Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1355 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1355 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Apr 2017
6.9

Staff a bit rude, double the price of most hostels in China.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks for you to chosen to stay with us and give us this review ,we always try to do the service beter and beter ,if we have something we didn't do it very well we are appreciate if you can understand us

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.1

Very helpful staff, great location and comfortable private single room, modern decoration.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest: Thanks for you to chosen Upland Hostel to stay in Kunming and leave this comments ,it's will be help us to let more people know us .

9th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel! My best pick in Kunming after having stayed at a few places there. The common room is nicely decorated and the patio is lovely for warm evenings. Rooms are small but functional and very clean. The staff was very helpful as well. Finally, the location just minutes away from the Green Lake is perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • herlathing967
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.4

Fantastic hostel in great location in Kunming. Little bit hard to find. Staff very friendly with great recommendations especially for dinner. Common areas fantastic and food and drinks ok value. Dorm rooms comfy with well designed fairly private bunks. Perhaps not enough shower/bathroom facilities for the dorm size. Value if a YHA member very good slightly less so otherwise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
10.0

I stayed here in a 8 bed mixed dorm last month for two nights and this is one of the best hostels that I have ever experienced. The people who worked at the hostel are all very helpful, efficient and some were proficient in communicating in English. The restaurant served good food and coffee. Location is convenient and one can walk to the Green Lake which is a beautiful place to be especially at dawn. rental bikes need some urgent repairs and maintenance as the one i rented was unsafe for use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
9.1

Their Hostelworld page says self-catering but when I arrived they had no publicly available kitchen. Aside from this issue, this hostel is great. Very clean, modern facilities. Nice patio and restaurant/common area. Rooms are clean, lockers are spacious and the beds are comfortable with a light, plug and shelf for each. Rooms also have desks. Staff are helpful, but due to the size of the hostel you don't really get to know them. Location is great- so close to bus stops and Green Lake park.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danclifton69295
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
16th Mar 2017
10.0

Excellent staff, very helpful with bus information and able to speak English. Very friendly. Beds were lovely, curtain, power socket, reading light, warm duvet, spacious rooms and big lockers. Wonderful bar area, so cozy for relaxing and having a drink or food, great place to meet people, play pool and loads of books and magazines to read. Really enjoyed staying here, was a great place to come back to at the end of the day. Great location for the lake and getting around town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Feb 2017
10.0

We had a fantastic twin room, and we really enjoyed the sunny court yard. Inside where people hang out there's also a great atmosphere. It was just across from a beautiful park, and it's easy to walk to an area with cafes on the other side of the park. In the opposite direction it is also just a short walk to a huge shopping street and small market alley ways.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.7

Wonderful double room. Amazing comfortable bed. Lovely communal area although the food wasn't great and a little over priced but kunming is such an amazing city for food it's no problem. We rented bikes from the hostel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's quite a big hostel so the staff, although are friendly, don't have much time for individual guests

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest. thank you for your kindly review and we will try our best to make the hostel better. Best Regards. Upland YHA

  • bits3_95131
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.3

This hostel it's nice and clean, has everything you need, the staff is friendly, it's just a pity their English is very poor and they can't really help you to get around if you are foreigner

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest thanks for your review. Sorry that we had new staffs at the reception during your stay and their english were not good enough or they were just not confident enough to talk to foreigners. Hope you a nice trip to Laos. Upland

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.