Hostelworld.com

India House Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 5,638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 5,638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.3
India House Backpackers Hostel Located at 124 South Lopez St, , New Orleans.
India House Backpackers Hostel
USA
New Orleans LA LA 70119 124 South Lopez St
85% 5638
29.9683660 -90.0922960
India House Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2016
9.4

I've stayed at this hostel twice now. It's not the cleanest, it's not in the safest neighborhood but the price and the staff completely negate those two things. I'll settle for a questionable shower curtain if it means I am surrounded by the best people I could hope for in one of the cooler hostel structures I've been in. The neighborhood may be a bit sketchy, but the trolley is incredibly convenient, as well as plenty of food options including a few grocery stores. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
10.0

Will be better if they provide you some towels. And be faster to attend you when you need to do your check in.( we spent 4h waiting)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
5.7

Decent hostel, with good facilities. On the other hand, they should pay more attention to their staff. The lady in the front desk was extremely rude everytime we talked to her (from check in to help regarding food).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
8.6

We had a great time! But please people, stop writing wannebe philosophical bullshit on hostel walls!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
4.6

My bed was in a axillary structure built from 2x4s and plywood. There was a 18" wide ramp leading to the shutters that acted as doors. There was no door knob. No way to lock the room from the inside. Whenever someone walked up the ramp, the whole structure shook. Just outside the structure was a common area where other tenants loudly congregated until early morning. The area was often strewn with empty beer bottles. The showers were mixed gender, again with no locks.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
9.4

Free Wi-Fi, friendly staff, cheap and delicious meals, and a clean place to shower and rest your head. The visitors from the hostel are very cool, and it was a safe and fun vibe. My only issue was that a man who worked there, entered the women's dorm, unannounced(no knocking or anything!!), several times(bed count, bringing in a mattress, who knows what the 3rd time)- triggering for women who want to be in an all female space for a reason. He came in a couple of times like that- not cool!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2016
8.6

Great stay here. Highly recommended hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
8.6

Really great hostel to stay at for a great price. Location is only a short tram car ride from the French quarter (bourbon and Frenchman street). Available $5 hot cooked brekky and dinners were a great money and timesaver and really delicious. Very good and friendly atmosphere with heaps of cool people. Great staff happy to help with extending stays etc. Would definitely stay here again 👌

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
8.0

The place was good for the money we paid. Location is good, the atmosphere was really friendly. The rooms are clean but basic. The staff, one guy was really helpful but one girl was not. Overall impression is good we would stay there again! Be careful the dinner sells out after ten minutes!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
8.9

I was originally a little skeptical, but this hostel was AMAZING! Awesome place, really great atmosphere and everyone is so friendly. Great value money, and some fab cheap breakfasts (and dinners, so I heard). This place isn't the absolute best in cleanliness and security, but it is all by far made up for by the atmosphere - perfect if you want to party, but also if you want to just chill and chat to cool people. A 20 min street car ride to the French quarter. Would stay here again anytime!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.