X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kyoto Hana Hostel Reviews

229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1568 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

A lot of space in the bunks. Nice kitchen. Friendly staff.


91%

With an open curtain start, mixed with the communal setting, the company atmosphere is easily the best part of this hostel. The facilities are decent, although it does run into typical japanese issues, in terms of space for communal showers. One thing I did find irritating though was that there was you really have to pay for all the extras. Whether that's towels or locks for your safe, you have to pay your way through if you've forgotten something for your stay.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel. Has a good feel and is very clean. The staff and people there can give you directions of good places to go. Would definitely go back there again.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I stayed in a 4 mixed dorm. It was clean and tidy. The room is also spacious and with a curtain which has much security and privacy. The bathroom and kitchen are also clean and tidy which provided enough cooking utensils. The price is also reasonable.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was my second time staying here. It was as I remembered. Great facility with a great staff.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

We came after 22 and the door were closed. Some guest opened it to us. After I came in, I found email in my mailbox where code to entrance door was written, however, an hour before arriving my phone was already dead so I couldn't read it. That was the only thing that was not fully pleasant about my stay


94%

It's well located just a couple of blocks from Kyoto station , five minutes walking, the staff in very friendly and the facilities are great


100%

HI.... Im so Glad that my sister told me to stay at Hana Hostel. Well this is my first experience to travel solo as my 30th Birthday Gift for myself.. as a result Hana Hostel one of the best as a "Hostel" its really homey even tho Im alone... the people are nice especially The lady behind the desk who helped me to carry my heavy luggage.. hahahaha (YURI) Domo Arigatou!!! well..Thank you so much for your hospitality and I did enjoy my holiday in Kyoto :) xxx

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The reception staff was fantastic. Warm And helpful

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was TOP. Special mention to the friendliest staff ever and the cleanness of the hostel. Only tiny negative part: rooms are not so big and didn't have a lot of space to put my backpack / stuff. I would definitely come back :)


100%

I can't find any reason to complain this hostel. It's the best hostel that i've ever stayed. Nice and strong English communication staff, beautiful atmosphere, cleanliness, and 5-7 mint walk to JR kyoto. Strongly reccommended !!:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for staying with us this time! We hope to see you again soon:)

100%

The staff at Kyoto Hana Hostel are great! Super friendly and helpful. The location is only a short walk from Kyoto station and a slightly longer walk to Gion. The facilities are very clean and tidy. We had a great time staying here and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Kyoto.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for staying with us this time! Hope our place helped to make your stay in Kyoto a good one:) We hope to see you again soon:)

86%

Centrally located clean hostel near Kyoto JR station, good base for trips around Kyoto and other cities like Osaka, Nara, etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very very much for your stay this time:) We hope you liked Kyoto as much;)

91%

It will be better if the staff can help arrange for less changing room.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your stay with us:) We wanted to, but because we ere all full, we just could not... Anyways, we hope you enjoyed Kyoto:)

100%

Absolutely loving this hostel. Pleasant staff and nice atmosphere, and within walking distance to Kyoto Station. The staffs did a great job in keeping the shared spaces clean before "morning rush hour". In the dorm, every bunk bed has a curtain that provides privacy. Love the reward system and the postcards are lovely.


86%

Overall of our stay there were really great. On our last day pf stay, they help us to book a taxi to the kyoto station to carry our unexpected excess luggages (mind you to stay away from anim*** for discount figure action, ae** and dai**o to escape the same condition like us, unexpected shopping LoL).Their location is superb. The only one of minus, as mention by others that it will be adding more value if they have a lift, minimum for taking customer's luggage upstairs =)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! Haha indeed. Dai** is such a seductive magical place..;P Hope you will come back in the near future!

89%

Very comfortable and clean accommodation.I especially liked th dorm bed which was almost like a self-contained loft -type room, being spacious enough to keep all your belongings in your own individual space.I cannot see the point of Spending more money on an hotel room if you are a single traveller. will definitely stay here again if I return to this lovely city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for staying with us this time:) The spacious bed is also our favorite ! we are so glad that you like it too! Hope to see you soon!

100%

Loved Hana Hostel - we will definitely be staying again.

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We all hope to see you soon enough:)

100%

Amazing hostel just minutes from Kyoto station so great for exploring the city. Staff very helpful and friendly and good at English! We had a private room with ensuite and was very comfortable. Was a shame we couldn't stay here longer as it was all booked in advance so we had to move to a different 'hotel' for double the money but was very poor in comparison to the Hana. Would definitely recommend this place as a base in Kyoto.

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! It's also a shame for us not being able to accommodate you longer... Golden week makes price the highest for the "hotels".:( Anyway, hope to see you soon enough!

91%

Very, very good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very, very much!!!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback