X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3969 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I stayed two nights and had an amazing experience. I met people the first night out at the gazebo in the back and had a great time chatting it up and drinking some beers. I didn't go out either night, but although it's not right next tithe French quarter, it is right next to the street car so you can get there easy. There was a great vibe at this place and I would love to go back again soon just to meet new people and hang out!

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice hostel. Convenient location, just 10mins to the French quarter by cable car (stop in front of the hostel). we had a double room (ensuite), spacious, clean, nothing to complain about and a reasonable Price. I would definitely stay here again!

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

❤ India house ... Best place to stay in nola for sure!! :D


86%

Totally worth it!!! Super affordable and its exactly what one needs...a place to crash and a place to bathe!


49%

the building is renovated from the outside, but so old and gloomy from the inside. Cleanliness is not there at all; not in bed sheets, pillows, bathrooms... the bathrooms are mixed (male


83%

This place is OK & has everything you need it is well worn which suggests its a place that people want to be at,everyone is friendly and I met some terrific people here which made my stay memorable. There is a cooked breakfast for $4-$6 if you want and a $5 meal at night which is OK. I would stay again


100%

I have travelled all over the world and to all of the US states, however, the India House is by far the best for the buck, as well as the social interactions!!! A hop step and a jump, literally, from the trolley car and one is downtown on Bourbon Street in about 15 minutes, in the heart of the day or nightlife!!!

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

This was exactly the kind of hostel experience I was looking for, in a trip to New Orleans. The atmosphere was very laid back and international. The trolley was just a few quick steps from the front door. The omelets were top notch.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

1st. It would be nice to tell or post on the hostel web site that upon check in the balance is due in cash otherwise if a credit card is used the minimum charge is $80.00 [How about adding modern alternatives to collect payments like PayPal?] 2nd Staff: Amila. She was very friendly, helpful, demonstrated patience while helping other guests. Good luck to you and your future endeavors

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Such a great place to stay. There's really not much more to say. If you're passing through New Orleans, it'd be a mistake not to stay here.

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Awesome place to stay. I've really enjoyed my time at India House. The staff is great and the atmosphere is spontaneous. I really enjoyed the quality breakfast and dinners. The 8-bed male dorms are not the best place to get sleep. They're located to the next to the main social area. Shift your sleep schedule 4 hours and you'll fit right in. Major downside is the location. Streetcar is needed to get from and to French Qaurter.


83%

I loved staying at the India House, it was fantastic! It is about a 25 min. walk to the French Quarter and next to the trolley station if you don't want to walk. They offer delicious home cooked meals for $5 and have a lovely commons area where everyone hangs out. They only complaint I would have is that the bathrooms are made for one person at a time, so oftentimes there was a line. Also there are small lockers available but you have to bring your own lock. Definitely would recommend this place

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The allowance for problems in reservation could be more organized.

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing atmosphere! Huge common areas make it very conducive to meeting people. We enjoyed a delicious, cheap meal that the hostel made, beers, and new friends each night we were there. 10/10 would recommend, would stay there again


97%

This place is fantastic! People complaining about it being too loud or crazy probably shouldn't be staying in a backpacking hostel...this one was relatively tame in comparison, while still having a great atmosphere! The staff and people were super friendly and helpful, the place had everything you could ever need (including GREAT water temp/pressure...quite the luxury after my travels in different hostels throughout the world...), and the place is located within 20 minutes of anywhere!

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next » last »
(255 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback