Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casa de Maruja BB

  • Las Esmeraldas 146 - Cruce de Palmira, -Independencia- Huaraz- Peru - South America, Huaraz, Peru

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 165 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 165 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.3
La Casa de Maruja BB Located at Las Esmeraldas 146 - Cruce de Palmira, -Independencia- Huaraz- Peru - South America, Huaraz.
La Casa de Maruja BB
Peru
Huaraz 151 Las Esmeraldas 146 - Cruce de Palmira, -Independencia- Huaraz- Peru - South America
92% 165
-9.5013920 -77.5343048
La Casa de Maruja BB
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Nov 2016
10.0

This is the best hostel I stayed in in Peru' so far. Every time I book an hostel I hope it is like this one! The dorm was big and cozy, the beds were huge and comfy, the bathroom was super clean. Without even mentioning how awesome the owners are! They made me feel like I was their daughter, so cute. It is far from the city center but you can catch a colectivo for 80 cents of soles, and those colectivos run literally every 2 minutes (that was my maximum waiting time). Otherwise a cab for 3 soles

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.4

Absolutely beautiful place really helpful, clean comfy beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
9.7

What a wonderful place to stay! It's a little bit out of town, but you can easily grab a taxi for three or four soles (depending on where you're headed) or a collectivo for one sole (often less). Maruja and her husband Gilf are the sweetest people you'll ever meet, and Gilf's knowledge of the Peruvian treks and mountain ranges is basically like getting a guide for free. Breakfast is light but delicious and certainly adequate. We've stayed in the same room twice now--it's lovely. Awesome place!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
9.4

this hostel was one of the friendliest places we've been! the owners were interested in making our stay and our hiking plans, eating plans, and all around adventure plans the easiest and most fun! they knew and shared knowledge and equipment for hiking any treks we wanted, always accommodated any question or problem we had. mostly quiet except on weekends but that's to be expected! cleaned, fresh room every day! like a kind, sweet hotel. breakfasts were incredible. great coffee. definitely yes!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2016
9.7

Graet hostel- clean, lovely, great hostes, good breakfast and fair price. The hostel owner helps you in every question about hiking, he is a experience guide

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Oct 2016
10.0

Maruja and Gilf are absolutely wonderful. Two of the sweetest and most helpful people I've met in Peru. Cannot recommend this hostel enough :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Oct 2016
8.0

This is a great place to stay if you want a couple days to relax or acclimate. The rooms are cheap and very barebones. It's located about a mile out of town so you can walk or take a taxi(which the staff states it's only 1 sole) the lowest I got was 3 soles. Taxis also have trouble finding this location. The showers were lukewarm at best.You're staying in the home Of Maruja a lovey helpful lady and rest of her family and their cat "Lady". Tl:dr coldish showers, lovey staff, far from town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Oct 2016
8.3

We really enjoyed our stay here. The owners make you feel very welcome. The breakfast is nice (tea/coffee, toast, eggs and orange juice). We had a lovely spacious room with a balcony. It was very comfortable and bright. The shower was hot and everything was kept very clean. The WiFi is ok, better downstairs than upstairs. The owners are very chatty and interested in what you are planning on doing in Huaraz. They are more than happy to provide information and advice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
8.6

Such helpful hosts. I would absolutely stay again. Very clean and well organised and a great breakfast daily.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Oct 2016
10.0

The owners of this hostel are amazing!! The hostel is really homely and set just a small walk out of town which didn't bother us at all. They organised our tours and were really helpful with planning everything would definitely stay again! Breakfast was amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.