Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casa de Maruja BB

  • Las Esmeraldas 146 - Cruce de Palmira, -Independencia- Huaraz- Peru - South America, Huaraz, Peru

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.2
La Casa de Maruja BB Located at Las Esmeraldas 146 - Cruce de Palmira, -Independencia- Huaraz- Peru - South America, Huaraz.
La Casa de Maruja BB
Peru
Huaraz 151 Las Esmeraldas 146 - Cruce de Palmira, -Independencia- Huaraz- Peru - South America
91% 177
-9.5013920 -77.5343048
La Casa de Maruja BB
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Jan 2017
9.4

This is a great locally operated hostel. Breakfast is made to order and owners are genuinely keen on ensuring the comfort of their guests. It is out of town but very easy to get into Huaraz as it is just off the main road. Only consideration is that water is heated by the sun, not gas, so 24 hour hot water isn't exactly accurate. When it runs out you must wait until the next day for hot temps. I would absolutely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
24th Dec 2016
8.0

Lovely guest house - the owners here go out of their way to help you make plans for discovering the area they are what makes this place!!! Showers were hot and wifi was good, it's a nice place to lay your head after a day of hiking. It's pretty far from the centre which was a bit annoying when we wanted to go for food that's the only drawback. Would stay here again though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Dec 2016
9.7

Very nice hostel with clean rooms and hot showers. The beds are very cozy! The owners are very very helpful and friendly! The center is a few kilometers away, but it's very easy to go there by bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
9.1

Gilf and his team were extremely friendly and helpful. Gilf's knowledge of the mountains 1st class and helped us with ideas of which hikes to do. The room was cleaned everyday and had plenty of hot water. Only downside is location but if you dont mind going in and out of town by taxi or collectivo then it's a perfect place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
9.7

In over 14 months of travel I've never written a review for my accommodation but I definitely felt like I wanted to convey to other travellers how amazing La Casa de Maruja is! The family is so lovely and welcoming - my sister and I really felt at home staying here. Everything is clean and organised and the home cooked breakfast was great. Gilf and his wife went out of their way to provide us with loads of information. We extended our stay just because we loved it here! Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Dec 2016
10.0

Best hostel we've stayed in. Big open hostel with great atmosphere and incredibly kind and welcoming owners who organise tours and cook delicious breakfasts. Big comfy rooms with hot water and balcony. Great wifi. Big kitchen to cook in. Little out of town but nothing to do in huaraz town so nice to be away from the noise! Definitely recommend to stay here if you're in Huaraz.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
10.0

This is the best hostel I stayed in in Peru' so far. Every time I book an hostel I hope it is like this one! The dorm was big and cozy, the beds were huge and comfy, the bathroom was super clean. Without even mentioning how awesome the owners are! They made me feel like I was their daughter, so cute. It is far from the city center but you can catch a colectivo for 80 cents of soles, and those colectivos run literally every 2 minutes (that was my maximum waiting time). Otherwise a cab for 3 soles

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.4

Absolutely beautiful place really helpful, clean comfy beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
9.7

What a wonderful place to stay! It's a little bit out of town, but you can easily grab a taxi for three or four soles (depending on where you're headed) or a collectivo for one sole (often less). Maruja and her husband Gilf are the sweetest people you'll ever meet, and Gilf's knowledge of the Peruvian treks and mountain ranges is basically like getting a guide for free. Breakfast is light but delicious and certainly adequate. We've stayed in the same room twice now--it's lovely. Awesome place!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
9.4

this hostel was one of the friendliest places we've been! the owners were interested in making our stay and our hiking plans, eating plans, and all around adventure plans the easiest and most fun! they knew and shared knowledge and equipment for hiking any treks we wanted, always accommodated any question or problem we had. mostly quiet except on weekends but that's to be expected! cleaned, fresh room every day! like a kind, sweet hotel. breakfasts were incredible. great coffee. definitely yes!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.