X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel Reviews

92 Hua Shan Xi Lu, Kunming, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1081 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

VERY NICE HOSTEL,RECOMMEND!

  • 21st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • North Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thank you for choosing our hotel, and thank you for your recommendation. I look forward to your visit again, I wish you a pleasant journey! UPLAND

100%

It's nice to stay in this hostel,and it's a good choice to stay here~

  • 21st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thank you for your comments, and I look forward to your visit again, I wish you a pleasant journey! UPLAND

74%

bathrooms vere gross and smelly. good location for exploring city on foot

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello,dear friend,thanks for your suggestion.As for the cleanliness,we will increase the times of cleaning,keep the tidiness of the bathroom as much as we can. Besides,thank you for choosing our hostel and hope you have a good time in Kunming,wish you come to UPLAND again~ UPLAND

97%

Excellent location and staff.very convenience to everywhere.walking distance to Cuihu.beautiful garden and bar.if you don't want to go out,that will be a good place to stay.Just the wifi almost can not use in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thank you for choosing our hotel and give us the comments on the hotel, we have been invited to repair our network, to bring you the same, I hope you can understand, I wish you a pleasant journey

54%

Location was perfect, and hostel look super nice, the staff in the afternoon was really helpful but they close pretty early and none was there to help after 11pm.. We needed water and no nearby shops.. And the guard sent us far away to finally give us water from the bar...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thank you for your comments, we are also very grateful to you for the suggestions, I'm sorry, we have only a 12 points after the night shift, we will consider re arrange the reception desk, better service guests, look forward to your next visit, Wish you a pleasant journey! UPLAND

94%

Hostel was good, we enjoyed the bar and food it provided. Room was good although on same floor as garden terrace so could be a bit noisy. Staff were helpful in providing information and booking train tickets although some if the reception staff didn't seem that interested.


80%

A nice stay. Clean, decent location and with a good, bar/ restaurant. Would stay here again.


94%

Clean beds, good atmosphere, alright staff. Great for the price!

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

100%

friendly staff,good service,i like it

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

100%

very nice^V^

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

74%

The hostel has a good bar/common area and so felt atmospheric. I liked the style of the beds and the personal shelves, lamps and power points but the floor in the hostel seemed especially hard to keep clean and so made the place feel not so clean. The reception staff has really poor attitudes and were rude, the bar staff were friendlier.


100%

It's really very good,I like this hostel very much.

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

91%

Generally very good, the chill out area is great and food is very good. Staff is very helpful, at times difficult to reach on the phone. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.


89%

Nice big hostel with plenty of area to relax, and a generally good atmosphere, with pool table, comfortable dining area, and the occasional showing of films on a projector. Walkable distance from the city centre, and very close to the park.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

71%

The hostel is too crowded with people so the stuff are impatience and not very helpful. In addition, the atmosphere at the hostel is not very friendly, most people are sitting with their laptops at the bar instead of talking to others.

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

94%

Second visit, remains a good place. A lot of chinese tourists here and had some trouble with them, as some of them smoke in the rooms despite it being forbidden and most of the men do not understand how western toilets work, leaving them messy every time. This place is really big and some people I met considered that to be a downside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

91%

This a good hostel. The food is good, the beer selection is good, the travellers are cool, the location is cool. I hate to say it but I echo the sentiments of other travellers. I think the staff could work on their customer service: smile more, be more attentive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello : Thank you very much for our review. Also thank you for your suggestion, ' We will try to improve Thank you very much again UPLAND

89%

Fantastic little hostel with loads of character. The bar area and outside communal areas are really nice. The food was also of an excellent standard for a hostel and maybe the best and cheapest coffee I've had in China! Only thing would be to maybe have bigger lockers that would fit a backpackers bag and not just a day sack

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for you stay in our hostel. just enjoy your trip .And best wishes from all of our hostel . We hope see you again. UPLAND YHA

80%

I thought rooms were non smoking ; had fumes on two nights

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


(53 results)


View all Kunming Hostels

Please give us your feedback