Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kyoto Hana Hostel

  • 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,963 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,963 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
Kyoto Hana Hostel Located at 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto.
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Japan
Kyoto 600-8149 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku
91% 1963
34.9896991 135.7604451
Kyoto Hana Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
8.9

Had private room, very clean, a bit too warm. Very nice staff, English speaking guy was very cool. Okay common area with kitchen, TV and beer machine. Okay neighborhood with restaurants but 40 minute walk to the real downtown. Mattress could be thicker but still okay for Japan. Would stay again if nothing available downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
10.0

We have been to Japan 3 times and have always stayed here when in Kyoto. It is within 5 mins walk from the main JR station and is close to local amenities. We stayed in a private room, it is a good size for a couple with ensuite shower and toilet. There are dorms for those who want a 'proper hostel' but if you just want a cheap hotel in Kyoto would highly recommend. Only down sides are the lack of a lift and air con in rooms ain't that great. Staff super friendly and speak great English.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
10.0

Very convenient location only a few minutes walk from Kyoto Station. Staff was very accommodating with me showing up late and leaving early. They emailed me the late check in procedure even though I forgot to contact them about it - very helpful. They also spoke great english. Stayed in Fuji room (8bed), was comfortable with curtains around the bunk for some privacy. Sinks and showers were clean, soap and shampoo were provided.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
10.0

Just what I had hoped for. Friendly English speaking staff, rooms and facilities cleaned daily, centrally located next to Kyoto station and other transit lines. Their rental bikes were useful for making recreational tours around the city. Common space was open all the time, which was great for meeting people as well as studying. I would definitely stay here again, recommend for anyone visiting Kyoto!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dothemetal8781
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jul 2016
9.4

Wonderful place. Very convenient for the bus and the train station. The staff were friendly and it was very clean. Would highly recommend it to others

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.4

I stayed 3 days at Kyoto Hana Hostel. Conveniently located near Kyoto Station. Staff were friendly, especially Yoshi who is one of the greatest people I've ever met, not just in Japan. She helped me figure out the train schedule and made me feel very welcome! Everyone else was great too but I can't remember their names...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.9

I had spend 4 nights at Kyoto Hana hostel. The location is great. It's just located behind Kyoto station. There are convenient shops and restaurants around the place. The hostel is very clean. Everyone has to take off the shoes before he enters the hostel. If there 's a mini bar which provides us with coffee, alcohols or soft drinks, it's gonna be perfect. Anyway, it's still a good place to stay. :) I had a great time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.0

Japanese style beds in private rooms are super hard and uncomfortable (especially for couples), they take up 90% of floor space, AC blows right onto your body, loud street noises in the morning, if window faces that direction (like ours did). Everything else was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
9.1

Hostel is in a great location, just 5 minutes from the train station/bus depot. Staff are incredibly polite and helpful. Cleanliness is a bit of an issue. My room had a real unpleasant fishy odor. Unsure if it was from a neighboring building. The mattresses are also quite thin, even compared to other Japanese hostels. My hips were pretty sore after one night. It would be nice if they had more than one shower per floor too. You could easily get stuck waiting for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Great location and a short walk from Kyoto station, and a super friendly and helpful staff. The room was fine for 3 people and the shower/amenities were clean. All in all a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.