Hostelworld.com

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,129 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,129 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel Located at 92 Hua Shan Xi Lu, , Kunming.
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
China
Kunming 650031 92 Hua Shan Xi Lu
91% 1129
25.0475321 102.7079737
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
31st May 2016
8.3

Very good facility close to bus station for airport. Close to eating areas

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
10.0

It's a very big hostel with a great atmosphere. The price was affordable. The staff are friendly and knowledgable. They were able to answer our questions and offered airport services. It was clean, spacious, hot showers, in room tv, and a hair dryer. The food was good as they offered a variety of options. It was close to the park, night market, and Yunnan University. I would recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hello! First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel, thank you for your comments to our hostel, look forward to your next visit, I wish you a pleasant journey!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2016
5.4

The showers weren't very clean, and were one per floor, which was a surprise. The beds were fine. Food made both of us sick, but the mojitos were great. The patio is lovely, but the rest is just okay. Staff not very friendly... Not worth it, imo.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel, for your previous experience to stay really sorry, our kitchen cooking and meal are in strict accordance with the standards of food hygiene, I would like to ask you is what food, hostel will be to strengthen the training of service, so that visitors have a better service experience, I wish you a pleasant journey!

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th May 2016
6.9

I wouldn't really recommend this hostel. We only chose them because their website offered a free train station pickup, and claimed that the airport express stopped very close by. However, neither of these things proved to be correct, and staff offered no explanation. The room was fine, if small, and Green Lake is nearby. No cold drinking water available, which was a bit of a pain. It was also difficult to find a taxi willing to take us there. All in all, not what we were hoping for!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
10.0

Stayed only for a night, but the place is really lovely an I'd definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hello! First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel, thank you for your comments to our hostel, look forward to your next visit, I wish you a pleasant journey!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
8.0

Enjoyed staying at Upland Hostel. Dorm lockers were spacious and secure, dorms themselves were decent. The large building with all the rooms was well cleaned and did its job. I especially enjoyed the cafe/bar with a pool table. Fun atmosphere all around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chad, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
10.0

棒棒哒 喜欢前台的服务 前台的姑娘们很可爱.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
7.7

Was OK, clean enough. The restaurant could be avoided, not tasty and priced for foreign standards. You are better eating outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hello! Thank you for your comments to the hostel, also thank you for giving us the recommendations of the hostel, we go back and strive to improve, I wish you a pleasant journey UPLAND

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
8.3

A bit away from the main street. But it has good vibe for backpackers. I didn't try food but I remember they served a good taste of coffee, which is not easy to be found in China.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
7.7

Great Hostel with very clean rooms and good facilities. Shame about the staff, rude, obnoxious, won't help you with anything that doesn't involve the hostel. Transfers to airport, bus stations and trains stations are 4 times the price of a local taxis. I can speak fluent chinese and yet there are still the most unhelpful staff I have met. Furthermore they don't seem to know Yunnan or Kunming, making it difficult to arrange anything!!!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.