Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casa de Cecilia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 431 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 431 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.0

So, there is nothing wrong with the facilities per se. Just that on arrival our hosts gave us no indication as to what all was available or provided by the hostel. Later we realized they offered laundry service and meals etc. Not a very inviting atmosphere. But, located next to the chocolate making facility which was great! Mosquito nets were solid, and a must. Beds were comfy. Great views from the rooms. Felt like a tree house. Pretty cool. Towels provided.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
9.4

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. My only complaint is that the water for the first floor shower was painfully hot. It was hard to take showers. Whenever I head back to Mindo, I would totally stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
10.0

Great place! I stay there every time I go to Mindo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
8.9

Very nice place!! Our double room had a view on the river and was very nice, location is great and it was clean. Only thing was, that the breakfast was quite expensive, but not good. I would recommend going somewhere else for breakfast. Next door to the hostel is a great cafe!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
8.6

Hostel has a good location and facilities are very nice, although basic. But keep in mind- breakfast is not included and you are not allowed to use kitchen facilities to prepare your own- however, they offer 3 options of breakfast at reasonable prices.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2017
8.6

Very chilled hostel only a short walk from the main town centre. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and are more than happy to offer advice There is also a derailed folder on Cuenca on what to do including bus times etc The beds have their own curtain for added privacy They even called a taxi for us at the end, highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
7.7

Excellent location by the river and a total bonus to be able to watch hummingbirds feeding in the garden. Really helpful owner who can arrange everything for you. Lovely airy dorm and nice shower. Very quiet when we were there, as was the whole town of Mindo. Hostel doesn't have lockers so you have to leave valuables in the owner's house, which is a pain if you forget something important.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2017
6.9

It's more of a hotel than a hostel, but the room we had was really nice and was perfect for relaxing for a few days. There's no atmosphere though, and they've got an absolutely enormous kitchen that they use to make breakfast in the morning and then it stands empty all day (customers aren't allowed to use it). On top of this the cook was absolutely miserable and didn't smile once. I would stay again though, but just don't expect too much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
8.6

The hostel location is so beautiful, right on the river. We felt like we were staying in a treehouse. However, there was the no wifi in our room, and the wifi in the common area did not work either. The staff was also pretty unavailable as far as asking any questions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
10.0

I have not a single negative thing to say about this amazing place. The location is 2 blocKS away from downtown Mindo, yet it feels like miles away due to the location and atmosphere. On a peaceful river, with porches (with hammocks of course!) It is quiet and peaceful. Mindo is the safest place I've been in Ecuador (walking down unlit side streets, even at midnight, felt completely safe). I paid $11 dollars for a private room...An amazing deal for what you get . Come here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.