Hostelworld.com

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1,103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1,103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel Located at 92 Hua Shan Xi Lu, , Kunming.
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
China
Kunming 650031 92 Hua Shan Xi Lu
93% 1103
25.0475321 102.7079737
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Apr 2016
7.7

Was OK, clean enough. The restaurant could be avoided, not tasty and priced for foreign standards. You are better eating outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hello! Thank you for your comments to the hostel, also thank you for giving us the recommendations of the hostel, we go back and strive to improve, I wish you a pleasant journey UPLAND

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
8.3

A bit away from the main street. But it has good vibe for backpackers. I didn't try food but I remember they served a good taste of coffee, which is not easy to be found in China.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
7.7

Great Hostel with very clean rooms and good facilities. Shame about the staff, rude, obnoxious, won't help you with anything that doesn't involve the hostel. Transfers to airport, bus stations and trains stations are 4 times the price of a local taxis. I can speak fluent chinese and yet there are still the most unhelpful staff I have met. Furthermore they don't seem to know Yunnan or Kunming, making it difficult to arrange anything!!!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Mar 2016
9.1

This is a fantastic hostel in kunming, great staff and atmosphere, would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hello! Thank you for your comments to our hostel, also thank you very much for your recommendation, I wish you a pleasant journey

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2016
10.0

Really nice hostel,when i first came there it was midnight,however,there was a night man who was waiting for me,that was really awesome .Then he showed me the way to the room. One more thing,they have heating blanket,haha,so cool

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you very much for your check and review of our hotel。Hope to see you again next time。Wish you a pleasant journey Upland YHA

14th Feb 2016
6.9

The staff were friendly - except for one who had an attitude problem. I know: I should have gotten her name. There wasn't enough lighting in the room; it was too dark inside. A worker was cleaning the floor with a dirty rag in dirty water. She wiped her hands on her apron and started to prepare my meal. She should have washed her hands with soap. There weren't many restaurants near the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you very much for your comments, thank you very much for your advice, the hostel will be strictly supervision, to prevent such a thing happen, really is very sorry, once again thank you, I wish you a pleasant journey

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2016
8.3

Requested for an extra blanket in the double-bed room, & was given during the 1st night. However for the 2nd night, the hostel took away the blanket, & we gotta pay for another bed in the 16-bed dorm for just the blanket. Thought extra blanket was a very basic requirement.. Furthermore the inconsistency of two nights was unprofessional to me. the 6-bed dorm bed that i booked, was right under water down pipe. Very poor acoustic. could hear everything in upstairs toilet & outside the dorm door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for give our hostel reviews, thank you to our proposed do not in place of the place, the hostel is inside the blanket, I will as soon as possible to understand what it is, this is really very sorry, we also in an effort to perfect hostel facilities, thanks again, my wish you journey pleasant.My English is not good, I hope you can understand, upland

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2016
10.0

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCES IN UPLAND,THE FIRST DAY I CAME THERE GIRLS WERE FRIENDLY TO ME,WHEN I ASKED ABOUT MY PLAN IN YUNNAN THE GIRL RECOMENDED SOME PLACES TO ME IN DETAIL AND REMIND WHAT KIND OF THINGS I AM SUPPOSED TO TAKE,IT IS PRETTY GOOD.EXCEPT THAT,THE POSITION AND ATMESPHERE VERY GOOD TOO,CLOSING TO SHOPPING MALL BUT NOT THAT NOISY,NEARBY THERE IS A GREEN LAKE PARK WHERE I COULD SEE BEAUTIFUL BIRDS FLYING AROUND.HOWEVER,ONE SHORTBACK IS THE ROOM WAS SOMEHOW WET,BUT HEATING BLANKET IS OK.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for giving us the hostel's high praise, look forward to your next visit, I wish you a pleasant journey!

  • bernd_kerschner9472
  • Austria, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
23rd Jan 2016
8.0

a decent hostel with a nice common room/restaurant/bar space. Dorm beds are cozy, bathrooms and showers relatively clean - I'd stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, first of all, thank you to our hostel reviews, bar with a pool table, and other passengers can play together and look forward to your coming again, I wish a happy your journey

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2016
6.6

After reading the reviews, this hostel was a bit disappointing. The rooms felt crowded and a bit rough round the edges, the toilets and shower rooms were much the same. On top of this, the staff weren't that friendly, and even trying to order drinks at the bar took forever.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.