Hostelworld.com

Kyoto Hana Hostel

  • 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,850 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,850 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
Kyoto Hana Hostel Located at 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto.
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Japan
Kyoto 600-8149 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku
89% 1850
34.9896991 135.7604451
Kyoto Hana Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Apr 2016
9.4

Great location and lovely staff. Everything is easy. There is a lot of great food nearby (I recommend Donguri for drinking and eating, and Yodobashi Mall for tons of food choice!). The bathroom and shower on the first floor are better than the upper, in my opinion, but everything is very clean and nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
9.1

I love this place. The staff was friendly and helpful. My 'room' was spacious and there were even hangers provided:))) Overall it's tidy and clean, the location's good too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Great place, good security cupboard next to bed. Locked luggage storage room. Bike hireage was fantastic. Highly recommend. Arigato gosaimasu!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Shantel
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Apr 2016
7.7

Quite near to Kyoto station, clean hostel, good facilities (kitchen & common area) and friendly staffs. Not much of an atmosphere but it's ok~ Rooms are small but I like the fact that they have curtains for some privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
8.6

Solid hostel. The nicest staff we encountered in a hostel in Japan. Very very clean. Loved the private showers. Although you have to press the lever every 10 seconds for it to release water - extremely annoying, but I get it - a chance to save water. Lounge area and kitchen are not that spacious, do not encourage a lot of meeting other travelers. Wifi is UNACCEPTABLY slow. Also room was cramped with 8 beds and loud snoring. Also beds were hard. Would return but might choose a female only room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
8.3

We booked 3 nights in the Hana hostel because we were having difficulty finding accommodation. We stayed in a room with private bathroom. The room was small but very clean. We found sleeping on the floor on the futon a bit hard but the staff provided us with an extra mattress which helped. Be aware the mattress is only about 2 inches thick and then the futon, which goes on top, about the same. As mature westerners we found it a bit difficult being on the floor but we survived the 3 nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

This hostel is clean, easy to find, well-run, and convenient to the main Kyoto train station. They have bicycles and laundry facilities available. I never had to wait for a toilet, sink, or shower. The folks at reception speak English well and had lots of suggestions for activities around the city. I would look for this hostel in any city where available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Mar 2016
9.1

Really good hostel. Close to Kyoto station. All of the right facilities. I only stayed one night - but staff were courteous and helpful and there was a reasonable atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to others staying in Kyoto - easy to see everything using here as a base.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
10.0

It was a pleasure to stay in this hostel. Hostel staff was super nice and friendly. They recommended a delicious small Japanese place to eat across the street which was only about $7 for a filling lunch. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room suite and it was the best hostel we stayed in during our trip. We had a toilet and shower room all to ourselves and there was a small tv inside the room. We were extremely comfortable during our stay here and would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2016
10.0

We stayed at Kyoto Hana Hostel for one evening in a private double. The hostel is located less than a 10 minute walk from Kyoto station and close to transport links. Our room was up two flights of stairs so just be aware as there is no lift at the hostel. Having said that the staff were amazing and gave us great recommendations and our room was a traditional Japanese style set up which was a real treat for us. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.