Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casa de Maruja BB

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 151 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 151 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
La Casa de Maruja BB Located at Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146, , Huaraz.
La Casa de Maruja BB
Peru
Huaraz 151 Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146
92% 151
-9.5013920 -77.5343048
La Casa de Maruja BB
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
9.4

Everything was absolutely fabulous, Gilf and Maruja are wonderful hosts. The only issue I had is that the water in my shower was lukewarm and wouldn't get any hotter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
8.9

Everything was really awesome and the staff was really helpful. Except i gave my passport and wallet to the lady to keep safe, and when I was checking out the lady wasn't there and the workers didnt know where my passport was. It was a very stressful moment but they eventually they found it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
9.7

I cannot say enough good things about the Casa. Both Gilf and Maruja are amazing, kind friendly helpful and always willing to do whatever you need. In fact, I was ill and had to go to hospital and they arranged to take me to hospital and came with me to help with the Spanish. I had a private room which was spotless, had great bathroom and had amazing TV. If you want a quiet, clean place to call base during your time in Huaraz, you won't do better than here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
9.7

I can't stress how friendly the staff is. Very knowledgeable and extremely helpful, kind, a very homey atmosphere. I loved this place. Everyone here is into hiking so there's always someone around to chat with, but it's a nice relaxing place to stay. Only a 5 minute ride into town and at only 1 sol. The owner even walked me across the street to help me flag down a taxi. The eggs are the BEST I've had in Peru. The shower is hot when you let it run for 30 seconds. Would highly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I've stayed at in South America, Gilf and his family are wonderful and extremely accommodating. They upgraded me for free to a private bedroom and bathroom and were very helpful in booking treks. Gilf is a well known mountain guide himself and is very knowledgeable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
9.4

A beautiful peaceful getaway with the most genuinely nice owners you'll ever meet!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
10.0

The owners here are so lovely! They are incredibly generous and helpful. We felt very safe here, the rooms were nice, and they helped us arrange pickup from the hostel to go on trekking tours. The perfect place to stay if you are coming to Huaraz for trekking or other tours!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
9.4

I enjoy my time here very much. the dorms are big and conferrable, the shower are clean and the water are hot and great. just a wonderful place to stay and relax between the tracks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dmcleish01
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Aug 2016
10.0

A friend and I are backpacking around South and Central America and came across this wonderful little guest house. Some of the friendliest staff we have come across on our travels and wonderful facilities, hot water and a good breakfast Would definitely recommend this place for anyone travelling to Huaraz! Thankyou

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
31st Jul 2016
10.0

Excellent staff, great breakfast. Location is far away but I don´t want give bad grade on location because other parts are overwhelming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.