Hostelworld.com

La Serrana

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 664 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 664 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
La Serrana Located at Via Palestina, La Serrana, Salento.
La Serrana
Colombia
Salento Quindio Via Palestina, La Serrana
92% 664
4.6653986 -75.5131530
La Serrana
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • piggotts
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Apr 2016
6.3

i would probably stay somewhere else if i visited again. Positives: room clean, pretty location (outside of town) and couches to hang out. Negatives: no hot water in the bathroom for the private rooms, no wifi in our room, most staff dont speak english, food was stolen from fridge, cant take in own alcohol. Tip- if you arrive late either eat in town first or grab supplies to cook, the 'family dinners' dont run on weekends, if less than 10 ppl and cant sign up after 4pm.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel with the best views! Clean, super friendly staff and great people staying here. It is a walk from town, but it is a lovely walk. Clean room, spacious, lots of common areas, great wne for sale and great atmosphere. Showers were mostly cold, unlesss you were first to use them. One of my favourite hostels in south america!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kristiclaire
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2016
9.4

We arrive at 6am and couldn't check in until 3 but they let us use their shower, store our bags and have a nap on the comfy couches which was perfect! Although the hostel was about a 20 minute walk out of the town it was totally worth it.. or you can pay a cheap $6000 jeep ride. Incredible property! Comfiest bed! Yum chocolate cake! Free towel! Breakfast was delicious and filling! Only negative was that the shower in our 8 dorm was like a hose so I preferred to shower in the communual bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Apr 2016
9.4

La serana is a nice hostel in beautifull surroundings. The view is worth the walk to town (which is an easy 10 minute walk). The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
10.0

This was absolutely excellent! We had a great stay. The staff were very kind and really helpful. It was a retreat for the both of us. Thanks again for all your help! Muchisimas Gracias

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
9.1

La Serrana is a beautiful and laid back hostel, with wonderful staff. I will start with the drawbacks. It is a solid 20 minute walk to the main Plaza of Salento. Jeeps come occasionally. The flip side of this is that it is very quiet, with spectacular views. Second, I had a hard time finding electrical outlets to use. Onto the positives. The hostel is beautiful, the beds are very comfy, with nice sheets. The breakfast is top notch, with eggs or fruit, fresh made bread and lots of coffee.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
9.7

This place isn't a hostel. It's a little piece of heaven on earth. Like other reviewers mentioned, it's a bit of a hike from the main plaza- a good 25 minutes of rolling hills. Yes, you can take the Willy Jeeps, but we mostly walked and it was actually quite enjoyable. The views here are freaking. incredible. Breakfast is excellent and we got to participate in one of the family dinners (homemade tortillas with an assortment of burrito fillings) and they were super veg accommodating. Stay here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
10.0

La Serrana is the perfect hostel in Salento! I was a solo-traveler and it was the perfect place to meet other travelers with their comfortable common areas. The views were spectacular, along with the free breakfast in the morning. The hostel is located just outside of town and provides the perfect opportunity to take in the amazing scenery. I was able to be social, have my alone time, and get a great nights sleep with their comfortable and quiet rooms. I highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
6.9

I enjoyed the facility but it is a bit of a walk from town. The jeep service only runs until 10 so if you want to go out then you have to walk back at night which as a solo female isn't the best. Also the staff doesn't speak any English which caused problems. My Spanish is decent but despite telling the reception multiple times that my flight was leaving from pereria they booked me a taxi to Armenia. I had to buy a new ticket and pay full price for the taxi. :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Apr 2016
9.4

Beautiful, peaceful place to stay, located about 20 minutes outside the town. Everything was clean and kitchen was sufficient. Breakfast could have been a teeny bit better, perhaps with some granola included in the fruit option. Staff were very friendly and helpful with any questions I had. I recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.