Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kyoto Hana Hostel

  • 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,933 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,933 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
Kyoto Hana Hostel Located at 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto.
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Japan
Kyoto 600-8149 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku
91% 1933
34.9896991 135.7604451
Kyoto Hana Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.0

Japanese style beds in private rooms are super hard and uncomfortable (especially for couples), they take up 90% of floor space, AC blows right onto your body, loud street noises in the morning, if window faces that direction (like ours did). Everything else was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
9.1

Hostel is in a great location, just 5 minutes from the train station/bus depot. Staff are incredibly polite and helpful. Cleanliness is a bit of an issue. My room had a real unpleasant fishy odor. Unsure if it was from a neighboring building. The mattresses are also quite thin, even compared to other Japanese hostels. My hips were pretty sore after one night. It would be nice if they had more than one shower per floor too. You could easily get stuck waiting for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Great location and a short walk from Kyoto station, and a super friendly and helpful staff. The room was fine for 3 people and the shower/amenities were clean. All in all a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved my stay at this hostel. The staff (I got to know Yoshi and the dude with ear piercings) were awesome. The location of the hostel is perfect as the bus/train station is only 5 minutes walk away. It is a clean but busy hostel. It's not a party hostel but it is very easy to meet and get to know the people staying there. 10/10 would reccomend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
10.0

Great location, super clean hostel. It's simple but it has everything you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
10.0

Easily the BEST hostel in Kyoto! VERY large room! We booked a private room and were amazed how the large the room is. EXCELLENT kitchen. Very clean and has everything. VERY clean showers and restrooms. Want towels? 100 yens per towel. Can't beat that! The staff is AWESOME! Definitely coming back again when we are in Kyoto! This hostel is a GEM! It will give you a sense of a traveler (not a tourist) and cultural aspects! Thank you, Hana staff! We really enjoyed our stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.7

The staff was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The location is great, very close to Kyoto Station. I was impressed that the bathroom area was perfectly clean. I stayed in the 6 bed female dorm, and each bed had a small locker. A lock was available for rent at the front desk. Overall, highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
7.7

Great please in Kyoto, cheap laundry :) as always hostels could be kept cleaner, but I had a great bed, very spacious and kitchen area was nice and big

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
8.9

Great location just 5 minutes walk from the station. Staff really friendly and the curtain provides a lot of privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
10.0

Great! Nothing to complain about really. Fantastic location. Great beds. Nice staff. Common room cozy. Pretty good for meeting people. Come here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.