Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casa del Molino Blanco

  • Misioneros Dominicanos y Juan León Mera, BARRIO SAN JOSE /subida a la Virgen, Banos, Ecuador

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.9

My stay at La Casa del Molino Blanco was thoroughly enjoyable. The family who run it are very friendly and helpful and the pug is unbelievably cute. The hostel itself is clean and functional with a nice rear garden for an afternoon nap with a book. The hostel is not the most lively hostel in town, so if you want to party, look elsewhere. It is situated around a 10 mins walk from the town and is up a bit of a hill, so I would recommend taking a taxi if you are arriving with heavy bags.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Feb 2017
9.7

This hostel was amazing, the lady who owns it is so nice and goes out of her way to help! She organised all our activities and helped us book our bus. Couldn't recommend this hostel more. Clean rooms loved how the beds had their own chargers, amazing breakfast, bathrooms clean. They also have a very cute dog!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
18th Feb 2017
6.9

We made a mistake with our booking. However according to their terms 48 hours before the night in question we wanted to amend the booking to one night. The owner was just very awkward about it all made us feel uncomfortable and just wasn't particularly pleasant. She then claimed she had to put us down as a no show, which we clearly weren't.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed our stay here. Comfy beds and the facilities were cleaned daily. The showers here were amazing too. Maya the pug is really cute and the staff was helpful when we were planning our stay in Banos. The walk from the city isn't that bad and it was nice to be a little removed from the Main Street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
9.1

Loved my stay here - small friendly hostel with a fab breakfast, really helpful staff & relaxed atmosphere making to easy to meet others. Bit out of town, by only a short walk and nice to be away from the noise. Hot water and wifi was a bit temperamental but it wasn't really an issue. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.7

Great place to stay! A good quality hostel with friendly, helpful, english speaking staff! Perfect for a lone venturer with bad spanish.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
12th Jan 2017
9.1

I really loved staying here. It's up a hill, but it isn't massively steep. The bedrooms are nice and each bed in my dorm had a plug socket with two USB ports on it next to the bed. There were small lockers for valuables in the room as well. The wifi worked everywhere, although it was occasionally a little slow. Showers were really hot and powerful. However, there is only one bathroom per floor (three floors), which causes problems. The breakfast is amazing! Fantastic activities can be booked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.3

It's a really nice hostel with comfy beds and great breakfast. It's a bit annoying to have to go up the hill every time, but you can't have everything. The only negative points were the slight rudeness of the staff (but their puppy Maya made up for that) and the lack of atmosphere. There wasn't really any in the evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
9.4

A very nice hostel, clean, strong WiFi and big hot showers. Unlike others I didn't mind it being a bit outside of the center of town, it's literally a 5 minute walk and makes it quiet enough so you don't get woken up by party busses like you would in the center. Only thing I didn't like was that they kept taking my dirty clothes and putting them in the staff room without saying anything. I get it, you don't want the rooms to smell bad, but you need to tell people if you're taking their stuff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
10.0

If you are looking to have a wonderful time in Banos, La Casa del Molfino Blanco is your best bet. Elba, Jimmy, Cynthia, and of course Maya made our stay with them extremely pleasant. Everything we needed, whether it was booking some tours or getting some laundry done, we were able to do at the hostel. On top of that the room was very comfortable and had a window which allowed us to wake up each morning to the amazing mountains in Banos. Different, delicious breakfasts each day were delicious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.