Hostelworld.com

La Casa de Maruja BB

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.3
La Casa de Maruja BB Located at Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146, , Huaraz.
La Casa de Maruja BB
Peru
Huaraz 151 Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146
93% 113
-9.5013920 -77.5343048
La Casa de Maruja BB
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
9.7

Great place to stay. The shower was hot, the room was clean and the staff was really nice all the time, very willing to help me with anything anytime. Definitely recommend it for people looking for a good place to rest in between trails and hikings. The host Gilf has great recommendations for hikers, he knows all about the place and was very helpful with acclimatization and hiking tips.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
8.3

Good clean hostel. Accommodating staff. One of the managers/owners Gilf speaks English and was helpful with recommending hikes. This hostel is located a few kilometers from down town. It was relatively quiet but it look a lot of walking to get to the city center (restaurants, shops, bank, etc.) One resturaunt was very close: La Rustika, great pollería.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
9.4

Brilliant stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. We were able to check in at 6am and check out at 9pm for our buses. We stayed in a twin room with an ensuite, it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast is great and set us up for the long days hiking/out for trips. I would definitely recommend la casa de Maruja!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st May 2016
8.3

The staff were fantastic - incredibly welcoming and nothing was too much trouble! They were kind enough lend members of our group climbing shoes. The rooms were comfortable and clean - the showers were warm after 8am, but occasionally were not warm at all (they are solar charged) The breakfast was reasonable. It is located a taxi ride (5 minutes - around 4-5 soles) from the Plaza de Armas. There is a shop at the end of the road which was useful. I would recommend overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andreychukjared
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2016
9.7

This place is perfect. Spotless rooms and comfortable beds. Beautiful view of Huascaran. Gilf and Maruja are the nicest, most helpful people in Peru. Slightly out of the city center but an easy 4 soles taxi to get there. Do your self a favor and stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
10.0

Had an amazing stay at La Casa de Maruja ! It was the best hostel we've stayed at so far. It was extremely clean, quiet, bed was very comfortable, and the kitten was so cute and friendly! The owners were the most helpful and friendly hosts we have come across - they picked us up early from the bus station and let us stay in our room until 10:00 pm for our night bus with no cost! Location is out of town but 1 sole to get into town, not a big deal at all! seriously - STAY HERE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Mar 2016
9.7

Our stay at La Casa de Maruja BB was short, but extremely enjoyable. The family go out of their way to welcome you and assist you in everything you could want, from booking tours to using their family kitchen or using the showers when we'd checked out. Gilf (the owner) even drove us to the beginning of a hike he recommended and picked us up later that afternoon! Lovely rooms, good beds (which are remade daily), excellent wifi and a good early breakfast. Cannot recommend highly enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
19th Mar 2016
7.1

There during off season so hostel was empty. Rooms are fine with hot water. Location not great, maybe better to stay in town (but cabs/collectivos are inexpensive)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2016
10.0

Family-run hostel with great vibes : ) After staying at over 50 different hostels all over Chile & Peru, I have to say this was the best experience we had! It had all the essentials: fast wi-fi, hot showers, and free breakfast! The reason we loved it so much was because of the husband and wife team who helped us with everything from getting to the Santa Cruz trailhead, renting gear, laundry, use of the kitchen.. even uploading pictures to the computer! They are so kind and we are so grateful!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
9.7

Absolutely loved my time at casa de madruja!! Gilf and his family were extremely welcoming and accommodating! Other reviews have said that their house is located a little ways out of town, but that was no issue whatsoever. Colectivos run every few minutes at 1 sol or less, and taxis even more frequently at no more than 4 soles. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay with clean facilities, breakfast each morning, and caring hosts!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.