X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel Reviews

92 Hua Shan Xi Lu, Kunming, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
993 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Nice food and 24 hour check in. In calm and quiet area of city


100%

It's really very good.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you stay in our hostel. Hepo see you again. Just enjoy your trip and best wishes from all of our staff. UPLAND YHA

74%

Staff weren't friendly at all. Also, they weren't very willing to help when you ask them questions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HELLO: Thank you for you advice We will improve as soon as possible, We try our best to offer the nicer place for the guests stay in. Welcome to back here again if you have free time . UPLAND YHA

100%

This hostel is good.The location is in the center of Kunming city,it' very close to Cuihu Lake.The atmosphere of this hostel is very good,the flowers on dining-table make guest warmful.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you stay in our hostel. Hepo see you again. Just enjoy your trip and best wishes from all of our staff. UPLAND YHA

100%

Every thing is good,I'm glad to stay here.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

91%

Great hostel - the lobby area is very nicely decorated - food and drinks (especially breakfasts!) very tasty and good value for money :) the staff are all friendly and helpful - the rooms are very clean and comfortable - the ensuite is great! also when I was there they had a local food contest so I had the opportunity to try some very interesting local snacks completely free!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

91%

Really nice facilities. Comfy beds, clean modern bathrooms. Staff were extemely helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HELLO: Thank you for you stay in our hostel. Hepo see you again. Just enjoy your trip and best wishes from all of our staff. UPLAND YHA

89%

very nice hostel, clean, confortable, a nice bar and good food

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

83%

The staff wasn't very attentive, didn't try to help much.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HELLO: Thank you for you advice We will improve as soon as possible, We try our best to offer the nicer place for the guests stay in. Welcome to back here again if you have free time . UPLAND YHA

63%

This hostel has great potential...but wasted! It's a shame that the staff don't seem interested in interacting with travellers & would much rather stayed glued to their smartphones! It does not cost the earth to smile occasionally. The hostel does have a cool bar area where people can meet..But, do not expect a good nights sleep if your window faces directly into the adjacent garden as people are likely to be sat here chatting/making noise way into the night! The rooms were clean & spacious

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback.We feel apolpgetic for paying too much energy to stay on our smartphones but didn't give you too much help as we can do.We will do some interactions with our guests.If you book our hostel next time,we will arrange another room for you,which should be much more quiet.Thank you for your feedback again,best wishes to you from every staff in Kunming Upland Youth Hostel.Hope you have a nice day every day~

97%

Stayed twice, well thought out place. nice to have plenty of common area in and out of the bar/restaurant, also good there was no pressure to eat or drink if you wanted to sit (but cheap beer selection too). good outdoor area under the "mountain". I preferred the big Top Mountain dorm to the ones in the modern block. Helpful sightseeing and transportation info in the reception without trying to sell you a tour. recommend :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

69%

Pros: perfect location, great facilities Cons: OMG the staff is so rude and unprofessionnal. Ive read comments about that on TripAdvisor and thought the people were complaning for nothing, but this is a real issue. I wouldnt mind if this hostel was in an english speaking country, but in China (as a non-chinese speaker) I rey a lot on the staff to help my book my transports. Each time, every day, every staff member seem to be bother a lot when we asked questions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for making you unhappy when you stay here, we will pay attention to our behaviour,and do our best to help every guest. Beside, we will learn much more knowledge to improving our professionnal level.We are really very sorry for didn't helping you too much.From now on,we will solve every requirement for every guest politely.Thank you for your feedback again.Best wishes from every staff in Kunming Upland Youth Hostel.Hope you have a nice day every day~

100%

I traveled 28 countries and always stayed at Youth Hostels. This was by far the best ever. We were stranded a couple of days after checking out, and even though we were not paying guests anymore they let us use the facilities, the lounge, internet, bar and restaurant... and they helped us find our way to our next destinations. Rooms were first class and the patio was beautiful, it made us not even want to go outside.


86%

Nice hostel. Staff could have been a little more knowledgable and friendly but not too bad. Door a little hard to spot, it's up a side street. Rooms very clean and bathroom great. Awesome shower!

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

100%

This hostel is very good.There are many flowers in front of the reception,it's beautiful.The staff is very nice and friendly.I like to stay here,and I had a nice day here.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

100%

This hostel is perfect.I like their bar,the music is pretty good.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

100%

This hostel is very nice.The staff is courteous, and their food is very delicious.In short, every thing is very good,and I'm glad to stay here for one night in my journey.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

100%

This hostel is very good.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • North Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

94%

Super nice hostel with a great location to the beautiful Green Lake Park and a really nice atmosphere at the hostel. You really want to spend the evenings here because you get to meet so many great people. A really nice one!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

86%

The atmosphere in the bar was great, really loved it! Wifi a bit dodgey though...


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Kunming Hostels

Please give us your feedback