Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1471 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1471 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Sep 2017
7.4

I can't expect more for staying in the hostel. Overall, bathroom is smelly, room is small and located in the 3rd floor. what I found worst is, you must go through the common area with all your luggage to reach the rooms. Hostel is not in the good location to find food vendors or shops. You have to walk a little to find a convenient shop, or walk for about 15 minutes to Kunming Old street, where you can find chain restaurants and shopping mall. But I like the common area where you can hang out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
17th Sep 2017
10.0

Will be back next year.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2017
9.7

Was not there long enough to get a feel for the ambiance or how social it was, but great facilities with a good layout.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appreciate it. We are glad that you like our hostel. It's the best compliment for us and the motivation for us to improve. We have different activities everyday, and we are very happy that you had a good time in our hostel. Looking forward to seeing you again.We would like to provide you better experience. Wish you a pleasant journey.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
8.0

No AC When I first went into the room, I thought I was in for an insufferable night, due to the heat. But actually around 1230 it did cool significantly (this was in mid-August), and stayed cool until morning This is a great place in many ways, but if you're sensitive to heat, and it's summer, I'd consider elsewhere Also, the first floor hallway was all wet and smelt of urine, but I think that's just a one-off, and it was clean by the morning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank very much for your feedback. I'm so sorry for your experience. The weather is very changable in summer, especialy in kunming. Our housekeeping ladies keep cleaning all the bathroom regularily, but as the bathroom on the first floor is the most frequently used one, sometimes it's could be smelly, but we will keep cleaning it more frequently and try to find a better way to keep it fragrant. And we are looking forward to seeing you again. We would like to provide you better ecperience. Wish you a pleasant journey.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
9.7

Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good central location near town centre and several sites to visit. Possible trips and visits to local sites and attractions well advertised at the hostel. Also hostel events arranged. Accommodation good and as advertised

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Aug 2017
10.0

Very clean and comfy hostel in perfect location, you can walk to lots of sights nearby. staff was really helpful, spoke english well and helped me booking nice tours around Kunming. definitely recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appreciate it. We are glad that you like our hostel. It's the best compliment for us and the motivation for us to improve.And now we have more acitivies ---- long snake mountaion climbing and BBQ music night organized by our hostel.Looking forward to seeing you again.We would like to provide you better experience. Wish you a pleasant journey.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.4

Good overall. Single rooms are small, but doubles are good. Dorms a bit tight but good. Good it they drinks were a lot colder though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appreciate it. We are glad that you like our hostel. It's the best compliment for us and the motivation for us to improve.We are very sorry about your experience.We will try our best to keep improving.We will provide you better experience. Looking forward to seeing you again.We would like to provide you better experience. Wish you a pleasant journey.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
10.0

All of us senior citizens had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay a memorable experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appreciate it. We are glad that you like our hostel. It's the best compliment for us and the motivation for us to improve. Our colleague will keep enthusiastic always.Looking forward to seeing you again.We would like to provide you better experience. Wish you a pleasant journey.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.7

Love this place. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The layout of the building itself is interesting and fun to explore. Room was clean and comfortable; would've been even better if it had air conditioning. The best part of Upland, though, is the restaurant and patio, with its quirky decor and good, cheap food and drinks. We spent more time in there than any other place we've stayed on this trip. Hope to come back some day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appreciate it. We are glad that you like our hostel. It's the best compliment for us and the motivation for us to improve.We will keep working hard and improving. Looking forward to seeing you again.We would like to provide you better experience. Wish you a pleasant journey.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jul 2017
7.7

Perfectly good hostel, very nice and helpful girl at reception who was very patient with all my questions about trains, buses and hostel at my next location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×