay here again

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice place, nice people... Can't wait to come back !

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing experience! Staff was very helpful and the facilities were very clean. Would definitely recommend!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This is really the ideal backpacker place. Great atmosphere, every facility you can dream of is available (for little extra cost), nice location, staff is extremely helpful and knows a lot about the area . We stayed in the double room with private bathroom several times and would recommend this place to anyone coming to NOLA.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome hostel! Felt safe and great location. Some staff were slightly rude though.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff can really set the vibe for a hostel. In my opinion, they could do a better job at making the hostel guests feel welcome. Otherwise, the property is beautiful and somewhat conveniently located if you don't mind taking the train for about 15 minutes to reach the French Quarter.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a great time at India House. The dorm was clean and all the staff were very helpful. Loved the atmosphere at this hostel - everyone was there to have fun.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I had a short stay at India House, but it definitely made my experience in New Orleans even better. They seemed very organized, and the room and the bathroom were really clean. The location was also good. There's a street car that takes you towards the French Quarter, which probably takes less than 15 minutes. I think they have a very reasonable price for what they offer. I really liked the atmosphere, and would definitely not think twice about staying there again when I go back to New Orleans.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really just slept there after all. Fyi taxi from the airport is 37 dollars not 8. E2 bus is nearby but really unpredictable it may stop and it may not. Street car to French Quarter is awesome and costs 1.25 each way. ATM at hostel is helpful as they have an 80 dollar minimum and require cash for most things.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Really nice, relaxed place that breaths the sphere of the Big Easy.


80%

Spent 6 days in NOLA. Had an amazing time here. Quite affordable breakfast everyday, pool and live music were definitely my favorite things. I met a lot of people from everywhere. People at the reception weren't helpful at all I was always asking for things, they were very distracted all the time.


91%

Great location, just across the street from trolley and only a short ride to Bourbon St. and all the resturants and nightlife. From there a pleasant ride through the Garden District, past cemetary and war museums to the Audobon Zoo and Park. We had a good 2 nights here and only saw one small cockroach (It is NOLA) NO bed bugs! Stayed in 4 bed (2 bunks) private for our group of 2 'seasoned' hostlers and 2 newly 21 year olds, running hot/cold water,air, decent beds, slept quiet, everyone happy!!!


89%

Really great experience, with an insane amount of cool, chill people. What more could one want?

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I think having an $80 minimum on credit cards is unreasonable. I mean, why? To avoid taxes? Or to collect fees from everyone who needs to get cash out of your ATM?

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

This place was filthy! There was mold on the ceiling and the blankets were dirty. I would not stay at this place again. The staff really didn't seem to care at all. There is a difference between funky and filthy. This could be a great place, but it is very neglected and rundown.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Lovely, cool and fun hostel. Although the facilities could have been a little more accessible (showers, toilets etc...) everything else about it was fantastic. The atmosphere was great for both younger and older travellers. And the atmosphere was fun, relaxed and welcoming. Staff and visitors were lovely. The cat is adorable too. Area was fantastic as well, super close to the Quarter and street car. Very safe area and accessible. Would definitely recommend it!


94%

As a visitor who was on the far side of the generation gap - much older than the majority of the visitors- I felt India House was a welcoming place. It's been many years since I stayed at hostels in Europe. There should be an India House in every city like this one!

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Great vibes and tons of people willing to socialize and have fun. Not the best choice if you want to have a calm stay.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(238 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback