Hostelworld.com

India House Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 5,552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 5,552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.3
India House Backpackers Hostel Located at 124 South Lopez St, , New Orleans.
India House Backpackers Hostel
USA
New Orleans LA LA 70119 124 South Lopez St
85% 5552
29.9683660 -90.0922960
India House Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
9.1

No issues here. Clean, safe, and well located on the streetcar line. Would have been nice to get a blanket with the bedding and the price to use their towels was a bit steep. Beds were comfy, a/c worked great, and shower was hot. Seemed like an older crowd but that's not a bad thing for me. We didn't try the dinner, but it smelled good. Staff was helpful and friendly. Much nicer than another hostel we tried in NOLA previously. Don't miss Betsy's Pancake House down the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
9.1

have stayed at the india house every year for about 15 years for jazz fest. it gets better every year. this year, hostelworld made a mistake and many people had reservations that did not get correctly processed. i had 3 back to back reservations that failed. we were all left with official reservation numbers, and no actual reservations. hostelworld still has not refunded the booking fees or honored the other account credits - (50$ per incident, in my case 3 incidents). still waiting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
8.0

Nice atmosphere. Some of the staff were really friendly others not that much. In my first room the AC wasn't working and the room was super hot. Also, the mattress was really bad, I could feel the frame under me. They moved us to a new room, which had a good AC and a better mattress.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
9.7

Best hostel I've ever stayed at, hands down. The cat was also a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
9.1

my favorite hostel yet! Nothing fancy but the atmosphere, location, staff, and property were the best I've ever experienced! Very chill vibe awesome hangout spot and great location I can't wait to come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
21st Apr 2016
9.4

Not my first stay here and I doubt it'll be the last. It's not spotlessly clean but it's a great price with decent facilities, and if you're in New Orleans to have fun it's the place to stay. Staff are always unfailingly friendly and the range of people you meet here is great. Never a dull day or night it's too easy to never want to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2016
9.7

I loved every minute here. If staff take a liking to you, you can expect a fantastic experience. The people working there are travelers themselves, and therefore are quite world-wise, especially Alex and Robin, those guys kept me occupied and merry for a week! The hostel itself seems to have built its foundation on the sociable nature of travelers; can't recommend it enough! - oh and it has a pool (13th May 1993 - remember me Alex? - her memory intimates me).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
9.4

Nice atmosphere, nice people, nice staff, all is good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
8.0

A good place to stay in NOLA : Great staff, next to the transportation, clean,....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
10.0

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. As an American who has stayed at over a dozen European hostels, I was reluctant to try an American hostel. But the India House Hostel did not disappoint. I've stayed twice now and the hostel has a very sociable and friendly atmosphere... it's very easy to make friends here and meet folks from around the world. But it's also not an overly loud and obnoxious "party hostel." Great communal spaces and dinner served most nights. S

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.