X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Itaca Hostel Reviews

Ripoll, 21, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2167 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I had a great time at this hostel. I especially loved the staff. They were nice, friendly, and super helpful with all the questions I had. I also enjoyed the large common room because I was able to meet a lot of people from all walks of life. BUT my favorite part would have to be breakfast. Even though they only had cereal and toast, they had the best range of amazing tasting jams and spread! All in all, great place!

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a lovely stay at Itaca Hostel. The only tiny issue was that the wifi did not work consistently, everything else was great. We had a lovely breakfast, rooms and bathroom were clean, staff were very helpful when giving us advice and keeping bags, great location!

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel! Amazing location in the old city part. Very clean, cozy. Staff very helpful :) I'd really like to stay there one again. :)

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel. Small and quiet. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Simple breakfast. Cheap! Less than 5 mins to la rambla and placa de catalunya. Less than 1 minute to la cathedral. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • 19th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

A good small hostel. Great location for going sightseeing, good small-ish size, nice common areas for some down time. Only thing missing would be electronic keys for the doors, bit awkward locking doors and locking people in or leaving for the bathroom and having to look the door behind you only for one minute etc. Good that front desk is available 24/7 and staff were savvy on front door security. A recommended stay.


100%

this was a great place to stay! - right in the heart of the gothic quarter. we were in the 'doble beats' flat which was a 3 min walk from the main hostel and has four rooms. double room was basic but comfy, and the flat itself had a well-equipped kitchen (amazing coffee maker!) and breakfast (cereals and toast) was set out every day. all kept very clean and absolutely no complaints - highly recommended!

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel. Only complaint is Wifi was slow--which is minor.


71%

Stayed in offsite apartment. Hot water in showers wasn't working well.


94%

It was a cute little hostel located in the center of Barcelona. It was safe and worth the money we paid! I would definitely come back

  • 14th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean, quiet hostel in Gothic neighborhood of Barcelona; central location close to Cathedral, Rambla, harbor, etc. Staff was friendly, helpful and professional...with great taste in music. Enjoyed my stay. Thank you.

  • 13th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Rooms are very clean and neat, enough washrooms for all - pleasant stay!

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A wonderful hostel - everything it should be! Thank you!

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

So cosy and comfortable, especially for those who loved smaller, quieter and smoke-free (within the premises) environment. Very much like a well-kept home. Easy walk from Catalunya metro station. The owner and his staff are very friendly and helpful too.


86%

A hostel to my taste: clean, quiet, nice relaxed atmosphere, excellent location. Already recommended the hostel to my brother and his girlfriend!

  • 8th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Fantastic =) staff were great and encouraged me to learn spanish. Its clean and the hostel has such an airy breezy feel and in such a nice place. Most of the guests kept to themselves, the movie nights i saw only had a couple of people. Good to stay if you have friends already or prefer a place to relax .. Look elsewhere for party hostel. (11am walking tour highly recommended its free and was really fun not boring history) Stay at itaca i loved it =)


89%

A small, clean and safe hostel. Location is great for walking to many restaurants and metro stops. Nice size hostel with around 30 beds so the kitchen doesn't get to crowded. Nice eating area with small verandas to enjoy breakfast on. They play an English movie every night at 8. A little difficult to find but then again most things are in Barcelona.


86%

the right shower in the mens bathroom doesn´t get cold until the person next to you is showering.


80%

Very nice Hostel, we stayed in the Beata Red, the location is amazing, you can go everywhere by walk, the staff is friendly, the facilitys are clean. The rooms are a bit dark and the apartment is a bit noisy, so you might be able to hear your neighbours. But since you are in Barcelona, ​​you probably will anyway not spend too much time in the apartment.

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Fix the wifi.


43%

we booked a twin room online for 2 nights and paid 10% deposit about 2 weeks before. we arrived at the hostel at around 10 am in the morning and left our luggages there. when we checked in the room in the evening after sightseeing, the staff told us that the hostel was overbooked!! we could only stayed in the twin room for one night and need to move to another room in another building for another night. what happened?? then what the deposit was for if it cant guarantee a room for us?


(1467 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback