X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
4432 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This is the most fun I've had at a hostel!! There are not really enough showers and toilets to go around, and the rooms themselves are fairly basic, but there is a full kitchen and amazing outside and inside common areas where you will meet super interesting, friendly and fun-loving people! If you're in New Orleans to meet people and explore different neighbourhoods India House will do you just fine


80%

The front desk staff were not very pleasant, every time they were approached, the feeling was that we were a nuisance to them (there were several of the same comments from other travellers) The 2 men who cooked the food were so happy and pleasant to talk to you :) I have experienced better hospitality and friendliness at other Hostels… The food, ammentinites, rooms and everything about the rest of the hostel was fantastic… the only thing I suggest is, the staff need an attitude adjustment.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent place to stay overall. Good value. Great atmosphere. Staff was a bit grumpy I felt. Bathrooms need a heater in the winter months. Thanks for the nice Christmas dinner, we thought that was a great touch. And the little extras like the board out front with recommendations was nice. Thanks again!

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel party central! Need to fix the heating though our room was a sauna for a couple nights!


89%

Friendly staff and close to the French Quarter!

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great environment and ambience. Great location, close to streetcar. We stayed in a private double, great setup and clean. The staff was very friendly.


69%

This is my second stay at India house and I was shocked at how different my experience was. This time we got a private room w/a bunkbed, the bottom mattress of which was awful, springs sticking out everywhere. I asked for a different room but found that all the bottom bunk mattresses were thin


74%

Front door needs a lock, or staff should be confirming whether or not someone is staying there when they enter the building. Also, the place was generally grungy. Clean where it really needed to be, but overall sort of yuck. I talked with several staff people and, while they did their job, they were not friendly. There was this undertone of unhappiness or something. Ironic in a place where all over the walls were statements "India House=Love." House was filled with wonderful art!

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

i loved this hostel! it was my first time in a hostel in the united states and i really enjoyed it


100%

I wished the breakfast menu didn't change, it was not very tasty and mostly I miss the eye-opener !!! But for the rest I enjoyed very much my stay at India House :)

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was cool. Lacking in costumer service, my expectations were low.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Some rooms are very noisy and dirty, there are some strange folks around, there are no silverware and plates in the kitchen, it was not possible to see the room before paying, cockroaches in the kitchen, one stuff member refused us to change or upgrade the room

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely loved my stay here. Has a very welcoming feel and a perfect chilled atmosphere. Street trolley is maybe 100m from the door. Very easy to get into town. Staff were very accommodating and I was able to check into my room at 7:30am. Not the most modern hostel but still very comfortable. This place won't be for everyone, but if you like a relaxed atmosphere to meet new people in, then you will enjoy your time here.


94%

Really nice hostel with friendly and helpful staff. Private rooms were good.


51%

Good location but its very dirty :The bedrooms , the tables outside,the living room and the worst the bathrooms!!

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great dinners and breakfast, way better than anything we expected!

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I went with my 23 year old son, he really enjoyed it. He met so many people while there that is why I choice the hostel. I am also a lifetime member. So I have to support what I think is important and that is to meet as many cultures as possible while traveling. Thanks for our stay.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Seriously, this is one of the best hostels in which I've ever stayed. By far the best one in the US. Totally worth staying here. It's a fantastic place to meet friends. India House will make your New Orleans stay an incredible experience. The staff was cool but don't rely on them.


77%

Amazing atmosphere and environment. Would recommend. But.. Rooms really need a good clean, new blankets. And better showers

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff were a little miserable looking but nevertheless helpful.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(233 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback