Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jul 2017
8.9

The reception staff was very helpful. I decided to stay for a second night, but they were fully booked for private rooms and female dorms. I don't know how they managed it, but they got me a female dorm bed. On the other hand, the only staff working at the restaurant my first night did not speak English. Despite pointing at the items in the menu, she still messed up my order. The location is walking distance to many sights, but it's not easy to find. Many taxi drivers didn't know where it was.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
12th Jul 2017
8.9

Really good bar / restaurant / lounge area with good food, drinks, music and pool table. Very sociable atmosphere encouraged by the excellent helpful staff. Comfy dorms. Bathroom facilities not great. Location seemed decent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
9.4

really a very nice hostel. the bar area and outside area were very nice and it is free to play pool. good wifi and food although a bit pricy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.3

There was only one shower for 2 floors of dorms. Very very international. But decently nice other than that :).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
9.7

The hostel is very comfortable, they even include a pillowtop mattress pad which is good for those of us more accomsted to soft beds. The location is excellent, right by Greenlake. Many quality restraints are within a short walk. I have to return to Kunming in a month, and I will stay there again when I travel through Kunming in a month.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appreciate it. We are glad that you like our hostel. It's the best compliment for us and the motivation for us to improve.Looking forward to seeing you again.We would like to provide you better experience. Wish you a pleasant journey.

27th Jun 2017
7.7

This hostel is very large. The bathrooms are clean and private. The social area is nice, but a bit more expensive than other hostels. The location is excellent. Filtered & boiled water is located only in the bar area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jun 2017
8.9

Very nice, clean hostel with nice bar

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2017
8.3

I was entirely satisfied with my stay here- the beds were comfortable, the food was good and the staff were absolutely wonder, so helpful and friendly. The only draw back for me were the facilities. Everything was clean etc EXCEPT the water was turned off overnight for which there was no explanation (whether it was a temporary problem or just how the hostel worked) I found this to be exceptionally inconvenient as you could wash or shower before/after a certain time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appreciate it. We are glad that you like our hostel. It's the best compliment for us and the motivation for us to improve. And I am very sorry about the water turning-off, it was because of the pipeline maintenance, so the wter was cut off for few hours. Looking forward to seeing you again.We would like to provide you better experience. Wish you a pleasant journey.

12th Jun 2017
9.7

Very nice hotel, super terace, good food and nice ambiance. Not far from train station(30min bus) And nice location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2017
8.0

Solid, but nothing special. Bathroom was okay, fairly clean. My window screen had a hole in it though which was annoying. Very centrally located.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Big thanks to you for staying at Upland Youth Hostel in Kunming . Dear Alexander Daifotis : How’s everything going? We’d like to send our big thanks to you for staying at Upland Youth Hostel . We really wish you enjoyed your time here and made some new friends in our hostel as well. All of us wish to serve you again and we are so glad that you were part of Upland Youth Hostel . You can let other people know about your experience here and help us create a bigger and more fun community by reviewing us on Booking, Hostelworld, Agoda and tripadvisor. Your review will definitely be appreciated by us and other travelers. Thank you very much and keep on traveling. If you have some suggestion about our hostel, please send e-mail to us ,We’ll appreciate your kindness! Kind regards Upland Youth Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.