Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jockey Club Mt. Davis Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
8.3

The location is great because of the view. But the place is far away from the city and there is no supermarkets near by. So, there is no normal food in the hostel (with the exception of a breakfast). If you don't want to have a bowl of instant noodles for a dinner, just grab something from the downtown. Bed was clean but not really comfortable (pillow and matrass were hard).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.3

Hard to get to, best option is walking down in the mornings and getting the shuttle back later in the day from the nearest MTR station (opposite a string of Western bars) which is a great service. Great facilities and outlets for travellers and backpackers, if only a little contained. Great kitchen self catering service too. The view at night rivals many in the area for being so unobstructed. Standard rooms and bathrooms but a great place for those a little younger, that want closed environment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • gutfriedvernichter
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Nov 2016
8.0

Quiet place, that is a bit off from central. It's clean and has good facilies that are a bit run down. In winter it's a bit too cold in the bathrooms. No traffic noise. Kitchen is well equipped. Shuttle bus hourly. Some staff members very rude. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
6.6

The hostel itself is quite difficult to get too, the staff are mainly locals which is nice, but is very centred around letting locals stay This make it very difficult if you are a backpacker looking for the travelling experience, toilets are located upstairs, which must be accessed by going outside, not a problem just a little frustrating The view from the hostel is great tho

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
10.0

Good and nice place for recreation Its not in the city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Oct 2016
6.6

What an amazing view at the place. You get rewarded after the bumpy shuttle bus ride to the hill peak. That makes it not too easy to reach. The biggest downside, however, for me was the hidden cost of YHA membership. When I booked the place through Hostelworld on my iphone, it was not mentioned at all. So you arrived there and had to pay 150 HKD extra!!!! Even worse, the staff firstly did not try to understand me. In the end, they still helped me out. I am still shocked by this service attitude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • joethetraveler
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Oct 2016
7.1

Far far away from the city center, you will need to take a shuttle bus to get there. The buses don't run often, so be aware of the times! Many taxis won't go there! It has a summer camp like feel with camping grounds and BBQs. The bathrooms and kitchen were a bit messy, though still clean. There are shared bathrooms/showers for each sex. Rooms are small, but not cramped. Overall decent accommodations for the price if you don't mind the location. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Oct 2016
6.0

It took me a long time to come up the hill with the Taxi. We called the Hostel to ask for the way a few times, but no one picked up the phone. When I arrived they told me, that I can only check in with a YHA-Membership Card, so I had to buy one or 150 HK$ extra. Also you can't expect to get some good food. There is toast-bread, pizza-slices and bowl-noodlesoup available. Bathroom & Toilet had been very dirty, think no one felt responsible for it. The best thing was definitively the view!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Sep 2016
7.4

Really nice hostel located st the top of mt Davis with a great view over the city and the sea. Unfortunately it's a nightmare getting too and from the hostel to the city the bus down is pretty infrequent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
8.0

Great view over the sea and the city from the terrace. Descent common room and kitchen available, as well as some food ,drinks and snacks at very reasonable prices.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.