Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kyoto Hana Hostel

  • 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jul 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! Super clean and very friendly staff. The dorms are very private because you have a curtain and are spacious enough so that I could put my large backpack next to my bed. Bathrooms super clean, cleaned daily, I have never seen people clean with such diligence each day! Would highly recommend. Also great location 6 minute walk from Kyoto Station

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
9.1

Very happy with this hostel. We stayed in a double room with private ensuite and it was great, very clean and enjoyed sleeping on a tatami mat. Close to station. Only downside was wifi was patchy. Overall very good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
9.1

The staff here were really nice and helpful. There's not a ton of socializing, but they have a pretty good common room with computers and a good size kitchen, and people are nice enough. Showers are one of those you have to keep prompting for more water, but the shower itself was nice enough. The silent beds were a blessing after my last super creaky ones, and you get a full curtain and a cubby and convenient outlet. Laundry must be done before 10pm. And you can't get much closer to the train.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
9.4

We didn't realise the rooms are traditional tatami rooms with futons, but it was a fun cultural experience, and actually quite comfortable if you like a firm bed. It was quite cramped once we laid out the futons though. It was irritating that we had to remove our shoes at the front entrance and use slippers. Normally you can wear shoes in common areas and just have to remove them in the room but this hostel took it a step further. Must BYO towel, showers small but body wash and shampoo provided.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2017
9.1

Great hostel, close to Kyoto station. Kitchen and common area was maybe a bit small though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2017
10.0

You can't go wrong with Hana Hostel in Kyoto. This our 2nd year staying there. Excellent location -- walking distance to Kyoto Station, restaurants (many!), malls, main post office, temples, etc. Love it. Great staff! VERY clean! Traditional sleeping mats and futon beds. Great internet access. Great price! Reward with every 3rd night of stay -- same stamps for J-Hoppers hostels applied!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
10.0

Everything you got worth beyond the money, location is excelent and the room is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
5.4

For me cleanliness is everything. Overall, the room is old with old aircon, dusty blanket and floor mattresses.The worst thing is found the baby cockroaches in the room and blanket. The blanket is damn dirty and seems like nvr wash! Totally not worth for money! If I could choose again then can pay a little bit more to get a much more better and clean accommodation. Please upgrade the room cleanliness and make the guess to have better stay! Thanks!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.6

We booked a private room, which was ok! Elsewise it was a nice experience with a super nice staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laurenjhines5519
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Apr 2017
9.7

If you want to be near Kyoto Station (though there's more culture & excitement in other neighborhoods, the Station is great for mass-transit centrailty), this is a great hostel. The staff are helpful, nice, & have great English. Bunks are spacious & clean. Yes, sink area is open, but it's a hostel, not a luxury hotel. Great value! I've stayed in many hostels in Japan. This one is excellent!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.