Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casa de Maruja BB

  • Las Esmeraldas 146 - Cruce de Palmira, -Independencia- Huaraz- Peru - South America, Huaraz, Peru

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 218 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 218 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jul 2017
5.1

No hot water, shower had mold, and would not lower the price. Booked me for the wrong tour. The place is loud and far away from the city center.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kpselkirk33
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
4.9

The location is very far from the centre of Huaraz, it is on the outskirts of town and it is difficult to get a taxi from it after dark. The room itself was quite nice but it was not prepared for a guest, no towel or toilet paper. There's a dog living in the lot across the street and it barked almost all night, making it impossible to sleep except between 2-5am. After I returned from a 4 day trek I asked to shower and was willing to pay but the staff were unaccommodating and didn't let me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
9.7

Excellent staff and very helpful for any request

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2017
9.7

We stayed here for a little more than week while trekking around the Huaraz area. The place makes you feel like home, the rooftop view (ask to eat your breakfast there!) is amazing! Since day one Maruja and Gilf made us feel like family, and made sure we had everything we needed, whether it was hot shower water, laundry, pancakes for breakfast or empanada-making tips. Gilf was patient with all of our trekking-related questions and answered thoughtfully and honestly. Highly recommended!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rmgomez12
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.9

Fantastic hostel to stay at if you are looking for a chilled atmosphere with amazing owners. It's a bit out of town so you have to take a taxi for 4 or 5 soles into Huaraz. At night we didn't seem to get much hot water in the shower. Maybe cuz others used it all up. The free breakfast is amazing. The owners are very knowledgable and will help you with anything. Mini mart just steps away. Warning, inside the hostel is really cold!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jul 2017
9.4

The owners are really nice and help you to get tours etc. spontaneous. Free tea. The breakfast could be more, but is alright. They also got a nice terrace. It is a quiet place to rest, good for people who will do some trekking tours etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th Jun 2017
8.3

This is a very nice hostel. The rooms are of a good size with a massive bathroom. Breakfast is fantastic and the staff are extremely helpful and attentive. I was able to book my tour through the hostel. The hostel is a taxi ride (8min) from the centre but it's worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2017
10.0

We had an excellent stay! Maruja and her husband Gilf are wonderful and were quick to help us out in every way. Maruja always gave us detailed directions on how to get places, even drew out small maps for us to follow. Gilf is a English-speaking mountaineering guide and had many suggestions for us in terms of activities. We did not have enough time to do an ice climbing this time, but will definitely be back at some point in the future for a dedicated climbing vacation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Amazing hosts who have a beautiful and cozy hostal. There is a free breakfast and it's really tasty and filling. Beyond that they are very knowledgeable about things to do in town and out trekking. Couldn't ask for more from a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Jun 2017
9.1

Warm and helpful staff. Rooms are really clean and cosy, if you get a room with views of the mountain it's incredible. They also can hire you any equipment needed for hikes. Out of town but a short collectivo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.