Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casa de Cecilia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
10.0

Loved this place, it is adorable and so friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
6.0

Really frustrating as this has the potential to be a great hostel with a really cool layout in a perfect location. But there are a few problems which could easily be solved. First I was left waiting to check in for over an hour as the receptionist had gone to get dinner. Also they don't let guests use the kitchen which is annoying as it's just left empty all day. And the common areas are all separated which means there is no atmosphere at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
9.4

The staff at Casade Cecilia are excellent.thelocation is perfect along a stream and closeto town square with restaurants. Rooms are more than adequate. You may purchase an excellent breakfast and eat with a view of the stream. Paula set up two perfect birding trips for us. One right in the Mindo hills, one about 30 minutes away to Refugio La Paz to see the most famous bird, Cock of the Rock and also antpittas, normally impossible to see. Paula's husband, Yarros, provided transport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
9.4

Stayed one night in a 5 bed dorm. Very clean room with mosquito nets provided for the beds. Beautiful location, right next to the river and they have hummingbird feeders that I could have watched all day. They also provided boots which I used since it was super rainy. Pretty loud especially on bottom floor when people walk around upstairs. Can't use the kitchen but they do offer cheap breakfast. Best part is they are located right next to the Quetzal chocolate place. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.1

Great location, delicious breakfast options, and comfy rooms that make you feel like you're in the middle of the forest! Things smelled quite mildewy and the bathrooms weren't the nicest, but great for the price we paid and awesome location within walking distance from everything... especially the chocolate factory :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
7.1

Second time staying here and it started with a really nice surprise upgrade as I had reserved a four person dorm and for some reason got put in this really nice private attic room. only downside was the bug net didnt properly fit over my bed and the one window didnt actually connect to the walls so there was nothing stopping the bugs from getting in. Aside from that, and the ice cold shower water, I love this place. Its got great views, which make up for the wifi that barely ever works.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.0

Beautiful setting for a hostel in Mindo - set beside a river, among the trees, hammocks to relax in. Rooms and beds were nice, close access to bathrooms and WIFI was pretty fast. Staff were relatively friendly, helpful with getting tips on activities in the area. However, there was no security lockers (and nowhere else to store valuables), and there was a strict no kitchen access rule (despite the kitchen being an enormous size).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.0

I stayed in the 4 bed mixed dorm. The beds were comfortable and the hostel itself was very beautiful. However, there was a roof leak but that was fixed within my 2 day stay. Showers were tepid and wifi was just about strong enough for a FaceTime call. Rooms and bathrooms very clean. You can lock the room it seemed, but they didn't and the breakfast was ok but not worth $4. Staff were very friendly however, and atmosphere was very chilled. Definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Mar 2017
5.1

My room was like sleeping in a garden shed. No windows, a door that had gaps all around so you could easily see into the room when the door was closed and an adjoining door to the dorm that again you could see through the gaps. No staff around in the morning when I left at 7.15sm so had to leave the key and money. At check-in no information given apart from being shown to the room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2017
6.9

The staff were very unfriendly and never smiled once and i was there for 8 nights as well. As far as security, they ask to leave the key at the front desk but anyone can access it since no one is hardly there. the location by the river and sitting on the tables with the view was the best part. The breakfast was pretty good as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.