Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

India House Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 5,912 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 5,912 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 8.3
India House Backpackers Hostel Located at 124 South Lopez St, , New Orleans.
India House Backpackers Hostel
USA
New Orleans LA LA 70119 124 South Lopez St
84% 5912
29.9683660 -90.0922960
India House Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
5.7

The property is located in a really inconvenient location and there are no restaurants, grocery stores close by. The entire neighborhood around the hostel is entirely dark and quiet in the evenings. The cleanliness of the bathrooms is also below par compared to a lot of other hostels. However, given the price, one cannot really complain too much. The hostel does attract good crowd and has a chilled out ambience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
9.4

Great Hostel, very lovely place with an incredible atmosphere. Very nice staff, very easy to get to know new people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
9.7

I loved it! The atmosphere of the building is great, and the staff were all very helpful and kind. I particularly liked the common area out back with all the plants. The facilities were organized well, and my stay in the girls dorm upstairs felt very safe. Although i didnt take advantage of them, but the offered meals seemed very convenient. It gave off a college party vibe, but if thats not your thing it didnt get in the way or bother us. I'd visit again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Nov 2016
5.7

When it comes to facilities it's pretty much like going to a festival.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
5.1

Main complaint - There were NOT adequate lockers available for guests. The lockers that are available are in the hallways rather than the rooms and were all already claimed before I got there. If you plan on staying here, make sure that you can lock your bag somehow.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Nov 2016
7.4

As usual with a hostel great atmosphere & beautiful looking. Not sure if floor is ever cleaned, bathroom cleaned daily but no hot water in the bathroom closest to me, had to use another bathroom further away. No lockers In room but seemed to be safe. Bad area but you can stay safe by being sensible. You can get the tram straight into downtown by walking 1min accross the road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • abrilrob
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
8.9

Everything was fine. Good location if you use the streetcar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Nov 2016
9.4

Loved this place so much. Amazing pool, awesome people. Perfect party location, great food available. Stay here you won't regret it. Left my heart in NOLA.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
4.9

Hostel MAIN House looks nice with pool and everything is colorful (india style). Private Rooms are located in the Street. No wifi just in main house. Rooms feature nothing except a really uncomfy bunk bed. There are holes in the walls on the ground. We had animals in our room. Lights in bathroom were not working. Location is not central- but you can take the Street car to the interesting parts of NOLA which is cheap and fun.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
8.9

Awesome stay at India House!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.