X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4702 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I'm an older (over 40) traveler, and I was surprised that I was restricted to a private room. I chose to stay at a hostel to have a more social experience, but I was required to pay for two beds in a room although I only needed one. I felt a little discriminated against. I should be able to decide for myself if I can "handle" a dorm or shared room.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved meeting range of guests. Location near Canal St tram is excellent. Loved NO. Thanks.


80%

its nice to have a full bathroom with shower, toilet and sink :)


94%

Very nice hostel, great atmosphere ! I like it more in the hostel than out in the city.


97%

India House was able to give me last minute accommodations because of a cancelled flight. It looks great and I was treated very well. The sheets and bed were very clean and the staff was friendly. The location is right off Canal Street, so grabbing a streetcar is easy and if you wanted to, you could take a kinda long walk to the downtown area.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Stayed at the hostel for 5 nights in a private room and had a great time. The room itself is very basic. A bed and a bathroom, nothing else but when you don't spend much time in the room it doesn't matter. The atmosphere was great and the communal areas were a great place to meet fellow travellers. It's only a 10 second walk to the streetcar stop so in a convenient location. The choice of food for breakfast was brilliant and very good value for money!


86%

One of my favorite hostels in the u.s. hands down. 2 stays in the last 5 years.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely hostel. Great people, great vibes. Cheap food onsite. Right near the cable car to get down to the French Quarter. Could not recommend highly enough.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It was easy to get to from the airport by bus. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a cat that lives there too. He does not bother anyone, He is usually found behind the check in desk, front door or the top of the stairs. Everyone seems to love this cat. The rooms can be cold in the winter. It was warm when someone left the heater in the kitchen on at night. It is easy to access the streetcar on Canal street. Limited kitchen facilities. Great meals prepared at hostel.


60%

they charge $5 to hire a towel which i think it pretty ridiculous. You can store you're own food but there is hardly any cutlery or bowls to use. my bunk bed was extremely noisy and this bothered me and probably the others staying in the room. There is only 1 bathroom for each floor which could become congested in the mornings. The food cooked at nights was very good and i highly recommend that. I'm sure some thoroughly enjoy the hippie atmosphere but i found the hostel very random and unclean

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Price good, Kitchen below average, bring can opener, cups & cutlery if you can. They dont have much stuff for self-cooking. Barely enough to get by. They sell really good cheap meals and its more geared for bought meals I think. Heating and Aircon was all messed up for a bit when i stayed. its not very close to Frenchman street but a taxi there is about $11. I wish it were closer to Frenchmen St, thats the best place to hang out. Bourbon St is just messy. Staff were nice :-)

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

I stay here about once a year and have always been pleased. Mid-City has come back a long ways since Katrina and there are now several bars and restaurants within walking distance -- check out Chickie Wah Wah two blocks down. Plus, the street car to the Quarter is only a half block away. Frenchman street is still a must.


94%

Great hostel, defs stay here again, big lots of rooms, variety of people, very comfortable, just outside french quarter, real homey vibe, love the living room style common areas, amaze.


91%

Awesome, awesome place for backpackers. The staff was friendly and helpful and the whole house had such a great atmosphere. A

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The staff was pleasant and the price affordable for New Orleans. The room was in a quiet location so loud courtyard noise wasn't heard, especially since it was a young crowd. Coffee is good and available 24/7. We have stayed in countless hostels all over the world and, by far, this was one of the most uncomfortable beds we've slept in. All springs and no mattress! Terrible! Also, towels are not provided.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

This place is great. Right by a canal street streetcar stop, great atmosphere, will stay here again


66%

Stylish hostel close to Canal St which brings you to DT by streetcar in 10min. Rooms were clean and with high ceilings. Staffs friendliness was average. There's a rather small breakfast for $6 and an inexpensive dinner for $5 being served.


83%

It was great! You get to hang out with people from many countries and definatelly makes the amazing experience of being in new orleans even better, 100% recommended. Just one thing that you need to know... they sell the towells, they don't give you one ;)

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice hostel as you would expect it, though a little raunchy but with style. Quiet neighborhood, 15min by streetcar away from DT NO.


83%

India house continues to get better and better. It is located directly off of the canal street car line making easy to get to almost anywhere in the city. Its facilities have improved in my last several visits and the value is fantastic!


(276 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback