Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel Located at 92 Hua Shan Xi Lu, , Kunming.
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
China
Kunming 650031 92 Hua Shan Xi Lu
91% 1278
25.0475321 102.7079737
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Good location, very clean and helpful staff. They have a nice cafe/bar and also electric blankets for winter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
7.7

I'd recommend against staying in the biggest dorm room. When I was there, a lot of the guests were traveling older businessmen who smoked, talked loudly, and washed their feet late at night and early in the morning (can't really blame the hostel for that, though). The smaller dorm was better. No problems with cleanliness, location is very good, lots of useful information posted in the lobby (transportation, food, etc) and plenty of space to hang out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.1

Overall a great place to stay - convenient for the local attractions and the staff are really friendly. Met some interesting people there too. A bit of building work going on when I was there so may be bigger and better very soon

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. The hostel would be quite different when we finish the work, welcome to check it out by then! Upland Yha

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
4.0

Location wise, it's fine. But facilities wise, it was horrible. There was no water running for one night & it continued in the morning. The night I arrived there, they switched my beds 3 times because they didn't have an accurate record of which beds were taken. They had to get someone who didn't work there to translate for me. Oh yeah, they also charged me the incorrect amount the first night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear friend, thank you for your review. We are truthly sorry about the water supply that night. During to water pipe explode that night, the water stopped from midnight and people work during the night didn't know how to fix it and we called for repairation immediatley in the morning but they only came around lunch time, there was water running about 2pm. It was an unusual situation for us too, again we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it caused. Second, we assign bed number for everyone who checked in and tell them please sleep on the bed assigned, but in mixed-16 dorm, sometimes people don't really listen to us or didn't see the numbers on the beds, anyway they end up sleeping on the wrong beds, this happens. And when it happens please don't be mad and pick a empty bed and tell the reception which bed you are sleep on later. The guy who works during nights doesn't speak english, there are english speaking people working from 7am to midnight. Sorry about the wrong amount we charged when you first arrived, the guy only charged the amount he was told, and we did make a mistake, sorry about that. The next morning when you came to the reception, we found out the mistake and did sincerely apologized and returned the money, don't know whatelse we can do to make you happy about this. Anyway thanks for choosing us and have a nice trip. Kunming Upland Youth Hostel

22nd Nov 2016
6.0

There were two bathrooms, one sink and one shower for a whole dorm floor. It smelled like urine and the common area in the dorm needs cleaning. The dorms are very loud. The bar area and outside lounge were cute and cozy. They have a resident kitten that is super snuggly. The food is decent and we appreciated the variety.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for the review. I am sorry about the bad experience you had. Our sewage system seldomly doesn't work well when it's raining and there will be smells in the toliet on the first floor and we are trying to fix it now. Hope you will have a better experience next time! Upland YHA

  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Nov 2016
9.4

Close to city centre and a short taxi drive to railway station. Airport is quiere far bit not hostel fault , airport is 30minutes out of the city. Staff very helpful and friendly Recomended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
9.4

Has everything a weary traveller might be wanting. Except for reliable internet, but that's China. One shower room used for storage (?) The location is fine, but they could do a better job of helping people to get around Kunming, which can be a bit confusing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review. Sorry i am confused about the shower room used as storage part. We are pretty clear about which are showers and which are storage rooms. We have free maps at the reception and if you have any problem about getting around in Kunming, please don't hesitate to ask the receptionists, we are always happy to help. Thanks again and enjoy your trip!

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
8.0

Good Place but one thing:DON'T Believe THE PICTURES shown in the bio. Not that LIVELY.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear friend. Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and i personally do think it's that lively haha:) Hope to see you again and maybe you will be surprised! Upland YHA

  • camillahilton
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.1

Lovely hostel, great common room/bar area and outdoor space. It did seem to be a hangout for locals as well as hostel guests but this wasn't a problem. Good selection of food if you're feeling lazy. Amazing location - the lake is a stroll away and what remains of the bird market is about 15 mins walk. Dorms were basic but clean and showers were good! Staff speak English. Only one washing machine for entire hostel which was a bit of a pain but really the only downside. Would stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Oct 2016
8.9

Nice social spaces; cosy indoor café and a comfy enclosed garden with ping-pong table. Great for hanging out. Rooms are good value. That said, the room rates advertised on this website are increased by 5¥ when booked directly at the counter, which I found annoying. Staff are all friendly and always in for a chat. They also helped me out a lot! Recommended hostel for Kunming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your coming~have a nice trip! see you ~

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.