Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th May 2017
10.0

This place was very clean, great beds, security was very good. There was a good communal area where I met many nice people. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food at the bar was pretty good. The location right next to the green lakes was amazing. I had a great time here relaxing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
10.0

Staying at this place was a great experience! The bar was always lively, the food was delicious, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was great and the staff were always willing to help you figure out how to get to where you needed to be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
8.6

Nice place with a restaurant, bar, and staff that is happy to help you get around Kunming and Yunan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review ,.have a nice trip in China .

1st May 2017
10.0

Great hostel in centre of town, walkable to many places. Large, clean rooms in what feels like an airy apartment block. Lots of space and privacy if desired, also a good bar and outside space for relaxing and socialising. Staff are helpful and can provide travel suggestions, luggage storage and laundry powder and coins. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
9.7

I only stayed for one night, but out of allhostels in China this one had the cleanest room and the nicest room smell. The atmosphere is casual and relaxing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Apr 2017
9.4

What we especially appreciated about our stay was the help getting around e.g. with self-written sheets, a map of the city centre and the information about how to get to the Stone Forest and many more. Furthermore we liked the bar/meeting room, where we could order local food easily in English and talk to the other hostel guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
8.3

Great common spaces and comfy beds with individual lights. Everything had locks. However the toilets stank and were dirty and the shower was also grubby and the light inside dim.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.4

What a wonderful hostel! The staff were great at solving any issues that came up, it had a great atmosphere, and being right next to Green Lake Park was amazing! The shower and toilet situation wasn't ideal, but definitely workable! A wonderful place to spend some time in Kunming!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
6.9

Staff a bit rude, double the price of most hostels in China.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks for you to chosen to stay with us and give us this review ,we always try to do the service beter and beter ,if we have something we didn't do it very well we are appreciate if you can understand us

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.4

I arrived from the airport and the directions were spot on. I had booked a single room with shower, which was amazingly big and well eqipped. Loved that the wifi worked, the advertised Facebook wifi didn't work for me. Could not connect to any social media platform.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.