Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casa de Maruja BB

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
La Casa de Maruja BB Located at Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146, , Huaraz.
La Casa de Maruja BB
Peru
Huaraz 151 Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146
91% 141
-9.5013920 -77.5343048
La Casa de Maruja BB
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I've stayed at in South America, Gilf and his family are wonderful and extremely accommodating. They upgraded me for free to a private bedroom and bathroom and were very helpful in booking treks. Gilf is a well known mountain guide himself and is very knowledgeable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
9.4

A beautiful peaceful getaway with the most genuinely nice owners you'll ever meet!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
10.0

The owners here are so lovely! They are incredibly generous and helpful. We felt very safe here, the rooms were nice, and they helped us arrange pickup from the hostel to go on trekking tours. The perfect place to stay if you are coming to Huaraz for trekking or other tours!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
9.4

I enjoy my time here very much. the dorms are big and conferrable, the shower are clean and the water are hot and great. just a wonderful place to stay and relax between the tracks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dmcleish01
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Aug 2016
10.0

A friend and I are backpacking around South and Central America and came across this wonderful little guest house. Some of the friendliest staff we have come across on our travels and wonderful facilities, hot water and a good breakfast Would definitely recommend this place for anyone travelling to Huaraz! Thankyou

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
31st Jul 2016
10.0

Excellent staff, great breakfast. Location is far away but I don´t want give bad grade on location because other parts are overwhelming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Very friendly and helpful owners. The place is very clean the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is great. Tour operators know the place aND pick you up and drop you off right in front of it. I'll be back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.7

Exceptional staff, the best in our month in Peru. Not only did one of the owners meet us at the bus station (which they offer for free for any guest), but she accompanied us to the clinic late one evening when one of us fell ill. Small enough to feel cozy but with enough fellow travelers to share trekking recommendations. Definitely a short cab ride from town, but you don't miss it -- Maruja is near the bottom of the best acclimatization hike in Huaraz and a stroll to the Sierra Andina brewery.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
7.4

Yes you get an egg breakfast but for the price difference you can get the same or better in town. The location is far from town but getting to town is easy enough, and it means the area is quieter.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
7.7

A bit outside town but you can get a combi or taxi in and out. Nice place, absolutely lovely owners. Pretty quiet. Did their Laguna 69 tour which was good - cheaper to book yourself direct with the agency of course. Really good breakfast! Only real downer was the (new) cleaner decided to throw away my shampoo from the bathroom and a bad of food from the bedroom - owners were very apologetic and made an effort to make it up to me - I doubt that will be a recurring problem. Overall, recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.