Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casa de Dante

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 598 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 598 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Sep 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I ever stayed in

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2017
9.7

Chillo was the best staff/host/chef. He and the other staff members were so helpful and kind, and put on an amazing Mexican breakfast. It was about a 10-15 minute walk to the main area of town, so a nice stroll during the day, but felt a bit longer after a few too many drinks at night. That being said, we never felt unsafe walking at night in the area, and the hostel itself was clean, safe and a great vibe. Would HIGHLY recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2017
9.1

Hostel was fantastic! Though BEWARE: you have a climb a LOT of steps to get there and then to the city center. BUT I think the view on the terrace was worth it if you take advantage of it. Staff was friendly and spoke a bit of English, breakfast was phenomenal! Rooms were kept clean, and bathrooms were okay. Overall, pretty good - stairs were a killer so be prepared and wear the right shoes! The place was super cute though. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jul 2017
9.4

Went for 2 nights, ended up staying a week. The breakfast, staff, and views are more than worth the extra cost. I'm not super fit, but didn't mind the walk into town or all the stairs. Take part in the salmon run - attempt to climb the many stairs to casa dante (sober or otherwise) in a heavy summer rain. Sunrise on the top balcony was magical. Wish the 1130pm noise curfew was less strict for musical jams (the group was having a lot of fun). Overall, I'll stay here again when I'm back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
10.0

Casa de Dante is above and beyond the best place I have stayed in Mexico. I was welcomed into the home and felt that I was part of Dante's family. The dorms are so comfortable and beautifully decorated and sharing space never felt crowded. The steps up are no joke, and if you cannot manage several hundred steps perhaps several times a day you should consider whether this place will work for you. But my opinion is the two course gourmet breakfast is worth any pain from climbing back up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2017
9.4

Quintessential Guanajuato! Much like the city, this hostel is a beautiful maze of stairs and decor. My private room was a hermitage; the next room was 10m away. Porch views were great; you're up in the hills here. Breakfast is made to order - coffee, fruit, main dish, with unlimited seconds (8:30-10:00 I think?) Plenty of kitchens and water jugs throughout. One downside: this hostel is a walk from the city center (17 minutes to Teatro Juarez, 45 to the mummies). More chances to explore, I guess?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • diegodvargaside5906
  • Mexico, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
24th Jul 2017
8.9

Very nice concept in the hostel, colorful decoration and very friendly employees. Located a bit away from the city center but very nearby to the Pipila statue by the hill (which made it tough to climb upstairs every night after coming back in the evening but with an incredible view). Breakfasts were delicious and the beds were very comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.0

Pros: - Great breakfast - comfortable beds - terrace and views are awesome - lots of space Cons - Not enough bathrooms - Rooms can be bright/noisy at night - Bit far out of town - but could also be a Pro! It's quiet and great exercise, and nice to be out of town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
10.0

Highlight here was the excellent breakfasts and the beautiful terrace space overlooking the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
9.4

Beautiful view, staff is extremely nice and helpful, building is awesome, breakfast was delicious, and provided great atmosphere to meet other people. Downtown takes about 15 minutes to get to and stairs to and from the hostal are not the easiest to walk but they warn you from the beginning about the stairs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×