Hostelworld.com

La Serrana

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 887 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 887 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Feb 2017
10.0

Outstanding place to stay. A wee bit out of the way, but well worth it. Staff, facility, view...all great. We had a wonderful stay and you will too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
10.0

We loved La Serrana! Stayed in a private with shared bath and our view of the hills was beautiful. Staff was attentive and helpful and we booked our bus back to Medellín via the hostel's suggested service. We enjoyed the group dinner (recommend!!!) and the daily breakfasts. Excellent! Gracias!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
6.9

Really far out of town. Staff always seemed bothered when you ask for something. Horrible wifi and dirty bathrooms. But it had great atmosphere and a nice nightly bonfire!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

I had a great stay at La Serrana. This is the perfect place to chill out if you've been travelling Colombia or South America. Fantastic views, great breakfast, lovely common areas. Don't come here to party but to meet people and enjoy the beauty of the area. Staff was helpful. The fact that it's a bit out of town doesn't really matter as the jeeps take you there in a few minutes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Loved this place, good people, clean and organized, good food. Breakfast was okay. Staff was helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved La Serrana. A friend and I stayed in the three person tent (one full-sized bed, one twin bed) and really enjoyed having our own space so close to the main building. The food options (breakfast and dinner) provided plenty of food, and were delicious. The views are beautiful, and you're within walking distance to the coffee farms and Salento's main square. One of my favorite hostels ever, I'd love to come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.7

Had a really nice stay at La Serrana that has exceptional surroundings. The staff is so nice and helpful, and the breakfast is very good. The walk from town isn't anything to complain about and it's definitely worth it. The vibe is very nice as well, not super social since a lot of people are there to hike and get up early in the morning, but the hostel arrange an excellent dinner you can sign up to and by this meet the other travellers :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Glamping was great :) The tents were spacious and beautiful. The staff was super - accommodating and kind. Breakfast was yummy too! My friend and I loved the stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
8.6

The serrana is set in a spectacular location and very nicely presented. Very clean and the facilities and gardens are great. It's a bit far away from the town which we enjoyed (amazing scenery and tranquility) but if you want to be in the town not for you. Staff was helpful enough and made our stay pleasant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
10.0

I LOVED my 3-night stay at La Serrana, and got the feeling that most people felt the same way—it was commonly booked up so people were unable to extend their stays, despite wanting to do so. It's ~15 minutes walk down a muddy road out of town, which isn't ideal, but the scenery is stunningly beautiful. You won't care about the walk when you see the views. Plus family-style dinners were a great way to meet everyone, plus cost efficient and good-sized portions. Book extra nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.