Hostelworld.com

La Casa de Maruja BB

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 106 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 106 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.2
La Casa de Maruja BB Located at Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146, , Huaraz.
La Casa de Maruja BB
Peru
Huaraz 151 Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146
92% 106
-9.5013920 -77.5343048
La Casa de Maruja BB
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Apr 2016
10.0

Had an amazing stay at La Casa de Maruja ! It was the best hostel we've stayed at so far. It was extremely clean, quiet, bed was very comfortable, and the kitten was so cute and friendly! The owners were the most helpful and friendly hosts we have come across - they picked us up early from the bus station and let us stay in our room until 10:00 pm for our night bus with no cost! Location is out of town but 1 sole to get into town, not a big deal at all! seriously - STAY HERE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Mar 2016
9.7

Our stay at La Casa de Maruja BB was short, but extremely enjoyable. The family go out of their way to welcome you and assist you in everything you could want, from booking tours to using their family kitchen or using the showers when we'd checked out. Gilf (the owner) even drove us to the beginning of a hike he recommended and picked us up later that afternoon! Lovely rooms, good beds (which are remade daily), excellent wifi and a good early breakfast. Cannot recommend highly enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
19th Mar 2016
7.1

There during off season so hostel was empty. Rooms are fine with hot water. Location not great, maybe better to stay in town (but cabs/collectivos are inexpensive)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2016
10.0

Family-run hostel with great vibes : ) After staying at over 50 different hostels all over Chile & Peru, I have to say this was the best experience we had! It had all the essentials: fast wi-fi, hot showers, and free breakfast! The reason we loved it so much was because of the husband and wife team who helped us with everything from getting to the Santa Cruz trailhead, renting gear, laundry, use of the kitchen.. even uploading pictures to the computer! They are so kind and we are so grateful!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
9.7

Absolutely loved my time at casa de madruja!! Gilf and his family were extremely welcoming and accommodating! Other reviews have said that their house is located a little ways out of town, but that was no issue whatsoever. Colectivos run every few minutes at 1 sol or less, and taxis even more frequently at no more than 4 soles. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay with clean facilities, breakfast each morning, and caring hosts!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • amcgrathwnec8854
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2016
9.7

Had a fantastic stay here. Maruja, Gilf and Laura were all super friendly and helpful. As a guide, Gilf was very knowledgeable of all the nearby treks and gave very helpful info. Being able to rent climbing/camping gear from the hostel was a huge bonus. Facilities were very clean and breakfast every morning was delicious. 24 hr hot water and laundry services were a great benefit as well. Although it's a bit out of town it's nice to be somewhere quiet at night. 0.80 soles into town via collectivo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jan 2016
7.7

Lovely family run hostel but as a solo female traveller it was way to far out of town. You will need to catch a collectivo in and out of town which can be a bit tricky if you don't speak good Spanish, and also isn't the easiest once it gets dark.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jan 2016
9.4

The best hostel ever where i have stayed. The location was little far from the central but it costs 3soles by taxi to the center. Moreover, they allowed us to stay the hostel until our Bus time at night. Everything was perfect(clean kitchen, fast wifi, cleanness and so on). Would highly recommend this hostel!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jan 2016
9.4

I'm not one for leaving reviews but this hostel really deserves one! Gilf and his family make you feel at home instantly and are so so helpful. We booked for one night and have stayed for 4 now! We rented equipment from Gilf for the Santa Cruz trek and his knowledge allowed us to do it with no guide. We handed over a wet tent and washing on our return and Gilf ordered us a takeaway pizza and all still with his big smile! Service here has been above and beyond and we would definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2016
10.0

Great vibes and super friendly staff. Owner is knowledgeable about the Hikes and Climbs in area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.