Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

India House Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 6123 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 6123 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
10.0

This was my first hostel experience and it was awesome! The staff was very friendly and the place was very clean. Really cool atmosphere, I highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.4

This was the best hostel i've stayed at in the USA so far. The staff were so friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2017
7.1

I was first put off with India house but the grungy hostel atmosphere grew on me. My wife and stayed in a private room with private bathroom which was perfect for what we needed. The a/c was a godsend as the humidity would have been unbearable to sleep in. Staff were ultra friendly and informative. Common areas were good. The Location at first seemed a bit far from the action but being on Canal st. made the street car at really accessible. Overall I was really happy with my 4 nights stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Had a private room, and definitely recommend it - if you like to socialize but also like privacy. Especially with amenities, I like having my own shower and restroom area. Enjoyed the stay, would go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
10.0

The facilities were all quite adequate and comfortable and the staff that helped me were all great. I am older than the average hostel guest and, although I did not request it or particularly need it, the girl who checked me in went out of her way to find me a bottom bunk convenient to a rest room. When a mistake was made concerning my sheets. etc., it was quickly and pleasantly correct. I appreciated the free coffee, cups, forks, etc. furnished in the kitchen. The breakfast was good and cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel, has a really cool atmosphere! 1 minute walk to tram into town. Staff are super helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
6.9

Our stay was alright, however over half the staff we encountered had unpleasant attitude. They replied with a tense tone to us and others. The questions we asked were simple and polite, so no need for such aggression. Please make sure that staff who work there understand that it's a customer based service, not about when their next break is coming up. Furthermore, we stayed at the Bunkhouse and it was dirty! Trash on floor and girl working there just shrugged her shoulders when she saw it?!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
10.0

Loved this place! I have stayed at a few different hostels and cheap hotels in New Orleans. I lucked out on this one, cause I got the last bed in a dorm room and found this place to be so much more than a bed for the night. Great food served out back at night and for breakfast, and while I immediately noticed the pool, I didn't realize what that would mean for my short stay until my plans changed and I ended up hanging out poolside all day. I made friends from France, NZ, UK, US. What a gem!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2017
10.0

The best hostel I stayed in so far with so much space to hang around and a pool too, but there was still weed smell!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
9.1

India House was my first hostel experience, and they set the bar pretty high. Awesome bohemian atmosphere in a quiet oasis just a short trolley ride from the bustling action of the city, within walking distance of several great restaurants & bars (though they also served cheap meals daily - breakfast was awesome!) The staff was stellar - very friendly, chill, and helpful when we needed advice or to schedule a tour. Every day they write a list of local events/music on whiteboards at the desk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.