Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kyoto Hana Hostel

  • 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
10.0

Everything you got worth beyond the money, location is excelent and the room is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
5.4

For me cleanliness is everything. Overall, the room is old with old aircon, dusty blanket and floor mattresses.The worst thing is found the baby cockroaches in the room and blanket. The blanket is damn dirty and seems like nvr wash! Totally not worth for money! If I could choose again then can pay a little bit more to get a much more better and clean accommodation. Please upgrade the room cleanliness and make the guess to have better stay! Thanks!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.6

We booked a private room, which was ok! Elsewise it was a nice experience with a super nice staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laurenjhines5519
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2017
9.7

If you want to be near Kyoto Station (though there's more culture & excitement in other neighborhoods, the Station is great for mass-transit centrailty), this is a great hostel. The staff are helpful, nice, & have great English. Bunks are spacious & clean. Yes, sink area is open, but it's a hostel, not a luxury hotel. Great value! I've stayed in many hostels in Japan. This one is excellent!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
10.0

Hana Hostel it's a great phase to stay in Kyoto. Is very convenient to the station. I've stayed there previously and there was a cooking party. When I mentioned this to the staff they offered to have another. We had a good time making Japanese tempura skewers! Stayed in a dorm on my previous stay and a private room this time, all of the rooms are nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2017
5.1

Absolutely zero atmosphere, dated and smells funky. The dorm room lower bunks are on the floor and have a terribly thin mattress, making for a painfully uncomfortable sleep. Bathrooms were ok but no door for the sink area which feels unnerving. The common area never gets used so it's not helpful for meeting any other travellers. Location was good, practically the only reason to stay here, and the staff are friendly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.0

Firstly the staff we met during our stay were great, really friendly and happy to chat and offer recommendations. Nice little kitchen and common area. It's a nice simple hostel in a good location in Kyoto, no complaints from our stay. I'd stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
8.9

Great and thanks to the hostel staff that read email & reply promptly, I was being able to get into the hostel after the check-in period without any worries. Thank you so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.9

Everything was exceptional. Great stay. Wish the beds had a bit more padding because I'd get up with a sore back and hip. But ok. Also the showers next to Fuji are really annoying when you have to keep hitting the lever.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.4

The staff at the Kyoto Hana Hostel were wonderful! Super friendly and helpful. The dorms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable to use. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone who would like to stay near to Kyoto Station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.