Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casa de Maruja BB

  • Las Esmeraldas 146 - Cruce de Palmira, -Independencia- Huaraz- Peru - South America, Huaraz, Peru

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Amazing hosts who have a beautiful and cozy hostal. There is a free breakfast and it's really tasty and filling. Beyond that they are very knowledgeable about things to do in town and out trekking. Couldn't ask for more from a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Jun 2017
9.1

Warm and helpful staff. Rooms are really clean and cosy, if you get a room with views of the mountain it's incredible. They also can hire you any equipment needed for hikes. Out of town but a short collectivo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
8.9

Fantastic place a bit outside of Huaraz but easily reachable with collectivi for 1 Sol Maruja and Gilf are lovely hosts, always up for a chat and with great advices where to go and what to do. When i was there, there were only 5 people around so there was not much atmosphere but otherwise a great please to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
8.9

Loved our stay here. Quiet hostel outside of Huaraz. Easy cab or collectivo into town. Good breakfast and wifi is good in common area. Gilf was wonderful and helped us plan two tours as well as the Santa Cruz Trek. Highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
9.7

Really great place and very friendly staff who are always willing to help with anything! It is about 3km away from the main square (10 min taxi ride for 4 soles), but it's much quieter and cozy. Would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Huaraz! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mattcarter27
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st May 2017
9.1

Really good base in Huaraz- it doesn't matter too much that it's not in the centre as Gilf can tell you anything you need to know about the area. Extreme friendly hosts, nice breakfast. I was ill for 4 days here and I can't imagine a better place to be ill, the staff checked up on me often to see how I was doing. Lovely place with a homely feel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
9.7

Great place. I wanted to hike the Santa Cruz trek on my own and the owner was extremely helpful in my efforts. They were also greatly friendly and went to extreme lengths to accommodate my odd breakfast hours due to my hike. They also did my laundry twice and I had to ask them to pay them. Great place to stay for duration in Huaraz. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Feb 2017
10.0

The owners of this hostel were sooo nice! So helpful with information about hiking and tours. The breakfast was also delicious :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Most helpful owners and awesome place to stay and hire hiking gear. Side note if using maps.me to find the place its in the wrong location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
6th Feb 2017
10.0

Gilf and Maruja are a great hosts, very welcoming, open, helpful and caring about their guests. Although the house is located slightly outside of the city center, this is completly ok since minibusses pass right in front of the house and are cheap. Great breakfast, very good atmosphere, large and well equipped kitchen. Gilf speaks Spanish & English. Dorms are rooms with more than 2 beds (no bunkbeds), private rooms are very large. Gilf rents trek equipment and organizes tours. Very recommendable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.