Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kyoto Hana Hostel

  • 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 2088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 2088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
10.0

Hana Hostel was perfect for my stay with two other friends in Kyoto. The location is very good, close to public transportation and convenience stores. The facilities were also good, bathrooms always clean and a kitchen to cook if needed. Above all, the staff was very friendly and helpful, not only about our stay there but also in sharing experiences and making suggestions for our plans. I would definitely recommend Hana Hostel as a place to stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Feb 2017
7.1

Mixed feelings about this hostel. The common room/kitchen is big and well equipped. The bathrooms are okay but don't have any power outlets. The dorms are cosy but the matting on the floor smells and the mattresses are very thin!! Only a 5 minute walk from Kyoto station. Staff weren't very chatty once you'd checked in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
10.0

Quite possibly my favorite hostel while in a japan. The staff were great, and the place was really clean. There's a nice cooking area couch to relax. Met some great people there. Location was right close to the station too. You can't go wrong at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Feb 2017
6.9

Very glad to only stay one night. The dorms smelt disgusting and one of our curtains only went about halfway across- a pretty big problem when you're in a mixed dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
6.0

Location is good, room layout can be better with window. Security very loose as every body can easily access to the luggage room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Really great hostel! Super clean, loved the location and the staff were so friendly and excellent. Atmosphere could have been a little better but it was off season. Kyoto is great, if you stay three nights you can hire a bike for free which I found was my favourite thing to do in Kyoto! Definitely recommend staying here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
10.0

Clean, convenient, we'll run facility with friendly, helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
9.4

Great place! The only reason we didn't give it a 10/10 was from a subjective experience. There were two snorers in the room we stayed which made our pleasant stay more like a battle between reality and dreamland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Nov 2016
9.1

Great staff, very clean, common room is ok but not the best I have come across. All in all a good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
9.1

Polite and informative staff, comfortable beds, sometimes a bit noisy from being near a main road but otherwise very comfortable stay. Convenient location close to Kyoto station, but a little further from shijo area for food and nightlife. When I stayed most guests kept mostly to themselves or own groups even in lounge area. Maybe hosted social events could encourage a better atmosphere? Great facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.