Hostelworld.com

Kyoto Hana Hostel

  • 229 Akezu-dori Street, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 2081 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 2081 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
4.6

froze my butt off. I was shivering cold the whole night. not coming again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Really great hostel! Super clean, loved the location and the staff were so friendly and excellent. Atmosphere could have been a little better but it was off season. Kyoto is great, if you stay three nights you can hire a bike for free which I found was my favourite thing to do in Kyoto! Definitely recommend staying here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
10.0

Clean, convenient, we'll run facility with friendly, helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
9.4

Great place! The only reason we didn't give it a 10/10 was from a subjective experience. There were two snorers in the room we stayed which made our pleasant stay more like a battle between reality and dreamland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Nov 2016
9.1

Great staff, very clean, common room is ok but not the best I have come across. All in all a good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
9.1

Polite and informative staff, comfortable beds, sometimes a bit noisy from being near a main road but otherwise very comfortable stay. Convenient location close to Kyoto station, but a little further from shijo area for food and nightlife. When I stayed most guests kept mostly to themselves or own groups even in lounge area. Maybe hosted social events could encourage a better atmosphere? Great facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
10.0

Awesome place. The staff rocks! It's clean and in a perfect location. It's perfect for the backpacker.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Oct 2016
10.0

Hana Hostel is a clean and quiet hostel within walking distance from Kyoto Station and neighboring Higashi Honganji Temple. The best part is I paid only USD 28.54 a night. I arrived past midnight and the reception opens only at 8am while check in time is 3pm during the day. Guests are free to wait at the common kitchen/living room though, while waiting for the reception/check in time and free to leave luggage at the luggage room. Staffs are helpful, polite and informative.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Oct 2016
10.0

Location is GREAT - there is an underground connection directly to Kyoto Station. Very close to a konbini (convenience store), with several more en route to Kyoto Station. Room was clean, quiet and spacious. I liked the large single bathroom on my floor as compared to shower cubicles in other hostels. (There are almost certainly more bathrooms on the upper floors that I didn't explore.) Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Oct 2016
9.7

Nice hostel. Excellant location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.