Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1,252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1,252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel Located at 92 Hua Shan Xi Lu, , Kunming.
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
China
Kunming 650031 92 Hua Shan Xi Lu
92% 1252
25.0475321 102.7079737
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Nov 2016
6.0

There were two bathrooms, one sink and one shower for a whole dorm floor. It smelled like urine and the common area in the dorm needs cleaning. The dorms are very loud. The bar area and outside lounge were cute and cozy. They have a resident kitten that is super snuggly. The food is decent and we appreciated the variety.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
9.4

Has everything a weary traveller might be wanting. Except for reliable internet, but that's China. One shower room used for storage (?) The location is fine, but they could do a better job of helping people to get around Kunming, which can be a bit confusing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
8.0

Good Place but one thing:DON'T Believe THE PICTURES shown in the bio. Not that LIVELY.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • camillahilton
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.1

Lovely hostel, great common room/bar area and outdoor space. It did seem to be a hangout for locals as well as hostel guests but this wasn't a problem. Good selection of food if you're feeling lazy. Amazing location - the lake is a stroll away and what remains of the bird market is about 15 mins walk. Dorms were basic but clean and showers were good! Staff speak English. Only one washing machine for entire hostel which was a bit of a pain but really the only downside. Would stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Oct 2016
8.9

Nice social spaces; cosy indoor café and a comfy enclosed garden with ping-pong table. Great for hanging out. Rooms are good value. That said, the room rates advertised on this website are increased by 5¥ when booked directly at the counter, which I found annoying. Staff are all friendly and always in for a chat. They also helped me out a lot! Recommended hostel for Kunming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your coming~have a nice trip! see you ~

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2016
8.6

Over all a great hostel. We stayed here twice during our last trip to China. The double rooms were really nice and clean and the bar/ common area is really nice. The staff was helpful although check-in took a long time both times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you very much for giving us your hotel comments, we will try to improve, let the tour pal a better service experience, look forward to your next visit! I wish you a pleasant journey!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Oct 2016
9.4

Great place to stay, staff friendly and helpful. We had a private room with bathroom and it was more like a basic hotel than a hostel. Good food in the bar/cafe (only problem for us was that smoking allowed after 7pm in the bar, but that wasn't a big issue). Walking distance to Green Lake Park, shops, bird and flower market and easy to get to other places around the city. Highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Oct 2016
8.3

the last time i went here it was excellent, that's why i came back. Other than the common area, everything just was not as good as before. The staff weren't as friendly, the room wasn't as clean as before, the food was soso, but still some good cheap beer selection, so that a plus. Don't get me wrong, i would still recommend this place, just sad to see a good place heading downhill

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you to our hostel reviews, for your stay experience before I'm really sorry, thank you also put in place in what we do, we will try to improve, let the tour pal a better service experience, look forward to your next visit! I wish you a pleasant journey!

16th Oct 2016
9.1

Amazing wifi, great dorm and lots of places to hang out. Definitely would come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your comments to our hostel, I hope you will enjoy your stay in our hostel, look forward to your next visit! I wish you a pleasant journey!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
6.0

Check in at 2:30am took ages (20-30 min) with the result my friend and I had to stay in different dorms.. discussing this with the manager the next morning was just disappointing. Very arrogant attitude, only replying one and the same sentence, limited English.. we're promised to get a 10¥ discount on check out that we - of course- never received.. would not go here again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Welcome to UPLAND~We are so sorry let you despondent that you check out so early before 7:00am and the uncle on duty do not know about you so that not refund you 10yuan. Please tell us your account and let us pay for you. You arrived KUNMING at 2:30 and feel so tired, check in only need 3mins generally. What happens? Your resrvation that day will check in after 2:00pm, you are so lucky that check in advance for 9.5hours,but unlucky only have different room for 2 dorms. It is clear that you want with your friend every min and the staff helped you change the same room in the afternoon. Relex and enjoy your trip,maybe unknown means surprise.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.