Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1,170 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1,170 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel Located at 92 Hua Shan Xi Lu, , Kunming.
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
China
Kunming 650031 92 Hua Shan Xi Lu
93% 1170
25.0475321 102.7079737
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Aug 2016
9.7

Really great hostel. Restaurant / bar which served both western and Chinese food also good value. No complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Huge hostel, really well organized, clean, with a really nice bar, can only recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Aug 2016
9.7

Very good hostel, very well located close to Green Lake Park and the Temple. We were in the 16-bed dorm the first night, but people were unrespectfully noisy so we changed to a double room which was perfect. The staff was nice too, we would definitely go back there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you very much for your comments, we look forward to your next visit! I wish you a pleasant journey

28th Jul 2016
9.4

This place has a great common area and social vibe. It also has a very cute environment. It's a good place to meet new people or relax. It's clean, comfy, and safe. The staff is nice and helpful. Only downside maybe is that there aren't a lot of toilets and showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you very much for your comments on the hostel, but also very grateful for your valuable advice, the hostel every one of the many people have a shower room, look forward to your next visit!

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
27th Jul 2016
6.0

Good location for green lake but not much else. No atmosphere. Staff at bar were good but quite slow, staff on reception were not good and not helpful. Comfy beds and actual steps to climb to the top bunk. Big lockers, loads of space. Good shower. Toilets smelt bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
9.1

-provides locker and locks -location close to Green Lake, Yunnan University, Bird & Flower Market, etc. -cafe has decent and relatively well-priced food -do have to climb two flights of stairs to get to elevator for the rooms -private double room has really big bed (shower curtain could be cleaner) -great place to meet and chat with travellers -would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you very much for your comments, we look forward to your next visit! I wish you a pleasant journey

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
28th Jun 2016
6.6

Seems like a nice hostel, but dorm and bathroom smelled really bad and weren't clean. Lockers were broken (although they were fixed quite quickly). Staff was helpful although one lady almost send us to luang prabang instead of namtha. Communication was a bit diffivuly sometimes, because not everyone spoke English very well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jun 2016
4.9

Staff speak no English, so couldn't advise me where to go or what things to do. As a solo traveller it made things quite difficult because there were few foreigners in the hostel so it was really difficult to meet others or to find any attractions. I cut my stay short because of this. Lots of staircases so be aware if you have heavy luggage. Bad smell in some bathrooms

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hello! Thank you very much for your comments on our hostel, for you before the check-in experience is really very sorry, the hostel has to adjust the front desk staff, we are trying to improve, once again sorry, I wish you a pleasant journey!

31st May 2016
8.3

Very good facility close to bus station for airport. Close to eating areas

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
10.0

It's a very big hostel with a great atmosphere. The price was affordable. The staff are friendly and knowledgable. They were able to answer our questions and offered airport services. It was clean, spacious, hot showers, in room tv, and a hair dryer. The food was good as they offered a variety of options. It was close to the park, night market, and Yunnan University. I would recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hello! First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel, thank you for your comments to our hostel, look forward to your next visit, I wish you a pleasant journey!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.