X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

La Nona B&B Reviews

Galos 660-662, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
195 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 99%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Rene was fantastic! This place is so great.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay and Rene is a fantastic host

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

That was a very great weekend. I loved the hostel and I would stay there in each travel.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola, gracias por el review....y aqui estaremos para atenderte siempre mejor. Un gran abrazo...nos vemos!!

100%

Outstanding stay! Rene, La Nona and their family were amazing, warm and friendly hosts at their lovely home. They were very helpful with lots of information, and local knowledge. La Nona's breakfasts were excellent! We loved Paloma, their pet cat, who is very much part of the family. We would recommend staying at la Nona without reservation

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Although the B

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Zoe, thanks for short review...i dont know what happened I dont understans but thanks you veru much. Cheers Rene & Family

83%

Very friendly and decent staff. Decent neighbornood and close access to two 'Ascensores'.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por tu comentario y que tengas un buen dia.

100%

What a wonderful place and fantastic hosts! We would strongly recommend La Nona to anybody. Great breakfast, lovely rooms and great communal space plus a kitchen. And a tip: stay in Valpo for as long as you can - we had three nights, but should have stayed five. There's so much to do and Rene has loads of information and ideas. We felt very welcome and at home here. There were four of us ranging in age from 33 to 71.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Simon I hope you are good and thank you very much for your post...you were a fantastic and memorable man. You are welcome any time here. All the best for you and your family. Cheers La Nona, Carolina, Sofia, Lucia and Rene

89%

We had a great stay here- very friendly family to welcome us, great location right in the heart of the street art/ cafe region and the best beakfast we had in 3 months in South America!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Kirby, thanks for your kind feedback I hope you are good Have a nice back to Australia Happy Travellings

97%

Such a great family to spend time with, the owner is very helpful and knowledgeable, he has a beautiful family and his mother (we stayed in her section of the apartment) was magnificent and is the sweetest woman you'll ever meet. The location is in my favourite and arguably one of the best neighbourhoods of Valparaiso surrounded by cafes, restaurants, miradors, art galleries, etc. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast filling and delicious. Overall, very pleased with the experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jill, thanks for your comment...you were awsome and great. we really enjoy your stay with us, we know we are not perfect however we tray to give you a special deal. Happy Travels La Nona

91%

It was a delight staying with Nona who made me so welcome. We communicated vis Google translate and she spent some time helping me know what was available in the area, making sure I saw the best of Valparaiso in my short stay. Breakfast was good- fresh fruit, ham and cheese and two different meats and bread and coffee. There is a patio area to sit and enjoy the mural and flower bed . Would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are something special and La Nona will remember you for the rest od her life. So were so kind so gentl and one of the best traveller we ever had...you are in our heart

97%

I would like to thank our kind hosts at La Nona for their generosity and patience. Services at this B&B are that of a good hotel and the hosts will go an extra mile to meet your requests. But most of all, the friendly atmosphere and the great location at Cerro Alegre which allow to get the real sense of Valparaiso are what distinguish La Nona. I can't recommend it highly enough.


100%

Rene was a gracios and helpful host. His advice and suggestions for activities were tailored to our interests.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jessica thanks for your comment I really appreciated....I hope everything will be great on your next destination. Keep in touch...chau

97%

Great B&B. Rene, Carolina and Nona were the perfect hosts.


100%

Great breakfast made by Nona. Rene and Nona made us feel very at home. Rene was very informative about things to do and arranged to take us to winery area. Would highly recommend staying here.


100%

Really nice B&B. Rene and Nona are perfect hosts and made this stay wonderful. Good breakfast, great advices and suggestions on where to go/where to eat.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice little B&B with great staff who treat you like family. Very helpful and friendly - walkable to many locations and restaurants. Great breakfast and down to earth feel. Not a party place by any means, but good place to call home while in Valparaiso.


94%

Renee and his staff were spectacularly helpful with finding things I was interested in doing and helping me get there. Renee is very knowledgeable about the history of the city and current affairs in Valpo. Even if you are not on a budget, this is a place where you should consider staying if you are interested in history, culture, and current events in the Valpo region.

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful place and great atmosphere. Rene loves his job and does eveything he can to let you enjoy your stay in Valparaiso and to discover every single inch of this unique city. He also gives you information and advices on your next destinations. The breakfast is the best one that I have ever had in a hostel. I definitely recomend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Carlo i hope you and your mother are good still travelling.....thanks for your comment Enjoy the desert is fantastic

77%

Great location in town. Accommodations were basic but adequate. The bed and bathroom were clean, but the rug on the floor was not. There was no hot water in the shower for the two days I was there. Breakfast was plentiful - coffee with a nice selection of fruit, meats, cheeses, etc.The room I was assigned was right off the kitchen. As this is actually someone's home - a family with two new babies - I felt uncomfortable walking in and out through the kitchen, where much activity took place.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Daniel, We are sorry to hear that your stay was not reflective of the fantastic service we strive for! We are sad to hear that you were so disatisfied and uncomfortable with the service we provided you, because my family live in the B&B, our home, trying to make it a nice, This information is written in our hostelworld description, for you to read before you make a reservation: “this is not a hotel it’s a B&B” If you got a cold shower why didn´t you say anything during the breakfast



View all Valparaiso Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback