Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

India House Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 5991 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 5991 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Feb 2017
5.1

They just have 1 bathroom upstairs and it stinks. It is a old house which really, really need some reforms. The staffs in the kitchen were dirty, someone got my food from refrigerator. The good thing there was the localization, because you can get the trem and go to French Quarte or City Park very easy. I was sleeping in the female room and showed up some guy in the room just to see though the window, I don't think that it is correct, if I got a female room it is because I don't want men there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
9.4

I absolutely loved my stay at the hostel and only wish I could have stayed longer! The staff were incredible, being very helpful at the front desk whenever I had a question and even face painting during Mardi Gras. The facilities are great - I loved the pool, the cooked breakfast and the kitchen. Overall it was an amazing experience and j can't wait to come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.6

Amazing place and atmosphere, you cannot even describe it! The staff was really helpful as well, always happy to answer questions and up for a chat. The bathrooms are overall quite clean which is a prowess when you think of the number of guests on a period like Mardi Gras and you're invited to let the staff know if you see anything dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
8.9

Amazing hostel, a real travellers hostel. Great experience, and amazing staff. Very good location right on the street car line. No better value in New Orleans.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
6.9

A Good Place for young Bag Packers to meet and stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.1

Nice place to stay in New Orleans.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Awesome atmosphere and a great way to meet people while traveling! The artwork throughout the facility was on point, the kind where you notice something new everytime you look around. Really appreciated the cleanliness and the super friendly service. Will be staying here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
10.0

Great staff, location is easy to get around from the airport and to the french quarter, and a friendly atmosphere. I would recommend to friends and family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.0

Really loved the quirky feel of the hostel! The street car is really close to the hostel, and the entire place makes it super chill! Sure it isn't a 5 star hotel in terms of its facilities, but for $20 per night, it's totally worth it if all you're looking for is a place for the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
8.9

Great place to stay, close to the French quarter. It's a little loud at night when people are drinking and hanging out in the outside common area. If the night time social area was moved a little farther from the sleeping quarters it would be perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.