Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

India House Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 5,718 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 5,718 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.4
India House Backpackers Hostel Located at 124 South Lopez St, , New Orleans.
India House Backpackers Hostel
USA
New Orleans LA LA 70119 124 South Lopez St
85% 5718
29.9683660 -90.0922960
India House Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.7

I always stay at India house in nola. The price is unbeatable, and everyone is nice. I love meeting people from other countries and finding out what brought them to Nola. They serve a delicious meal every night, too, for only $6.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
7.1

Cool atmosphere, pool was great, close to the streetcar line but a few cons. Room lock felt flimsy enough that a well placed shoulder would open it fairly easy. No lockers for luggage so I didn't like leaving valuables in the room. Nothing against the hostel, but my roommates were the messiest girls ever and felt the need to spread their clothes across the whole room and other bunks. Cockroaches in the downstairs kitchen/lounge area. Can't expect much more for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
7.4

I stayed one night in a 6 bed female dorm room after staying three nights in a private room with a friend. One shower and toilet to share between a lot of rooms. Wasn't a good set up. And I don't think it was very clean either. You couldn't flush the toilet if someone else just did before you which left toilet paper and "other" stuff in the toilet. Loved the pool and easy location to get to the French quarter and bourbon street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

Was a really good place to stay, awesome that there is a pool, super close to getting the public transport

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
9.4

Great traveler's hostel! It is huge and has many different rooms, so it is very easy to meet people. The outside pool/patio is great for relaxing, drinks, & meeting new friends :] A big group of us went out together! We stayed in a 16 bunk room and it wasn't bad at all. The rooms are actually divided into smaller groups of 6 & 4 bunks, with 2 bathrooms inside, also common bathrooms & showers in the center that anyone can use. The food was cheap & good! Very close to the trolley to get around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2016
8.9

Very nice hostel. Located in mid city, not extremely close to the main bourbon street area, but the hostel has very good price. Nice place, the staff is really cool, nice and helpful. The place and the people are nice. Clean toilets. Excellent deal, I would recommend it and go again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
9.4

My room with private was great! Ample parking for those who have cars. I did and had no problems finding parking and knowing the car was safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
8.6

I stayed at India house for 3 nights last week and it was one of my favourite hostels in America. If you're looking for somewhere very central, modern or clean then this isn't the place for you but I had an amazing time here and would recommend it to everyone. The staff are great and so friendly and the pool and outdoors area are an amazing place to meet people. This place attracts the coolest friendliest people which as someone travelling alone is a must. I would stay here again without a doubt

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
7.7

Comfortable place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Amazing! Such a cool atmosphere and great location. Can't wait to get the opportunity to come back and stay again. If you get the chance, check this place out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.