Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.7

Wonderful double room. Amazing comfortable bed. Lovely communal area although the food wasn't great and a little over priced but kunming is such an amazing city for food it's no problem. We rented bikes from the hostel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's quite a big hostel so the staff, although are friendly, don't have much time for individual guests

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest. thank you for your kindly review and we will try our best to make the hostel better. Best Regards. Upland YHA

  • bits3_95131
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.3

This hostel it's nice and clean, has everything you need, the staff is friendly, it's just a pity their English is very poor and they can't really help you to get around if you are foreigner

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest thanks for your review. Sorry that we had new staffs at the reception during your stay and their english were not good enough or they were just not confident enough to talk to foreigners. Hope you a nice trip to Laos. Upland

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
7.4

I was a bit frustrated that there was no locker available to me, but I have to admit the outdoor seating area was really nice and the restaurant is really affordable and convenient for a quick breakfast or late meal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review. Sorry about the loker problem, you can actually use any loker availiable in you room and there should be enough locker for everyone. Best Wishes Upland YHA

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.3

Reasonable prices, nice common area, very well located. I'd stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • rwang157
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel in every regard!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks thanks thanks haha. Thank you for your review, we will keep trying to make it better. Upland YHA

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jan 2017
10.0

Perfect !!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
8.6

Very nice place, my single room was clean and stylish with big bathroom. Great location too - both Green lake park and famous Yuantong temple are very close.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review. The single rooms are designed by a very talented designer, we are happy you liked it. Hope to see you again. Upland YHA

  • annebruun
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Jan 2017
8.9

We arrived in the middle of the night to our dorm, where we only stayed that one night. If we had had more time in kunming, we would definitely stay here. The staff was super friendly, the dorm nice and with good beds (although it was very messy and people were sleeping in the wrong beds, but that is on the other travellers, not the hostel). The hangout area is cozy and their food really good. Also, the area is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review. It could be great if you stayed here longer, welcome back if you are coming back to kunming, Upland YHA

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.4

Amazing atmosphere and staff. They apologised for building work purportedly going on, but I didn't notice it really. All the staff seemed willing to go the extra mile to help. The atmosphere was fantastic from both the staff and fellow guests. Great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again! Upland YHA

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel near cuihu lake. I stayed once early January and again a few days ago. The guesthouse was reformed, the bar is cozy, although a little bit pricy. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and each bed has light, curtains and electric blankets. Helpful staff. I would stay there again if I go back to Kunming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see your again in Kunming. Upland YHA

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.