Hostelworld.com

La Casa de Maruja BB

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.2
La Casa de Maruja BB Located at Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146, , Huaraz.
La Casa de Maruja BB
Peru
Huaraz 151 Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146
92% 127
-9.5013920 -77.5343048
La Casa de Maruja BB
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
9.1

A lovely place. It is a little bit far from the center, but the cab is inexpensive. I would stay in Casa de La Maruja again. The breakfast is good, with eggs, coffe and bread. The shower has a good hot water and the family that runs the hostel makes you feel at home. Oh, there is a cat that likes to jump in your lap and sleep. So if you are allergic to cats take care.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
9.7

Everything ok; People friendly; Like in home If I come to huaraz, I will come again to this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Jun 2016
8.6

A great B&B on the edge of town, and the hosts are brilliant, literally can't do enough for you. The lack of any real common area meant the atmosphere was a bit lacking but apart from that this place was perfect for us, rooms are amazing and brilliant value for the price. We had a great stay, just don't expect to party here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jun 2016
8.9

The perfect place for trekkers and hikers wanting some comfort before they go on trips. It's run by an amazingly helpful, friendly and reliable family who are gonna help you in any way. I felt like home and stayed longer than expected. Rooms are very clean. Breakfast above average. Only minus is the location at 8 min by cab from the loud and chaotic city center so in the end it's better that way.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2016
8.6

The owner was so friendly and helpful and spoke pretty good English He took us into town so to help us rent gear and also book two day trips for us. We had a private room with 3 single beds which was fantastic. Only down sides: 1. Hot water was not working on my last night so I had a cold shower. 2. Toilet got clogged so we had to use the downstairs public toilet. All in all, I would stay here again just for the friendly service. The host was fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
9.4

Most helpful staff at a hostel I have witnessed. The lady there made me tea and cares for me when I was sick. It is essentially a bed & breakfast (crepes) for very cheap. Downfall is that it is outside of Huaraz and no Taxis know how to get there unless you have the address.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
29th May 2016
9.1

The family who run this are exceptionally lovely and will help you with everything you need. They let us use their family kitchen and Maruja helped us toast corn the peruvian way. The breakfast is good but be aware if you arrive early you are offered it but this means you have to pay 10s each for it on your checkout morning. This wasnt clear. The showers were piping hot but due to solar powered so not always hot when you want it. Rooms cleaned everyday. Collectivo to town easy to get and cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th May 2016
10.0

The customer service here was excellent. Breakfast included eggs and is run from 6.00am to 10.30am which is great for hikers. We decided to stay for 2 nights and ended up extending our stay for two weeks. Great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th May 2016
10.0

The friendliest hostel I've ever stayed in! The owners are so helpful and do everything they can to make you feel at home and welcome - even little gestures like coming out to the street to help me get a taxi at night. They help arrange great tours and answer any questions you have about Huaraz and the surrounding area. Great breakfast too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
8.6

Nicest staff in South America! Arrived tired from a night bus and checked us into a room straight away. Fantastic breakfast and a great place to base your treks from. When we left the let us stay in the room until 6pm! Only downside is location as its really far out of town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.