Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casa de Maruja BB

  • Las Esmeraldas 146 - Cruce de Palmira, -Independencia- Huaraz- Peru - South America, Huaraz, Peru

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 186 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 186 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
10.0

The owners of this hostel were sooo nice! So helpful with information about hiking and tours. The breakfast was also delicious :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Feb 2017
10.0

Gilf and Maruja are a great hosts, very welcoming, open, helpful and caring about their guests. Although the house is located slightly outside of the city center, this is completly ok since minibusses pass right in front of the house and are cheap. Great breakfast, very good atmosphere, large and well equipped kitchen. Gilf speaks Spanish & English. Dorms are rooms with more than 2 beds (no bunkbeds), private rooms are very large. Gilf rents trek equipment and organizes tours. Very recommendable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
9.4

Awesome b&b! Great value for the money, nice breakfast, clean, etc. But really the main perk is the owner, Gilf. He is an extremely knowledgeable former mountain guide and can answer all of your questions about trekking and hiking the Cordillera Blanca. He organized the Lago 69 day hike for us, lent us a tent, camping stove, sleeping bags, sleeping mats (all for a super reasonable price) and told us everything we needed to know about the Santa Cruz. Such a valuable resource and great person!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cnorthm5898
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Feb 2017
9.4

Although a little out of town this is the perfect place to base your hikes from. The owners are so accommodating helping with all questions. You can also rent equipment to do the Santa Cruz hike on your own. Would highly recommend!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
9.1

This hostel was incredible! They gave us all the information we could ever want about doing the Santa Cruz trek and other outdoor activities in the area independently. They let us leave our stuff there while we were on our trek, and shower and use their wifi after we came back while we were waiting to take the night bus. Theyre a little out of town but its super easy to take a taxi into the center for cheap. I would highly recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
9.4

This is a great locally operated hostel. Breakfast is made to order and owners are genuinely keen on ensuring the comfort of their guests. It is out of town but very easy to get into Huaraz as it is just off the main road. Only consideration is that water is heated by the sun, not gas, so 24 hour hot water isn't exactly accurate. When it runs out you must wait until the next day for hot temps. I would absolutely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
8.9

Lovely staff, great breakfast, comfortable beds! Shower was cold and didn't drain properly. Is out of the city by a few mins but really not an issue. Would stay again (and did)!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
24th Dec 2016
8.0

Lovely guest house - the owners here go out of their way to help you make plans for discovering the area they are what makes this place!!! Showers were hot and wifi was good, it's a nice place to lay your head after a day of hiking. It's pretty far from the centre which was a bit annoying when we wanted to go for food that's the only drawback. Would stay here again though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.7

Very nice hostel with clean rooms and hot showers. The beds are very cozy! The owners are very very helpful and friendly! The center is a few kilometers away, but it's very easy to go there by bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
9.1

Gilf and his team were extremely friendly and helpful. Gilf's knowledge of the mountains 1st class and helped us with ideas of which hikes to do. The room was cleaned everyday and had plenty of hot water. Only downside is location but if you dont mind going in and out of town by taxi or collectivo then it's a perfect place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.